DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0072808, filed on 6/15/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed towards a method for determining a charging station performed by a battery scheduling device (i.e., a method). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
STEP 2A (Prong I)
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processed.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1A method for determining a charging station performed by a battery scheduling device that performs scheduling for battery operation of a moving object, the method comprising:
when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery
determining at least one charging station present within the movement range
and determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station
wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the average charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user, reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port at the at least one second charging station, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports used by the user at the at least one second charging station, and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit the at least one second charging station
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of limitations in the human mind. For example, the “determining a movement range,” “determining at least one charging station,” and “determining a first charging station,” steps, in the context of the claims, encompasses a person looking at the preference information of a user and information related to at least one charging station collected (obtained, received, acquired, etc.) and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) regarding choosing, or selecting a nearby charging station that is feasible depending on the vehicle’s current location and state of charge, either mentally, or using pen and paper. Thus, claim 1 recites at least one mental process.STEP 2A (Prong II)Claim 1A method for determining a charging station performed by a battery scheduling device that performs scheduling for battery operation of a moving object, the method comprising:
when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery
determining at least one charging station present within the movement range
and determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station
wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the average charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user, reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port at the at least one second charging station, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports used by the user at the at least one second charging station, and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit the at least one second charging station
The examiner submits that the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The recited facility such as, “a battery scheduling device” is considered a generic computer component meant to implement the abstract ideas into a computer and are merely “apply it” level of mental judgements in a general-purpose vehicle controls environment. Additionally, the “battery scheduling device,” is not recited as improving the functioning of the device, battery operation, charging station technology, or another technical field. Accordingly, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
STEP 2B
Claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered individually and as an ordered
combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above. The additional element such as a battery scheduling device to perform the steps amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using generic computer components. General application of an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed towards abstract ideas, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
As per Claim 13.
Claim 13, an apparatus claim (a battery scheduling device performed by a battery scheduling device), includes limitations analogous to claim 1 a process claim (a method for determining a charging station). Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per Claims 14.
Claim 14, a process claim (a method for determining a charging station performed by a server), includes limitations analogous to claim 1 an apparatus claim (a vehicle accident system). Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 5-12 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-3 and 5-12 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claims 1 and 13-14.
As such, claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sellschopp Stefan et al. (US20140142770A1), hereinafter referred to as Stefan.
Regarding claim 1, Stefan discloses: a method for determining a charging station performed by a battery scheduling device that performs scheduling for battery operation of a moving object (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0037]-[0042], which discloses a method for determining a charging station performed by a battery scheduling device that performs scheduling for battery operation of a vehicle), the method comprising:
when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery (see at least Stefan, [0037]-[0042], which discloses establishing an association or relation between the electric vehicle and a user profile comprising or referring to the predefined charging preferences which may include a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a SOC of the battery this means when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery)
determining at least one charging station present within the movement range (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037], [0040]-[0041], which discloses determining at least one charging stations in the vicinity (movement range) after having determined the user specific result data, a result message related to the electric vehicle is provided from the remote charging request message processor in response to the charging request message, this means determining at least one charging station present within the movement range)
and determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0041], [0045]-[0046], which discloses determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station)
wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the average charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0008], [0025], [0038]-[0039], which discloses wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user)
reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port at the at least one second charging station, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports used by the user at the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0025], [0038]-[0039], [0040]-[0041], [0051], [0054], which discloses reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports (electric power capabilities and plug/socket types) used by the user at the at least one second charging station)
and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0053]-[0054], which discloses and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit an alternative charging station)
Regarding claim 2, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the specific condition includes a first condition satisfied when an input for requesting a search for a charging station is received from the user of the moving object or a second condition satisfied when a residual amount of the battery is less than a preset threshold (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0038], [0053]) which discloses a specific condition satisfied when a user input requesting a search (charging request) for a charging station is received from the user of the vehicle, ¶¶ [0012]-[0013], which discloses a second condition when a current state of charge falls below a predefined threshold, or minimum state of charge)
Regarding claim 5, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the information related to the at least one charging station includes at least one of: second cost information about charging cost of the at least one charging station, first available charging port information indicating whether an available charging port is present within the at least one charging station, second charging port performance information about performance of a charging port present within the at least one charging station, and second travel distance information about a travel distance to the at least one charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], which discloses charging port availability/reservability relative to a group of geographical data and a point of interest; [0052]-[0053], which discloses travel distance information about a travel distance to the at least one charging station, whether the navigational data obtained indicates whether a vehicle is in drivable range from at least one charging station)
