DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagi et al. JP 2006272382 A in view of Sadahiko et al. JPS5736001 A and Kunio et al. DE 4321963 C2. JP 2006272382 A is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Akagi patent; DE 4321963 C2 is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Kunio patent; and JPS5736001 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Sadahiko patent.
Regarding claim 1, Akagi discloses a cold rolling line comprising one cold mill configured to inject coolant towards a work roll (Akagi – 3;FIG. 1) and a metal steel strip (Akagi – 4; FIG. 1) and to cold roll the metal steel strip (Akagi – Para [0009]): a rolling mill provided with a roll cooling spray for spraying a cooling coolant onto a work roll of a rolling mill). Akagi fails to disclose a cold rolling line comprising more than one cold mills, a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the one or more cold mills in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip, and a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers, wherein the control unit is configured to control the plurality of rollers so that the metal steel strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more cold mills including a most upstream mill provided farthest upstream.
Sadahiko teaches a plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 3,4; FIG. 3) provided upstream from the cold mill in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip (See Sadahiko FIG. 3), wherein the metal steel strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mill (See Sadahiko FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the cold mill used to convey the metal strip, wherein the metal strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of a portion of the cold mill, as taught by Sadahiko, so as to provide a means to adjust the contact angle between the rolled metal steel strip and the work roll and thus increase the amount of coolant applied therein (Sadahiko Abstract Lines 2-4).
Kunio teaches a rolling mill line comprised of multiple rolling mills (Kunio – 1-7; FIG. 1), comprising of a control unit (Kunio – 41-46; FIG. 1) configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers (Kunio – 9-14; FIG. 1), wherein the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the rollers (Kunio Para [0031], 5th & 6th Paragraph) so that the metal steel strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more cold mills including a most upstream mill provided farthest upstream (See Kunio FIG. 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include additionally rolling mills and a control unit configure to control a height difference of the rollers, as taught by Kunio, to control the tension on the rolled material that occurs by lifting the rolled material via the rollers, to a predetermined height between the rolling stands (Kunio Para [0031], 3rd Paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to set an inclination angle of the metal steel strip with respect to a biting area of the one or more rolling mills based on a line speed at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more rolling mills including the most upstream mill (Kunio Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 2 rejection above), wherein the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 3,4) so as to set the inclination angle. Sadahiko teaches the plurality of rollers are raised to a positioned above a pass line, and the rolled plate enters the space between the upper and lower work rolls at an angle θ with respect to the pass line. A change in the pass line height is determined based on the surface properties of the rolled plate, rolling conditions, and assembly tolerances of the rolling mill (Sadahiko Claims 3rd Paragraph, Lines 18-20); thus making the angle a result effective parameter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the inclination angle 2° to 10° in order to optimize the amount of coolant on the metal steel strip prior to being rolled. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 1 rejection above) wherein the one cold mill (Akagi FIG. 1) comprises a plurality of rolling mills (Kunio – 1-7), and the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mills (Sadahiko FIG. 7) including a most downstream mill (Kunio – 7) provided farthest downstream.
Regarding claim 5, Akagi discloses a cold rolling line comprising the cold mill (Akagi – FIG. 1) configured to inject coolant towards a work roll (Akagi – 3) and a metal steel strip (Akagi – 4) and to cold roll the metal steel strip (Akagi – Para [0009]): a rolling mill provided with a roll cooling spray for spraying a cooling coolant onto a work roll of a rolling mill).Akagi fails to disclose a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the one or more cold mills in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip, and a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers, wherein the control unit is configured to control the plurality of rollers so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more cold mills including a most downstream mill provided farthest downstream.
Sadahiko teaches a plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) provided upstream from the one cold mill in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip (See Sadahiko FIG. 3), the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) set such that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mill (See Sadahiko FIG. 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the cold mill used to convey the metal strip, wherein the metal strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of a portion of the cold mill, as taught by Sadahiko, so as to provide a means to adjust the contact angle between the rolled metal steel strip and the work roll and thus increase the amount of coolant applied therein (Sadahiko Abstract Lines 2-4).
Kunio teaches a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers (Kunio – 41-46), wherein the control unit is configured to control the rollers (Kunio Para [0031], 5th & 6th Paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include additionally rolling mills and a control unit configure to control a height difference of the rollers, as taught by Kunio, to control the tension on the rolled material that occurs by lifting the rolled material via the rollers, to a predetermined height between the rolling stands (Kunio Para [0031], 3rd Paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 5 rejection above), wherein the control unit is configured to set an inclination angle of the metal steel strip with respect to a biting area of the one or more cold mills based on a line speed at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mills (Kunio Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 6 rejection above), wherein the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 3,4) so as set the inclination angle. Sadahiko teaches the plurality of rollers are fully lowered to a positioned below the pass line, and the rolled plate enters so that the rolled plate enters between the upper and lower work rolls at an angle -θ with respect to the pass line. A change in the pass line height is determined based on the surface properties of the rolled plate, rolling conditions, and assembly tolerances of the rolling mill (Sadahiko Claims 3rd Paragraph, Lines 18-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the inclination angle in order to optimize the amount of coolant on the metal steel strip prior to being rolled. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Akagi disclose a method to be performed on a cold rolling line comprising one cold mill configured to inject coolant towards a work roll and a metal steel strip and to cold roll the metal steel strip (Akagi Para [0011]: A method for rolling a strip using [a rolling mill equipped with a roll cooling spray that sprays cooling coolant onto the work rolls of the rolling mill, and a lubricating spray that sprays lubricating coolant on the work roll inlet side of the rolling mill]). Akagi fails to disclose a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the one or more cold mills in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip, and a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers, wherein the control unit is configured to control the plurality of rollers so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more cold mills including a most downstream mill provided farthest downstream.
