DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
A preliminary amendment was filed on the filing date of December 12, 2024 in which claims 1-15, 17, and 18 were amended; claim 16 was cancelled, and claims 19-21 were added. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
The instant application has a filing date of December 12, 2024. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The instant application is a national phase under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT International Application No. 2022/128373 (CN), filed on October 28, 2022, which claims for the benefit of a prior-filed foreign application number 202210681910.5 (CN – filed on June 15, 2022). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/24 and 1/22/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Abstracts only were provided for each of the cited foreign patent documents in the IDS filed 1/22/25, and therefore only the abstracts were considered for these documents.
No English translation was provided for the cited Office Action for Chinese Patent Application 202210681910.5 (dated 12/8/24), and therefore this document was not considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: --a-- should be inserted to replace “an” in the phrase “by taking the first position information as an center point” to ensure the claim language conforms with standard grammatical construction. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: --correspond-- should be inserted to replace “corresponds” in the phrase “the current attack direction to make the adjusted attack direction corresponds to the locked virtual object” to ensure the claim language conforms with standard grammatical construction. Appropriate correction is required.
Subject Matter Eligibility
The Examiner is persuaded that even if the claims could be construed as reciting an abstract idea, under Step 2A Prong Two of the eligibility analysis the claims are directed to an improved user interface for electronic devices that facilitates controlled switching of a lock operation from a first currently locked virtual object (e.g., video game enemy) to a second virtual object within their field of view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
v Claims 1-3, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366213, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Zhou”)
With respect to claims 1, 17, and 18, Zhou teaches a virtual object switching method, a system, and one or more non-transitory computer- readable storage media containing, in any combination, computer program code that, when executable by a processor computer system, perform an operation comprising:
one or more memories collectively containing one or more programs; and (claim 17) ([0007] “one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions”, [0023]-[0024])
one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, individually or collectively, perform an operation comprising (claim 17) ([0007] “one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions”, [0023]-[0024])
determining, in response to a control operation acting upon a function control, an operation direction corresponding to the control operation, wherein the function control is located on a graphical user interface provided by a terminal device, the graphical user interface comprises at least a portion of a virtual scene and at least a portion of a virtual character, and the virtual character is a virtual object corresponding to the terminal device; (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
determining, based on first position information of a locked first virtual object, a second virtual object according to the operation direction, wherein the locked first virtual object is a behavior target of the virtual character; and (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
switching the locked first virtual object to the second virtual object. (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
With respect to claims 2 and 19, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 17;
wherein the determining, based on the first position information of the locked first virtual object, the second virtual object according to the operation direction comprises: determining the first position information corresponding to the locked first virtual object, and determining a target region based on the first position information and the operation direction; and determining one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among the one or more region objects (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
With respect to claim 3, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1;
wherein the determining, based on the first position information of the locked first virtual object, the second virtual object according to the operation direction comprises: establishing, by taking the first position information as an endpoint, a target ray consistent with the operation direction; and determining one or more ray virtual objects on the target ray to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more ray virtual objects (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
With respect to claims 9 and 20, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 17;
wherein the method further comprises: acquiring a position direction of a locked virtual object relative to the virtual character, and determining an attack direction corresponding to the virtual character, wherein the currently locked virtual object is the locked first virtual object or the second virtual object; and adjusting, based on the position direction, the current attack direction to make the adjusted attack direction corresponds to the locked virtual object ([0034]-[0035] “An effect is applied to a target object (or a group of target objects or region in the game environment) in accordance with an action, a skill, a spell, a status, an attack, use of an item, etc. that is available to the player in the current game context, and that is selected and applied by the player. As a result of the application of the effect, the targeted objects may change their statuses based on the game rules, e.g., be killed, experience reduced or enhanced abilities, be healed, incur damages, be transported, be multiplied, etc.”, [0040] “a position of effect, line of effect, or area of effect (e.g., location, line, or region that is affected by the selected effect (e.g., an attack, a spell, etc.)) is visually indicated in interaction region 102, and one or more target objects for the selected effect are visually indicated in interaction region 102 as well”, [0047] “he user lifts off the contact while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected as shown in FIG. 1M, the effect corresponding to the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is applied to the three target objects 106′ that are currently within the area of effect 126 of the selected effect (e.g., the hostile characters 106′ are attacked by Skill 3, and become petrified or otherwise incur damages in accordance with their characteristics and their predefined responses to Skill 3 (e.g., hostile characters 106 that are affected by the effect are now labeled as 106″ in FIG. 1Q)). In some embodiments, different types of target objects respond to the application of the effect differently, and may have different changes in their respective characteristics, statuses, behaviors, and states”, see also [0044])
With respect to claim 11, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1;
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a locking indicator at a preset position corresponding to the locked first virtual object (Figs 1H and 1I, [0040] “position of effect, line of effect, or area of effect (e.g., location, line, or region that is affected by the selected effect (e.g., an attack, a spell, etc.)) is visually indicated in interaction region 102, and one or more target objects for the selected effect are visually indicated in interaction region 102 as well.”)
