DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the following claimed limitations (see below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The claimed limitations not shown are:
“apertures” (see claim 4 line 3)
“a motor” (see claim 7 lines 1-2)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 214828361 U) in view of Vanderwalker et al. (US Publication 2018/0313329 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a lifting appliance (see figures 1-15) comprising:
A tool (see below), the tool comprising:
a rail (20, see figure 6) having a first end (considered the end closest to plate 9, see figure 1) and a second end (considered the end opposite to plate 1, see figure 1),
a counterweight (4, 41, and 42, see figures 1 and 6) movably mounted on the rail to permit moving the
counterweight longitudinally along the rail (see paragraphs 0038 and 0042); and,
a lug (3, see figure 1) fixedly mounted on the rail (at least indirectly, as shown in figure 1) proximate the first end of the rail, the lug configured to be securable to a lifting device (see figures 12 and 14-15, and see paragraph 0042 of attached machine translation) so that the rail can be suspended from the lifting device, and
the rail configured to be fixedly mounted proximate the first end of a furnace (22, see figures 12-14) to a furnace mounting end (see figures 12-14);
Zhao does not explicitly the rail configured to be fixedly mounted proximate the first end of the rail to the main shaft proximate a rotor hub mounting end of the main shaft.
Vanderwalker et al. (from here on just referred to as Vanderwalker) discloses a system and method for removing a main shaft (see figures 5-6) and teaches that over time a main shaft may become worn and/or damaged to loads and forces from wind acting on a wind turbine components and there is a need for a new system and method for repairing, replacing, and updating a main shaft of a wind turbine (see paragraphs 0004 and 0008).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tool of Zhao by utilizing the tool of Zhao to lift a main shaft onto or off of a wind turbine, as over time a main shaft may become worn and/or damaged to loads and forces from wind acting on a wind turbine components and there is a need for a new system and method for repairing as taught by Vanderwalker.
The device of Zhao and Vanderwalker would function to control the center of gravity of the combined load and tool, regarding claim 14.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao further shows the claimed carriage (18, see figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao further shows the claimed retaining plates (considered the L-shaped plates below rollers 19, as shown in figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao further shows wherein the counterweight comprises a plurality of individual slabs (41 and/or 42) secured between the opposed retaining plates (as the slabs are within the lateral extent of the retaining plates) by at least one pin (17, see figure 6) inserted through aligned apertures (considered the apertures for pins 17) in the retaining plates and the slabs. Also, see paragraph 0040 of attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao further shows the claimed carriage drive (11, 8, 81, and 82, see figures 1-15).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao further shows the claimed threaded rod (82, see figure 6) and bracket (considered the part 18 around the rod 82 in figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao further shows the claimed a motor mount (12, see paragraph 0041, and figures 1-15) and the claimed motor (8, 82, and 11, as these structures form a hand motor).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao further shows the claimed abutment plate (9, see figure 1), the claimed fastener (23, see figure 13).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao further shows the claimed faces of the tool and the load to be supported (see figure 13).
Regarding claim 10, Neither Zhao nor Vanderwalker explicitly disclose wherein the at least one fastener is two fasteners and the at least one flange aperture is two flange apertures.
Zhao teaches that a locking fastener (23) aligns a hole of a load and a hole (15) of the tool (see last 5 lines of paragraph 0035 of attached machine translation).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tool of Zhao by adding a second fastener and a second flange aperture, to align the load to lifted and the tool as taught by Zhao, to better align the load to be lifted and the tool by providing two fasteners and two corresponding flange apertures instead of one fastener and one flange aperture, and/or to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao further shows the claimed bolt (23, see figure 13).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao further shows the claimed indexing pin (23, see figure 13).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao further shows the claimed gusset (2, see figure 1).
Regarding claims 15-18, the method of operating the apparatus is well known and no new, non-obvious or improvement claims are described by the method claims since all elements of the Zhao as modified by Vanderwalker apparatus are disclosed in detail above. As Zhao as modified by Vanderwalker is obvious to the claimed structure of at least claim 1, the method steps of these claims are implied by Zhao as modified by Vanderwalker.
Conclusion
/JJC/
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654