DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2021/0297672) in view of Kim et al. (US 2025/0330587).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses an image decoding method (see fig. 19) comprising: generating a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) down-sampled prediction block by performing MIP boundary down-sampling (see 2402 in fig. 24) and matrix-vector multiplication on a current block (see 2402 in fig. 24); generating an MIP prediction block by performing MIP up-sampling on the MIP down-sampled prediction block (see 2402 in fig. 24).
Although Deng discloses generating a derived intra prediction mode on the MIP down-sampled prediction block (see 2402 in fig. 24); and storing the derived intra prediction mode (see 2404 in fig. 24), wherein the current block is an MIP mode (see 2404 in fig. 24), it is noted that Deng does not provide the particular of deriving the intra prediction mode by performing decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD).
However, Kim discloses a DIMD mode based intra prediction of deriving the intra prediction mode by performing decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) (see S1500 in fig. 15).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Kim teachings of DIMD into Deng decoding process for the benefit of efficiently decode image to effectively compress and transmit, store, or play high resolution and high quality video/image.
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the DIMD is performed using a histogram of gradients of pixels (e.g. see ¶ [0163]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the stored derived intra prediction mode is used to determine a transform set of the current block (see 322 in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further discloses wherein the stored derived intra prediction mode is used to derive an intra prediction mode of a chroma block of the current block (see 331 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses wherein the stored derived intra prediction mode is used to generate an intra prediction mode candidate list of a neighboring block of the current block (e.g. see ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim(s) recite an encoding method with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 11, the claim(s) recite a method of transmitting (see fig. 17) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6-9 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasugi et al. (US 2025/0350753), discloses decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) with matrix based intra prediction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485