DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 and 4/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US 2016/0301271).
In claim 1, Saito discloses (Fig. 1-7) a rotor (250) for a rotary electric machine comprising: a rotor core (252) in which first magnet holes (253, 257c1, 257c2; hereinforth 253-1) are formed symmetrically with respect toa d-axis when viewed in an axial direction, and second magnet holes (253, 257a1, 257a2, 257b1, 257b2; hereinforth 253-2) including two or more hole portions (257a1, 257a2; 257b1, 257b2) arranged successively in a circumferential direction are formed symmetrically with respect to the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction; first permanent magnets (254c) disposed in the first magnet holes (253-1); and second permanent magnets (254a, 254b) disposed in the second magnet holes (253-2), wherein the rotor core (252) includes a first part (Comp_1; annotated in Fig. 7 below) located on a radially outer side of the first magnet holes (235-1) and forming an outer peripheral surface of the rotor core (252), a second part (Comp_2; annotated in Fig. 7 below) passing between the first magnet holes (253-1) and the second magnet holes (253-2), extending to the outer peripheral surface of the rotor core (252) at both circumferential sides, and a third part (Comp_3; annotated in Fig. 7 below) passing through a radially inner side of the second magnet holes (253-2), extending to the outer peripheral surface of the rotor core (252) at both circumferential sides, each first magnet hole (253-1) has a first hole portion (257c2) on a side close to the d- axis and a second hole portion (257c1) on a side far from the d-axis forming a shape protruding toward the second part (Comp_2) when viewed in the axial direction on one circumferential side with respect to the d-axis, and the first hole portions (257c2) on both circumferential sides with respect to the d-axis form a shape protruding toward the first part (Comp_1), centered on the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction, and each first permanent magnet (254c) is extended over at least part of each of the first hole portion (257c2) and the second hole portion (257c1) in one of the first magnet holes (253-1).
In claim 2, Saito discloses wherein the first hole portion (257c2) is continuous with the second hole portion (257c1), and each first permanent magnet (254c) is extended throughout the second hole portion (254c1).
In claim 3, Saito discloses wherein a magnet portion of each first permanent magnet (254c) in the second hole portion (257c1) has a shorter distance to the outer peripheral surface of the rotor core (252) than a magnet portion of the first permanent magnet (254c) in the first hole portion (257c2) when viewed in the axial direction.
In claim 4, Saito discloses wherein the second magnet holes (253-2) include portions (257b2) or a portion extended on both circumferential sides with respect to the d-axis across the d-axis or through the d-axis, forming a shape protruding toward the second part (Comp_2), centered on the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction.
In claim 6, Saito discloses wherein the second magnet holes (253-2) include portions (257b2) or a portion extended on both circumferential sides with respect to the d-axis across the d-axis or through the d-axis, forming a shape protruding toward the second part (Comp_2), centered on the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction.
In claim 7, Saito discloses wherein the second magnet holes (253-2) include portions (257b2) or a portion extended on both circumferential sides with respect to the d-axis across the d-axis or through the d-axis, forming a shape protruding toward the second part (Comp_2), centered on the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 2016/0301271) in view of Ozaki et al. (US 2022/0393531).
In claim 5, Saito teaches the rotor of claim 4, with the exception of wherein a magnet portion of each first permanent magnet extended at least in the second hole portion is formed of a bonded magnet material.
However, Ozaki teaches wherein permanent magnets (22) can be made of bonded magnet materials ([0026-0027]).
Therefore in view of Ozaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to produce magnets that can more accurately conform to the shape of the magnet holes (Ozaki; [0026]).
In claim 8, Saito teaches the rotor of claim 6, with the exception of wherein a magnet portion of each first permanent magnet extended at least in the second hole portion is formed of a bonded magnet material.
However, Ozaki teaches wherein permanent magnets (22) can be made of bonded magnet materials ([0026-0027]).
Therefore in view of Ozaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to produce magnets that can more accurately conform to the shape of the magnet holes (Ozaki; [0026]).
In claim 9, Saito teaches the rotor of claim 7, with the exception of wherein a magnet portion of each first permanent magnet extended at least in the second hole portion is formed of a bonded magnet material.
However, Ozaki teaches wherein permanent magnets (22) can be made of bonded magnet materials ([0026-0027]).
Therefore in view of Ozaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to produce magnets that can more accurately conform to the shape of the magnet holes (Ozaki; [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sasaki et al. (US 2016/0285327) teaches a motor including a stator that generates a rotating magnetic field and a rotor supported rotatably by a shaft within the stator.
Kubota et al. (US 2022/0294291) teaches a rotor including a rotor core in which a shaft through-hole and a magnet insertion hole forms a plurality of layers in a radial direction toward a central axis of the shaft through-hole are formed.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834