With respect to claims 12 and 21, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 17;
wherein before determining, in response to the control operation acting upon the function control, the operation direction corresponding to the control operation, the method further comprises: determining, in response to a first touch operation acting upon the function control, screen position information corresponding to the graphical user interface; determining object position information of an enemy virtual object displayed in the graphical user interface, and (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, see also [0056]-[0057]
calculating the object position information and the screen position information to obtain a position calculation result; and determining, according to the position calculation result, a first virtual object among the enemy virtual objects, and determining the first virtual object as the locked first virtual object (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
With respect to claim 14, Zhou teaches the method of claim 12;
wherein after the determining the first virtual object as the locked first virtual object, the method further comprises: determining, in response to a second touch operation acting upon the function control, a target enemy virtual object displayed in the graphical user interface, wherein the target enemy virtual object does not comprise the first virtual object; and using one of the target enemy virtual objects as the second virtual object, and switching the locked first virtual object to the second virtual object (Figs 1G & 1H & 1I, [0043]-[0044] “movement of the contact 120 while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected causes the device to shift the target selection in accordance with the movement of contact 120. For example, once movement of contact 120 is detected, arrows appear around effect selection affordance 122-3 or contact 120 to indicate that leftward movement will increase the length of the line of effect and reach a target farther away from contact 120, rightward movement will decrease the length of the line of effect and reach a target closer to contact 120, upward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to shift upward to select a target in a higher portion of the interaction region, and downward movement of contact 120 will cause the line of effect to select a target in a lower portion of the interaction region…eligible target objects (e.g., hostile characters that are vulnerable to the currently selected effect) all attract the line of effect and the region that includes the most powerful, or most vulnerable, or the most number of target objects will win and become the actual target objects that are selected for the effect, until additional movement is detected to adjust the currently selected targets...”, [0056]-[0057] “the at least one target object (e.g., target objects 106′ in FIG. 1G) is selected from one or more objects currently visible in the interaction region in accordance with predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect. In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria corresponding to the first effect specifies a maximum number of concurrently selected targets for the first effect (e.g., a single target at a time, or a maximum of five targets at a time, or a single row of targets at a time, etc.). In some embodiments, the predefined target selection criteria require that only certain types of objects (e.g., only certain types of characters, creatures, enemies, allies, items, and/or game objects, etc.) are eligible targets for the first effect….upon selection of the first effect selection affordance, one or more objects that are eligible targets for the first effect (e.g., of the object type(s) that can be affected by the first effect) and that are closest to a predefined reference location (e.g., the location of the first contact or the location of the character/weapon/game object that is currently controlled by the user) become selected as the initial targets for the first effect by default (e.g., before any movement of the first contact is detected to adjust the effect position of the first effect)…In some embodiments, displaying the second visual indication to indicate adjustment of the effect position corresponding to the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location includes (314) one or more of:…changing an identity and/or count of the currently selected targets for the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact from the first location to the second location. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the direction of the line of effect (e.g., the direction of the line of effect rotates around the predefined reference location in accordance with movement of the first contact in the clockwise or counter-clockwise direction). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1H-1I, for example. In some embodiments, moving the first contact changes the position of the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect moves in a direction in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). In some embodiments, moving the first contact expands or contracts the zone of effect of the first effect (e.g., the zone of effect expands or contracts in accordance with the movement direction and movement distance of the first contact). This is illustrated in FIGS. 1I-1J, 1J-1K, 1K-1L, and 1L-1M, for example. In some embodiments, as a result of moving the line of effect or changing the location and/or size of the zone of effect of the first effect in accordance with the movement of the first contact, different objects and/or different number of objects in the interaction region become selected as targets for the first effect. In some embodiments, the line of effect (e.g., line 124) or zone of effect (e.g., area 126) of the first effect is visually indicated in the interaction region. In some embodiments, the line of effect or zone of effect are visibly indicated in the interaction region, and the currently selected target objects are visually identified in the interaction region”)
