DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan (US Publication No. 20210126826 A1) in view of Spivack(US Publication No. 20220050982 A1) in further view of Kresina(US Publication No. 2003057281 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Nolan discloses:
A method for forming a message from a measurement device for data validation(Nolan, [0059], IoT devices may include IoT gateways, used to couple IoT devices to other IoT devices and to cloud applications, for data storage, process control, and the like. [0137], a communicator 930 that sends packets to and receives frames, [0073], decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA)… ),
and combining the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Spivack, [0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag), [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID) to the authenticity component of tag))
with the measurement data(Nolan, [0059], an IoT device may include a device performing a function, such as sensing or control… [0060], IoT devices may include commercial and home devices, such as water distribution systems, electric power distribution systems, pipeline control systems, plant control systems, light switches, thermostats, locks, cameras, alarms, motion sensors, and the like. The IoT devices may be accessible through a controller, such as computers, servers, and other systems, for example, to control systems or access data. [0080], traffic flow monitors, cameras, weather sensors, and the like. The traffic control group 306, or other subgroups, may be in communication with the cloud 302).
Nolan does not disclose:
the method comprising: obtaining a previously determined unique identification of the measurement device
Spivack discloses:
the method comprising: obtaining a previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Spivack, [0036], The color barcode of the identity component can also encode a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is irreproducible due to random physical properties. For example, the identity component can be formed from a substrate with the random physical properties in a material of the substrate. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID) to the authenticity component of tag).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's IoT device communication and decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's unique device identification techniques, including obtaining a previously determined unique identifier associated with a device, in order to ensure authenticated identification of the measurement device and improve traceability and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
The motivation is to ensure that data received from a device can be reliably attributed to the originating measurement device and verified using the device's established identity.
Nolan in view of Spivack does not disclose:
obtaining measurement data of the measurement device by reading the previously determined unique identification from one or more registers of the measurement device, wherein the previously determined unique identification comprises a public key or a serial number of the measurement device;
Kresina discloses:
obtaining measurement data of the measurement device by reading the previously determined unique identification from one or more registers of the measurement device, wherein the previously determined unique identification comprises a public key or a serial number of the measurement device; (Kresina, [0011], Each has a unique identifier or embedded hardware serial number readable by data communications such as serial electrical communications. [0021], The PSDs each have a unique identifier or embedded hardware serial number…[0022], The PSD is a postage funds vault following design procedures per FIPS PUB 140-1, regarding security aspects of the device. [0019], the host 40 may read various data from the PSD 10 including the embedded hardware serial number…[0024], …the embedded hardware serial number is read (typically electrically)…[0017], A real-time clock 25 is a convenient place for a embedded hardware serial number. [0022], the clock is a convenient place to store a unique identification (“embedded hardware serial number”).)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan in view of Spivack's decentralized data storage and processing for IoT devices by enhancing Nolan in view of Spivack's systems for obtaining and validating measurement data to ensure authenticated identification and traceability of the originating measurement device, as taught by Kresina, by reading a previously determined unique identification comprising an embedded hardware serial number from the measurement device in order to enhance formation of validated messages associated with the originating measurement device.
The motivation is to ensure that measurement data is reliably associated with a unique device identity, thereby improving data validation, device traceability, and integrity of communications.
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose wherein public key is obtained from a decentralized network (Spivack,[0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is printed or deposited to have the random physical properties. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's serial identifier techniques, thereby allowing the unique identification of the measurement device to comprise either a public key obtained from the decentralized network or a serial number obtained from the measurement device.
The motivation is to ensure flexible and reliable device identification while improving authentication, traceability, and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 3, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose wherein the serial number of the measurement device is previously associated with the public key( Spivack,[0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is printed or deposited to have the random physical properties. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's serial identifier techniques, thereby allowing the unique identification of the measurement device to comprise either a public key obtained from the decentralized network or a serial number obtained from the measurement device.
The motivation is to ensure flexible and reliable device identification while improving authentication, traceability, and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose further comprising obtaining a checksum of the measurement device and combining the checksum with the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Nolan, [0105], The data mapper 712 may use an algorithm, such as a hash function, to determine the optimum location of the data. [0109], generate a hash code identifying the location of inbound data. [0139], The code 1010 may direct the processor 1002 to calculate a hash function of the data. [0143], , a data value may be hashed to a DHT where the location in the DHT database reveals the blockchain block hash where the data can be found) .
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 5, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose wherein the checksum comprises one of a firmware checksum and a configuration checksum of the measurement device(Nolan, [0077], improve the data integrity, quality assurance,. [0102], a ground moisture sensor array on an agricultural site. The reporting frequency may depend on the rate of change, which may increase costs due to the need to purchase bandwidth to match the highest reporting rate. [0109], generate a hash code, [0139], to calculate a hash function of the data).
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose further comprising securing the message for transmission over a secure channel to a cloud decentralized network(Nolan, [0073], communications between IoT devices 104, such as over the backbone links 202, may be protected by a decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA), [0080], The IoT devices may use another device, such as a gateway 310 to communicate with the cloud 302.), [0098], Blockchains may be used to decentralize identification as they may provide agreement between devices .
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose wherein securing the message for transmission over the secure channel to the cloud decentralized network comprises securing the message for transmission to an internet-of-things hub communicatively coupled to the cloud decentralized network( Nolan, [0080], a cloud computing network, or cloud 302, in communication with a number of Internet of Things (IoT) devices… the IoT devices to communicate with each other, such as through a local area network, a wireless local area network, and the like. The IoT devices may use another device, such as a gateway 310 to communicate with the cloud 302. [0073], communications between IoT devices 104, such as over the backbone links 202, may be protected by a decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA).).
Regarding Claim 9:
A measurement device (1400) configured Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose to form a message, the measurement device (1400) comprising: a memory (1422) configured to store a unique identification of the measurement device (1400); and a processor (1421) communicatively coupled to the memory (1422), the processor (1421) being configured to perform the method of claim 1. (Same rational applied to claim 1 above)
Regarding Claim 10:
A decentralized network data gateway (1500) configured to Nolan in view of Spivack in further view of Kresina disclose form a message, the decentralized network data gateway (1500) comprising: a memory (1522) configured to store a unique identification of the measurement device (1500); and a processor (1521) communicatively coupled to the memory (1522), the processor (1521) being configured to perform the method of claim 1. (Same rational applied to claim 1 above)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433