DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the medium is stated to be readable by the gateway device, but its instructions are stated to be capable of instructing the client device to perform the method, including credential receipt, primary routing, connection-loss detection and fallback routing. The specification identifies the client and gateway as separate components, places the client on the gateway’s LAN, and assigns the gateway the routing and hotspot-control functions. See specification [0031], [0034]–[0035], [0038]–[0039], [0045], and particularly [0099], which assigns the same four operations to GD 301 through controller 420 executing program 423. In that context, the claim leaves uncertain whether the required instructions cause the identified LAN client to control these operations or cause the gateway to perform them. The distinction changes which processor and control arrangement must be present to satisfy the claim. Applicant is required to clarify the device that performs the method and reconcile the instruction clause with the described architecture.
Regarding claim 14, the claim inherits claim 13’s uncertain identification of the performing device and -repeats the client-device instruction clause while adding hotspot constraints. Specification [00100] likewise assigns these constraints to GD 301 through controller 420 and program 423. The added limitation does not resolve the device allocation.
Regarding claim 15, the claim inherits that uncertainty through claim 14 and repeats the client-device instruction clause while selecting constraint types. The choice of time, rate, data type or a combination does not clarify the performing device.
Regarding claim 16, the claim inherits the uncertainty through claims 15, 14 and 13 and repeats the client-device instruction clause while specifying primary-interface alternatives. Identifying an interface does not identify which device performs the recited method.
Regarding claim 17, the claim depends from claim 15, thereby retaining both inherited constraint limitations and the uncertain performing device. Its additional primary-path credential request and repeated client-device instruction clause do not resolve the uncertainty.
Regarding claim 18, the claim depends from claim 13 and repeats the client-device instruction clause while adding wireless primary routing. This additional routing feature does not clarify whether the LAN client or gateway performs the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paramasivam et al. (EP 3 675 550 A1, published July 1, 2020), hereinafter Paramasivam, in view of Jiao (WO 2021/232309 A1, published November 25, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the processor executing instructions stored in the memory to establish constraints in the hotspot mode: Gateway controller 110/808 configures the backup firewall and forwarding policy to permit selected IoT traffic. See paragraphs [0017], [0023], [0039], and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 1, 2 and 8.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the processor executing instructions stored in the memory to establish constraints in the hotspot mode: Gateway controller 110/808 configures the backup firewall and forwarding policy to permit selected IoT traffic. See paragraphs [0017], [0023], [0039], and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 1, 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses the hotspot constraints comprising a time limit, data rate, type of data, or a combination thereof: The selected data-type alternative is satisfied by the policy permitting IoT sensor traffic and rejecting other LAN traffic during cellular backup. See paragraphs [0017], [0039], and [0050]; Figs. 1 and 2.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 3, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the processor executing instructions stored in the memory to establish constraints in the hotspot mode: Gateway controller 110/808 configures the backup firewall and forwarding policy to permit selected IoT traffic. See paragraphs [0017], [0023], [0039], and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 1, 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses the hotspot constraints comprising a time limit, data rate, type of data, or a combination thereof: The selected data-type alternative is satisfied by the policy permitting IoT sensor traffic and rejecting other LAN traffic during cellular backup. See paragraphs [0017], [0039], and [0050]; Figs. 1 and 2.
Paramasivam discloses the primary communication system comprising an interface selected from DOCSIS, PON, Ethernet and DSL: WAN interface 109 is implemented as DSL or Gigabit Ethernet and routes the client traffic. These are expressly recited alternatives. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020] and [0053]; Fig. 1, interface 109.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the processor causing the gateway to request the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway steering controller 110 invokes GetHotspotDetails and receives the phone SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0023] and [0031]–[0034]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The primary local request and response for the hotspot credentials remain operative before the radio-mode transition.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a gateway device for use with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105; Internet-facing network 160; cellular network 170; the home LAN; an IoT client sensor 131, 132 or 133; and mobile device 150. The sensor supplies the claimed client device and remains connected during the IoT-only backup operation. See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021].
