DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 14 Ln 2-3 states “a three-position four-way proportional reversing valve”. This term may be referring to the first flow control valve (511) depicted in Fig. 2. However, the valve (511) depicted in Fig. 2 is not a reversing valve which would require the reversing of flow direction through the valve, which the valve (511) is not depicted/disclosed as doing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEINHARDT; Mathias US 20190170169 A1, hereinafter Weinhardt, in view of YANG; YANG et al. US 20230193992 A1, hereinafter Yang. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (vehicle gearing/control); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (power sources for pumps). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 1, Weinhardt discloses (Fig. 2a) a hydraulic system for a hybrid gearbox, comprising
a first drive pump (53),
a second drive pump (59),
a high-pressure oil way (27/H) [0061],
a low-pressure oil way (61/N) [0063], and
a control valve group (36, 38), wherein
the first drive pump is connected to a drive motor (57) of a vehicle [0062];
the second drive pump is connected to the drive motor (57) of the vehicle [0062];
the high-pressure oil way is connected to the first drive pump and is configured to supply hydraulic oil from the first drive pump to a high-pressure drive component (22) in the hybrid gearbox [0061];
the low-pressure oil way is configured to supply oil to components (K1, K2) to be lubricated in the hybrid gearbox [0062]; and
the control valve group is separately connected to the first drive pump, the second drive pump, the high-pressure oil way, and the low-pressure oil way [0061-0063], and
the control valve group is configured to control an oil pressure of the high-pressure oil way and control an oil quantity supplied by the low-pressure oil way to the components to be lubricated based on an operating working condition of the vehicle [0106].
Weinhardt fails to explicitly state that the second drive pump is driven by an engine of the vehicle.
Yang discloses (Fig. 2) a hydraulic system for a hybrid gearbox, comprising
a first drive pump (2),
a second drive pump (1),
a high-pressure oil way (depicted line connected to (1)), and
a low-pressure oil way (depicted line connected to (2)), wherein
the first drive pump is connected to a drive motor (M) of a vehicle [0035];
the second drive pump is connected to an engine (E) of the vehicle [0035].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (engine driven pump) for another (motor driven pump), and the results of the substitution (rotationally driving the pump) would have been predictable. Because both Weinhardt and Yang teach hydraulic systems for gearboxes comprising multiple pumps, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the engine driven pump for the motor driven pump to achieve the predictable result of rotationally driving the pump.
Regarding claim 13, Weinhardt fails to explicitly state that the system further comprising a filter, wherein the filter is connected between an oil tank and an oil inlet of the first drive pump as well as an oil inlet of the second drive pump.
Yang discloses (Fig. 2) the system further comprising a filter, wherein the filter is connected between an oil tank and an oil inlet of the first drive pump as well as an oil inlet of the second drive pump (depicted component at pumps’ inlets between pumps and depicted oil tanks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Weinhardt, by providing the filter, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of removing contaminants from the fluid before entering the system.
Regarding claim 15, Weinhardt discloses (Fig. 2a) the high-pressure drive component comprises a clutch [0071].
Regarding claim 16, Weinhardt discloses (Fig. 1-2a) a vehicle, comprising
a drive motor (57),
an engine (“motor” [0060]),
a hybrid gearbox (Fig. 1), and
a hydraulic system (Fig. 2a) comprising
a first drive pump (53),
a second drive pump (59),
a high-pressure oil way (27/H) [0061],
a low-pressure oil way (61/N) [0063], and
a control valve group (36, 38), wherein
the first drive pump is connected to a drive motor (57) of a vehicle [0062];
the second drive pump is connected to the drive motor (57) of the vehicle [0062];
the high-pressure oil way is connected to the first drive pump and is configured to supply hydraulic oil from the first drive pump to a high-pressure drive component (22) in the hybrid gearbox [0061];
the low-pressure oil way is configured to supply oil to components (K1, K2) to be lubricated in the hybrid gearbox [0062];
the control valve group is separately connected to the first drive pump, the second drive pump, the high-pressure oil way, and the low-pressure oil way [0061-0063];
the control valve group is configured to control an oil pressure of the high-pressure oil way and control an oil quantity supplied by the low-pressure oil way to the components to be lubricated based on an operating working condition of the vehicle [0106]; and
wherein the drive motor and the engine are both connected to the hybrid gearbox, and the hydraulic system is connected to a box body of the hybrid gearbox (at least [0060] indicates the presence of the motor driving the gearbox depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 1-2 depict at least a fluid connection to the gearbox depicted in Fig. 1).
Weinhardt fails to explicitly state that the second drive pump is driven by an engine of the vehicle.
Yang discloses (Fig. 2) a hydraulic system for a hybrid gearbox, comprising
a first drive pump (2),
a second drive pump (1),
a high-pressure oil way (depicted line connected to (1)), and
a low-pressure oil way (depicted line connected to (2)), wherein
the first drive pump is connected to a drive motor (M) of a vehicle [0035];
the second drive pump is connected to an engine (E) of the vehicle [0035].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (engine driven pump) for another (motor driven pump), and the results of the substitution (rotationally driving the pump) would have been predictable. Because both Weinhardt and Yang teach hydraulic systems for gearboxes comprising multiple pumps, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the engine driven pump for the motor driven pump to achieve the predictable result of rotationally driving the pump.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinhardt in view of Yang, in further view of KIM; Hyunsuk et al. US 20210207708 A1, hereinafter Kim. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (vehicle gearing/control); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (flow control through system). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 9, Weinhardt discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1except fails to explicitly state that the system further comprising a first check valve, wherein an oil inlet of the first check valve communicates with an oil inlet of the second drive pump, and an oil outlet of the first check valve communicates with the oil outlet of the second drive pump.