Regarding claim 6, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the movement range indicating the range within which the moving object is movable from the current location of the moving object based on the current location and the state of charge (SOC) of the battery (see at least Stefan, [0037]-[0042], which discloses establishing an association or relation between the electric vehicle and a user profile comprising or referring to the predefined charging preferences which may include a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a SOC of the battery this means when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery), comprises:
determining the movement range based on the current location of the moving object (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], which discloses charging port availability/reservability relative to a group of geographical data and a point of interest; [0052]-[0053], which discloses travel distance information about a travel distance to the at least one charging station, whether the navigational data obtained indicates whether a vehicle is in drivable range from at least one charging station)
the state of charge of the battery (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0042], [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053])
and information related to performance of the moving object, and wherein the information related to the performance of the moving object includes at least one of: information about the average fuel efficiency of the moving object provided from the manufacturer of the moving object, information about the maximum fuel efficiency of the moving object provided from the manufacturer, information about the minimum fuel efficiency of the moving object provided from the manufacturer, information about the actual average fuel efficiency according to recent driving of the moving object, information about the actual maximum fuel efficiency of the moving object, and information about the actual minimum fuel efficiency of the moving object (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0042], [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053], which discloses information related to the performance of the vehicle including information about the average fuel efficiency of the moving object provided from the manufacturer of the moving object and information about the actual minimum fuel efficiency of the moving object)
Regarding claim 7, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the movement range indicating the range within which the moving object is movable from the current location of the moving object based on the current location and the state of charge (SOC) of the battery comprises:
determining the movement range based on the current location of the moving object (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], which discloses charging port availability/reservability relative to a group of geographical data and a point of interest; [0052]-[0053], which discloses travel distance information about a travel distance to the at least one charging station, whether the navigational data obtained indicates whether a vehicle is in drivable range from at least one charging station)
the state of charge of the battery (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0042], [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053])
and information about surrounding streets of the current location (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses information about surrounding streets of the current location, allowing the system to predict where the user/driver will go and how much energy will be left in the battery at any point along the route based on the past energy consumption of this specific driver, other cars like this one and considering the current conditions like temperature and traffic on that route)
and wherein the information about the surrounding streets includes at least one of: information related to elevation of the surrounding streets, information related to slope of the surrounding streets, information related to vehicle congestion in the surrounding streets, information related to freeway present within the surrounding streets, and information related to national highway present within the surrounding streets (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses information about surrounding streets of the current location, allowing the system to predict where the user/driver will go and how much energy will be left in the battery at any point along the route based on the past energy consumption of this specific driver, other cars like this one and considering the current conditions like temperature and traffic on that route, this means information related to vehicle congestion in the surrounding streets, information related to freeway present within the surrounding streets)
Regarding claim 8, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the movement range indicating the range within which the moving object is movable from the current location of the moving object based on the current location and the state of charge (SOC) of the battery comprises:
determining the movement range based on the current location of the moving object, the state of charge of the battery, information related to the performance of the moving object, and information about streets around the current location (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], [0040]-[0041], which discloses charging port availability/reservability relative to a group of geographical data and a point of interest; [0052]-[0053], which discloses: determining the movement range based on the current location of the moving object, the state of charge of the battery, information related to the performance of the moving object, and information about streets around the current location)
Regarding claim 9, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
when the first charging station is determined, displaying information related to the first charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0041], [0051]-[0054], [0060], which discloses when the first charging station is determined, displaying information related to the first charging station)
wherein the information related to the first charging station includes at least one of: third cost information about charging cost of the first charging station, second available charging port information indicating whether an available charging port is present within the first charging station, third charging port performance information about performance of a charging port present within the first charging station, third travel distance information about a travel distance to the first charging station, a first route indicating a route from the current location to the first charging station, and pass information indicating whether a pass held by the user is available at a charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0041], [0051]-[0054], [0060], which discloses third cost information about charging cost of the first charging station, second available charging port information indicating whether an available charging port is present within the first charging station, third charging port performance information about performance of a charging port present within the first charging station, third travel distance information about a travel distance to the first charging station, a first route indicating a route from the current location to the first charging station)
Regarding claim 10, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the information related to the first charging station includes an indicator for reserving use of the first charging station, and wherein the method further comprises, after displaying the information related to the first charging station, receiving an input for reserving the use of the first charging station from the user; and reserving the use of the first charging station based on the input (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0041], [0051]-[0054], [0060], which disclose an indicator for reserving use of the first charging station, and wherein the method further comprises, after displaying the information related to the first charging station, receiving an input for reserving the use of the first charging station from the user; and reserving the use of the first charging station based on the input)
Regarding claim 11, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the receiving the input for reserving the use of the first charging station from the user comprises:
receiving an input for selecting a first charging port from among at least one charging port present within the first charging station from the user (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0041], [0051]-[0054], [0060], which disclose receiving an input for selecting a first charging port from among at least one charging port present within the first charging station from the user)
