DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 12/12/2024.
Claims 1-11 and 16-24 are pending and rejected. Claims 12-15 are canceled. Claims 16-24 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024, 06/18/2025, 10/08/2025 and 08/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 16-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al (US 20220086780 A1) (hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a random access method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), performed by a terminal (see para. [0008] discloses method for a UE in an NTN) and comprising:
determining, based on a time difference between a first timepoint and a second timepoint, a resource for sending a first message (see para. [0189] discloses determining whether to transmit the UE specific Timing Advance (TA) report based on the value of the indication),
wherein the first timepoint is determined based on system information (SI) received by the terminal (see para. [0186] discloses some cases, the UE may be NTN-capable, and have satellite-specific characteristics, that is received periodically via system information (SI)), the second timepoint is determined based on an effective timepoint of uplink synchronization auxiliary information received by the terminal (see Fig. 6 (604), para. [0145];[0160] discloses considerations for synchronization for UL transmission; some implementations may consider the reference point for UL synchronization at the satellite. Fig. 6 illustrates the reference point for UL timing synchronization may be determined at a satellite, which may indicate the Timing Advance (TA) acquisition and updates according to the satellite position, as reference point for synchronization), and the first message is used for initiating random access (see para. [0013],[0191] discloses UL specific Time Advance (TA) report is transmitted via UL message of the Random Access (RA) procedure).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the first timepoint comprises at least one of:
a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint of a time slot at which the terminal receives a system information block (SIB) (This part is optional);
a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint corresponding to a system frame number or a subframe number where the SIB received by the terminal is located (This part is optional);
or a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint of a system information time window where the SIB received by the terminal is located (see para. [0160];[0191] discloses BS-Satellite common delay may change continuously with time due to the satellite mobility. Such common delay may be broadcast within the NTN system information block (SIB) if needed; indication may be received from BS via system information (SIB));
wherein the SIB comprises the uplink synchronization auxiliary information (see para. [0219] discloses satellite location information may be transmitted via one or more SIBs).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the effective timepoint of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information is indicated by the SIB (see para. [0160] discloses requirement for UL time and frequency synchronization may be considered. Consideration of UL timing synchronization at the satellite. Common delays may be broadcast withing NTN SIB); or determined based on the SIB (see para. [0160] discloses requirement for UL time and frequency synchronization may be considered. Consideration of UL timing synchronization at the satellite. Common delays may be broadcast withing NTN SIB).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the second timepoint is the effective timepoint of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information (see para. [0160] discloses some implementation may consider reference point for UL timing synchronization at the satellite, which may indicate that the TA (Timing Advance) acquisition and updates may be computed according to satellite position. FIG. 6 illustrates acquisition of the TA based on a reference point at a satellite for UL timing synchronization (UE-satellite propagation, td).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein determining, the resource for sending the first message comprises: determining, based on the time difference, a random access occasion for sending a physical random access channel (PRACH) (see para. [0165] discloses the initial TA acquisition (see para. [0167] discloses before PRACH transmission) may be computed as a sum of two contributions by the expression TA=UE-specific TA + Common TA=2*T1+2*T0).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the SIB comprises at least one of:
S1B19 (This part is optional); or
non-terrestrial network communication (NTN)-SIB (see para. [0160] discloses common delay may be broadcast within the NTN system information block (SIB)).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the uplink synchronization auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
satellite ephemeris information (see para. [0160];[0186];[0255] discloses UL timing synchronization may be determined at a satellite, which may indicate that the TA acquisition and updates are computed according to the satellite position; UE may be NTN-capable, may have satellite specific characteristics, may calculate propagation delay via ephemeris data; UE specific TA may be estimated based on ephemeris indicated by a NW); or
public timing advance (TA) parameter information (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the first message comprises at least one of:
Message (Msg) 1 (This part is optional); or
Msg A (see para. [0191] discloses UE-specific TA report may be transmitted via UL message or the RA procedure and may include MSGA (Message A)).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses a terminal, comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (see Fig. 16 (1628), para. [0272];[0276] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a memory 1628; memory with compute executable instructions (1632), causing processor to perform various functions);