Kim discloses (Fig. 3) a hydraulic system for a hybrid gearbox, comprising
a first drive pump (6),
a second drive pump (2),
a high-pressure oil way (20/8) [0031],
a low-pressure oil way (12/4) [0031],
a control valve group (14),
a first check valve (OWV3) located on a bypass line (24), wherein an oil inlet of the first check valve (depicted bottom port) communicates with an oil inlet of the second drive pump (depicted bottom port), and an oil outlet (depicted top port) of the first check valve communicates with the oil outlet (depicted top port) of the second drive pump for the purpose of enabling fluid to flow from the tank to downstream components in the event the pump is not operating [0054] while preventing the backflow of pressurized oil [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Weinhardt, by providing the bypass line/first check valve, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of enabling fluid to flow from the tank to downstream components in the event the pump is not operating while preventing the backflow of pressurized oil.
Regarding claim 10, Weinhardt discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1except fails to explicitly state that the system further comprising a second check valve, wherein an oil inlet of the second check valve communicates with an oil inlet of the first drive pump, and an oil outlet of the second check valve communicates with an oil outlet of the first drive pump.
Kim discloses (Fig. 3) a hydraulic system for a hybrid gearbox, comprising
a first drive pump (6),
a second drive pump (2),
a high-pressure oil way (20/8) [0031],
a low-pressure oil way (12/4) [0031],
a control valve group (14),
a second check valve (CV) located on a bypass line (22), wherein an oil inlet of the second check valve (depicted bottom port) communicates with an oil inlet of the first drive pump (depicted bottom port), and an oil outlet (depicted top port) of the second check valve communicates with the oil outlet (depicted top port) of the first drive pump for the purpose of enabling fluid to flow from the tank to downstream components in the event the pump is not operating [0049] while preventing the backflow of pressurized oil [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Weinhardt, by providing the bypass line/second check valve, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of enabling fluid to flow from the tank to downstream components in the event the pump is not operating while preventing the backflow of pressurized oil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11-12, 14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Weinhardt discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1. Weinhardt further discloses (Fig. 2a) the low-pressure oil way comprises
a first sub-oil way (K1), and
a second sub-oil way (K2) that are configured to supply oil to the components to be lubricated [0062], respectively; wherein
the control valve group comprises
a first flow control valve (63);
a first oil port (depicted bottom port connected to (67) of the first flow control valve communicates with an oil outlet of the first drive pump (53) [0063],
a second oil port (depicted bottom port connected to (61)) of the first flow control valve separately communicates with the second drive pump (59) and the first sub-oil way [0062], and
a first control oil port (depicted top port connected to (K1)) of the first flow control valve communicates with the first oil port of the first flow control valve [0061-0063].
Weinhardt fails to explicitly state that the low pressure oil way comprises
a third sub-oil way that is configured to supply oil to the components to be lubricated; wherein
the control valve group comprises
a second flow control valve, and
a third flow control valve;
a first oil port of the second flow control valve communicates with the second oil port of the first flow control valve, and
a second oil port of the second flow control valve communicates with the second sub-oil way; and
a first oil port of the third flow control valve communicates with the second oil port of the first flow control valve, and
a second oil port of the third flow control valve communicates with the third sub-oil way
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed third sub-oil way, second flow control valve and third flow control valve. Although Weinhardt discloses a hydraulic system comprising a first/second sub-oil way and a first flow control valve, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Weinhardt to incorporate the details of the third sub-oil way, second flow control valve and third flow control valve, along with the other claimed components of the hydraulic system. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Claims 3-8, 11-12 and 14 depend upon claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Weinhardt discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 16. Weinhardt further discloses (Fig. 2a) the low-pressure oil way comprises
a first sub-oil way (K1), and
a second sub-oil way (K2) that are configured to supply oil to the components to be lubricated [0062], respectively; wherein
the control valve group comprises
a first flow control valve (63);
a first oil port (depicted bottom port connected to (67) of the first flow control valve communicates with an oil outlet of the first drive pump (53) [0063],
a second oil port (depicted bottom port connected to (61)) of the first flow control valve separately communicates with the second drive pump (59) and the first sub-oil way [0062], and
a first control oil port (depicted top port connected to (K1)) of the first flow control valve communicates with the first oil port of the first flow control valve [0061-0063].
Weinhardt fails to explicitly state that the low pressure oil way comprises
a third sub-oil way that is configured to supply oil to the components to be lubricated; wherein
the control valve group comprises
a second flow control valve, and
a third flow control valve;
a first oil port of the second flow control valve communicates with the second oil port of the first flow control valve, and
a second oil port of the second flow control valve communicates with the second sub-oil way; and
a first oil port of the third flow control valve communicates with the second oil port of the first flow control valve, and
a second oil port of the third flow control valve communicates with the third sub-oil way
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed third sub-oil way, second flow control valve and third flow control valve. Although Weinhardt discloses a hydraulic system comprising a first/second sub-oil way and a first flow control valve, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Weinhardt to incorporate the details of the third sub-oil way, second flow control valve and third flow control valve, along with the other claimed components of the hydraulic system. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Claims 18-20 depend upon claim 17.
Relevant Art
The following is a listing of relevant art:
US 20200292054 A1, US 20230029138 A1, US 20140169994 A1, US 20200032894 A1 disclose hydraulic systems for gearboxes similar to the claimed invention.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745