DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/874,290, filed on 12/12/2024. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 and 7 are independent claims.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/035534, filed on 06/29/2022
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 12/12/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biernat(US Publication No. 20190340269 A1) in view of Bhattiprolu(US Publication No. 20220172221 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Biernat discloses:
A uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of a controller-peripheral network (200)(Biernat, [0039], Industrial controllers and their associated I/O devices are central to the operation of modern automation systems. [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices),
the uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) comprising: electronics (1320) comprising(Biernat, [0064] industrial device 1102 can comprise substantially any type of data-generating industrial device, including but not limited to an industrial controller, a motor drive, an HMI terminal, a vision system, an industrial optical scanner… , an industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) device, or other such device or system. Industrial device 1102 can include a proof engine component 1104, a cryptographic component 1106, a hashing component 1108, an instruction execution component 1110, a user interface component 1112, one or more processors 1116,):
a processor (1321) configured to communicate with a controller- peripheral network (200)(Biernat, [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices… The controller I/O can communicate with a controller's processor over a backplane such that the digital and analog signals can be read into and controlled by the control programs. Industrial controllers 118 can also communicate with industrial devices 120 over a network using, for example, a communication module or an integrated networking port. Exemplary networks can include the Internet, intranets, Ethernet, DeviceNet, ControlNet, Data Highway and Data Highway Plus (DH/DH+), Remote I/O, Fieldbus, Modbus, Profibus, wireless networks, serial protocols, and the like.);
and a memory (1322) communicatively coupled to the processor (1321)(Biernat, [0064], …an instruction execution component 1110, a user interface component 1112, the one or more processors 1116, and memory 1118 can be electrically and/or communicatively coupled to one another to perform one or more of the functions of the blockchain-enabled industrial device 1102. In some embodiments, components 1104, 1106, 1110, and 1112 can comprise software instructions stored on memory 1118 and executed by processor(s) 1116…)
the memory (1322) being: defined by the controller-peripheral network (200) (Biernat, [0064] a user interface component 1112, one or more processors 1116, and memory 1118. In various embodiments, one or more of the proof engine component 1104, a cryptographic component 1106, a hashing component 1108, an instruction execution component 1110, a user interface component 1112, the one or more processors 1116, and memory 1118 can be electrically and/or communicatively coupled to one another to perform one or more of the functions of the blockchain-enabled industrial device 1102. In some embodiments, components 1104, 1106, 1110, and 1112 can comprise software instructions stored on memory 1118 and executed by processor(s) 1116.);
Biernat does not disclose:
and configured to store a unique identification obtained from a decentralized network (410) external to the controller- peripheral network (200)
Bhattiprolu discloses:
and configured to store a unique identification obtained from a decentralized network (410) external to the controller- peripheral network (200)( Bhattiprolu, [0041], The controller 202 is communicatively coupled to a random-access memory (RAM) 204 or other dynamic storage device and one or more input/output interfaces 206 that allow the controller 202 to communicate with external devic, [0010], the digital signature is applied by encrypting the hydrocarbon data and the hash value using a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. [0006], distributed ledger technology, such as blockchain, [0007], a distributed ledger designated to receive the hydrocarbon data, and transmit the hydrocarbon data and hash value to the distributed ledger over a private or public network, including the Internet. [0025], Distributed ledger technology is well-known in the art and generally refers to the use of independent computers or “nodes” that each store an identical copy of the data, including all prior versions thereof, instead of a single copy of the data being stored at a centralized location…)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data using blockchain-enabled devices to ensure secure and verifiable device identification using cryptographic identifiers obtained from a distributed ledger as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance device authentication, data integrity, and trustworthiness of industrial data within the network.
The motivation is to ensure that industrial devices are uniquely identifiable and their data can be securely attributed and verified across distributed systems.
Regarding Claim 2:
The uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of claim 1, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu discloses wherein the memory (1322) being defined by the controller-peripheral network (200) comprises registers (500, 600) mapped according to a protocol of the controller-peripheral network (200)(Biernat, [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices. The native controller I/O can include digital I/O that transmits and receives discrete voltage signals to and from the field devices, or analog I/O that transmits and receives analog voltage or current signals to and from the devices. The controller I/O can communicate with a controller's processor over a backplane such that the digital and analog signals can be read into and controlled by the control programs. Industrial controllers 118 can also communicate with industrial devices 120 over a network using, for example, a communication module or an integrated networking port. Exemplary networks can include the Internet, intranets, Ethernet, DeviceNet, ControlNet, Data Highway and Data Highway Plus (DH/DH+), Remote I/O, Fieldbus, Modbus, Profibus).
