DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 received on 12/12/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 5-6 are independent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit configured to determine” and/or “a transmission unit configured to transmit” in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5 and 6 recite “immediately after an/the occasion”. The term immediately after is a relative term, and it is unclear immediately is to be considered next slot, next symbol or specific time gap. Thus, the metes and bounds of the limitation is unclear. Dependent claims are rejected for same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan et al. (US 20230345529)
Regarding claim 1, Van Phan teaches a terminal (device 600, fig 6; para 111: the device 600 may be provided to implement the communication device, for example the UE 110-1 or the COT provider 120 as shown in fig. 1) comprising:
a control unit (processor 610, fig 6) configured to, in a case of detecting that a COT (Channel occupancy time) related to a device-to-device direct communication is continuing (para 49: if the initiating device intends to perform a new transmission (within the COT), it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure; para 52: continue transmissions in this COT) and detecting that there is an occasion for transmitting a signal during the COT (para 50: the responding device may use this information to determine which category/type of LBT should be applied for performing a transmission to the initiating device), determine whether or not the COT ends and perform an LBT (Listen before talk) (para 50: in case either the transmission from the responding device falls outside the COT or the responding device intends to perform a transmission to a device other than the initiating device, the responding device may have to acquire a new COT using the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) with the appropriate CAPC); and
a transmission unit (communication modules 640, fig 6) configured to transmit a signal of the device-to- device direct communication in a case where the LBT is successful (para 49: if the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) is successfully complete, the UE may perform a transmission and acquire the COT with duration associated with the corresponding CAPC), wherein in a case where the COT is determined to end, the control unit performs the LBT having a period that is longer than that of the LBT for a case where the COT is not determined to end (para 48-49: when a UE initiates the communication, the UE may acquire the “right” to access the channel for a certain time period of, which may be referred to as the Channel Occupancy Time (COT), by applying an “extended” LBT procedure in which the channel can be considered as free on the entire duration of a Contention Window (CW), if the initiating device intends to perform a new transmission (within the COT), it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure; thus, the reduced or type 2 LBT is used within COT, and extended or type 1 LBT is used outside of COT).
Van Phan teaches COT and LBT aware sensing and sidelink transmission on U-band. Van phan does not specifically teach determining if COT ends immediately after the occasion. It is noted above that the interpretation of term immediately is unclear. Van Phan teaches transmission within COT in para 49 and if the transmission from the responding device falls outside the COT, the responding device may have to acquire a new COT using the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) with the appropriate CAPC) in para 50. Thus, the terminal is determining transmission within COT and outside COT. The determination of falling outside the COT and performing LBT of type 1(extended) is obvious to teach the determination that COT ends. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine COT for sidelink transmission in U-band as taught by Van Phan with performing sidelink transmission based on COT and LBT procedures as taught by Van Phan for the benefit of providing a solution of COT for SL communication in U-band as taught by Van Phan in para 56.
Regarding claim 6, Van Phan teaches a communication method performed by a terminal (abstract: methods, apparatuses and computer readable storage media of Channel Occupancy Time (COT) for Sidelink (SL) communication in Unlicensed band (U-band); fig 1-2), the communication method comprising:
in a case of detecting that a COT (Channel occupancy time) related to a device-to-device direct communication is continuing (para 49: if the initiating device intends to perform a new transmission (within the COT), it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure) and detecting that there is an occasion for transmitting a signal during the COT (para 50: the responding device may use this information to determine which category/type of LBT should be applied for performing a transmission to the initiating device), determining whether or not the COT ends and performing LBT (Listen before talk) (para 50: in case either the transmission from the responding device falls outside the COT or the responding device intends to perform a transmission to a device other than the initiating device, the responding device may have to acquire a new COT using the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) with the appropriate CAPC);
transmitting a signal of the device-to-device direct communication in a case where the LBT is successful (para 49: if the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) is successfully complete, the UE may perform a transmission and acquire the COT with duration associated with the corresponding CAPC); and in a case where the COT is determined to end, performing the LBT having a period that is longer than that of the LBT for a case where the COT is not determined to end (para 48-49: when a UE initiates the communication, the UE may acquire the “right” to access the channel for a certain time period of, which may be referred to as the Channel Occupancy Time (COT), by applying an “extended” LBT procedure in which the channel can be considered as free on the entire duration of a Contention Window (CW), if the initiating device intends to perform a new transmission (within the COT), it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure; thus, the reduced or type 2 LBT is used within COT, and extended or type 1 LBT is used outside of COT).
