DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments field 22 September 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-9 remain pending in the application (claims 4 and 6-7 have been cancelled). The Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims overcome each and every objection and rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated 24 June 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 22 September 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kleppe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9435992 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furlan (USPGPub 20120295268 A1) in view of Kleppe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9435992 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Furlan teaches an optical system comprising: a light source (4) (see figure 1, light source 4); a detector (7) (see figure 1, detector 7); a sample holder (2) (see figure 1, analyte region 2 (i.e. sample holder)), wherein a first beam path (5) runs from the light source (4) to the sample holder (2) and a second beam path (8), which is separated from the first beam path (5), runs from the sample holder (2) to the detector (7) (see figure 1, excitation light 30 running along excitation beam path 5 and detecting light 31 running along emission beam path 8); and a filter carrier (9/12) including a filter wheel (15) rotatably supported about a center of rotation (17) (see figure 2A, filter wheel 15; and ¶49, filter unit 12 may include a plurality of distinct first and second filter portions 13 fixed to a rotatable carrier or filter wheel 15. Filter wheel 15 may be rotatably mounted to a wheel hub 17), the filter wheel (15) having a plurality of filters (13) (see figure 1, filter arrangement 9; and see figure 2A, filter unit 12 having filter wheel 15 having a plurality of filter portions 13 disposed thereon), a filter pair (29) is formed by two filters of the plurality of filters (13) (see figure 2B, openings 24 containing filter pair 29 through which light passes), and the filter carrier (9/12) is arranged in the optical system such that the first beam path (5) runs through a first filter (13) of the filter pair (29) and the second beam path (8) runs through a second filter (13) of the filter pair (29) (see figure 4A; and ¶58, FIG. 4A illustrates a first rotating position of filter wheel 15 in which one pair 29 of filter portions 13 related to one dye, e.g. Cyan 500, is in operative position in which the first and second filter portions 13 are in overlap with the openings 24. Accordingly, first filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter excitation light 30 having an excitation peak of 440 nm, for example, is located in the excitation beam path 5 so that the dye can be excited by light 30 directed towards the samples 27 via the excitation fibers 28. Also illustrated, second filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter light 31 emitted by samples 27 in response to excitation light 30 (having an emission peak of 480 nm), is located in emission beam path 8 so that light 31 collected by emissions fibers 28 may be detected by detector 7). However, Furlan fails to explicitly teach wherein the first and second filters are arranged along two concentric circles defined around the center of rotation.
However, Kleppe teaches wherein the first (FA/FB) and second filters (F1/F2/F3) are arranged along two concentric circles defined around the center of rotation (see figures 1A-1B; and col. 6, lines 4-12, On the first part 3 of segments, various filters F.sub.1, F.sub.2, F.sub.3 and F.sub.A, F.sub.B are arranged. Each of the segments of the first part 3 of segments is divided into two divided circles, an outer divided circle and an inner divided circle, which are separated by the dash-dot line. Thus, segments of the first part 3 of segments have at least two filters arranged successively in radial direction. Different combinations of frequently used filter functions varying in radial direction can be turned into the beam path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furlan to incorporate the teachings of Kleppe to have the two filter arranged on concentric circles because the mere rearrangement of parts that does not affect the function of the device is merely an obvious matter of choice (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 2, Furlan as modified by Kleppe teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein: the optical system is a fluorescence measuring system (Furlan, ¶6, The instrument can be used to detect analytes by measuring light emitted by two or more luminescence labels indicating the analytes in response to excitation light…The luminescence labels can, e.g., be chosen as fluorescence dyes, wherein the specific value of the fluorescence signal obtained usually correlates to the amount of analyte contained in the sample); an excitation light (Furlan 30) runs along the first beam path (Furlan 5) through the first filter (Furlan 13 | Kleppe FA/FB) of the filter pair (Furlan 29) (Furlan, see figure 1, excitation light 30 running along excitation beam path 5); and a fluorescence light (Furlan 31) runs separate from the excitation light (Furlan 30) along the second beam path (Furlan 8) through the second filter (Furlan 13 | Kleppe F1/F2/F3) of the filter pair (Furlan 29) (Furlan, see figure 1, detecting light 31 running along emission beam path 8; and see ¶6).
Regarding claim 5, Furlan as modified by Kleppe teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the first and second filters (Furlan 13 | Kleppe FA/FB and F1/F2/F3) of the filter pair (Furlan 29) and the center of rotation (Furlan 17/26) do not lie on a common straight line (Furlan see figure 2B, the openings 29 along which the filter pair is aligned are not along a common path; and ¶50, in circumferential direction the openings 24 are arranged in a manner that the radii passing through the openings 24 enclose an angle of 150.degree.).
