1178DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2025 was filed on or after the effective filing date of the instant application on 12/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite “3D” which is an acronym without describing its definition earlier in the claim.
Claims 4 and 13 recite “2D” which is an acronym without describing its definition earlier in the claim.
Other dependent claims are objected the same.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al (US 2023/0130006) in view of Yao et al (CN 117830099 B – an English translation is provided herein with cited paragraphs corresponding to original document).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method for video generation, comprising:
dividing a video feature of an input video into a plurality of 3D video windows based on a predetermined window size, the plurality of 3D video windows comprising a first video window and a second video window (¶ [0041]-[0042] and ¶ [0053]-[0055] for dividing a video feature of an input data into three-dimensional video sliding windows with a predetermined size to extract local and global video features);
updating the video feature by determining video attention within each video window of the plurality of 3D video windows, wherein the video attention associated with the first video window is independent from the second video window (¶ [0055]-[0070] for merging the extracted local feature and global feature to obtain target video feature (as “updating the video feature”) by using self-attention and cross-attention algorithms performed within each of non-overlapped video feature sliding windows).
He discloses determining a target querying video based on the improved target video feature (¶ [0081]-[0084]), but is silent about generating a target video based on the updated video feature.
Yao discloses dividing video characteristic of an input video into three-dimensional sliding windows spanning multiple frames, using a self-attention mechanism in each of sliding windows and using a cross-attention operation to correct or update the generated video characteristic and generating a super-resolution video based on the updated video characteristic (¶ [0077]-[0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He system with the teaching of Yao about generating a target super-resolution video based on updated video feature, so to provide an alternative implementation of using the pre-processed target video feature not only to determine querying video but also to generate a higher resolution video in the benefits of enhancing system.
Regarding claim 2, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the predetermined window size is independent from a size of the input video (taught by He; ¶ [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein the plurality of 3D video windows comprise at least one window whose size is smaller than the predetermined window size (taught by He; ¶ [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses determining a window feature of a target 3D video window; converting the window feature into a 2D tensor; and determining the video attention of the target 3D video window based on the 2D tensor (taught by Yao; Figure2 and ¶ [0068]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. The combined system further discloses wherein determining the video attention of the target 3D video window based on the 2D tensor comprises:
determining a set of query vectors, a first set of key vectors and a first set of value vectors based on the 2D tensor; concatenating the first set of key vectors with a second set of key vectors to obtain an updated set of key vectors, and concatenating the first set of value vectors with a second set of value vectors to obtain an updated set of value vectors, wherein the second set of key vectors and the second set of value vectors are determined based on a text associated with the input video; and determining the video attention based on the set of query vectors, the updated set of key vectors and the updated set of value vectors (taught by Yao; ¶ [0022]-[0028] and ¶ [0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 6, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. The combined system further discloses wherein the text comprises an input text or a text generated based on the input video (taught by Yao; ¶ [0022]-[0028] and ¶ [0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 7, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the video attention comprises a first round of video attention, the plurality of 3D video windows comprise a first plurality of 3D video windows, and before generating a target video based on the updated video feature, the method further comprises:
dividing the updated video feature a second plurality of 3D video windows based on the predetermined window size, wherein a first starting position of the second plurality of 3D video windows is determined based on a second starting position of the first plurality of 3D video windows and an offset; and updating the video feature by determining video attention within each video window of the second plurality of 3D video windows (taught by He; Figures 3-4; ¶ [0052]-[0067]; and taught by Yao; Figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses wherein the offset is relevant to the predetermined window size (taught by He; Figures 3-4; ¶ [0052]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 9, He in view of Yao discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein a first image quality of the target video is better than a second image quality of the input video (taught by Yao; ¶ [0077]-[0088]).
Regarding claims 10-18, all limitations of claims 10-18 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-9 respectively.
Regarding claims 19-20, all limitations of claims 19-20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-2 respectively.
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421