With respect to claim 15, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9;
wherein the method further comprises: canceling, in response to a third touch operation acting upon the function control, a locking of the locked virtual object ([0045]-[0047] “process for canceling selection of first effect selection affordance 122-3 without actually applying the effect corresponding to the first effect selection affordance. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 1N, when movement of contact 120 is toward cancelation affordance 128, the end of the line of effect is optionally removed from the eligible objects within interaction region 102. In some embodiments, if lift-off of contact 120 is detected when there is no eligible objects identified or selected within the interaction region, the selection of the first selection affordance is canceled and no effect is applied. In some embodiments, button 114 is optionally displayed again after the effect selection is canceled.FIGS. 1N-1O illustrate that when contact 120 moves to the cancellation affordance 128, cancellation affordance 128 is highlighted (e.g., optionally after a touch-hold requirement or press requirement is met by contact 120 while contact 120 is over the cancelation affordance 120) to indicate that it has now become selected in lieu of the first effect selection affordance 122-3. In some embodiments, once cancellation affordance 128 is selected by contact 120, first effect selection affordance 122-3 ceases to be displayed. FIG. 1P illustrates that, lift-off of contact 120 is detected while cancellation affordance 128 is selected; and upon lift-off of contact 120, no effect is applied to the objects in interaction region 102. In some embodiments, button 114 is redisplayed (e.g., in a manner as shown in FIG. 1A). In some embodiments, button 114 is not redisplayed until another contact is detected and meets the button display criteria for displaying button 114 (e.g., contact is detected in a predefined region and/or meets a predefined gesture pattern and/or time and/or intensity requirement).FIG. 1Q illustrates that, if instead of moving to cancellation affordance 128 and lifting off while contact 120 is on cancellation affordance 128, the user lifts off the contact while the first effect selection affordance 122-3 is selected as shown in FIG. 1”, see also [0061])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366213, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Zhou”) in view of Pan et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366214, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Pan”)
With respect to claim 4, Zhou teaches the method of claim 2. Zhou does not appear to disclose,
wherein the target region comprises a sector region; and the determining the target region based on the first position information and the operation direction comprises: establishing, by taking the first position information as an endpoint, a region ray consistent with the operation direction; and constructing, by taking the first position information as an center point, the sector region with a central angle being a preset angle based on the region ray
However, Pan discloses
wherein the target region comprises a sector region; and the determining the target region based on the first position information and the operation direction comprises: establishing, by taking the first position information as an endpoint, a region ray consistent with the operation direction; and constructing, by taking the first position information as an center point, the sector region with a central angle being a preset angle based on the region ray (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113])
Pan suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the target region comprises a sector region; and the determining the target region based on the first position information and the operation direction comprises: establishing, by taking the first position information as an endpoint, a region ray consistent with the operation direction; and constructing, by taking the first position information as an center point, the sector region with a central angle being a preset angle based on the region ray, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include wherein the target region comprises a sector region; and the determining the target region based on the first position information and the operation direction comprises: establishing, by taking the first position information as an endpoint, a region ray consistent with the operation direction; and constructing, by taking the first position information as an center point, the sector region with a central angle being a preset angle based on the region ray, as taught by Pan, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface.
