DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 26, the claims recites that the drawer is movable between “a receiving position for the storage container from above and a picking position for presenting the storage container to a user”, and subsequently recites “at least one port column vertically aligned with a receiving position of the access station”. The second recitation of “a receiving position” introduces a new element, and it is unclear whether the port column is required to be aligned with the receiving position of the drawer previously recited or with a different receiving position. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as referring to the previously recited receiving position.
Regarding claim 28, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase (“three or four access stations”) are part of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring at least two access stations.
Regarding claim 29, the claims is indefinite for the following reasons: (1) the preamble recites “the access station being in an automated storage and retrieval system comprising: a frame structure; and a drawer assembly arranged in the frame structure”. It is unclear whether the frame structure and the drawer assembly are elements of the access station or of the automated storage and retrieval system. For purposes of examination the claim is interpreted as elements of the access station. (2) The preamble recites “a drawer for accommodating a storage container,” and the body of the claim then recites “moving a drawer of the access station to the receiving position.” It is unclear whether the later “a drawer” refers to the drawer previously recited or to a different drawer. For purposes of examination, it has been interpreted as referring to the previously recited drawer.
Claims 27, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and failing to cure the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland et al (WO2017/211596; herein after “Hognaland”) in view of Saunders (US5474376).
Referring to claim 16. Hognaland discloses a “Storage System Comprising Drawer Device”. See Figs. 1-6 and respective portions of the specification. Hognaland further discloses an access station (60, Fig. 2) for an automated storage and retrieval system (10, comprising grid structure 20, storage containers (30) and robot vehicles (40)), wherein the access station comprises: a frame structure (73, Figs. 3-5); and a drawer assembly (70) arranged in the frame structure; wherein the drawer assembly comprises: a drawer (front surface 75 combined with storage container 72, See Figs. 2, 5) for accommodating a storage container (30). Hognaland further discloses wherein the drawer is movable between a receiving position (closed state A) for receiving a storage container from above, and a picking position (open state B) for presenting a storage container to a user (See at least Pg. 4 L. 33 – Pg. 5. L 28). Hognaland does not disclose a lower link pivotally coupled at a first end to the frame structure and pivotally coupled at a second end to the drawer; and an upper link pivotally coupled at a first end to the frame structure and pivotally coupled at a second end to the drawer; wherein the first end of the upper link is arranged higher than the second end of the upper link, and the first end of the lower link is arranged lower than the second end of the lower link. Saunders discloses a “Support Linkage Apparatus Assembly”. See Figs. 1-5 and respective portions of the specification. Saunders further discloses a drawer assembly (40A, Figs. 3-4) arranged in a frame structure (brackets 47L, 47R, Col. 14 L. 6-14) comprising a drawer (40 drawer having base element 40B, side panels 40C and end panel 40A, 40P, see Col 14 L. 15-23); a lower link (link element 21; column assemblies 41R, 41L) a pivotally coupled at a first end to the frame structure and pivotally coupled at a second end to the drawer (See Col. 10 L. 33-45, Col. 14 L. 6-27, Figs. 2, 4); and an upper link (link element 22, hanger assemblies 42R, 42L) pivotally coupled at a first end to the frame structure and pivotally coupled at a second end to the drawer (lower end fastened with end pin 26, See Col. 10 L. 44-49, Col. 14 L. 9-14, Figs. 2, 4); wherein the first end of the upper link is arranged higher than the second end of the upper link, and the first end of the lower link is arranged lower than the second end of the lower link (See Col. 5 L. 26-42, Figs. 1, 4); wherein the drawer is movable between a substantially horizontal closed position and an anteriorly inclined open position. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access station of Hognaland by supporting the drawer on an lower link and an upper link as taught by Saunders, in place of the sliding supports of Hognaland, as this would allow for more freedom in movement for the drawer from an enclosed receiving position to an open presenting position, that allows an inclined open position that would improve visibility and make it easer to retrieve and load materials.