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine, based on a time difference between a first timepoint and a second timepoint (see para. [0189] discloses determining whether to transmit the UE specific Timing Advance (TA) report based on the value of the indication), a resource for sending a first message,
wherein the first timepoint is determined based on system information (SI) received by the terminal (see para. [0186] discloses some cases the UE may be NTN-capable, and have satellite-specific characteristics, that is received periodically via system information (SI)), the second timepoint is determined based on an effective timepoint of uplink synchronization auxiliary information received by the terminal (see Fig. 6 (604), para. [0145];[0160] discloses considerations for synchronization for UL transmission; some implementations may consider the reference point for UL synchronization at the satellite. Fig. 6 illustrates the reference point for UL timing synchronization may be determined at a satellite, which may indicate the Timing Advance (TA) acquisition and updates according to the satellite position, as reference point for synchronization), and the first message is used for initiating random access (see para. [0013],[0191] discloses UL specific Time Advance (TA) report is transmitted via UL message of the Random Access (RA) procedure).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626), wherein the first timepoint comprises at least one of:
a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint of a time slot at which the terminal receives a system information block (SIB) (This part is optional);
a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint corresponding to a system frame number or a subframe number where the SIB received by the terminal is located (This part is optional); or
a starting timepoint or an ending timepoint of a system information time window where the SIB received by the terminal is located (see para. [0160];[0191] discloses BS-Satellite common delay may change continuously with time due to the satellite mobility. Such common delay may be broadcast within the NTN system information block (SIB) if needed; indication may be received from BS via system information (SIB));
wherein the SIB comprises the uplink synchronization auxiliary information (see para. [0219] discloses satellite location information may be transmitted via one or more SIBs).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626), wherein the effective timepoint of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information is indicated by the SIB (see para. [0160] discloses requirement for UL time and frequency synchronization may be considered. Consideration of UL timing synchronization at the satellite. Common delays may be broadcast withing NTN SIB) or determined based on the SIB (see para. [0160] discloses requirement for UL time and frequency synchronization may be considered. Consideration of UL timing synchronization at the satellite. Common delays may be broadcast withing NTN SIB).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626), wherein the second timepoint is the effective timepoint of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information (see para. [0160] discloses some implementation may consider reference point for UL timing synchronization at the satellite, which may indicate that the TA (Timing Advance) acquisition and updates may be computed according to satellite position. FIG. 6 illustrates acquisition of the TA based on a reference point at a satellite for UL timing synchronization (UE-satellite propagation, td).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626), wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the time difference, a random access occasion for sending a physical random access channel (PRACH) (see para. [0165];[0167] discloses the initial TA acquisition (before PRACH transmission) may be computed as a sum of two contributions by the expression TA=UE-specific TA + Common TA=2*T1+2*T0; ).
Regarding claim 24, Tsai discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see para. [0276] discloses computer storage media in the form of volatile and non-volatile memory), storing therein executable instructions that (see Fig. 16 (1628), para. [0276] discloses memory may store computer executable instructions), when executed by a processor of a terminal (see para. [0276] discloses computer executable instructions cause the processor to perform various functions), cause the terminal to perform a random access method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure) comprising:
determining, based on a time difference between a first timepoint and a second timepoint, a resource for sending a first message (see Fig. 4 (UE specific TA and Common TA), para. [0148];[0189] discloses UE specific TA acquired by UE and position of satellite, and TA common TA is propagation delay shared by all UEs corresponding to RTD) discloses; action may include determining whether to transmit the UE specific TA report through the RA procedure),
wherein the first timepoint is determined based on system information (SI) received by the terminal, the second timepoint is determined based on an effective timepoint of uplink synchronization auxiliary information received by the terminal (see Fig. 6 (604), para. [0145];[0160] discloses considerations for synchronization for UL transmission; some implementations may consider the reference point for UL synchronization at the satellite. Fig. 6 illustrates the reference point for UL timing synchronization may be determined at a satellite, which may indicate the Timing Advance (TA) acquisition and updates according to the satellite position, as reference point for synchronization), and the first message is used for initiating random access (see para. [0013],[0191] discloses UL specific Time Advance (TA) report is transmitted via UL message of the Random Access (RA) procedure)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6-7, and 21-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al (US 20220086780 A1) (hereinafter “Tsai”) in view of Narasimha et al (US 20220086786 A1) (hereinafter “Narasimha”).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure).
