DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. While the specification discloses a vehicle unit wherein “the second gear, the shaft, the first output end, and the second output end are arranged on a second axis parallel to the first axis” (Fig. 4), or “the rotary electric machine and the shaft have a portion configured to overlap when viewed in a radial direction of the second axis” (Fig. 5), the application does not reasonably provide support for a vehicle unit that satisfies both limitations simultaneously.
Applicant states in their response filed on 6/26/2026 that figure 5 depicts an embodiment that enables the limitations of “the rotary electric machine and the shaft have a portion configured to overlap when viewed in a radial direction of the second axis”. And figure 4 depicts an embodiment that enables the limitation “the second gear, the shaft, the first output end, and the second output end are arranged on a second axis parallel to the first axis”. These two embodiments are mutually exclusive and are not part of the same invention. It appears that claims 6 and 8 are intermixing mutually exclusive embodiments. Neither claim is generic to the two embodiments.
For the purposes of examination, Examiner will assume that the invention does not have the rotary electric machine and the shaft have a portion configured to overlap in a radial direction of the second axis, as required by the embodiment disclosed in Fig. 5 of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAKURADA et al. (US 20210001713 A1).
Regarding claim 6, SAKURADA, as best understood by the Examiner, discloses a vehicle equipped with a unit, the unit including: a rotary electric machine (MOT); a first gear (21) connected downstream of the rotary electric machine; a second gear (22) configured to mesh with the first gear; and a shaft (50L, 50R) connected downstream of the second gear, wherein the shaft includes a first output end (50L) and a second output end (50R), the rotary electric machine and the first gear are arranged on a first axis, the second gear( 22), the shaft, the first output end (50L), and the second output end (50R) are arranged on a second axis parallel to the first axis (see Fig. 2), the second gear (22) is disposed to be sandwiched between the first output end and the second output end, the vehicle includes a driving wheel (Fig. 5) connected downstream of the first output end and an auxiliary machine (25) connected downstream of the second output end, and the second gear is located on a first output end side.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood by the Examiner, SAKURADA discloses the first gear and the second gear constitute a speed reduction mechanism.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood by the Examiner, SAKURADA discloses as best understood by the Examiner, discloses a vehicle manufacturing method for manufacturing a vehicle (Fig. 5) which includes a first power transmission mechanism, a second power transmission mechanism, a driving wheel connected downstream of the first power transmission mechanism, and an auxiliary machine connected downstream of the second power transmission mechanism, and in which an input portion of the first power transmission mechanism and an input portion of the second power transmission mechanism are coaxially arranged, the vehicle manufacturing method comprising: a first step of preparing a unit which includes a rotary electric machine, a first gear connected downstream of the rotary electric machine, a second gear configured to mesh with the first gear, and a shaft connected downstream of the second gear, and in which the shaft includes a first output end and a second output end, the rotary electric machine and the first gear are arranged on a first axis, the second gear, the shaft, the first output end, and the second output end are arranged on a second axis parallel to the first axis, and the second gear is disposed to be sandwiched between the first output end and the second output end; and a second step of mounting the unit such that the first output end is connected to the input portion of the first power transmission mechanism and the second output end is connected to the input portion of the second power transmission mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAKURADA et al. (US 20210001713 A1) as applied to claims 6-8 above, and further in view of ASELAGE et al. (US 9,829,099).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood by the Examiner, SAKURADA discloses a vehicle manufacturing method, the vehicle is equipped with an internal combustion engine (ENG), but does not disclose the internal combustion engine connected to the input portion of the first power transmission mechanism and the input portion of the second power transmission mechanism, the method further comprising: a step of removing the internal combustion engine at least before the second step.
ASELAGE teaches in col. 3, lines 35-37 removing the internal combustion engine from the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the manufacturing method of SAKURADA to include the step of removing the internal combustion engine, as taught by ASELAGE, to allow for other vehicle configurations (ASELAGE, col. 3, line 34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655