Referring to claim 17. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland doesn’t disclose wherein the first end of the upper link is arranged above the drawer and the first end of the lower link is arranged below the drawer. Saunders teaches wherein the first end of the upper link isa arranged above the drawer and the first end of the lower link is arranged below the drawer. More specifically, Fig. 4B shows closed drawer 40 with the frame pivot of hanger 42L above the top edge of the drawer and the frame pivot of column 41L at the lower front, below the drawer base. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saunders wherein the fixed pivots were located above and below the drawer, as it would allow for improved movement of the drawers. Further, it should be noted that an obvious rearrangement of parts that does not modify the operation of the linkage, is well within the level of sophistication of one ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 18. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland does not disclose wherein the lower link has a lower link length and the upper link has an upper link length; and wherein a ratio between the lower link length and the upper link length is in a range of 1:1 to 1:2. Saunders discloses a lower link of approximately 1.0 unit length and an upper link of approximately 0.89 unit length (See Col. 22 L. 42-48, Col. 5 L. 26-42) which is not a ratio in the range of 1:1 to 1:2. However, it should be noted that Saunders identifies the link dimensions as result effective variable that governs the drawer path and inclination (See Col. 8 L. 43-46) and providing adjustments to the basic lengths of the described links and span proportions will provide assemblies which balance asymmetrical elements or provide various inclinations of elective elements (See Col. 21 L. 8-11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the ratio of the lower link length to the upper link length, including to a ratio in the range of 1:1 to 1:2, to obtain the desired drawer path and inclination angle at the picking position, that would make it easier to load/retrieve items and increase visibility.
Referring to claim 19. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland does not disclose wherein the drawer is suspended by only the upper link and the lower link. Saunders discloses wherein the drawer is suspended by only the upper link and the lower link. More explicitly, Saunders discloses providing drawer support through pivotal linkage bearing supports provides a simple bearing relationship with the frame (Col. 2 L. 7-9), with the drawer (40) supported by the anterior column assemblies and the hanger assemblies (Col. 14 L. 22-27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saunders wherein the drawer is suspended by the upper link and lower link as this would eliminate the need for the cantilevered loading of slide supports and allow for greater freedom of movement of the drawer and inclination of the drawer for improved loading/retrieving.
Referring to claim 20. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland discloses wherein the drawer is level in the receiving position (the storage container being pulled in a horizontal direction H, between closed state A and open state B) (See Page 6 L. 37 – Page 7 L. 1, Fig. 5).
Referring to claim 21. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland does disclose wherein the first end of the upper link and the second end of the upper link are vertically aligned when the drawer is in a position between the picking position and the receiving position. Saunders discloses wherein the first end of the upper link and the second end of the upper link are vertically aligned when the drawer is in a position between the picking position and the receiving position (See at least Col. 20 L. 25-36; Col. 14 L. 57-66). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saunders, wherein the first and second end of the upper link are vertically aligned when the drawer is in a position between the picking and receiving position, so that the drawers were more easily moved/manipulated for easier access for loading and retrieving.
Referring to claim 22. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland doesn’t disclose wherein the frame structure has a frontside and a backside; wherein when the drawer is in the receiving position, the second end of the lower link is closer to the backside of the frame structure than the first end of the lower link. Saunders discloses wherein the frame structure has a frontside and a backside and wherein the anterior side faces the user and its posterior side is the back and further discloses wherein, when the drawer is in the receiving position, the second end of the lower link is closer to the backside of the frame structure than the first end of the lower link (See Col. 6 L. 1-4, Col. 20 L. 15-18, Fig. 4B). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings to improve the drawer positioning and movement. Moreover, it should be noted that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the frame structure as claimed, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well as disclosed.
Referring to claim 23. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland does not disclose wherein the frame structure has a frontside and a backside; wherein when the drawer is in the picking position, the first end of the lower link is closer to the backside of the frame structure than the second end of the lower link. Saunders discloses wherein, when the drawer is in the picking position, the first end of the lower link is closer to the backside of the frame structure than the second end of the lower link (the open position reached when the anterior link 11 is rotated to the right, Col. 5 L. 44-48, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings to improve the drawer positioning and movement. Moreover, it should be noted that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the frame structure as claimed, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well as disclosed.