Regarding Claim 3:
The uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of claim 2, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu discloseswherein the unique identification is stored in at least one of the registers (500, 600)(Bhattiprolu, [0010], the hash value using a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system., [0045], the cryptographic hardware 218 may be an integrated cryptographic chipset that securely stores a private key along with a public key. The two keys form a public/private key pair 220 for the computing system 200 ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s industrial controller systems by enhancing Biernat’s systems for storing operational and device-related data within controller memory structures, including protocol-defined registers to ensure that unique identification data, such as cryptographic identifiers, is accessible and usable by the controller and networked devices as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance device identification, data association, and secure communication within the industrial network.
The motivation is to ensure that identification information is stored in standard register-based memory locations for efficient access, processing, and communication in controller-peripheral networks.
Regarding Claim 4:
The uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of claim 1, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the unique identification comprises one of a public key and a token identifier of the uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300)(Bhattiprolu, [0010], a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. [0045], he public and private keys 220 are basically two strings of hexadecimal numbers that are uniquely related to one another mathematically,…. The digital signing module 216 can thus apply a digital signature to the data by encrypting the data using the private key. Since only the corresponding public key can decrypt the data, a successful decryption necessarily authenticates the originator , [0025], These systems and methods use blockchain, DAG, and similar distributed ledger technology to make the data immutable, tamper proof, and easily authenticated, with access to the data ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data in a distributed ledger to ensure that each device is uniquely identified using cryptographic identifiers such as a public key as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance secure device authentication, data integrity, and traceability of data within the blockchain system.
The motivation is to ensure that data recorded in the decentralized network can be reliably attributed to a specific device and verified using established cryptographic techniques.
Regarding Claim 5:
The uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of claim 1, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the memory (1322) is further configured to store a private key paired with the unique identification(Bhattiprolu, [0045], the cryptographic hardware 218 may be an integrated cryptographic chipset that securely stores a private key along with a public key. [0010], private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data in a distributed ledger to ensure secure cryptographic operations using a private key paired with a corresponding public key for device identification and authentication as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance data integrity, authentication, and protection against unauthorized access within the industrial network.
The motivation is to ensure that each device can securely sign and authenticate its data using a locally stored private key associated with its unique identity.
Regarding Claim 6:
The uniquely identified industrial equipment (1300) of claim 1, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose further comprising a communications port (1324) communicatively coupled with the processor(1321), the communications port (1324) being configured to communicate with the controller-peripheral network (200)(Biernat, [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices. The native controller I/O can include digital I/O that transmits and receives discrete voltage signals to and from the field devices, or analog I/O that transmits and receives analog voltage or current signals to and from the devices. The controller I/O can communicate with a controller's processor over a backplane such that the digital and analog signals can be read into and controlled by the control programs. Industrial controllers 118 can also communicate with industrial devices 120 over a network using, for example, a communication module or an integrated networking port….).
Regarding Claim 7:
Biernat discloses:
A method for uniquely identifying an industrial equipment of a controller- peripheral network(Biernat, [0039], Industrial controllers and their associated I/O devices are central to the operation of modern automation systems. [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices),
and storing the unique identification in a memory of the industrial equipment,
the memory being defined by the controller-peripheral network(Biernat, [0064] a user interface component 1112, one or more processors 1116, and memory 1118. In various embodiments, one or more of the proof engine component 1104, a cryptographic component 1106, a hashing component 1108, an instruction execution component 1110, a user interface component 1112, the one or more processors 1116, and memory 1118 can be electrically and/or communicatively coupled to one another to perform one or more of the functions of the blockchain-enabled industrial device 1102. In some embodiments, components 1104, 1106, 1110, and 1112 can comprise software instructions stored on memory 1118 and executed by processor(s) 1116.).
Biernat does not disclose:
the method comprising: obtaining, with the industrial equipment, a unique identification from a decentralized network
Bhattiprolu discloses:
the method comprising: obtaining, with the industrial equipment, a unique identification from a decentralized network( Bhattiprolu, [0041], The controller 202 is communicatively coupled to a random-access memory (RAM) 204 or other dynamic storage device and one or more input/output interfaces 206 that allow the controller 202 to communicate with external devic, [0010], the digital signature is applied by encrypting the hydrocarbon data and the hash value using a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. [0006], distributed ledger technology, such as blockchain, [0007], a distributed ledger designated to receive the hydrocarbon data, and transmit the hydrocarbon data and hash value to the distributed ledger over a private or public network, including the Internet. [0025], Distributed ledger technology is well-known in the art and generally refers to the use of independent computers or “nodes” that each store an identical copy of the data, including all prior versions thereof, instead of a single copy of the data being stored at a centralized location…)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data using blockchain-enabled devices to ensure secure and verifiable device identification using cryptographic identifiers obtained from a distributed ledger as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance device authentication, data integrity, and trustworthiness of industrial data within the network.
