DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7) and Species A1 (Claim 4) in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 6 and 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama (JPS59197335).
Regarding Claim 1, Koyama teaches a method for producing an inner (Fig. 9, 67) and an outer ring-shaped formed part (Fig. 9, 66) from a blank (Fig. 3, 40), comprising the steps:
- cup extrusion of the blank (Fig. 3, 40) to form a cup (Fig. 5, 45) having a drawn-out cup base (Fig. 5, a bottom of a conical hole 42) and an adjoining stepless cup wall (Fig. 5, a wall of a conical hole 42) (page 2, lines 15-17),
- forming of the cup wall (Fig. 5, a wall of conical hole 42) in such a way that the formed cup wall comprises an inner ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 67) and an adjoining outer ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 66) which is partly offset in an axial direction (Fig. 8, vertical direction) (page 2, line 17-page 5, line 15), and
- separation of the outer ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 66) from the inner ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 67) and separation of the inner ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 67) from the drawn-out cup base (Fig. 9, 43) (Although the cup base shape has changed during the cup wall forming process, the cup base portion still exists in Figs. 8 and 9.), the detached outer ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 66) constituting the outer ring-shaped formed part (Fig. 9, 66); and the detached inner ring-shaped section (Fig. 8, 67) constituting the inner ring-shaped formed part (Fig. 9, 67) (page 5, lines 15-17).
Regarding Claim 2, Koyama teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein during the cup extrusion of the blank, the cup base (Fig. 5, a bottom of a conical hole 42) is shaped between an end face (see Fig. 5 below) of a first forming punch portion and a support face (see Fig. 5 below) of an ejector.
Regarding Claim 4, Koyama teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the cup extrusion of the blank is effected in a first forming station (Fig. 5 shows a station having a die 44 and a punch for the cup extrusion of the blank.) with a stepless forming die (Fig. 5, 44) and the forming of the cup wall is effected in a second forming station (Fig. 8 shows another station having a die 48 and a punch 49) with a forming die (Fig. 8, 48) having a stepped region (Fig. 8, 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama (JPS59197335).
Regarding Claim 7, Koyama teaches according to the method according to claim 1, the cup extrusion of the blank and the forming of the cup wall are effected by hot-forming (page 6, line 7: hot forging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat up the blank of Koyama to a certain temperature above the recrystallization temperature of the blank material including 500°C and above depending on the material of the blank in order to easily shape the blank into a desired form.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references of record teach “during the cup extrusion of the blank, at least a part of a peripheral inner surface of the inner ring-shaped formed part is shaped by a peripheral outer surface of the first forming punch portion” as the peripheral inner surface of the inner ring-shaped formed part is shaped by a second forming punch portion during the cup wall forming step.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeremiah (U.S. Patent No. 1,387,638), Wang (CN104959510), Wu (CN105057556), Obata (WO2016098886), Nasu (JP2005288505). All of these references teach Claim 1 similar to the prior art, Koyama cited in the above rejection, however, none of them teach the allowable subject matter of Claim 3.
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 1/14/2026