DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Interpretation under 112(f) is withdrawn in light of amendment.
Rejections under 112(b) are withdrawn in light of amendment. However there are new issues with the amendment, therefore a new 112(b) rejection is set forth.
Applicant's argument regarding objections to drawings have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserted that “While the practice of labeling with a descriptive legend is preferred by the Examiner, it is optional. Applicant declines to further label each box, because no confusion or ambiguity with respect to each element exists in the current drawings”. The office likes to remind applicant that “suitable descriptive legends may be used subject to approval by the Office, or may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing", which is acknowledged by applicant. The examiner considers suitable descriptive legends are necessary for understanding of the drawing, and that consideration is a requirement for applicant.
Applicant's argument with respect to rejections under 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 8-9, that “Vianu expressly characterizes the Figure 5 network as being "trained end-to-end, not to classify the presence or absence of pathologies, but rather to regress to an estimation of the diagnostic errors made in the assessment of radiological images by the reviewing physician." Thus, the cited Figure 5 disclosure is directed to diagnostic quality/error classification, not to output data indicative of at least one second finding as recited in claim 1, and not to causing the at least one alternative finding to be brought to the attention of the user”.
The office reminds applicant that the claim limitation in argument is “wherein the at least one alternative finding indicating a condition or disease”. Therefore whether Vianu “not to classify the presence or absence of pathologies” is irrelevant as long as Vianu teaches certain indication of a condition. And indeed, as acknowledged by applicant on page 8, “Vianu describes outputs 550a-550d as diagnostic-quality or diagnostic-error categories: "Agree," "Overcall," "Undercall," and "Missed."”, which are exactly conditions of diagnostical-quality. Therefore Vianu’s Figure 5 shows Vianu’s teaching reads on the claim limitations, and the argument is not persuasive.
Drawings
Objections to drawings are still set forth as stipulated in previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the machine learning model for includes a processing channel”. It appears to be a grammatic error. For purpose of applying art, it is interpreted as “the machine learning model includes a processing channel”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vianu ( US 20200334809, cited from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Vianu teaches a machine learning arrangement for processing medical data, comprising a pre-processor and a machine learning system,
wherein the pre-processor comprises at least one input interface for receiving a human user generated finding for a patient and a medical image to which the finding pertains ( 14, 140, 142 in FIG.1; 424 in FIG. 4B).
at least one processor configured to :
encode for encoding the finding and the medical image into encoded data, including encoded image data and encoded finding data ( 512, 514 in FIG. 5).
combine for combining the encoded finding and the encoded image data into combined encoded data( 540 in FIG. 5); and
an output interface for providing the combined encoded data to the machine learning system (550a-550d in FIG. 5),
wherein the machine learning system includes a machine learning model configured to transform the combined encoded output into output data that is indicative of at least one second finding, the at least one second finding being an alternative to the initial finding, wherein the at least one alternative finding indicating a condition or disease(532, 534 in FIG. 5), and wherein the arrangement causes the at least one alternative finding to be brought to the attention of the user(550a-550d in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 1, wherein the input interface is configured to receive contextual data( 14, 140, 142 in FIG.1; 424 in FIG. 4B), providing context information in relation to the report and/or the image, the at least one processor is configured to encode at least a part of the contextual data into the encoded data( 512, 514 in FIG. 5), and to combine the encoded contextual data with the image( 540 in FIG. 5) and the encoded report to obtain the combined data(550a-550d in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 1, wherein the contextual data includes at least one of: i) the patient history([0207], one or more clinical references such as patient age, weight, history (e.g., of previous related pathologies) can be added to any of the machine learning networks and architectures), ii) an imaging request for the image, iii) statistical data in relation to misdiagnosis.
Regarding claim 4, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 1, any one of the previous claims, wherein the at least one processor comprises a machine learning model([0208], One or more of the components of the aforementioned machine learning networks discussed with respect to FIGS. 5-7 can be configured to additionally calculate and output uncertainties along with its predictions).
Regarding claim 5, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 4, wherein the machine learning model for includes a processing channel configured for recurrent processing([0155], components, and/or layers of the machine learning network 500 (also referred to herein as the “ML network”) can be provided as recurrent networks; [0164], the first encoder network 512, FNLP, can be of recurrent form.).
Regarding claim 6, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 5, wherein the processing channel is configured to process at least the encoded patient history([0207], one or more clinical references such as patient age, weight, history (e.g., of previous related pathologies) can be added to any of the machine learning networks and architectures).
Regarding claim 9, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 1,wherein the output includes a natural textual string( [0187], FNLP … outputs one or more embeddings for pathologies and/or diagnosis information within the report text) or a medical finding code.
Regarding claim 10, Vianu teaches the arrangement of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is configured to map the output data to an image location in the image([0187], FIMI receives as input radiological image regions 424 (corresponding to report text 422) and outputs one or more features for pathologies within the image.)
Claim 12 recites the method in the arrangement of claim 1, thus also is rejected.
Claim 15 recites the medium for the method in claim 12. Since Vianu also teaches a medium ( 806, 808, 810 in FIG. 8), claim 15 is also rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671