Tsai fails to disclose but Narasimha teaches wherein determining the random access occasion for sending the PRACH comprises:
determining, based on the time difference and n preset time differences, the random access occasion for sending the PRACH by:
in response to the time difference not being greater than an m-th preset time difference and greater than an (m-1)-th preset time difference, determining to use an ((n-m)+1)-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot); and
in response to the time difference not being greater than a 1st preset time difference, determining to use an n-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot);
wherein the (m-1)-th preset time difference is less than the m-th preset time difference, m is less than or equal to n, and m and n are positive integers (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot).
Tsai and Narasimha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include the random access occasions as described by Narasimha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving the adjusting of RACH occasions based on the increasing time delay.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure).
Tsai fails to disclose but Narasimha teaches wherein determining the random access occasion for sending the PRACH comprises:
determining, based on a valid time of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information as well as a difference between the time difference and the valid time, the random access occasion for sending the PRACH by:
in response to the difference not being greater than y/x of the valid time and greater than (y-1)/x of the valid time, determining to use an ((x-y)+1)-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot); and
in response to the difference not being greater than 1/x of the valid time, determining to use an x-th available random access occasion; wherein x is a preset value, y is less than or equal to x, and y and x are positive integers (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot).
Tsai and Narasimha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include the random access occasions as described by Narasimha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving the adjusting of RACH occasions based on the increasing time delay.
Regarding claim 21, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626).
Tsai fails to disclose but Narasimha teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the time difference and n preset time differences, the random access occasion for sending the PRACH by:
in response to the time difference not being greater than an m-th preset time difference and greater than an (m-1)-th preset time difference, determining to use an ((n-m)+1)-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot); and
in response to the time difference not being greater than a 1st preset time difference, determining to use an n-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot);
wherein the (m-1)-th preset time difference is less than the m-th preset time difference, m is less than or equal to n, and m and n are positive integers (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot).
Tsai and Narasimha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include the random access occasions as described by Narasimha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving the adjusting of RACH occasions based on the increasing time delay.
Regarding claim 22, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626).
Tsai fails to disclose but wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on a valid time of the uplink synchronization auxiliary information as well as a difference between the time difference and the valid time, the random access occasion for sending the PRACH by:
in response to the difference not being greater than y/x of the valid time and greater than (y-1)/x of the valid time, determining to use an ((x-y)+1)-th available random access occasion (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot); and
in response to the difference not being greater than 1/x of the valid time, determining to use an x-th available random access occasion; wherein x is a preset value, y is less than or equal to x, and y and x are positive integers (see Fig. 18, para. [0044]0045] discloses specific RACH occasion adjusting to altitude ranges, such the selection of RACH occasion corresponds to the range. RACH reception window can occur in subframes/slots which are distant in time from the downlink reference subframe/timeslot).
Tsai and Narasimha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include the random access occasions as described by Narasimha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving the adjusting of RACH occasions based on the increasing time delay.
Claim 8 and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 20220086780 A1) (hereinafter “Tsai”) in view of Ma et al (US 20240121830 A1) (hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses a method (see para. [0008],[0018] discloses method initiates a random access (RA) procedure), wherein the terminal is configured with a selected beam, and determining the random access occasion for sending the PRACH comprises:
determining, the random access occasion for sending the PRACH from random access occasions corresponding to the selected beam (see para. [0101] discloses the UE initiate via one beam, RACH procedure for the selected PRACH, may transmit PRACH preambles bases on RO (RACH Occasion)).
Tsai and Ma are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include PRACH on selected beam as described by Ma.
Regarding claim 23, Tsai discloses a terminal (see Fig. 16 (1626), para. [0272] discloses method implemented in a node that includes a processor 1626).
Tsai fails to disclose but Ma teaches wherein the terminal is configured with a selected beam, and the processor is further configured to:
determine the random access occasion for sending the PRACH from random access occasions corresponding to the selected beam (see para. [0101] discloses the UE initiate via one beam, RACH procedure for the selected PRACH, may transmit PRACH preambles bases on RO (RACH Occasion)).
Tsai and Ma are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, devices and NTN.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai to include PRACH on selected beam as described by Ma.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving the communication of wireless devices to communicate on a broader level.
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419