Van Phan teaches COT and LBT aware sensing and sidelink transmission on U-band. Van phan does not specifically teach determining if COT ends immediately after the occasion. It is noted above that the interpretation of term immediately is unclear. Van Phan teaches transmission within COT in para 49 and if the transmission from the responding device falls outside the COT, the responding device may have to acquire a new COT using the LBT Type 1 (LBT Cat.4) with the appropriate CAPC) in para 50. Thus, the terminal is determining transmission within COT and outside COT. The determination of falling outside the COT and performing LBT of type 1(extended) is obvious to teach the determination that COT ends. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine COT for sidelink transmission in U-band as taught by Van Phan with performing sidelink transmission based on COT and LBT procedures as taught by Van Phan for the benefit of providing a solution of COT for SL communication in U-band as taught by Van Phan in para 56.
Regarding claim 3, Van Phan further teaches wherein the control unit determines that the COT ends in a case where the occasion is an occasion of a feedback channel (para 53: the responding devices may be allowed to transmit feedback such as ACK to a received packet within the current COT without performing an additional LBT, while in LBE, the responding device may have to perform a LBT (depending on the timing of the transmission from the initiating device and of feedback from the responding device) before accessing the channel to transmit the feedback), and determines that the COT does not end in a case where the occasion is an occasion of a signal including a synchronization signal (para 63: in a semi-static option (FBE), the fixed frame period and/or fixed COT duration may be preconfigured to the COT provider and the local UEs along with configurations related to the U-pool, and/or SL synchronization for U-pool, and/or time period and resources for transmitting the signal indicating the COT configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Van Phan further teaches wherein the transmission unit performs transmission on the occasion, and the control unit determines that the COT does not end (para 73: if the local UE 110-1 determines such gap is detected before the SL transmission within the COT, the local UE 110-1 may perform a LBT procedure before the SL transmission within the COT, if the LBT procedure is successfully performed, the local UE 110-1 may perform the SL transmission; here, the gap within the COT is considered as determination that COT does not end).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan et al. (US 20230345529) in view of Liu et al. (US 20220159725)
Regarding claim 2, Van Phan fails to teach the signal strength difference to determine if LBT is idle or busy. Liu is directed to COT and LBT aware sensing window and resource determination.
Liu further teaches wherein in a case where the COT is determined to end, when performing the LBT, the control unit determines whether the LBT is idle or busy based on a difference between a signal strength of the device-to-device direct communication and a signal strength that is detected in the LBT during the COT (para 57: A CCA may include an energy detection procedure to determine whether there are any other active transmissions on the shared channel. For example, a device may infer that a change in a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of a power meter indicates that a channel is occupied). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine COT for sidelink transmission in U-band as taught by Van Phan with determining busy or idle channel in CCA (LBT) procedure based on signal strength as taught by Liu for the benefit of providing efficient use of shared resources as taught by Liu in para 26.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220159725) in view of Van Phan et al. (US 20230345529)
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches a terminal (UE 115, fig 1-4, 11) comprising:
a control unit (processor 280, fig 11) configured to select a resource from resource candidates (para 91: the UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources) in which a resource immediately after an occasion for transmitting a signal is excluded (para 99: for resources outside of a COT, some of the resources may be excluded based on the projected time for a CAT 4 LBT procedure); and
a transmission unit (wireless radio 252, fig 11) configured to transmit a signal of device-to-device direct communication by using the selected resource (para 91: the UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource).
Liu teaches COT aware sensing and sensing window determination based on projected LBT completion time (abstract). Liu also teaches LBT success rate and sidelink in-COT and out-COT resource determination, but is silent regarding sidelink transmission when LBT is successful. Van Phan is directed to COT for sidelink communication in unlicensed band.
Van Phan further teaches to transmit a signal of device-to-device direct communication in a case where the LBT is successful (para 73: if the LBT procedure is successfully performed, the local UE 110-1 may perform the SL transmission). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine resource selection for sidelink transmission as taught by Liu with performing sidelink transmission based on LBT success as taught by Van Phan for the benefit of providing a solution of COT for SL communication in U-band as taught by Van Phan in para 56.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 9/30/2026