DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary claim amendment filed on December 12, 2024 and wherein claims 1-15 amended.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recited “a method comprising, obtaining …; for each of amplifier channels, determining …”, which should be -- a method comprising[[,]]: obtaining …; for each of amplifier channels, determining …--. Claim 14 is objected for the similar issue because claim 14 recited similar deficient limitation above. Claims 2-13 objected due to the dependencies to claim 1.
Claim 1 further recited “… to the output of the attenuation function”, “in nominal operation”, which should be -- to [[the]] an output of the attenuation function -- and -- in a nominal operation --, respectively. Claims 14-15 objected for the similar issues above because claims 14-15 recited similar deficient limitations above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 15 recited “A computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a device … cause the device to perform: …” and in light of the application specification “The instructions may correspond to computer program instructions, computer program code and may include one or more code segments. A code segment may represent a procedure, function, subprogram, program, routine, subroutine, module, software package, class, or any combination of instructions, data structures or program statements (USPGPub 20250373217 A1 hereinafter, para 114)”. Therefore, a reasonable interpretation in light of the specification leads to a conclusion that the claim encompasses software or software per se, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. It is recommended to amend claim by claiming at least one structure entity to store the “program” such as “memory” device (para 116), etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arknaes-Pedersen (US 7852150 B1) and in view of reference Serwy et al. (US 20180206034 A1, hereinafter Serwy).
Claim 1: Arknaes-Pedersen teaches a device (title and abstract, ln 1-25, a multichannel switching amplifier in fig. 4) for use in an audio system (used in such as MP3 player, col 17, ln 7-13) including a plurality of amplifier channels of corresponding audio channels (represented by multichannel signals MCS received by multichannel receiver MR), each of the amplifier channels receiving a respective input audio signal (IUSx, x=1, 2, …, n, corresponding to the MCS) and being powered by a same power supply (a controlled power supply TPS to each of PM1, PM2, …,PMn and SWP1, SWP2, …, SWPn in each of signal paths), the device comprising processing circuitry (a correction signal estimator CSE, output filters OFx, and pulse modulator PMx and switching power stage SWPx, for each of the multichannels, etc., in fig. 4) for performing a method comprising,
obtaining a value of an indicator (a 24V value, indicating a four fifths of the nominal supply voltage 30V based on a desired power signal representation DPS=0.8, col 15, ln 44-35 or full dynamic range enabled by using a variable power supply, col 11, ln 12-16 or available dynamic range enabled by using tracking power supply, col 10, ln 26-34), wherein the indicator is representative of an energy reserve of the power supply (24V voltage power supply from the full voltage power supply 30V based on desired power signal DPS 0.8 and the full nominal voltage 30V in the example above or available dynamic range enabled by using a tracking power supply, col 5, ln 62-67, col 6, ln 1-6);
for each of the amplifier channels, determining a gain (correction signal CS, e.g., 1.25, applied to each of pulse modulator PM1, PM2, …, PMn, col 15, 54-61) to be applied by an attenuation function (through PMx by taking the correction signal CS for each of the multichannel signal paths, x=1, 2, …, n or applying a scale corresponding to a multiplicative factor to the input utility signal, col 29, ln 46-52) to the respective input audio signal (IUSx, x=1, 2, …, n and through multiplication point MP in fig. 2 or the scale applied to the input utility signal) and a clipping level (a utility signal value approached by increasing the utility signal value upon varying the supply voltage to a value, col 13, ln 7-12) to be applied by a clipping function (through a dynamics optimizer having a level tracker and the multiplicative gain, the level tracker evaluates a potential scale factor corresponding to the multiplicative gain to meet the clip value or fit the available dynamic range of power supply, i.e., without clipping, col 29, ln 46-52) and the gain increases over time up to a maximum value when the value of the indicator is above the threshold (a lower threshold for the power signal PS, due to the switching power stage not being able to operate below it, regardless utility signal input, col 26, ln 9-15, i.e., the lower threshold for the power signal PS is the minimum requirement for normal operation and at the normal operation, CS as gain value applied to the input utility signal is doubled if power signal is half the maximum power signal voltage, col 13, ln 27-37).
However, Arknaes-Pedersen does not explicitly teach wherein it is the output of the attenuation function is applied by the clipping level through the clipping function, and wherein the gain decreases over time when the value of the indicator is below a threshold wherein the clipping level is determined as a monotonic function of the value of the indicator.
