DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11, 13, 17, 24-28, 32, 34-35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claims refer to fibers multiple times at different parts of the method and it is unclear as to if these are referred to the fibers of the previous step, and earlier step, a new set of fibers.
For instance, step a includes a fibrous material to shear “the fibers” that is blended to obtain a blended fibrous material comprising blended fibers.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the fibers” is limitation in the claim, as it was previously referred to as a fibrous material. It can be inferred that the fibrous material will include fibers, but it is unclear if these are the same fibers (especially when step (b) can take place prior to step (a).
If assumed that the “blended fibers” are the fibers that come from the fibrous material after the blending step, then in step © it is unclear as to which fibers are being separated. Step (c) requires fibers form the mixture of the blended fibers, but it doesn’t say to separate the blended fibers out of the mixture. There is a proper reading that this step is to remove any original fibers that are still included in the mixture of the basic aqueous solution and the blended fibrous material comprising blended fibers. The open-ended nature of the term “comprising” means that other items can be presented without affecting the patentability. Therefore, it is unclear if some of the original fibers are still present and which fibers are actually separated.
Additionally, the final step of (d) includes the step of drying the separated fibers, but step (c) does not designate a separated fibers, only the act of separating fibers (which as stated above is unclear as to which fibers are being further limited.
While the Exmaienr believes the intent of the steps is to modify a fiber form the original fibrous material by blending to create a blended fiber and then separating out the blended fiber from a mixture created and then drying the separated blended fiber, the claims need clarification to properly state this line of actions in the method.
The dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation at least 60%, and the claim also recites at least 80% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11, 13, 17, 24-28, 32, 34-35, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetani et al, “Nanofibrillation of Wood Pulp Using a High-Speed Blender”, Biomacromolecules 2011 (already of record) in view of Labidi et al, “All-cellulose composite from alfa and wood fibers” 2019 (already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Uetani teaches a method for producing a polymeric material (see abstract), comprising the steps of:
(a) blending a fibrous material to shear the fibers (see first paragraph of the conclusion page 352) along a longitudinal direction of the fibers (visually depicted by Figure 2 and disclosed left column of page 351) to obtain a blended fibrous material comprising blended fibers having an average diameter less than an average diameter of the fibers (see figure 3);
(c) separating fibers contained in a mixture comprising the blended fibrous material and the basic aqueous solution (vacuum filters page 349); and
(d) drying the separated fibers (into the formed nanofiber sheets left column page 349).
Uetani teaches pretreatment steps for the processing of the fibrous materials (both chemical in a lignin removal step left column page 349, physical in the initial straw reduction sizing of figure 6, and the improvements to the blending that occurs if adding a salt solution page 352). Uetani is silent on the specific step of (b) mixing the fibrous material in a basic aqueous solution before step (a), or mixing the blended fibrous material in the basic aqueous solution after step (a).
In the same field of endeavor of making a film or material out of cellulose based fibers that have been pretreated and fibrillated, Labidi teaches the act of pretreating the wood fibers with a NaOH solution (see figure 1 and page 136) to prepare the fibers to be pulped and then further treated into making a desired pulp with improved properties (see results and conclusions section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the teachings of Labidi to pretreat the fibers with an NaOH solution as taught in the Uetani method for the benefit of pretreating the fibers in a known and conventional manner to arrive at the same predictable end result.
Regarding claim 2, Uetani further teaches the act of reducing the diameter of the fiber size by at least 60% (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Labidi provides an example of mixing the NaOH at a negative temperature (see page 136 section 2.2.4).
Regarding claims 6-7, Uetani further teaches pressing the fibers to make a film at a temperature of 110 by hot pressing page 349 left column).
Regarding claim 8, Uetani further teaches wherein the blending speed used to blend the fibrous material in step (a) is greater than about 800 rpm, or between about 1,000 rpm and about 30,000 rpm (left column page 349).
Regarding claim 11, Uetani further teaches washing the pulp prior to step A (page 349).
Regarding claim 13, Uetani further teaches further comprising (g) fibrillating the fibers contained in the slurry, wherein the fibrillating of the fibers contained in the slurry in step (g) comprises passing the slurry through a grinder (an additional pass with a grinder in the fibrillation step on page 349).
Regarding claim 17, Uetani further teaches (h) diluting the blended fibrous material with a second solvent to a concentration before the separating step (c), wherein the second solvent comprises water (water is added in the pulping and fibrillating steps which occur prior to the separation).
Regarding claim 24, Labidi further teaches wherein the mixing step (b) is performed before the blending step (a) (page 136).
Regarding claims 25-26, Labidi further teaches repeating the mixing step (b) and the blending step (a) 1-10 times before the separating step (page 136 and figure 1)
Regarding claim 27, Labidi further teaches applying a NaOH solution to the fibers after the blending step (see figure 1 where it is taught at multiple locations before and after).
Regarding claim 28, Uetani further teaches wherein the fibrous material comprises pulp (see abstract).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, Labidi further teaches wherein the basic aqueous solution comprises a metal hydroxide in the range of from about 5 wt. % to about 20 wt. % (8% NaOH page 136).
Regarding claim 35, Labidi further teaches (i) removing residual basic aqueous solution from the separated fibers before the drying step (d) (washing prior to the drying step (page 136-137).
Regarding claim 38, Uetani further teaches wherein the blending of the fibrous material in step (a) comprises shearing the fibers along a lateral direction of the fibers, wherein a mean length of the blended fibers is less than a mean length of the fibers, wherein the mean length of the blended fibers is at least about 50% less than the mean length of the fibers (see figure 6 and description of reducing the length at each blending stage).
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748