DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “selective flow member…configured to allow gases to pass through and to block passage of liquid” in claims 1, 4-15, of which details can be found on page 2, lines 8-15; page 5, line 15; and page 7, line 10-28, as well as in Figures 3 and 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 must end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the opening” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear which opening is referred to as each of the first segment and the second segment has an opening, which is also supported by the different openings claimed in claim 9.
Claims 6-12 are rejected as dependents of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the opening” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear which opening is being referred to.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the opening” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear which opening is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Madden et al. (US 2022/0193323).
Regarding claim 1, Madden discloses an injector for use in ophthalmic applications (see Figs. 1-4B), the injector comprising a gas supply tube 114, 232 and a liquid supply tube 116, both supply tubes being interconnected at a junction member 202 that is in fluid communication with an outflow cannula (see Fig. 3C, par. 48), and a selective flow member 222 arranged in the gas supply tube near the junction member (see Fig. 3C), and configured to allow gases to pass through and to block the passage of liquid (see par. 8, 25).
Regarding claim 2, Madden further discloses the selective flow member consists of a membrane comprising polytetrafluorocthylene (see par. 34) and having a maximum pore size between 0.2 and 1.0 micron (see par. 34).
Regarding claim 3, Madden further discloses the membrane has a thickness between 0.01 and 1 mm (par. 34, range of 150-300 microns is 0.15-0.3 mm, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Madden further discloses the selective flow member 222 arranged in the gas supply tube 114, 232 in a chamber 338, 350, the chamber having a first segment 338 and a second segment 350, the second segment arranged nearest to the junction member (see Fig. 3C), each of the first segment and the second segment having an opening in a respective surface thereof (see Fig. 3C), the selective flow member separating the chamber in a first compartment 340 near the first segment and a second compartment 354 near the second segment (see Fig. 3C), each of the first compartment 340 and the second compartment 354 in fluid connection with the gas supply tube via the opening (see Fig. 3C), and wherein fluid in the second compartment is blocked from entering the first compartment (see Fig. 3C, par. 8, 25).
Regarding claim 6, Madden discloses the respective surface of each of the first segment and the second segment comprises a connector (see Fig. 3C, each segment has portions allowing for connection between the two segments that are extending radially to the opening) extending radially to the opening to receive the gas supply tube (they are all part of the gas supply tube, and therefore receiving other parts constitute receiving gas supply tube), the gas supply tube in fluid communication with the first compartment and the second compartment of the chamber via the opening (see Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 7, Madden discloses the first segment and the second segment are integral elements of the chamber (see Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 9, Madden further discloses the opening in the respective surface of the first segment and the opening in the respective surface of the second segment are substantially aligned along a main axis of the gas supply tube (see Fig. 3C, opening below 340 and opening below 356, which are aligned with tube portion above 340 and the axis of that tube portion above 340).
Regarding claim 11, Madden further discloses the chamber has a round shape, a disc-shape, or a spherical shape (see Figs. 3B-3C).
Regarding claim 13, Madden further discloses a system comprising: a control unit (see par. 23-24, 45), a gas supply (see Fig. 1, gas must be supplied to gas supply line 114), and a liquid supply (see Fig. 1, liquid must be supplied to liquid line 116), each of the gas supply and the liquid supply connected to a gas supply tube and a liquid supply tube, respectively, of the injector according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and wherein the control unit is adapted to: activate the gas supply to push up gas into the gas supply tube, pas the selective flow member at a gas pressure X and supply gas to the outflow cannula (see Fig. 1, par. 23-24), and switch to a supply of liquid through the outflow cannula by flowing liquid up to the selective flow member at a liquid pressure higher than the gas pressure X, and supplying the liquid to the outflow cannula (see par. 23-24; 44-49).
Regarding claim 14, Madden further discloses the control unit is further adapted to: at the step of activating the gas supply, activate the liquid supply and push up liquid past the liquid supply tube so as to form a liquid to gas junction in the liquid supply tube (see par. 23-24; 44-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madden.
Regarding claim 4, Madden discloses the selective flow member is arranged in the gas supply tube near the junction member such that it is fillable with liquid (see Figs. 3B-3C, fillable in chamber compartment 354) but does not disclose being at most 1.5 mL, preferable at most 0.5 mL fillable, more preferably at most 0.1 mL fillable with liquid.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fillable be at most 1.5 mL with liquid, as a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device of Madden, similar to in Gardner. Furthermore, applicant has not placed any criticality (i.e. unexpected results) related to such a volume, stating a range of including 1.5 mL, 0.5 mL, and 0.1 mL.
Regarding claim 10, Madden discloses the chamber having a volume (see Fig. 3A) but does not disclose the chamber have a volume of 1 mL, preferably 0.3 mL, more preferably 01 mL.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the volume be 1 mL, as a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device of Madden, similar to in Gardner. Furthermore, applicant has not placed any criticality (i.e. unexpected results) related to such a volume, stating arrange of including 1 mL, 0.3 mL, and 0.1 mL.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madden in view of Buck et al. (US 2021/0316127).
Regarding claim 8, Madden discloses limitations of claim 5 and while showing the first segment and second segment connected (see Fig. 3C), does not specifically disclose releasably connected.
Buck discloses two or more tubing components releasably connectable via complementary luer locks or other connectors (see par. 80). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection be releasable, releasable connectors shown as well-known by Buck and this predictably resulting in a connector connecting the required parts. Additionally, such a connection would allow for parts to be accessed/cleaned as required to ensure working parts of the injector.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madden in view of Laconte et al. (US 2012/0302943).
Regarding claim 12, Madden discloses the limitations of claim 5 but does not disclose the fluid connection between the gas supply tube and the opening comprises one or more Luer connectors.
Lacote discloses an infusion system for ophthalmic fluid (see Fig. 1, Abstract) wherein luers are used to connect various tubes to other components of the system (see par. 35). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a luer between tube 114 and tube 237, which help to make up the gas supply tube, as Laconte discloses it is common for luers to be used to connect various tubes to other components of an infusion system and this would predictably result in a sealed connection between the parts requiring a connection.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madden in view of Tarkeshian et al. (US 2014/0276639).
Regarding claim 15, Madden discloses limitations of claim 13 but does not disclose the control unit is adapted to control the liquid pressure and the gas pressure in each supply tube in a range of from 0 to 200 mmHg.
Tarkeshian discloses optimizing the irrigation pressure to prevent over or under pressurizing the anterior chamber (see par. 10), and therefore the liquid pressure and the gas pressure are each result effective variables. Tarkeshian discloses a controller controlling irrigation pressure (see par. 7, 29). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the system to have such control, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment and prevent overpressure or underpressure. Therfore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the control unit adapted to control the liquid pressure and the gas pressure in each supply tube, as Tarkeshian discloses such control and the importance of such control, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system by having the pressure in a range of from 0 to 200 mmHg as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 17/852,435 (reference application), hereinafter ‘435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following claims of the current application are disclosed by the following claims of ‘435:
Current application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
‘435
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
Current application
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
‘435
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
Current application
15
‘435
15
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781