The motivation is to ensure that industrial devices are uniquely identifiable and their data can be securely attributed and verified across distributed systems.
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the memory being defined by the controller- peripheral network comprises registers mapped according to a protocol of the controller- peripheral network.(Biernat, [0042], Industrial controllers 118 may communicatively interface with industrial devices 120 over hardwired or networked connections. For example, industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices. The native controller I/O can include digital I/O that transmits and receives discrete voltage signals to and from the field devices, or analog I/O that transmits and receives analog voltage or current signals to and from the devices. The controller I/O can communicate with a controller's processor over a backplane such that the digital and analog signals can be read into and controlled by the control programs. Industrial controllers 118 can also communicate with industrial devices 120 over a network using, for example, a communication module or an integrated networking port. Exemplary networks can include the Internet, intranets, Ethernet, DeviceNet, ControlNet, Data Highway and Data Highway Plus (DH/DH+), Remote I/O, Fieldbus, Modbus, Profibus).
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 8, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the unique identification is stored in at least one of the registers(Bhattiprolu, [0010], the hash value using a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system., [0045], the cryptographic hardware 218 may be an integrated cryptographic chipset that securely stores a private key along with a public key. The two keys form a public/private key pair 220 for the computing system 200 ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s industrial controller systems by enhancing Biernat’s systems for storing operational and device-related data within controller memory structures, including protocol-defined registers to ensure that unique identification data, such as cryptographic identifiers, is accessible and usable by the controller and networked devices as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance device identification, data association, and secure communication within the industrial network.
The motivation is to ensure that identification information is stored in standard register-based memory locations for efficient access, processing, and communication in controller-peripheral networks.
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 7, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the unique identification comprises one of a public key and a token identifier of the uniquely identified industrial equipment(Bhattiprolu, [0010], a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. [0045], he public and private keys 220 are basically two strings of hexadecimal numbers that are uniquely related to one another mathematically,…. The digital signing module 216 can thus apply a digital signature to the data by encrypting the data using the private key. Since only the corresponding public key can decrypt the data, a successful decryption necessarily authenticates the originator , [0025], These systems and methods use blockchain, DAG, and similar distributed ledger technology to make the data immutable, tamper proof, and easily authenticated, with access to the data ). .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data in a distributed ledger to ensure that each device is uniquely identified using cryptographic identifiers such as a public key as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance secure device authentication, data integrity, and traceability of data within the blockchain system.
The motivation is to ensure that data recorded in the decentralized network can be reliably attributed to a specific device and verified using established cryptographic techniques.
Regarding Claim 11:
The method of claim 7, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein the memory is further configured to store a private key paired with the unique identification( Bhattiprolu, [0045], the cryptographic hardware 218 may be an integrated cryptographic chipset that securely stores a private key along with a public key. [0010], private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for performing distributed ledger-based data operations within industrial devices to ensure that the industrial equipment can securely generate and authenticate data using a private key paired with a corresponding public key used as a unique identifier as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance secure data authentication, integrity, and trusted communication within the decentralized network.
The motivation is to ensure that the industrial equipment can locally perform cryptographic signing and verification operations using securely stored key pairs associated with its identity.
Regarding Claim 12:
The method of claim 7, Biernat in view of Bhattiprolu disclose wherein obtaining, with the industrial equipment, the unique identification from the decentralized network comprises obtaining, with a communications port communicatively coupled to the controller-peripheral network, the unique identification from the decentralized network( Bhattiprolu, [0041], The controller 202 is communicatively coupled to a random-access memory (RAM) 204 or other dynamic storage device and one or more input/output interfaces 206 that allow the controller 202 to communicate with external devic, [0010], the digital signature is applied by encrypting the hydrocarbon data and the hash value using a private key of a public/private key pair uniquely associated with the system. [0006], distributed ledger technology, such as blockchain, [0007], a distributed ledger designated to receive the hydrocarbon data, and transmit the hydrocarbon data and hash value to the distributed ledger over a private or public network, including the Internet. [0025], Distributed ledger technology is well-known in the art and generally refers to the use of independent computers or “nodes” that each store an identical copy of the data, including all prior versions thereof, instead of a single copy of the data being stored at a centralized location…) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Biernat’s blockchain-enabled industrial devices by enhancing Biernat’s systems for recording and managing industrial data using blockchain-enabled devices to ensure secure and verifiable device identification using cryptographic identifiers obtained from a distributed ledger as taught by Bhattiprolu in order to enhance device authentication, data integrity, and trustworthiness of industrial data within the network.
The motivation is to ensure that industrial devices are uniquely identifiable and their data can be securely attributed and verified across distributed systems.
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433