DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “adjust” should be changed to --adjustable--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 14-16, 18-24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smyth et al (US 11,079,518 B1) in view of Sodano (US 2019/0023817 A1).
In regard to claims 1 and 23, Smyth et al discloses a piezoelectric optical system comprising: an optical element (column 11, lines 4-33, Figure 7) comprising: a first piezoelectric layer of fluorinated polymer inherently with a piezoelectric coefficient, d31 (column 8, line 65 – column 9, line 12, re: PVDF and column 11, lines 4-33, Figure 7, “710”); an electrode layer (Figure 7, “701, 702”) disposed on the first piezoelectric layer (Figure 7, “710”), wherein an optical characteristic of the optical element changes when the first piezoelectric layer is deformed upon application of a voltage at the electrode layer (column 2, line 61 – column 3, line 3 and column 11, lines 24-33, re: tunable lens), but does not specifically wherein the piezoelectric layer has a piezoelectric coefficient, d31, of at least 25pC/N.
Within the same field of endeavor, Sodano teaches that it is desirable for piezoelectric optical elements to com3333prise a piezoelectric layer with a piezoelectric coefficient, d31, of at least 25pC/N (i.e. for the purpose of providing a piezoelectric fluorinated polymer (PVDF) whose properties surpass those of more expensive PVDF copolymers currently used in piezoelectric actuators and for application in the fabrication of high performance and low cost piezoelectric devices (page 4, sections [0077]-[0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical element of Smyth et al for the piezoelectric layer to have a piezoelectric coefficient, d31, of at least 25pC/N since Sodano teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of providing a piezoelectric fluorinated polymer (PVDF) whose properties surpass those of more expensive PVDF copolymers currently used in piezoelectric actuators and for application in the fabrication of high performance and low cost piezoelectric devices.
Regarding claim 2, Sodano further teaches wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) homopolymer, a Poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-trifluoroethylene) (P(VDF-TrFE) co- polymer), a Poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-chlorofluoroethylene) (P(VDF-CFE) co- polymer), a Poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-chlorotrifluoroethylen) (P(VDF-CTFE) co- polymer), a Poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) (P(VDF-HFP) co- polymer), a Poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-tetrafluoroethylene) (P(VDF-TFE) co- polymers), a P(VDF-TrFE-CFE) ter-polymer, a P(VDF-TrFE-CTFE) ter-polymer, a P(VDF-TFE-HFP) ter-polymers, a P(VDF-TFE-CTFE) ter-polymers, and a P(VDF-TFE-CFE) ter-polymers (page 5, section [0083] & page 7, section [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Smyth et al discloses wherein the first piezoelectric layer is one selected from a group consisting of an uniaxially oriented film, a biaxially oriented film, or an unoriented film (page 11, section [0144]).
Regarding claim 4, Smyth et al discloses wherein the first piezoelectric layer has an optical transmittance of at least 80% (column 2, lines 21-31, re: transparent).
Regarding claim 5, modified Smyth et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a thickness in a range between 5 pm and 200 pm. However, Smyth et al discloses wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a thickness in a range between 10nm to 100µm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first piezoelectric layer to have a thickness in a range between 5 pm and 200 pm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Smyth et al discloses wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a Young's modulus of at least 1500 MPa (column 6, lines 57-64, re: 10GPa).
Regarding claim 12, Smyth et al discloses wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises agents selected from at least one of a group consisting of ammonium salt, polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), graphene, carbon nanotubes (CNTs), and fullerene as crystal nucleating agents (column 2, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 14, Smyth et al discloses wherein the electrode layer is one selected from a group consisting of ITO, metal nanowires, metal mesh, CNTs, graphene, and poly(3,4-ethylendioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate (column 12, lines 48-54).
Regarding claim 15, Sodano teaches wherein the voltage is in a range between 10V and 2,000V (page 15, section [0155]).
Regarding claim 16, Smyth et al discloses said optical element comprising: a second piezoelectric layers of fluorinated polymer (column 11, lines 17-23, Figure 7, “720”).
Regarding claim 18, Smyth et al discloses wherein the optical element is one selected from a group consisting of a tunable lens and a tunable mirror (column 2, line 61 – column 3, line 3).
Regarding claim 19, Smyth et al discloses wherein the tunable lens is one selected from a group consisting of a pancake lens, an Alvarez lens, and a Fresnel lens (column 23, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 20, modified Smyth et al discloses wherein the tunable lens has an adjustable focal length (column 15, lines 37-46), but does not specifically disclose said focal length in a range between 10 cm and ꝏ.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for said focal length to be in a range between 10 cm and ꝏ, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, modified Smyth et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the deformation is at least 50 pm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the deformation to be at least 50 pm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 22, Smyth et al discloses said optical element correcting second or higher order wavefront aberrations (column 15, lines 37-46).
Regarding claim 24, Smyth et al discloses wherein the piezoelectric optical system is one selected from a group consisting of a headset and a set of glasses (Figures 25 & 26).
Regarding claim 26, Smyth et al discloses said piezoelectric optical system comprising: a piezoelectric film-based audio speaker (column 23, lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 27, Smyth et al discloses wherein the optical characteristic is a focal length of the optical element (column 15, lines 37-46).
Regarding claim 28, Smyth et al discloses wherein the piezoelectric optical system in integrated in one selected from a group consisting of an Augmented Reality (AR) application, a Virtual Reality (VR) application, and a Mixed Reality (MR) application (column 18, lines 49-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 13, 17, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 7: an optical element as claimed, specifically wherein the first piezoelectric layer has an electromechanical coupling coefficient, k31, of at least 0.1.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 8: an optical element as claimed, specifically wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a heat shrinkage rate of 2% or less after exposing the piezoelectric layer to a temperature of 75*C for 30 min.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 9: an optical element as claimed, specifically wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a surface roughness (Ra) of 350 nm or less.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 10: an optical element as claimed, specifically wherein the first piezoelectric layer has a lightness value (L*) of at least 95%, a green-red color component (a*) of less than 0.1, and a blue-yellow component (b*) of less than 0.5.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 11: an optical element as claimed, specifically driven such that the product of the absolute value of d31 (pC/N) and the voltage (V) applied to each piezoelectric layer is 4,000 or more (pC/N*V).
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 13: an optical element as claimed, specifically comprising: a hard coat layer deposited onto the first piezoelectric layer.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 17: an optical element as claimed, specifically wherein the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer are stacked in different orientations.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 25: a piezoelectric optical system as claimed, specifically comprising: an eye tracker determining a current focusing distance of a user using the optical system, wherein the optical characteristic is adjusted based on the current focusing distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ye et al (US 2024/0084121 A1) is being cited herein to show an optical element comprising an electrode layer disposed on a piezoelectric layer. However, additional rejections would have been repetitive.
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 September 26, 2026