DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Whitmore et al. (U.S. 2002/0122394 A1).
Re claim 1, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 a communication device connectable to a first communication network and a second communication network (e.g. abstract and Figure 1), the communication device comprising: a first communication adapter connectable to the first communication network (e.g. Figure 1 with communication of first network path); a second communication adapter connectable to the second communication network (e.g. Figure 1 with communication of second network path wherein there are four network paths from mobile computer 52 to host computer 13); a memory to store a routing table with which a record is registered, the record including a destination network ID, a subnet mask, and a gateway IP address, where ID is identification, and IP is Internet Protocol (e.g. abstract with routing table and paragraphs [0018 and 0034]); and processing circuitry to register a first record with the routing table (e.g. paragraph [0018 and 0034]) and update the routing table to indicate a second path as a default route selectively from a first path through the first communication network and the second path through the second communication network (e.g. paragraphs [0078 and 0103] with updating the gateway), the first record including, as the destination network ID, an IP address of a first communication device connected to the communication device through the first communication network, including a full-bit subnet mask as the subnet mask, and including, as the gateway IP address, an IP address of a first gateway connected to the first communication network or identification information of the first communication adapter (e.g. Figure 5 and paragraphs [0076-0077 and 0102-0104]).
Re claim 2, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the processing circuitry table management means registers the first record with the routing table, and deletes a second record from the routing table selectively from the second record indicating the first path as the default route and a third record indicating the second path as the default route (e.g. paragraphs [0016, 0024, 0076-0078] wherein it updates the routing records).
Re claim 3, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 each of the first communication network and the second communication network is a local area network (e.g. paragraphs [0056 and 0062] and Figure 1), the first record includes the IP address of the first gateway as the gateway IP address (e.g. Figure 5 with gateway address), the second record indicates the first gateway as a default gateway (e.g. Figure 13 with default), and the third record indicates, as the default gateway, a second gateway connected to the second communication network (e.g. Figure 5 and 13 and paragraphs [0076 and 0125]).
Re claim 4, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the first communication network is a local area network, the second communication network is a mobile phone network, the first record includes the IP address of the first gateway as the gateway IP address, the second record indicates the first gateway as a default gateway, and the third record indicates the second communication adapter as the default gateway (e.g. Figures 1 with network structure of LAN communicates with mobile networks and Figures 5 and 13 with routing information table and paragraph [0069, 0073, and 0085]).
Re claim 5, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the processing circuitry communication target information acquisition means for acquiring acquires, from a user, communication target information identifying the IP address of the first communication device and the IP address of the first gateway (e.g. paragraphs [0059-0060 and 0072-0075]), and the processing circuitry wherein the table management means registers the first record with the routing table, and the first record includes, as the destination network ID, the IP address of the first communication device identified using the communication target information, and includes, as the gateway IP address, the IP address of the first gateway identified using the communication target information (e.g. paragraphs [0018, 0033-0034 and 0134]).
Re claim 6, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the communication target information includes the IP address of the first communication device and the identification information of the first communication adapter, the processing circuitry communication device further comprises first address identification means for identifying identifies the IP address of the first gateway using the identification information of the first communication adapter included in the communication target information (e.g. paragraphs [0059-0060 and 0072-0075]), and the processing circuitry table management means registers the first record with the routing table, and the first record includes, as the destination network ID, the IP address of the first communication device included in the communication target information, and includes, as the gateway IP address, the identified IP address of the first gateway identified by the first address identification means (e.g. paragraphs [0018, 0033-0034 and 0134]).
Re claim 8, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the communication device is connectable to the first communication network, the second communication network, and a third communication network (e.g. Figure 1 with multiple communication networks), the communication device further comprises a third communication adapter connectable to the third communication network (e.g. Figure 1 and paragraph [0083] wherein each communication network has its own network adapter), and the processing circuitry table management means registers a fifth record with the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate, as the default route, the second path selectively from the first path, the second path, and a third path through the third communication network, and the fifth record includes, as the destination network ID, an IP address of a third communication device connected to the communication device through the third communication network, includes the full-bit subnet mask as the subnet mask, and includes, as the gateway IP address, an IP address of a third gateway connected to the third communication network or identification information of the third communication adapter (e.g. Figures 5 and 13).
Re claim 9, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the processing circuitry table management means registers the first record and the fifth record with the routing table, and deletes a second record and a sixth record from the routing table selectively from the second record indicating the first path as the default route, a third record indicating the second path as the default route, and the sixth record indicating the third path as the default route (e.g. paragraphs [0016, 0024, 0076-0078] wherein it updates the routing records).
Re claim 10, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 each of the first communication network and the third communication network is a local area network (e.g. Figure 1 with LAN network 10), the second communication network is a mobile phone network (e.g. Figure 1 with mobile networks #1, #2 and paragraph [0069, 0073, and 0085]) the first record includes the IP address of the first gateway as the gateway IP address, the second record indicates the first gateway as a default gateway, the third record indicates the second communication adapter as the default gateway, the fifth record includes the IP address of the third gateway as the gateway IP address, and the sixth record indicates the third gateway as the default gateway (e.g. Figures 5 and 13 and paragraphs 0076-0078]).
Re claim 11, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the first communication network is a mobile phone network (e.g. Figure 1 with mobile networks #1, #2 and paragraph [0069, 0073, and 0085]), the second communication network is a local area network (e.g. Figure 1 with LAN network 10), the first record includes the identification information of the first communication adapter as the gateway IP address, the second record indicates the first communication adapter as a default gateway, and the third record indicates, as the default gateway, a second gateway connected to the second communication network (e.g. Figures 5 and 13 and paragraphs 0076-0078]).
