DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/874352 filed on 12/12/2024. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 is an independent claim.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/035538 filed on 06/29/2022.
Drawings
The drawings (Figures 1-2 and 14-15) are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because there are no present descriptive legends for the character numbers in the drawings of Figures 1-2 and 14-15 as described in the specification. It becomes difficult for the Examiner to understand what the reference characters represent without having to view the specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 12/12/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, specifically claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 05/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan (US 20210126826 A1) in view of Spivack(US 20220050982 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Nolan discloses:
A method for forming a message from a measurement device for data validation(Nolan, [0059], IoT devices may include IoT gateways, used to couple IoT devices to other IoT devices and to cloud applications, for data storage, process control, and the like. [0137], a communicator 930 that sends packets to and receives frames, [0073], decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA)… ),
obtaining measurement data of the measurement device(Nolan, [0059], an IoT device may include a device performing a function, such as sensing or control, among others, in communication with other IoT devices and a communications network. [0080], IoT devices may include stoplights, traffic flow monitors, cameras, weather sensors, and the like. The traffic control group 306, or other subgroups, may be in communication with the cloud 302 through wireless links 308, such as LPWA links, and the like. [0102], the information to move across the wired network 602. As an example, the first wireless network 604 may be a ground moisture sensor array on an agricultural site);
and combining the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Spivack, [0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag), [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID) to the authenticity component of tag))
with the measurement data(Nolan, [0059], an IoT device may include a device performing a function, such as sensing or control… [0060], IoT devices may include commercial and home devices, such as water distribution systems, electric power distribution systems, pipeline control systems, plant control systems, light switches, thermostats, locks, cameras, alarms, motion sensors, and the like. The IoT devices may be accessible through a controller, such as computers, servers, and other systems, for example, to control systems or access data. [0080], traffic flow monitors, cameras, weather sensors, and the like. The traffic control group 306, or other subgroups, may be in communication with the cloud 302).
Nolan does not disclose:
the method comprising: obtaining a previously determined unique identification of the measurement device
Spivack discloses:
the method comprising: obtaining a previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Spivack, [0036], The color barcode of the identity component can also encode a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is irreproducible due to random physical properties. For example, the identity component can be formed from a substrate with the random physical properties in a material of the substrate. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID) to the authenticity component of tag).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's IoT device communication and decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's unique device identification techniques, including obtaining a previously determined unique identifier associated with a device, in order to ensure authenticated identification of the measurement device and improve traceability and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
The motivation is to ensure that data received from a device can be reliably attributed to the originating measurement device and verified using the device's established identity.
Regarding Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose wherein obtaining the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device comprises reading the previously determined unique identification from one or more registers of the measurement device(Nolan, Fig. 9, [0059], … The IoT device may include an autonomous device or a semiautonomous device configured to perform one or more functions… [0068], IoT devices 104 include the appropriate transceiver for the communications with other devices… one or more IoT devices 104 includes components described in regard to FIG. 9. [0130], The bus 906 may couple the processor 902 to an interface 918 that is used to connect external devices. The external devices may include sensors 920, such as accelerometers, level sensors, flow sensors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, barometric pressure sensors, and the like. )
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose wherein the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device is one of a public key obtained from a decentralized network and a serial number obtained from the measurement device(Spivack,[0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is printed or deposited to have the random physical properties. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's serial identifier techniques, thereby allowing the unique identification of the measurement device to comprise either a public key obtained from the decentralized network or a serial number obtained from the measurement device.
The motivation is to ensure flexible and reliable device identification while improving authentication, traceability, and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 3, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose wherein the serial number of the measurement device is previously associated with the public key( Spivack,[0036], a serial ID to identify the microlens array or diffractive surface area as belonging uniquely to a given security device (a Blocktag). The encoded metadata or serial ID can function as authentication parameters. [0046], the identity component is printed or deposited to have the random physical properties. [0078], the identity component of the security device (e.g., a tag, a “Blocktag”, a security device 108A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 or security devices as shown in the examples of FIG. 2A-2P) gives a unique identifier (e.g. a serial ID)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nolan's decentralized identity system by incorporating Spivack's serial identifier techniques, thereby allowing the unique identification of the measurement device to comprise either a public key obtained from the decentralized network or a serial number obtained from the measurement device.
The motivation is to ensure flexible and reliable device identification while improving authentication, traceability, and validation of measurement data transmitted within the decentralized network.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose further comprising obtaining a checksum of the measurement device and combining the checksum with the previously determined unique identification of the measurement device(Nolan, [0105], The data mapper 712 may use an algorithm, such as a hash function, to determine the optimum location of the data. [0109], generate a hash code identifying the location of inbound data. [0139], The code 1010 may direct the processor 1002 to calculate a hash function of the data. [0143], , a data value may be hashed to a DHT where the location in the DHT database reveals the blockchain block hash where the data can be found) .
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 5, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose wherein the checksum comprises one of a firmware checksum and a configuration checksum of the measurement device(Nolan, [0077], improve the data integrity, quality assurance,. [0102], a ground moisture sensor array on an agricultural site. The reporting frequency may depend on the rate of change, which may increase costs due to the need to purchase bandwidth to match the highest reporting rate. [0109], generate a hash code, [0139], to calculate a hash function of the data).
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 1, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose further comprising securing the message for transmission over a secure channel to a cloud decentralized network(Nolan, [0073], communications between IoT devices 104, such as over the backbone links 202, may be protected by a decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA), [0080], The IoT devices may use another device, such as a gateway 310 to communicate with the cloud 302.), [0098], Blockchains may be used to decentralize identification as they may provide agreement between devices .
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, Nolan in view of Spivack disclose wherein securing the message for transmission over the secure channel to the cloud decentralized network comprises securing the message for transmission to an internet-of-things hub communicatively coupled to the cloud decentralized network( Nolan, [0080], a cloud computing network, or cloud 302, in communication with a number of Internet of Things (IoT) devices… the IoT devices to communicate with each other, such as through a local area network, a wireless local area network, and the like. The IoT devices may use another device, such as a gateway 310 to communicate with the cloud 302. [0073], communications between IoT devices 104, such as over the backbone links 202, may be protected by a decentralized system for authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA).).
Regarding Claim 9:
A measurement device (1400) configured Nolan in view of Spivack disclose to form a message, the measurement device (1400) comprising: a memory (1422) configured to store a unique identification of the measurement device (1400); and a processor (1421) communicatively coupled to the memory (1422), the processor (1421) being configured to perform the method of claim 1. (Same rational applied to claim 1 above)
Regarding Claim 10:
A decentralized network data gateway (1500) configured to Nolan in view of Spivack disclose form a message, the decentralized network data gateway (1500) comprising: a memory (1522) configured to store a unique identification of the measurement device (1500); and a processor (1521) communicatively coupled to the memory (1522), the processor (1521) being configured to perform the method of claim 1. (Same rational applied to claim 1 above)
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433