Serwy teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a device (title and abstract, ln 1-14, a personal audio device 1 in fig. 1) for use in an audio system (used in MP3 players, mobile phones, para 4) and wherein attenuation function is disclosed (20 in fig. 2) to have an output (outputting to DAC 14 and then to A1 in fig. 2) and a clipping level is disclosed (attenuation or clipping applied to the output predictive brownout prevention system 20 in fig. 2) and through the clipping function (clipping applied, e.g., in amplifier A1 by applying the gain of A1 to the VIN in fig. 2 and para 38) and wherein the gain decreases over time when the value of the indicator is below a threshold (the power supply level sharply drop lower than a user defined threshold indicating a brownout condition, para 36, and reducing an amplitude of audio output signal V.OUT by attenuating digital audio input signal AUDO_IN, para 37) and the gain increases over time up to a maximum value when the value of the indicator is above the threshold (the audio input signal AUDIO_IN may now be attenuated to satisfy a maximum power allowed condition, para 66, ), wherein the threshold is representative of a nominal energy level at which the power supply is in nominal operation (the user defined threshold and brownout happens below the threshold, and discussed above and thus, the threshold and higher than the threshold is inherently nominal operation) and wherein the clipping level is determined as a monotonic function of the value of the indicator (a maximum power threshold, the condition of power supply 10 is determined as function of VSUPPLY, para 36 and the condition of power supply 10 includes information regarding a voltage component and resistive component received from an adaptive battery model, i.e., indication value of available capability of the adaptive battery, para 58) for benefits of improving effectiveness of the amplifier (by improving accuracy of the battery model to avoid unnecessary attenuation of the input audio signal, para 78 and by smoothening the adjustment of attenuation specifically in the situation of brownout situation, para 10 and by optimizing through flexible, adaptable, and user interference, para 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied wherein applying the clipping level on the output of the attenuation function by the clipping function and wherein the gain decreases over time when the value of the indicator is below a threshold and wherein the clipping level is determined as the monotonic function of the value of the indicator, as taught by Serwy, to output of the attenuation function and application of the clipping function in the device for use in an audio system, as taught by Arknaes-Pedersen, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 14 recites a method comprising “obtaining” and “determining” that are implemented by the processing circuitry included in the device as recited in claim 1 and thus, claim 14 recited limitations as recited in claim 1 and rejected according to claim 1 above.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 1, 14 above and the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches a plurality of amplifier channels of an audio system (Arknaes-Pedersen, fig. 4 and discussed in claim 1 above and Serwy, fig. 10, 15) and the computer program comprising instructions that executed by at least one processor of a device of an audio system (Serwy, a processor, DSP, para 58 and executing software, para 47).
Claim 2: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the gain decreases over time by an attack rate (Arkanes-Pedersen, used in the tracking algorithm with attack/decay for fast response to achieve maxima, col 26, ln 26-29 and Serwy, attack with VOLSTEP1 in fig. 8, para 56 and with configurable rate, para 72).
Claim 5: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the gain increases over time by a release rate (Serwy, release with VOLSTEP2 in fig. 8, para 56 and with configurable rate, para 72).
Claim 7: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein (Arknaes-Pedersen, discussed in claim 1 above, the value of indicator is corresponding to the available power from power supply, and Serwy, a maximum power threshold, the condition of power supply 10 is determined as function of VSUPPLY, para 36 and the condition of power supply 10 includes information regarding a voltage component and resistive component received from an adaptive battery model, i.e., indication value of available capability of the adaptive battery, para 58), the clipping level is determined by applying a monotonic function of an output voltage of the power supply (Arknaes-Pedersen, via the dynamics optimizer having the level tracker and the multiplicative gain, the level tracker evaluates the potential scale factor corresponding to the multiplicative gain to meet the clip value or the available dynamic range of power supply, i.e., maximized without clipping, col 29, ln 46-52, and Serwy, a maximum power threshold as the clipping level corresponding to the condition of power supply 10 that is as function of VSUPPLY, para 36 and discussed in claim 1 above, para 58), except explicitly teaching wherein the value of the indicator is below the threshold
It has been a recognized problem and need in the art, which may include a design need to solve the problem for preventing from clipping incident in the output audio signal, and there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to determination of the clipping level is upon the monotonic function of the output voltage of the power supply:
the value of the indicator, i.e., the representative of the energy reserve of the power supply, is below the threshold at the normal operation, i.e., the available output of the power supply is really low and become critic for avoiding clipping incident, and the monotonic function is upon the representative of the energy reserve of the power supply,
the value of the indicator, i.e., the representative of the energy reserve of the power supply is the same as the threshold at the normal operation so that both the value of the indicator and representative of the energy reserve and the threshold are critic figure to avoid potential clipping incident, and the monotonic function is upon either the threshold or the representative of the energy reserve of the power supply,
the value of the indicator, i.e., the representative of the energy reserve of the power supply is greater than the threshold at the normal operation, and thus, the threshold becomes critic for avoiding the clipping incident and monotonic function is upon the threshold at this moment.