Re claim 16, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 network management software to update the routing table to change a network setting of the communication device (e.g. paragraphs [0076-0078 and 0110]); an operating system to detect a change in the network setting performed by the network management software and provide a notification of the change (e.g. paragraphs [0068 and 0112]); and setting correction software being application software to update the routing table to correct the network setting (e.g. paragraphs [0076-0078 and 0110] with updating the routing records in response to correct routing information), the setting correction software being the table management means, wherein when the setting correction software receives a notification of a change in the network setting from the operating system and the routing table indicates the first path and the second path each as the default route, the setting correction software registers the first record with the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate the second path as the default route (e.g. Figures 5 and 13).
Re claim 17, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the setting correction software registers, with a recovery file stored in the memory storage means, information indicating the first record and information indicating the second path as the default route (e.g. paragraphs [0075-0077]), and when the network management software deletes the first record from the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate the first path and the second path each as the default route, the setting correction software registers the first record with the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate the second path as the default route based on the recovery file (e.g. paragraphs [0016, 0024, 0076-0078] wherein it updates the routing records).
Re claim 18, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 a communication device connectable to a plurality of communication networks with a plurality of communication adapters (e.g. Figure 1), the communication device comprising: network management software to change a network setting of the communication device; an operating system to detect a change in the network setting performed by the network management software and provide a notification of the change (e.g. paragraphs [0135-0138]); and setting correction software being application software to correct the network setting, wherein when the setting correction software receives a notification of a change in the network setting from the operating system and the network setting indicates a plurality of gateways each as a default gateway, the setting correction software corrects the network setting to indicate, as the default gateway, a gateway specified from the plurality of gateways (e.g. paragraphs [0101-0106]).
Re claim 19, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the setting correction software corrects the network setting to indicate the specified gateway as the default gateway to allow communication between the communication device and a first communication device connected to the communication device with a first gateway of the plurality of gateways other than the specified gateway (e.g. paragraphs [0134-0138]).
Re claim 20, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 a memory to store storage means for storing a routing table with which a record is registered, the record including a destination network ID, a subnet mask, and a gateway IP address (e.g. Figure 5 table), wherein the setting correction software registers a first record with the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate a specified path through the specified gateway as a default route, and the first record includes an IP address of the first communication device as the destination network ID, includes a full-bit subnet mask as the subnet mask, and includes, as the gateway IP address, an IP address of the first gateway or identification information of a first communication adapter of the plurality of communication adapters to connect the communication device to the first gateway (e.g. paragraphs [0134-0138] and Figures 5 and 13).
Re claim 21, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 the setting correction software registers, with a recovery file stored in the memory storage means, information indicating the first record and information indicating the specified path as the default route (e.g. Figures 5 and 13 with paragraphs [0134-0138]), and when the network management software deletes the first record from the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate a plurality of paths each as the default route, the setting correction software registers the first record with the routing table and updates the routing table to indicate the specified path as the default route based on the recovery file (e.g. paragraphs [0016, 0024, 0076-0078] wherein it updates the routing records).
Re claim 22, it is a network system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 22 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re claim 23, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 23 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Whitmore disclose in Figures 1-18 updating the routing table to indicate a second path as a default route selectively from a first path through the first communication network and the second path through the second communication network (e.g. paragraphs [0016, 0024, 0076-0078] wherein it updates the routing records); communicating with the first communication device through the first communication network based on the first record registered with the routing table (e.g. Figures 1 and 5 and 13 with latest/updated routing table); and communicating with a second communication device through the second communication network based on the default route indicated by the routing table, the second communication device being connected to the communication device through the second communication network (e.g. abstract and paragraphs [0034-0035, 0087-0088, and 0112]).
Re claim 24, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 24 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitmore et al. (U.S. 2002/0122394 A1) in view of Morris (U.S. 2019/0149449 A1).
Re claim 7, Whitmore to disclose in Figures 1-18 the processing circuitry table management means registers a fourth record with the routing table, and the fourth record includes, as the destination network ID, an IP address associating the IP address of the first communication device of the first communication device, includes the full-bit subnet mask as the subnet mask, and includes the IP address of the first gateway as the gateway IP address (e.g. tables in Figures 5 and 13), the communication target information includes the identification information of the first communication adapter, the processing circuitry accesses communication device further comprises second address identification means for accessing the first server and identifying identifies the IP address of the first communication device using the hostname of the first communication device included in the communication target information (e.g. as part of DNS server as seen in Morris’ teaching below), and the processing circuitry table management means registers the first record with the routing table, and the first record includes, as the destination network ID, the identified IP address of the first communication device identified by the second address identification means, and includes, as the gateway IP address, the IP address of the first gateway identified using the identification information of the first communication adapter included in the communication target information (e.g. Figures 1 and 5 and paragraphs [0076-0077 and 0102-0104]). Whitmore fails to disclose the DNS server associated with DNS IP address and DNS hostname wherein the DNS is domain name system. However, these limitations are typical in network communication with DNS architecture as seen in Morris. Morris discloses in Figures 1-139 the DNS server associated with DNS IP address and DNS hostname wherein the DNS is domain name system (e.g. abstract and paragraphs [0305-0306] for dissolving hostname such as URL). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add the DNS server associated with DNS IP address and DNS hostname wherein the DNS is domain name system as seen in Morris’ invention into Whitemore’s invention because it would enable to enhance communication in network utilizing the hostnames instead.
Re claim 12, it is a device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-9041956-B2
US-11252183-B
US-20200175195-A1
US-20190149449-A1
US-20150188808-A1
US-20130343387-A1
US-20130110995-A1
US-20090168787-A1
US-20020122394-A1
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451