Referring to claim 24. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland does not disclose wherein the access station is configured for vertical alignment of the receiving position with a port column of the automated storage and retrieval system for receiving storage containers therefrom. Hognaland further discloses wherein the access station is configured for vertical alignment of the receiving position with a port column of the automated storage and retrieval system for receiving storage containers therefrom. More explicitly, Hognaland discloses that the storage system transports the storage bin from the storage grid (20) to the drawer device (70) and the vehicle while be configured to transport the storage bins (30) between the storage grid and the drawer device (See Pg. 7 L. 3-7, Fig. 6). Likewise, Fig. 6 shows drawer device (70) at the bottom of a column of grid structure that holds no stored bins, vertically below the level at which vehicle (40) operates
Referring to claim 25. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. Hognaland doesn’t disclose wherein the frame structure and/or the drawer assembly are configured to prevent retrieval of a storage container from the drawer when the drawer is in the picking position. Saunders discloses a drawer assembly that partly obstructs the drawer opening in the open position while giving access to the contents (See Col. 17 L. 20-27, Figs. 5) and a stop (Col. 17 L. 47-48). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the drawer assembly of Hognaland to incorporate Saunders partly closed upper construction and stop, so that the frame structure and drawer assembly prevent retrieval of the storage container from the drawer in the picking position, so that the assembly let the user reach the contents while keeping the storage bin, in the drawer for automatic return to the grid and protected from theft.
Claim(s) 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland et al (WO2017/211596; herein after “Hognaland”) in view of Saunders (US5474376) and in further view of Applicants Admitted Prior Art (herein “AAPA”).
Referring to claim 26. Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 16. As disclosed above Hognaland in view of Saunders disclose an automated storage and retrieval system comprising an access station comprising a frame structure and a drawer assembly arranged in the frame structure, the drawer assembly comprising a drawer for accommodating a storage container, a lower link and an upper link, with the first and second ends of the links arranged as claimed, and the drawer movable between a receiving position for receiving the storage container from above and picking position for presenting the storage container to a user. Hognaland further discloses a storage section comprising a plurality of storage containers arranged in storage columns (vertical compartments, in which the storage bins (30) may be stacked vertically above each other, See Pg. 1 L. 8-1-, Pg. 4 L. 9-12) located beneath a rail system (Pg. 1 L. 8-9); at least one column void of stored storage containers and vertically aligned with the receiving position of the access station (Fig. 6); and a container handling vehicle (40). Hognaland does not explicitly disclose a rail system comprising a first set of parallel rails arranged in a horizontal plane and extending in a first direction and a second set of parallel rails arranged in the horizontal plane and extending in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction, which first and second sets of rails form a grid in the horizontal plane comprising a plurality of adjacent access openings with the column void of stored containers is a port column; or that the container handling vehicle comprises a gripping device and a drive means configured to drive the vehicle along the rail system in at least one of the first and second directions. Applicants Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) teaches a rail system (108) comprising a first set of parallel rails (11) arranged to guide movement of the container handling vehicles and a second set of parallel rails (111) arranged perpendicular to the first set of rails to guide movement in a second direction Y, wherein containers (106) stored in columns 105 are accessed by the container handling vehicles through openings 112 (See Pg. 1, Fig. 1); container handling vehicles (201, 301, 401) having first and second sets of wheels that engage rails, respectively, and a lifting device comprising one or more gripping/engaging devices (304, 404); and port columns (119, 120) which are columns used by the container handling vehicles to drop off and/or pick up storage containers so that they can be transported to an access station (Pg. 3, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the storage system of Hognaland with the orthogonal rail sets, access openings, gripping vehicles with drive means, and dedicated port column of applicants admitted prior art (AAPA), as one would have been to provide the column above the drawer of Hognaland as a dedicated port column, as taught by AAPA, so that the container handling vehicle has an unobstructed vertical path for lowering a storage bin into the drawer in the receiving position.
Referring to claim 27. Hognaland in view of Saunders and AAPA disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 26. Hognaland further discloses wherein the access station is configured to provide a lower section of the at least one port column, as such Fig. 6 show drawer device (70) occupying the lowermost position of the column into which bins are delivered (the drawer device connected to the grid structure, Pg. 5 L. 17-18) and supporting structure (73) connected to the supporting structure of the storage grid (20) (See Pg. 5 L. 23-25).
Referring to claim 28. Hognaland in view of Saunders and AAPA disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 26. Hognaland discloses at least two access stations (first drawer device 70A, second drawer device 70B, Pg. 5 L. 2-5, Fig. 2).
Referring to claims 29-30. With respect to claims 29-30, the method described in these claims would inherently result from the use of Hognaland’s “Storage System Comprising Drawer Device” in view of Saunder’s “Support Linkage Apparatus Assembly” and applicants admitted prior art as advanced above.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653