it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success or obvious to try, see MPEP 2141, III.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied application of the monotonic function of the output voltage of the power supply when the value of the indicator is below the threshold, as taught above in obvious to try, to the application of the monotonic function of the output voltage of the power supply in the device, as taught by the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 8: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the monotonic function is a continuous function of the output voltage of the power supply (Arknaes-Pedersen, while the supply voltage is below the threshold, col 26, ln 9-18, and Serwy, the maximum power is above the voltage threshold VTHRESH and the para 66).
Claim 9: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the indicator is proportional to the output voltage of the power supply or to the squared output voltage of the power supply (Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy, the indication value is the output voltage of the power supply, the discussion in claim 1 above).
Claim 10: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the indicator is proportional to the stored energy in the power supply (Arknaes-Pedersen, a battery as the power supply source, col 12, ln 56-65 and col 26, ln 9-18, and Serwy, battery as the power supply and as stored energy in the power supply, abstract and para 41-42).
Claim 11: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the gain varies between a minimum value and the maximum value (Arknaes-Pedersen, e.g., 10% of the dynamic range as lower threshold, col 7, ln 50-61, and maximum value, col 26, ln 9-18 and Serwy, VTHRESH as target minimum voltage value for power supply voltage and maximum voltage value as threshold discussed in claim 1 above).
Claim 12: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the monotonic function is adjusted based on mains voltage level signal received from the power supply (Arknaes-Pedersen, and Serwy, e.g., weighted monotonic function, para 41).
Claim 13: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the processing circuitry comprises for each amplifier channel:
a clipping circuitry connected to the input of the amplifier channel and configured to apply the clipping function; an attenuation circuitry whose output is connected to the input of the clipping circuitry, wherein the attenuation circuitry is configured to apply the attenuation function (discussed in claim 1 above, Serwy, the clipping function is either between the element 20 and DAC 14 or between the DAC 14 and the VOut in fig. 2).
Claims 3-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arknaes-Pedersen (above) and in view of reference Serwy (above) and Bayley et al. (US 20060147049 A1, hereinafter Bayley.
Claim 3: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 2 above, wherein the attack rate is a fixed attack rate that corresponds to a fixed gain decrease per time period (Arkanes-Pedersen, via an attack filter, col 8, ln 12-14, and Serwy, constant at a certain of time tATTACK in fig. 8), except explicitly teach wherein the fixed attack rate on a logarithmic scale.
Bayley teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a device (title and abstract, ln 1-15 and a system in fig. 1) and wherein an attack rate is disclosed to be a fixed attack rate (slow attack time constant or a fixed attenuation ASPL such as40 dB with attack time tSPL – attack, so that normal speech peaks remains relatively unaffected, para 36 and the attack has logarithmic, para 49) for obtaining human hearing perception (e.g., human hearing tends to perceive logarithmic attaches as smooth linear changes of loudness, para 49) and maintaining data integrity (leaving normal speech peaks unaffected, para 36.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the fixed attack rate on the logarithmic scale, as taught by Bayley, to the fixed attack rate in the device, as taught by the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 4: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen, Serwy, and Bayley further teaches, according to claim 2 above, wherein the attack rate is a dynamic attack rate computed as a function of the value of the indicator (Arkanes-Pedersen, via an attack filter, col 8, ln 12-14, and Serwy, depends onVOLSTEP1 in fig. 8 and three VOLSTEP1 constructed capability of Volume, i.e., indicated value, para 56 and Bayley, kSPL_attack as attack rate depends on GainSPL_limit as indicator value, para 50).
Claim 6: the combination of Arknaes-Pedersen and Serwy further teaches, according to claim 5 above, wherein the release rate is a fixed release rate that corresponds to a fixed gain increase per time period on a logarithmic scale (Serwy, fixed release rate at a certain period of time in fig. 8, and Bayley, the fixed gain increasing per time period on the logarithmic scale, and similar to attack logarithmic scale, para 49).
Conclusion
/LESHUI ZHANG/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2695