DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " wherein at least either the first magnet holes or the second magnet holes further include the second magnet holes" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether: a) the second magnet holes are intended to further include themselves, which doe not provide a meaningful structural limitation; or b) the first magnet holes are intended to include the second magnet holes, despite claim 1 defining the first magnet holes and second magnet holes as separate and distinct magnet-hole structures. Appropriate action is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "wherein at least either the first magnet holes or the second magnet holes further include the first magnet holes" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether: a) the first magnet holes are intended to further include themselves, which does not provide a meaningful structural limitation; or b) the second magnet holes are intended to include the first magnet holes, despite claim 1 defining the first magnet holes and second magnet holes as separate and distinct magnet-hole structures. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 20220140676 A1).
Claim 1
Tanaka teaches: A rotor (20) for a rotary electric machine (Fig. 1), comprising: a rotor core (30) in which first magnet holes (415, 416) are formed symmetrically with respect to a d-axis when viewed in an axial direction, and second magnet holes (413, 414) including two or more hole portions arranged successively in a circumferential direction are formed symmetrically with respect to the d-axis when viewed in the axial direction; first permanent magnets (425, 426) disposed in the first magnet holes (415, 416); and second permanent magnets (423, 424) disposed in the second magnet holes (413, 414), wherein the rotor core (30) includes a first part (portion of rotor core 40 radially outward magnet holes 415 and 416) located on a radially outer side of the first magnet holes (415, 416) and forming an outer peripheral surface (34) of the rotor core (30), a second part passing between the first magnet holes (415, 416) and the second magnet holes (413, 414), extending to the outer peripheral surface (34) of the rotor core (30) at both circumferential sides, and a third part passing through a radially inner side of the second magnet holes (413, 414), extending to the outer peripheral surface (34) of the rotor core (30) at both circumferential sides, one or more of the first magnet holes (415, 416) form a shape protruding radially inward of the rotor core (30) on each circumferential side with respect to the d-axis, one or more of the second magnet holes (413, 414) form a shape protruding radially inward of the rotor core (30) on each circumferential side with respect to the d-axis, and at least either the first magnet holes (415, 416) or the second magnet holes (413, 414) include hole portions or a hole portion extended on both circumferential sides with respect to the d- axis across the d-axis or through the d-axis, forming a shape of protruding radially outward of the rotor core (30) when viewed in the axial direction, and include a curve in the shape of protruding radially inward of the rotor core (30) when viewed in the axial direction.
Claim 2/1
Tanaka teaches: The rotor (20) for a rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein at least either the first magnet holes (415, 416) or the second magnet holes (413, 414) include the second magnet holes, and the second permanent magnets (423, 424) have a curved shape corresponding to the curve.
Claim 3/2/1
Tanaka teaches: The rotor (20) for a rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein at least either the first magnet holes (415, 416) or the second magnet holes (413, 414) further include the first magnet holes (415, 416), and the first permanent magnets (425, 426) have a curved shape corresponding to the curve.
Claim 4/3/2/1
Tanaka teaches: The rotor (20) for a rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) according to claim 3, wherein a curvature radius of the curved shape related to the second magnet holes (413, 414) is larger than a curvature radius of the curved shape related to the first magnet holes (415, 416).
Claim 5/1
Tanaka teaches: The rotor (20) for a rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the second permanent magnets (423, 424) are formed of a bonded magnet material.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834