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: The sensor communicates through the home network and gateway to Internet services. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and said gateway device: Mobile device 150 is a Wi-Fi station of gateway 105 during normal service; its data uses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to said gateway device: The gateway obtains the phone’s SSID, security mode and password from the mobile agent. See paragraphs [0015], [0031]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses a memory: Gateway storage 806 and control memory 810. See paragraphs [0054], [0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses a primary communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway combines its local interfaces, WAN interface 109 and routing controls to carry the sensor and phone traffic to network 160. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0053], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a wireless communication system configured to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: Gateway interface 108/812 operates as a station of the mobile hotspot, with client traffic routed through the phone to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0037]–[0039], and [0048]; Figs. 2, 6 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses a processor configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said gateway device to perform the recited functions: Controller 808 executes the gateway steering operations using control memory 810 and program storage 806. See paragraphs [0023], [0054], [0056]–[0057], and [0060]; Fig. 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to receive the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110 obtains the hotspot configuration from agent 152 and uses it to associate. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway’s routing controls direct both categories of home-network traffic through the normal WAN interface. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to detect a loss of connection with the wide area network: The steering controller detects the WAN-down condition. See paragraphs [0023], [0025], and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructions to instruct said wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The controller changes the gateway’s association and forwarding configuration to send client data through the mobile hotspot and cellular WAN. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the primary communication system comprising a wireless communication system: The gateway uses wireless local access for IoT sensors and Wi-Fi access for mobile device 150 as part of the normal route to the WAN. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0055]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The normal wireless local access and primary WAN routing remain operative before the outage.
Regarding claim 7, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 7, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the fallback-routing instruction additionally establishing constraints in the hotspot mode: The gateway changes the firewall and route policy to permit selected IoT traffic over the mobile hotspot during cellular backup. See paragraphs [0017], [0038]–[0039], and [0050]; Figs. 2 and 6.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 8, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the fallback-routing instruction additionally establishing constraints in the hotspot mode: The gateway changes the firewall and route policy to permit selected IoT traffic over the mobile hotspot during cellular backup. See paragraphs [0017], [0038]–[0039], and [0050]; Figs. 2 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the hotspot constraints comprising a time limit, data rate, type of data, or a combination thereof: The selected data-type alternative is satisfied by limiting backup forwarding to IoT data. See paragraphs [0017], [0039], and [0050]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 9, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the fallback-routing instruction additionally establishing constraints in the hotspot mode: The gateway changes the firewall and route policy to permit selected IoT traffic over the mobile hotspot during cellular backup. See paragraphs [0017], [0038]–[0039], and [0050]; Figs. 2 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the hotspot constraints comprising a time limit, data rate, type of data, or a combination thereof: The selected data-type alternative is satisfied by limiting backup forwarding to IoT data. See paragraphs [0017], [0039], and [0050]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses the primary routing instruction using an interface selected from DOCSIS, PON, Ethernet and DSL: The gateway processor controls routing of the client and phone data through interface 109, implemented as DSL or Gigabit Ethernet. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0053]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The gateway’s IoT forwarding constraint continues to select which LAN traffic reaches the phone; permitting the phone’s own traffic does not change that selection.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 7, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, the primary communication system to request the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: The gateway controller sends the GetHotspotDetails request to the mobile agent through the local connection while the phone remains associated with the gateway, before the subsequent station/hotspot mode change. See paragraphs [0023], [0028]–[0034], and [0035]–[0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The primary local request and response for the hotspot credentials remain operative before the radio-mode transition.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 7, Paramasivam discloses the following claimed subject matter.