Sadahiko teaches a plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) provided upstream from the one cold mill in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip (See Sadahiko FIG. 3), the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) set such that the metal steel strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mill (See Sadahiko FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the cold mill used to convey the metal strip, wherein the metal strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of a portion of the cold mill, as taught by Sadahiko, so as to provide a means to adjust the contact angle between the rolled metal steel strip and the work roll and thus increase the amount of coolant applied therein (Sadahiko Abstract Lines 2-4).
Kunio teaches a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers (Kunio – 41-46), wherein the control unit is configured to control the rollers (Kunio Para [0031], 5th & 6th Paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include additionally rolling mills and a control unit configure to control a height difference of the rollers, as taught by Kunio, to control the tension on the rolled material that occurs by lifting the rolled material via the rollers, to a predetermined height between the rolling stands (Kunio Para [0031], 3rd Paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Akagi disclose a method to be performed on a cold rolling line comprising one cold mill configured to inject coolant towards a work roll and a metal steel strip and to cold roll the metal steel strip (Akagi Para [0011]: A method for rolling a strip using [a rolling mill equipped with a roll cooling spray that sprays cooling coolant onto the work rolls of the rolling mill, and a lubricating spray that sprays lubricating coolant on the work roll inlet side of the rolling mill]). Akagi fails to disclose a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the one or more cold mills in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip, and a control unit configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers, wherein the control unit is configured to control the plurality of rollers so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one or more cold mills including a most downstream mill provided farthest downstream.
Sadahiko teaches a plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) provided upstream from the one cold mill in a conveyance direction of the metal steel strip and used to convey the metal steel strip (See Sadahiko FIG. 3), the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) set such that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mill (See Sadahiko FIG. 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include a plurality of rollers provided upstream from the cold mill used to convey the metal strip, wherein the metal strip is at a lower position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of a portion of the cold mill, as taught by Sadahiko, so as to provide a means to adjust the contact angle between the rolled metal steel strip and the work roll and thus increase the amount of coolant applied therein (Sadahiko Abstract Lines 2-4).
Kunio teaches a method wherein a control unit is configured to control a height difference of the plurality of rollers (Kunio – 41-46), wherein the control unit is configured to control the rollers (Kunio Para [0031], 5th & 6th Paragraph)(Kunio Para [0057]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cold rolling line comprising the cold mill disclosed by Akagi, to include additionally rolling mills and a control unit configure to control a height difference of the rollers, as taught by Kunio, to control the tension on the rolled material that occurs by lifting the rolled material via the rollers, to a predetermined height between the rolling stands (Kunio Para [0031], 3rd Paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 2 rejection above), wherein the one cold mill (Akagi FIG. 1) comprises a plurality of rolling mills (Kunio – 1-7), and the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mills (See Sadahiko FIG. 7) including a most downstream mill (Kunio – 7) provided farthest downstream.
Regarding claim 13, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses the cold rolling line (See claim 3 rejection above), wherein the one cold mill (Akagi FIG. 1) comprises a plurality of rolling mills (Kunio – 1-7), and the control unit (Kunio – 41-46) is configured to control the plurality of rollers (Sadahiko – 4,5) so that the metal steel strip is at a higher position towards a downstream side in the conveyance direction at an upstream side of at least a portion of the one cold mills (See Sadahiko FIG. 7) including a most downstream mill (Kunio – 7) provided farthest downstream.
Claim 8, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagi et al. in view of Sadahiko et al. and Kunio et al. as applied to claims 1, 2-7, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of Sergey et al. WO 2021013488 A1. WO 20210113488 A1 is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Sergey patent.
Regarding claim 8, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising a cold rolling line (See claim 1 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 11, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production method (See claim 9 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production method comprising cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches steel sheet production method comprising cutting the metal steel strip (See Sergey Para [0135]: To ensure the continuous operation of the casting-rolling composite plant 1, the finished strip 6 is cut directly in front of the winding devices). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production method disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 14, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 2 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 15, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 3 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 16, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 4 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 17, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 5 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 18, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 6 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 19, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line (See claim 7 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production line comprising a line for cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches a steel sheet production line comprising a cutting station (Sergey – 10; FIG. 1) to cut the finished metal steel strip (Sergey Para [0045]: After the finish rolling, the finished strip is cut transversely). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production line comprising the cold rolling line disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include a line for cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Regarding claim 20, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio discloses a steel sheet production method comprising performing the cold rolling method (See claim 10 rejection above), however, Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio fails to disclose a steel sheet production method comprising cutting the metal steel strip. Sergey teaches steel sheet production method comprising cutting the metal steel strip (See Sergey Para [0135]: To ensure the continuous operation of the casting-rolling composite plant 1, the finished strip 6 is cut directly in front of the winding devices). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steel sheet production method disclosed by Akagi in view of Sadahiko and Kunio, to include cutting the metal steel strip, as taught by Sergey, to provide means to provide a finished produced product (See Sergey Para [0045]: After finishing the rolling process, the finished strip is cut crosswise and wound up).
Conclusion
D.N.I.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725