DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (Chinese Patent Application CN111951921A).
As per claim 1, Zhou teaches a method [method shown, fig. 2] for adjusting power consumption, performed by an electronic device [a smart watch, page 7 third paragraph], the electronic device being capable of simultaneously running a first operating system [first operating system, page 6 second paragraph] and a second operating system [second operating system, page 6 second paragraph], and the method comprising [page 6 second paragraph, as pointed out the device is running a dual operating system in order to manage power consumption. For example, the electronic device includes a first operating system running a first operating system. A processing unit and a second processing unit running a second operating system. Among them, the first display screen supports the display of data information under the first operating system, the second display screen supports the display of data information under the second operating system, and the working energy consumption of the first display screen is less than that of the second display screen]:
obtaining a current state of a user [page 9 paragraphs 3-4, user activation or entering to a sleep mode. For example, it is detected that the user presses a switch on the display screen for showing that the electronic device "enter/exit the persistent mode" to enter the persistent mode. At this time, the CPU sleeps or shuts down, and the second operating system enters a non-working state].
controlling the second operating system to enter a target operating state [turn off second display non-working state: page 11 third paragraph], in a case where the current state of the user meets a system-state switching condition [the operation instruction meets the second trigger condition: page 11 third paragraph], wherein power consumption of the second operating system in the target operating state is lower than power consumption of the second operating system in a first operating state [page 13 first paragraph, where the screen is off enable the device to consume less power and enhanced user experience. For example, second operating system enters the non-working state is detected the display screen ensures that the electronic device can perform information interaction operations under low power consumption, avoids frequent switching of the working state of the second processing unit, effectively reduces the power consumption of the electronic device, and enhances the user experience effect].
As per claims 13-14, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 13-14 are also anticipated by Zhou for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
To help with the prosecution of this application, the following rejection is given for the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui (US Patent Application 20180024615).
As per claim 1, Cui teaches a method [method shown, fig. 1] for adjusting power consumption, performed by an electronic device [5, fig. 5], the electronic device being capable of simultaneously running a first operating system [user can select one or more of the multiple operating systems as required and select the levels of the power saving modes for the selected operating systems: 0025] and a second operating system [user can select one or more of the multiple operating systems as required and select the levels of the power saving modes for the selected operating systems: 0025], and the method comprising [0004, 0025, as pointed out, the device can run multiple operating system in order to manage power of the device. For example, in order to improve the standby capability of the smart terminal, a power saving mode is set especially for the smart terminal. The power saving mode is decreasing power consumption and enhancing the standby capability by decreasing backlight brightness of the smart terminal, substituting a dark black interface consuming less power, decreasing a frequency of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and so on]:
obtaining a current state of a user [0025, 0049-0050, as pointed out based on the user operation, an operating system can be trigger to put in low power mode. For example, the corresponding operating systems and levels can be triggered according to the selection of the user, and the selected operating systems can be caused to enter the power saving modes of selected levels].
controlling the second operating system to enter a target operating state [the selected operating systems can be caused to enter the power saving modes of selected levels: 0025], in a case where the current state of the user meets a system-state switching condition [power saving mode of the second level is causing the operating system to enter a standby mode: 0010], wherein power consumption of the second operating system in the target operating state is lower than power consumption of the second operating system in a first operating state [0051, 0053, 0069, as pointed out the operating system enter to power saving mode include 2 levels. For example, a second level of power saving mode by the operating system and third level, where one of the levels consumes less power than the other. For example, the power saving mode of the second level is causing the operating system to enter a standby mode. The power saving mode of the third level is shutting down the operating system, and releasing hardware and software resources exclusively used for the operating system].
As per claims 13-14, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 13-14 are also anticipated by Cui for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (Chinese Patent Application CN111951921A).
As per claim 2, Zhou teaches the target operating state comprises a standby state of the second operating system or a shutdown state of the second operating system [page 11, third paragraph, as pointed out for example, instruction meets the second trigger condition for turning off the second display screen In a non-working state, the first display screen is used to display the running result data information of the first operating system].
As per claim 3, Zhou teaches controlling the second operating system to enter the target operating state, in a case where the current state of the user is a sleep state or a do-not-disturb state [page 9, fourth paragraph, as pointed out, the CPU sleeps or shuts down, and the second operating system enters a non-working state].