and receiving an input for an estimated arrival time at which the moving object arrives at the first charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0053], which discloses receiving an input for an estimated arrival time at which the moving object arrives at the first charging station)
Regarding claim 12, Stefan discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the first charging station among the at least one charging station comprises:
inputting the preference information of the user and the information related to the at least one charging station to a neural network model trained to determine a customized charging station from preference information of users and information related to charging stations (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0041], [0051]-[0054], [0060], which disclose inputting the preference information of the user and the information related to the at least one charging station to a neural network model trained to determine a customized charging station from preference information of users and information related to charging stations)
and determining the first charging station among the at least one charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0013], which discloses a learning system capable of predicting and determining a charging station)Regarding claim 13, Stefan discloses: a battery scheduling device for performing scheduling for battery operation of a moving object, the battery scheduling device (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0037]-[0042]) comprising:
a controller (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0062]-[0063]) configured to: when a specific condition is satisfied, determine a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery (see at least Stefan, [0037]-[0042], which discloses establishing an association or relation between the electric vehicle and a user profile comprising or referring to the predefined charging preferences which may include a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a SOC of the battery this means when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery)
determine at least one charging station present within the movement range (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037], [0040]-[0041], which discloses determining at least one charging stations in the vicinity (movement range) after having determined the user specific result data, a result message related to the electric vehicle is provided from the remote charging request message processor in response to the charging request message, this means determining at least one charging station present within the movement range)
and determine a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0041], [0045]-[0046], which discloses determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station)
wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the average charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0008], [0025], [0038]-[0039], which discloses wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user)
reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port at the at least one second charging station, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports used by the user at the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0025], [0038]-[0039], [0040]-[0041], [0051], [0054], which discloses reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports (electric power capabilities and plug/socket types) used by the user at the at least one second charging station)
and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0053]-[0054], which discloses and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit an alternative charging station)
Regarding claim 14, Stefan discloses: a method for determining a charging station performed by a server that performs scheduling for battery operation of a moving object (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0037]-[0042]), the method comprising:
when a specific condition is satisfied, determining a movement range indicating a range within which the moving object is movable from a current location of the moving object based on the current location and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery;
determining at least one charging station present within the movement range (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037], [0040]-[0041], which discloses determining at least one charging stations in the vicinity (movement range) after having determined the user specific result data, a result message related to the electric vehicle is provided from the remote charging request message processor in response to the charging request message, this means determining at least one charging station present within the movement range)
and determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0037]-[0041], [0045]-[0046], which discloses determining a first charging station among the at least one charging station based on predetermined preference information of a user and information related to the at least one charging station)
wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the average charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0008], [0025], [0038]-[0039], which discloses wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first cost information about the charging cost of at least one second charging station used by the user)
reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port at the at least one second charging station, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports used by the user at the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0025], [0038]-[0039], [0040]-[0041], [0051], [0054], which discloses reservation information indicating whether the user has reserved and used an unavailable charging port, first charging port performance information about the average performance of charging ports (electric power capabilities and plug/socket types) used by the user at the at least one second charging station)
and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit the at least one second charging station (see at least Stefan, ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0053]-[0054], which discloses and first travel distance information about the average travel distance moved by the user to visit an alternative charging station)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sellschopp Stefan et al. (US20140142770A1), hereinafter referred to as Stefan, in view of Singuru Kausalya et al. (US20210213844A1), hereinafter referred to Kausalya.
Regarding claim 3, Stefan is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Kausalya teaches: the method of claim 1, wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of: first weight information indicating a weight for charging cost input from the user, second weight information indicating a weight for presence or absence of an available charging port input from the user, third weight information indicating a weight for performance of a charging port input from the user, and fourth weight information indicating a weight for a travel distance input from the user (see at least, Kausalya, ¶¶ [0052]-[0054], which discloses preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first weight information indicating a weight factor for charging cost input from the user)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Steafan to include: the method of claim 1, wherein the preference information is predetermined based on at least one of first weight information indicating a weight for charging cost input from the user, second weight information indicating a weight for presence or absence of an available charging port input from the user, third weight information indicating a weight for performance of a charging port input from the user, and fourth weight information indicating a weight for a travel distance input from the user as taught by Kausalya. The examiner would like to note that there is some mention of price input being incorporated into the invention, however, it is not discussed as a weighted factor in detail like in the secondary reference. Incorporating the teaching would allow for a base improvement to the invention of Stefan, which falls within a similar premise of selecting a charging station for a subject vehicle relative to a state of charge of a vehicle and user input. The desired states and corresponding weight factors taught by Kausalya creates further refinement of the user-selectable parameters and precise ranking relative to desired states and corresponding weighting factors for the plurality of user-selectable parameters and the state of charge of the on-vehicle.
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664