Regarding claim 9, Furlan teaches a method of using an optical system having a light source (4), a detector (7), a sample holder (2) (see figure 1, light source 4, detector 7, and analyte region 2 (i.e. sample holder)), and a filter carrier (9/12) including a filter wheel (15) rotatably supported about a center of rotation (17) (see figure 2A, filter wheel 15; and ¶49, filter unit 12 may include a plurality of distinct first and second filter portions 13 fixed to a rotatable carrier or filter wheel 15. Filter wheel 15 may be rotatably mounted to a wheel hub 17) the filter wheel (15) having a plurality of filters (13) (see figure 1, filter arrangement 9; see figure 2A, filter unit 12 having a plurality of filter portions 13 disposed thereon) the method comprising: arranging the filter carrier (9/12) in the optical system such that (i) a first beam path (5), which extends from the light source (4) to the sample holder (2), runs through a first filter (13) of a filter pair (29) of the plurality of filters (13) (see figure 1, light source 4, detector 7, analyte region 2 (i.e. sample holder), and excitation light 30 running along excitation beam path 5; see figure 4A; and ¶58, FIG. 4A illustrates a first rotating position of filter wheel 15 in which one pair 29 of filter portions 13 related to one dye, e.g. Cyan 500, is in operative position in which the first and second filter portions 13 are in overlap with the openings 24. Accordingly, first filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter excitation light 30 having an excitation peak of 440 nm, for example, is located in the excitation beam path 5 so that the dye can be excited by light 30 directed towards the samples 27 via the excitation fibers 28. Also illustrated, second filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter light 31 emitted by samples 27 in response to excitation light 30 (having an emission peak of 480 nm), is located in emission beam path 8 so that light 31 collected by emissions fibers 28 may be detected by detector 7) and (ii) a second beam path (8), which extends from the sample holder (2) to the detector (7), runs through a second filter (13) of the filter pair (29) (see figure 1, detecting light 31 running along emission beam path 8; see figure 4A; and ¶58, FIG. 4A illustrates a first rotating position of filter wheel 15 in which one pair 29 of filter portions 13 related to one dye, e.g. Cyan 500, is in operative position in which the first and second filter portions 13 are in overlap with the openings 24. Accordingly, first filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter excitation light 30 having an excitation peak of 440 nm, for example, is located in the excitation beam path 5 so that the dye can be excited by light 30 directed towards the samples 27 via the excitation fibers 28. Also illustrated, second filter portion 13, adapted to transmit and filter light 31 emitted by samples 27 in response to excitation light 30 (having an emission peak of 480 nm), is located in emission beam path 8 so that light 31 collected by emissions fibers 28 may be detected by detector 7). However, Furlan fails to explicitly teach the first and second filters being arranged along to concentric circles defined around the center of rotation.
However, Kleppe teaches the first (FA/FB) and second filters (F1/F2/F3) being arranged along two concentric circles defined around the center of rotation (see figures 1A-1B; and col. 6, lines 4-12, On the first part 3 of segments, various filters F.sub.1, F.sub.2, F.sub.3 and F.sub.A, F.sub.B are arranged. Each of the segments of the first part 3 of segments is divided into two divided circles, an outer divided circle and an inner divided circle, which are separated by the dash-dot line. Thus, segments of the first part 3 of segments have at least two filters arranged successively in radial direction. Different combinations of frequently used filter functions varying in radial direction can be turned into the beam path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furlan to incorporate the teachings of Kleppe to have the two filter arranged on concentric circles because the mere rearrangement of parts that does not affect the function of the device is merely an obvious matter of choice (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furlan (USPGPub 20120295268 A1) in view of Kleppe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9435992 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4977325 A).
Regarding claim 3, Furlan as modified by Kleppe teaches the first and second filters (Furlan 13 | Kleppe FA/FB and F1/F2/F3) of the filter pair (Furlan 29) (Furlan, see figure 2B, openings 24 containing filter pair 29 through which light passes). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the first and second filters of the filter pair block different frequency ranges.
However, Bowen teaches wherein the first and second filters (102/104 and 44/46) of the filter pair block different frequency ranges (see figure 2, filter pair of 102 and 104 and filter pair of 44 and 46; and col. 5, lines 22-25 and 34-39, each of the bandpass filters 44 and 46 are made entirely of Schott absorbing glass with the excitation filter 44 passing light of a narrow bandwidth around 360 nm, and the emission filter 46, which has a neutral density evaporative coating, passing light of a narrow bandwidth about 450 nm… The excitation filter 102 is designed to transmit light in a narrow bandwidth between 545 and 555 nm, while the emission bandpass filter 104 transmits light having wavelengths in the narrow bandwidth from about 575 to 585 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Furlan and Kleppe to incorporate the teachings of Bowen to have each filter of the filter pair blocking different ranges for proper isolation between excitation and emission wavelengths (Bowen, col. 6, lines 54-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach an optical system as claimed comprising: a light source; a detector; and a sample holder, wherein: a first beam path runs from the light source to the sample holder and a second beam path, which is separated from the first beam path, runs from the sample holder to the detector; the optical system includes a filter carrier which has a plurality of filters; a filter pair is formed by two filters of the plurality of filters; the filter carrier is arranged in the optical system such that the first beam path runs through a first filter of the filter pair and the second beam path runs through a second filter of the filter pair; the filter carrier comprises a plurality of single sliders arranged behind each other in the direction of the first and second beam paths; the filter pair is one of a plurality of filter pairs; and more specifically in combination with a respective filter pair of the plurality of filter pairs and two openings are provided in each of the plurality of single sliders and each of the plurality of single sliders is configured to move to a respective first position, in which the respective first and second filters are arranged in the first and/or second beam path, respectively, and to a second position in which each of the two openings is arranged in a respective one of the first and second beam paths.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878