As per claim 4, Zhou teaches the controlling the second operating system to enter the target operating state, comprises at least one of the following operations:
transferring a control authority over a first module from the second operating system to the first operating system, wherein the first module is a common callable module shared by the first operating system and the second operating system [page 9, fifth paragraph, as ponied out, in one embodiment of the present invention, after receiving the state switching signal, the first processing unit running the first operating system controls the operation of the first operating system].
controlling a second module operating under the second operating system to enter the target operating state.
As per claim 5, Zhou teaches sending a control-authority transfer instruction from the first operating system to the second operating system, wherein the control-authority transfer instruction is configured to indicate the second operating system to transfer the control authority over the first module to the first operating system [page 5, first paragraph, as pointed out, to control the second operating system under the operation of the first operating system when the switching signal that the second operating system enters the non-working state].
As per claim 6, Zhou teaches sending a control instruction from the first operating system to the second operating system, wherein the control instruction is configured to control the second module operating under the second operating system to enter the target operating state [page 5, fist paragraph, page 6 third paragraph, the first operating system is a real time operating system, where the signal is controlled by the first operating system to the second operating system as pointed out, for example control the second operating system under the operation of the first operating system when the switching signal].
As per claim 8, Zhou teaches determining the current state of the user based on at least one of motion information or at least one of heart rate data, in a case where the user wears or holds the electronic device [page 12, third paragraph, as pointed out, operating system supports the operation instructions of "click on exercise steps and other information". As a result, when the operation instruction of "clicking movement steps and other information" is detected, the CPU is controlled to enter the working state, and the "sports health" application program is run under the Android system, and the running result is displayed on the OLED display].
As per claim 9, Zhou teaches the first module comprises at least one of a display module, a touch module, a button module, and a motor module [page 12, third paragraph, as pointed out, MCU can display data information such as the number of steps].
As per claim 10, Zhou teaches the second module comprises at least one of a WIFI module, a modem, a memory [402, fig. 4], a power management module, and an audio module [page 14, second paragraph, figure 4 memory 402].
As per claim 11, Zhou teaches the first operating system is a real-time operating system (RTOS) and the second operating system is an Android system [page 6 third paragraph, first operating system is a real-time operating system. For example, the first processing unit runs a first operating system that is RTOS (Real Time Operating System].
As per claim 15, Zhou teaches power consumption of the electronic device running the first operating system is lower than power consumption of the electronic device running the second operating system [page 12, third paragraph, as pointed out, after controlling the second operating system to enter the working state, the first operating system may continue to be in the working state or enter the sleep state, which is not specifically limited in the present invention].
As per claim 16, Zhou teaches obtaining a current state of a user is performed in a case where both the first operating system and the second operating system are in the first operating state [page 12 third paragraph, as pointed out after controlling the second operating system to enter the working state, the first operating system may continue to be in the working state].
As per claim 17, Zhou teaches the processor comprises a first processor and a second processor, the first processor is configured to run the second operating system, and the second processor is configured to run the first operating system [page 6 third paragraph, as pointed out the first processing unit runs a first operating system that is RTOS (Real Time Operating System, real-time operating system), and the second processing unit runs a second operating system that is a smart operating system].
As per claims 13-14, 18, and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 13-25, 18 and 20 are also anticipated by Zhou for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (Chinese Patent Application CN111951921A) in the view of Berdinis (US Patent Application 20170075316).
As per claim 7, Zhou does not teach controlling the second operating system to revert to the first operating state from the target operating state, in a case where the current state of the user is a non-sleep state.
However, Berdinis teaches controlling the second operating system to revert to the first operating state from the target operating state, in a case where the current state of the user is a non-sleep state [0079, as pointed out the low power mode can be reverted. For example, a user override to normal mode function 504 is operable so that the user 204 can revert the smart watch 100 to normal mode operation even when the amount of energy 302 falls below the predefined threshold 303. A pull down curtain function 505 allows the user 204 to manipulate the display 102 of the smart watch to activate a screen that presents a battery meter display and/or a date (113). The biometric sensor function 207 is also active].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Zhou to include the method of Berdinis in order to allow user to revert the switching. Doing so, will allow user to manage the functionality of the device during low power mode.
As per claims 19 and 21, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 19 and 21 is also rejected as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Berdinis for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma (US 20150365892) teaches Low-Power Wearable Devices and Methods for Switching and Communication Among Multiple.
Choi (US 20170212793) teaches Method and Apparatus for Hibernation Operation In Multiple Operating System Environments.\
TU (US 20160055031) teaches dual-system architecture with fast recover and switching of operating system.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176