DETAILED ACTION
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the text and font for the Tables and Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the specification are blurry and difficult to read.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the functional groups and subscripts recited in the claim are blurry, making the elements hard to read and subsequently print. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A laminated film comprising a resin layer on at least one surface”. It is not clear what “at least one surface” is referring to, since there is no substrate, support, or base layer having surfaces claimed. Examiner assumes that disposal on any surface of another layer indirectly or directly would meet the limitations as claimed. Clarification is requested.
Claim 11 recites “a laminated structure unit in which 51 or more layers including a layer including at least a layer (layer A) a main component of which is a polyester resin (resin A)…”. It is not clear as to how this laminated structure unit structurally relates to the resin layer as claimed in claim 1. Examiner assumes that the resin layer and the laminated structure are laminated together as part of the laminated film. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatsumi et al. (WO 2016/052133).
Tatsumi discloses a laminate comprising a substrate layer and an adhesive layer. Concerning claim 1, Tatsumi discloses the adhesive layer P2 comprises an acrylic modified polyester and a urethane resin or a mixture of an acrylic resin, polyester resin, and a urethane resin (para. 0042-0068). Given that the composition is the same as that claimed, the Xs and Xc values and ratio is satisfied. With respect to claims 2 and 3, the layer P2 further comprises oxazoline resins (para. 0057-0059). In regard to the properties as claimed in claims 4-7, 10, 12-15, since the composition of layer P2 is the same as that claimed, the properties would be intrinsic to the disclosure. Concerning claim 8, the structure as claimed is found in the resins glycidyl methacrylate (para. 0139 and 0064-0065). With respect to claim 9, layer P2 further comprises a melamine compound (para. 0054-0056). Regarding claims 16 and 17, as shown in Figure 1, the solar cell comprises a backsheet which comprises the claimed substrate and layer P2 (element 1) and a sealant layer that is split into two by the solar battery cells (elements 2 and 3). Examiner considers the portion above the solar battery cells to be sealant 1 and the portion below the solar battery cells to be sealant 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsumi et al. (WO 2016/052133) in view of Uto et al. (US 20160001530).
Tatsumi discloses the above but is silent to the laminated structure unit as claimed.
Uto discloses a similar adhesive used with a multilayer film having 100 or more layers, wherein the multilayer film comprises thermoplastic resin layers A alternating with thermoplastic layers B with layers A and B being different from each other, wherein the resulting film exhibits interference reflection (para. 0107-0158). As such, for producing an interference reflection, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to add the multilayer film as claimed to the laminate as disclosed in Tatsumi.
Claims 18-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsumi et al. (WO 2016/052133) in view of Shirasaki et al. (JP 2010-111563).
Tatsumi discloses the above but is silent for using the laminate in automobile and glazing application and the further layers.
Shirasaki discloses a glass laminate (FIG. 1) comprising two interlayers comprising PVB (element 2; para. 0033-0035) and an adhesive layer comprising acrylates, polyurethanes, and the like, disposed therebetween (element 3; para. 0019-0025), wherein thickness of each interlayer is selected depending upon the intended purpose (para. 0035). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed thickness ratio for the interlayers, in order to achieve the intended purpose. The structure for the intermediate portion in glass laminates allows improving the adhesive force to glass (para. 0069). With respect to claims 22 and 23, the glass laminates are used in window glass for vehicles and buildings (para. 0069). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed structure in glass laminate applications.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsumi et al. (WO 2016/052133) in view of Shirasaki et al. (JP 2010-111563) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Blizard (US 3592726).
The prior art discloses the above but is silent to the glass thickness ratio as claimed.
Blizard discloses a glass laminate with an interlayer wherein the each glass has a different thickness, with the outer glass layer being thicker than the inner glass layer with the ratio overlapping and including the claimed range (cols. 3-4). Having the outer glass layer allows for maximum degree of cushioning (col. 3, lines 58-75). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed ratio.
Conclusion
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783