DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 12/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0073993).
With regards to claim 1:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1-3 below) a ball valve (131) comprising:
a housing including a first housing hole (131a), a second housing hole (131b), and a third housing hole (1311) disposed to communicate with one another;
a ball (1313) rotatably disposed in the housing; and
an actuator (1370) configured to rotate the ball,
wherein the ball (1313) comprises:
a ball body (1313a) having a spherical shape;
first (1313c) and second (1313b) holes disposed in the ball body and configured to communicate with each other; and
two grooves (1313d) formed to have a predetermined length in a circumferential direction of the ball body so as to be connected to the first hole (1313c),
wherein the second hole (1313b) is disposed to correspond to the third housing hole (1311), and
wherein the grooves (1313d) of the ball communicate with the first housing hole (131a) or the second housing hole (131b) in accordance with a position of the ball (1313).
Fig.1
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
With regards to claim 2:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 4 below) the ball valve of claim 1, wherein the grooves (1313d) of the ball (1313) are positioned at positions that do not communicate with the first housing hole (131a) and the second housing hole (131b).
Fig. 4
With regards to claim 3:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3-4 above) the ball valve of claim 1, wherein an end of one of the two grooves (1313d) is disposed to communicate with the first housing hole (131a), and an end of the other of the two grooves is disposed to communicate with the second housing hole (131b) (the grooves (1313d) arranged on both sides of the first hole (1313c) communication with the first housing hole (131a) or the second housing hole (131b) depending on the rotation angle of the ball valve (1313)).
With regards to claim 8:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the ball valve of claim 1, a connection portion of the actuator (1370) is disposed to overlap the second hole (1313b) in an axial direction.
With regards to claim 11:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the ball valve of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the first hole (1313c) is equal to a diameter of the second hole (1313b).
With regards to claim 13:
Kim et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3 above) the ball valve of claim 1, wherein a depth of the groove (1313d) decreases toward an end side thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Le Pellec (US 2021/0254728).
With regards to claim 4:
Kim et al. discloses the ball valve of claim 1 (see rejected claim 1 above) wherein the ball (1313) is coupled to the actuator (1370).
Kim et al. does not disclose the ball comprises a groove coupled to the actuator.
Le Pellec discloses (refer to Fig. 5 below) a ball valve (1) is actuated by an actuator (2, 3, 20) wherein the ball (4) comprises a groove (21) coupled to the actuator (2, 3, 20).
Fig. 5
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball valve of Kim et al. to use the connection design as disclosed by Le Pellec wherein the ball comprises a groove coupled to the actuator as an alternative design for the connection between the actuator and the ball to provide the same functional result of actuating the ball by the actuator.
With regards to claim 5:
Kim et al. discloses the ball valve of claim 1 (see rejected claim 1 above).
Kim et al. does not disclose the valve comprising:
a ring-shaped first sealing part disposed in the first housing hole while corresponding to the ball; and
a ring-shaped second sealing part disposed in the second housing hole while corresponding to the ball.
Le Pellec discloses (refer to Fig. 6 below) a ball valve (1) comprising:
a ring-shaped first sealing part (9, 10, 22, 17) disposed in the first housing hole (F) while corresponding to the ball (4); and
a ring-shaped second sealing part (9, 10) disposed in the second housing (S) hole while corresponding to the ball (4).
Fig. 6
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball valve of Kim et al. to use the ring-shaped second sealing parts as disclosed by Le Pellec to provide the better seal between the ball of the ball valve and the housing openings when the valve is in closed position.
With regards to claim 6:
Kim et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 5 above) the ball valve of claim 5, wherein an inner diameter of the first sealing part and an inner diameter of the second sealing part are equal to a diameter of the first hole.
With regards to claim 7:
Kim et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 5-6 above) the ball valve of claim 5, comprising:
a support means (17) configured to prevent separation of the first sealing part, wherein the support means is detachably coupled in the first housing hole.
With regards to claim 12:
Kim et al., as modified, discloses the ball valve of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the first hole (1313c) is smaller than a diameter of the second hole (1313b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19, and 25-28 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “based on a rotation center, a first included angle defined between the two first and second grooves is smaller than a second included angle defined between one point disposed on an inner diameter of the first sealing part and one point disposed on an inner diameter of the second sealing part so as to be adjacent, in the circumferential direction, to the point disposed on the inner diameter of the first sealing part.” in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MINH Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753