With respect to claim 5, Zhou and Pan teach the method of claim 4. Zhou does not appear to disclose,
wherein the determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more region objects comprises: determining, in response to the existence of a first region object in the sector region, a number of the region objects to obtain a number determination result;
determining, in response to the number determination result being one, the first region object as the second virtual object; and determining, in response to the number determination result being multiple, object position information corresponding to a plurality of region objects, and determining a second virtual object among the plurality of region objects according to a position distance between the object position information and the first position information
However, Pan discloses
wherein the determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more region objects comprises: determining, in response to the existence of a first region object in the sector region, a number of the region objects to obtain a number determination result; (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113])
determining, in response to the number determination result being one, the first region object as the second virtual object; and determining, in response to the number determination result being multiple, object position information corresponding to a plurality of region objects, and determining a second virtual object among the plurality of region objects according to a position distance between the object position information and the first position information (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113])
Pan suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more region objects comprises: determining, in response to the existence of a first region object in the sector region, a number of the region objects to obtain a number determination result; and determining, in response to the number determination result being one, the first region object as the second virtual object; and determining, in response to the number determination result being multiple, object position information corresponding to a plurality of region objects, and determining a second virtual object among the plurality of region objects according to a position distance between the object position information and the first position information, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include wherein the determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more region objects comprises: determining, in response to the existence of a first region object in the sector region, a number of the region objects to obtain a number determination result; and determining, in response to the number determination result being one, the first region object as the second virtual object; and determining, in response to the number determination result being multiple, object position information corresponding to a plurality of region objects, and determining a second virtual object among the plurality of region objects according to a position distance between the object position information and the first position information, as taught by Pan, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface.
With respect to claim 6, Zhou and Pan teach the method of claim 4. Zhou does not appear to disclose,
determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among the one or more region objects comprises: enlarging, in response to no region object existing in the sector region, the preset angle to update the sector region; determining whether the region object exists in the updated sector region to obtain an object determination result; and determining a second virtual object in the sector region according to the object determination result
However, Pan discloses
determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among the one or more region objects comprises: enlarging, in response to no region object existing in the sector region, the preset angle to update the sector region; determining whether the region object exists in the updated sector region to obtain an object determination result; and determining a second virtual object in the sector region according to the object determination result ([0042]-[0044] “When the quantity of to-be-applied objects is one, the active joystick area is a sub-area corresponding to the to-be-applied object. When the quantity of to-be-applied objects is M, and M is greater than or equal to 2, the active joystick area may be evenly divided into M sub-areas. When the quantity of to-be-applied objects is M, and M is greater than or equal to 2, the sub-area corresponding to the quantity of the at least one to-be-applied object may be generated in the active joystick area based on a relative location relationship between the terminal object and the to-be-applied objects”, see also [0062] & [0087]-[0087] & Figs 9 and 10 show that the sector regions associated with sub areas A and G are enlarged because there are no objects below them in the scene)
Pan suggests it is advantageous to include determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among the one or more region objects comprises: enlarging, in response to no region object existing in the sector region, the preset angle to update the sector region; determining whether the region object exists in the updated sector region to obtain an object determination result; and determining a second virtual object in the sector region according to the object determination result, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface (Figs 4-7 & 10 & [0102]-[0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include wherein the determining the one or more region objects in the target region to determine the second virtual object among all the one or more region objects comprises: determining, in response to the existence of a first region object in the sector region, a number of the region objects to obtain a number determination result; and determining, in response to the number determination result being one, the first region object as the second virtual object; and determining, in response to the number determination result being multiple, object position information corresponding to a plurality of region objects, and determining a second virtual object among the plurality of region objects according to a position distance between the object position information and the first position information, as taught by Pan, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface.
v Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366213, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Zhou”) in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0203233 June 30, 2022 - hereinafter "Tanaka”)
With respect to claim 10, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9. Zhou does not appear to disclose,
wherein the method further comprises: acquiring a shooting angle of a virtual camera corresponding to the virtual scene; acquiring, in response to a moving operation acting upon the currently locked virtual object, a moving direction corresponding to the moving operation; and adjusting the shooting angle according to the moving direction
However, Tanaka discloses
wherein the method further comprises: acquiring a shooting angle of a virtual camera corresponding to the virtual scene; acquiring, in response to a moving operation acting upon the currently locked virtual object, a moving direction corresponding to the moving operation; and adjusting the shooting angle according to the moving direction ([0081]-[0086] “the virtual camera control unit 103 determines whether the target object is arranged within the imaging range CR of the virtual camera CM. When the virtual camera control unit 103 determines that the target object is arranged within the imaging range CR (Step S11; YES), the process proceeds to Step S12. When the target object is determined to be arranged outside the imaging range CR (Step S11; NO), the process proceeds to Step S13. In Step S12, the virtual camera control unit 103 controls the imaging range or the imaging direction of the virtual camera CM such that the target object within the imaging range CR remains to be included therein. Accordingly, the target object is included within the imaging range CR unless the setting of the target object is canceled, which allows the target object constantly to be displayed on the display screen of the display unit 12. In view of this, the player can continue to view the target object at all times while operating the player object P. In Step S13, the virtual camera control unit 103 changes the imaging range or the imaging direction of the virtual camera CM such that the target object outside the imaging range CR is included within the imaging range CR. In view of this, the target object is included within the imaging range CR, followed by the sudden appearance of the non-player objects as the target object in the display screen of the display unit 12, where the non-player objects were not displayed until then. Accordingly, the player can easily lock on the on-screen non-player objects not in the player's view and confirm the locked-on target object while operating the player object P. In Steps S12 and S13, the virtual camera control unit 103 controls the imaging range or the imaging direction of the virtual camera CM such that not only the target object but also the player object P are included within the imaging range CR. In some embodiments, the player object P may not be included within the imaging range CR. In Step S14, the player object control unit 104 causes the player object P to attack the target object, then the process ends. Thus, the player object control unit 104 controls the actions of the player object P such that the predetermined effect acts on the target object when the target object arranged outside the imaging range CR is locked on based on the specific operation. Specifically, when the target object is the enemy object E, the attack operation of the player object P is executed to reduce the life gauge of the enemy object E, and when the target object is the material object M, the attack operation of the player object P is executed to destroy the material object M. As described above, since the specific operation is an operation for locking on and at the same time a tap operation to touch the icon image indicating “Attack” in the third region 11c of the operating unit 11, the specific operation also functions as the attack operation. In view of this, in Step S14, the attack actions on the target object are executed with the determination that the specific operation (also serving as the attack operation in this embodiment) is performed in Step S1. By the processes from Steps S10 to S14, the target object is constantly displayed on the display screen of the display unit 12 until the target object setting is canceled (for example, the target object is defeated), and it becomes possible to attack the target object.”
Tanaka suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the method further comprises: acquiring a shooting angle of a virtual camera corresponding to the virtual scene; acquiring, in response to a moving operation acting upon the currently locked virtual object, a moving direction corresponding to the moving operation; and adjusting the shooting angle according to the moving direction, because doing so can ensure the target object remains within view to make defeating/attacking it easier ([0081]-[0086]]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include wherein the method further comprises: acquiring a shooting angle of a virtual camera corresponding to the virtual scene; acquiring, in response to a moving operation acting upon the currently locked virtual object, a moving direction corresponding to the moving operation; and adjusting the shooting angle according to the moving direction, as taught by Pan, because doing so can ensure the target object remains within view to make defeating/attacking it easier.
v Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366213, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Zhou”) in view of Chen. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2021/0146248 May 20, 2021 - hereinafter "Chen”)
With respect to claim 13, Zhou teaches the method of claim 12. Zhou does not appear to disclose,
wherein the screen position information comprises position information corresponding to a center of the graphical user interface, crosshair position information, and character position information corresponding to the virtual character
However, Chen discloses
wherein the screen position information comprises position information corresponding to a center of the graphical user interface, crosshair position information, and character position information corresponding to the virtual character (Fig 8 & Fig 12 & [0043] “when the first virtual skill region 520 is generated in response to the touch operation of the player, the distances from the plurality of virtual characters to the crosshair 420 are compared” & [0046]-[0046] “aiming direction of the first sighting scope model is adjusted according to a second touch operation on a preset region on the user interface. The preset region can be any blank area on the user interface, and the second touch operation can be a sliding operation by the player in the preset region, and the aiming direction is controlled by performing a second touch operation in the blank area, that is, the presentation of the game scene is adjusted. During the game, the virtual character may be in a state of continuous moving, so the player can adjust the aiming direction of the crosshair through sliding operations in the preset region. For example, if the player performs a sliding operation to the right, the view field region will be moved along the direction in which the finger slides, and the position of the crosshair is at the center of the view field…a plurality of virtual characters in the current view field and survival coefficients of the plurality of virtual characters…”, [0057] “when the plurality of virtual characters in the current view field have the same distance to the center of the center…the three virtual characters have same distance to the crosshair 420”)
Chen suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the screen position information comprises position information corresponding to a center of the graphical user interface, crosshair position information, and character position information corresponding to the virtual character, because doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include wherein the screen position information comprises position information corresponding to a center of the graphical user interface, crosshair position information, and character position information corresponding to the virtual character, as taught by Chen, doing so can provide an efficient and accurate way of selecting a target object based on the quantity and relative location of candidate target objects on the interface.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Dependent claims 7 and 8 are both objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is Zhou (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366213, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Zhou”); Pan et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0366214, December 5, 2019 - hereinafter "Pan”); Tanaka et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0203233 June 30, 2022 - hereinafter "Tanaka”); Chen. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2021/0146248 May 20, 2021 - hereinafter "Chen”); Tang et a. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2018/0001189 January 4, 2018 - hereinafter "Tang”); Wan et a. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0023760 January 27, 2022 - hereinafter "Wang”); Chen et a. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0047941 February 17, 2022 - hereinafter "Chen ‘941”); Bao (U.S. PG Pub No. 2023/0356075 November 9, 2023 - hereinafter "Bao”);
Zho discloses a method and system for switching a target-locked object/enemy using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI.
Pan discloses a method and system for selecting a target objects/characters to perform a skill/operation using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI, including using sectors generated based on the locations of the candidate objects/characters.
Tanaka discloses a method and system for selecting a target objects/characters to perform a skill/operation. Discloses acquiring a shooting angle of a virtual camera corresponding to the virtual scene; acquiring, in response to a moving operation acting upon the currently locked virtual object, a moving direction corresponding to the moving operation; and adjusting the shooting angle according to the moving direction.
Chen discloses a method and system for switching a target-locked object/enemy using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI.
Tang discloses a method and system for selecting and/or switching a target-locked object/enemy using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI.
Wan discloses a method and system for selecting and/or switching a target-locked object/enemy using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI.
Chen discloses a method and system for selecting and/or switching a target-locked object/enemy using finger swipe/drag gestures on a mobile GUI.
Bao discloses a method and system for selecting and/or switching a target-locked object/enemy on a GUI of a mobile device.
As per claim 7, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest "wherein the enlarging, in response to no region object existing in the sector region, the preset angle to update the sector region comprises: incrementing the preset angle according to a preset angle increment parameter to update the sector region" in combination with the limitations of base claim 1 and all intervening claims. While individual features may be known per se, there is no teaching or suggestion absent applicants’ own disclosure to combine these features other than with impermissible hindsight
As per claim 8, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest "wherein the method further comprises: changing, in response to the enlarged preset angle meeting a preset angle condition and no region object existing in the sector region corresponding to the enlarged preset angle, a direction of the region ray from being consistent with the operation direction to being opposite to the operation direction to update the region ray" in combination with the limitations of base claim 1 and all intervening claims. While individual features may be known per se, there is no teaching or suggestion absent applicants’ own disclosure to combine these features other than with impermissible hindsight
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621