DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roth (US Patent 1,022,332).
Regarding claim 1, Roth discloses a conveyor system (fig 2), comprising:
a tray (d1) suspended by two or more vertical supports (h1), such that the tray travels in a forward direction (toward the right in fig 2) from a tray high point toward or through a tray low point;
a one directional continuously rotating input mechanism (c1) that:
during a first portion of a single rotational cycle moves the tray in a backward direction, opposite the forward direction, to the high point (fig 2; page 2, col 1, lines 7-35); and
during a second portion of a single rotational cycle allows unrestrained freefall of the tray in the forward direction (fig 2; page 2, col 1, lines 17-30); and
a bumper (m) positioned to provide a sudden stop to the tray as the tray travels in the forward direction, such that the tray bounces and travels in the backward direction, and such that a conveyed material positioned on the tray continues in the forward direction due to a forward momentum of the conveyed material (fig 2; page 2, col 1, lines 17-30).
Regarding claim 2, Roth also discloses vertical supports are positioned in a V shape with respect to one another (hangers d1 flare outward in a v shape between bar a1 to trough d1).
Regarding claim 11, Roth also discloses the bumper is positioned past the tray low point such that the tray is configured to travel through the tray low point (fig 2).
Regarding claim 13, Roth also discloses the tray includes side walls extending vertically from a base of the tray (best seen in fig 3 cutaway, but can still be seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 17, Roth also discloses a method of conveying materials, comprising:
moving a tray (d1) in a backward direction during a first portion of a rotational cycle, the tray configured to be moved by a one-directional continuously rotating input mechanism (c1);
releasing the tray in unrestrained freefall in a forward direction during a second portion of a rotational cycle (fig 2; page 2, col 1, lines 17-30);
providing a sudden stop (m) to the tray at a bumper as the tray travels in the forward direction; and
bouncing the tray in a backward direction, such that conveyed material on the tray continues in the forward direction due to a forward momentum of the conveyed material (fig 2; page 2, col 1, lines 17-30).
Regarding claim 18, Roth also discloses hanging the tray from two or more vertical supports (h1).
Regarding claim 19, Roth also discloses swinging the tray from the two or more vertical supports (h1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Marcus (US Patent 736,753).
Roth disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not disclose the two or more vertical supports are straps.
Regarding claim 3, Marcus teaches two or more vertical supports are straps (page 2, col 1, lines 26-34).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical supports of Roth to be straps as taught by Marcus in order to allow the vertical supports bend or roll on and off the tray thereby better supporting the tray (page 2, col 1, lines 26-34).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Knapp (US Patent 2,689,037).
Roth disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not disclose (claim 14) a second tray supported by the two or more vertical supports and (claim 15) the second tray is hard coupled to the first tray.
Regarding claim 14, Knapp teaches a first and second tray (10 and 11).
Regarding claim 15, Knapp also teaches the second tray is hard coupled to the first tray (via clamp 12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the tray of Roth to include a first and second tray and the second tray is hard coupled to the first tray as taught by Knapp in order to allow for telescopic extension to create a desired length based on the application (col 1, lines 5-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KRC/Examiner, Art Unit 3651 6/11/2026
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651