Paramasivam discloses a method of using a gateway device with a wide area network, wireless wide area network, a local area network, a client device and a wireless device: Gateway 105 operates between the home network, Internet-facing WAN 160 and phone 150 with cellular WAN 170. Client sensor 131, 132 or 133 supplies the claimed client device. See paragraphs [0017], [0019]–[0021], and [0046]–[0048]; Figs. 1 and 6.
Paramasivam discloses the client device being configured to transmit client device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Client sensor traffic uses the home network and gateway’s WAN connection during normal service. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], and [0050]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to operate in a first mode so as to wirelessly transmit wireless device data to the wide area network via the local area network and the gateway device: Phone 150 is a wireless station of gateway 105 and its own data traverses WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0002], [0019]–[0020]; Fig. 1.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device operating in a hotspot mode to transmit the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network: mobile device 150 forwards the gateway’s IoT sensor traffic over cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0016]–[0017], [0021], [0035]–[0039], and [0051]; Figs. 2 and 7.
Paramasivam discloses the wireless device being configured to transmit a hotspot ID and hotspot credentials to the gateway device: The mobile agent returns the requested hotspot configuration. See paragraphs [0015], [0033]–[0034], and [0037]; Fig. 2.
Paramasivam discloses receiving, via a processor configured to execute instructions stored on a memory, the hotspot ID and hotspot credentials from the wireless device: Gateway controller 110/808 obtains the phone hotspot configuration under software control. See paragraphs [0033]–[0034] and [0056]–[0057]; Figs. 2 and 8.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a primary communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network and to route the wireless device data between the wireless device and the wide area network: The gateway controls normal forwarding of both sensor and phone data through WAN interface 109. See paragraphs [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0043]; Figs. 1 and 3.
Paramasivam discloses detecting, via the processor, a loss of connection with the wide area network: Controller monitoring detects WAN disconnection. See paragraphs [0025] and [0047]; Figs. 2 and 6, step 610.
Paramasivam discloses instructing, via the processor, a wireless communication system to route the client device data between the client device and the wide area network via the wireless device and the wireless wide area network: The gateway is made a station of the phone and its client-data route is moved to cellular network 170. See paragraphs [0037]–[0039], [0048], and [0056]; Figs. 2 and 6, steps 620–630.
Paramasivam discloses the primary-routing instruction additionally instructing a wireless communication system to route both the client device data and wireless device data between their respective devices and the wide area network: The controller uses the applicable wireless IoT and Wi-Fi local interfaces and the normal WAN interface to forward sensor and phone traffic. See paragraphs [0003], [0019]–[0020], [0023], and [0055]–[0056]; Figs. 1 and 8.
Paramasivam does not expressly disclose that, in the hotspot mode, the wireless device transmits its own wireless device data together with the client device data to the wide area network through the wireless wide area network.
Jiao discloses the wireless device providing Internet access to itself and to a tethered client during hotspot operation. Mobile device 200 establishes hotspot connection 240 and uses cellular WAN interface 204 for its own Internet access and the client’s Internet access. See Fig. 1 and the accompanying description of hotspot connection 240, and Fig. 3 and the accompanying description of WAN interface 204.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Paramasivam’s mobile device 150 to transmit its own data while forwarding the gateway’s client sensor data over the cellular interface, as taught by Jiao. The reason for the modification would have been to preserve the phone user’s Internet service while restoring the client’s Internet service during the gateway WAN outage. Both references use an existing mobile-device cellular interface to provide backup connectivity. Applying Jiao’s known hotspot capability to Paramasivam’s software-controlled hotspot would predictably serve both traffic sources over that interface, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination retains Paramasivam’s client-to-gateway-to-phone route and hotspot credential exchange. The normal wireless local access and primary WAN routing remain operative before the outage.
The recited receiving step is construed as requiring receipt of the hotspot ID and credentials for the fallback connection, without requiring receipt before the first WAN failure. The claim does not expressly impose that ordering. Paramasivam obtains the credentials after detecting failure and before connecting the gateway to the hotspot. See Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0025]–[0037].
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412