DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 09/23/2023, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-5, 9, 11-16, 18-25 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on 09/23/2023 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-16, 18-20, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cramer et al. (US Pub 2022/0262007 A1) in view of Parpara et al. (Us Pub 2019/0102880 A1) and Saphier et al. (US Pub 2021/0321872 A1).
As to claim 1, Cramer discloses a computer-implemented method for training one or more machine learning models to automatically validate (¶0045, “may be useful in planning and fabrication of dental appliances, including elastic polymeric positioning appliances” ¶0120, “Fabrication machine 822 fabricates dental appliances based on intermediate and final data set information acquired from data processing system 800.”), the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more computer processors, a first digital three-dimensional (3D) oral care representation of a (¶0062, ““graph-based segmentation elements” can refer to classes of features or structures within the 3D models that can be used to identify, label, and segment the 3D models into individual dental components, including individual teeth, interproximal spaces between teeth, and/or gingiva.” ¶0098, “automatically receive three-dimensional (3D) meshes of various patients' dental arches.”);
receiving, by the one or more computer processors, a second digital 3D oral care representation of a (¶0023, “receiving, in the computing device, a ground truth input comprising a manual segmentation of the 3D mesh; and training a machine learning model of the computing device produce a segmentation output that attempts to achieve the ground truth input.” ¶0087, “a technician can evaluate 2D or 3D scan data, or a 3D model of patients' dentitions, and manually identify “graph-based segmentation elements” in the data.” “The technician's evaluation can then be input into the machine learning model as the “ground truth”, which is the desired output of the machine learning model for a given input.”);
assigning, (¶0101, ““graph-based segmentation elements” can refer to classes of features or structures within the 3D models that can be used to identify, label, and segment the 3D models into individual dental components, including individual teeth, interproximal spaces between teeth, and/or gingiva. Multiple training cases comprising a “ground truth” can be input into the machine learning model to further train the model. In some examples, the weights of the machine learning model can be adjusted while training to minimize the error between the ground truth and the output of the model.” ¶0064, “all features linked to a segmentation element label of “teeth” can be identified as teeth, all features linked to a segmentation element label of “interproximal spaces”, can be identified as interproximal spaces, and all features linked to a segmentation element label of “gingiva” can be identified as gingiva.” ¶0070, “the machine learning engine(s) 164 can be used to automatically segment the 3D model while the machine learning model is being trained.” ¶0091, “The distinct individual objects can be, for example, individually numbered or labeled in the output. The output from the segmentation engine may be used to automatically and accurately label the individual teeth of the 3D model”);
comparing, by the one or more computer processors, the one or more predicted labels with one or more reference labels associated with corresponding aspects of the second digital 3D oral care representation to determine an accuracy of the one or more predicted labels (¶0025, “Training the machine learning model may include adjusting weights of the machine learning model to minimize an error between the ground truth input and the segmentation output.” (¶0101, ““graph-based segmentation elements” can refer to classes of features or structures within the 3D models that can be used to identify, label, and segment the 3D models into individual dental components, including individual teeth, interproximal spaces between teeth, and/or gingiva. Multiple training cases comprising a “ground truth” can be input into the machine learning model to further train the model. In some examples, the weights of the machine learning model can be adjusted while training to minimize the error between the ground truth and the output of the model.” ¶0123, “segmentation by graph-based representation of the 3D mesh may be used to monitor, track and/or grade a margin line, e.g., of a tooth crown. An actual margin line may be determined using graph-based representation of the 3D mesh to segment the patient's dentition and to determine the margin line; this margin line may be compared to a target or desired margin line that may be set as a ground truth for the graph-based representation of the 3D mesh.”);
automatically training, by the one or more computer processors, at least the validation machine learning model based on the accuracy of the one or more predicted labels (¶0096, “Multiple training cases comprising computed features can be input into the machine learning model to further train the model. In some examples, the inputs are used to train a submanifold convolutional neural network to recognize “graph-based segmentation elements”.” ¶0121, “comparing the results of a second segmentation technique for the same 3D data with a graph-based representation of the 3D mesh segmentation technique. For example, the same dataset may be segmented by both graph-based representation of the 3D mesh as described herein and a second segmentation technique (e.g., sparse voxel representation) and the resulting segmentations may be compared over sub-regions of the 3D data. The results of the comparison may be thresholded (e.g., within +/−1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 25%, etc.), indicating regions of high and low confidence for the segmentation. Regions of low correlation may be re-segmented or segmented using a third technique, and/or may be flagged for intervention by a technician.” ¶0123, “segmentation by graph-based representation of the 3D mesh may be used to monitor, track and/or grade a margin line, e.g., of a tooth crown. An actual margin line may be determined using graph-based representation of the 3D mesh to segment the patient's dentition and to determine the margin line; this margin line may be compared to a target or desired margin line that may be set as a ground truth for the graph-based representation of the 3D mesh.”).
Even though Cramer discloses a dental appliance, Cramer does not explicitly disclose “a fixture model”.
Parpara discloses a fixture model (Parpara, abstract, “inspecting a customized orthodontic aligner for manufacturing defects, the customized orthodontic aligner customized for a specific arch of a specific patient and a specific stage of orthodontic treatment”” obtaining images of the customized orthodontic aligner; identifying an identifier of the customized orthodontic aligner, determining a digital file based on the identifier, the digital file associated with the customized orthodontic aligner including a digital model of a mold used during manufacture of the customized orthodontic aligner, determining a intended property for the customized orthodontic aligner by digitally manipulating the digital model of the mold, determining an actual property of the customized orthodontic aligner from the images, determining whether there is a manufacturing defect in the customized orthodontic aligner by comparing the intended property with the actual property, outputting an output associated with the determination of whether there is a manufacturing defect.” ¶0037, “determining a intended property for the dental appliance by digitally manipulating the digital model of the intermediate component used during manufacture of the dental appliance” ¶0097, “generate a digital model for the aligners, perform analysis that compares the digital model of an aligner with the image of the aligner to detect one or more quality issues (e.g., deformation, cutline variation, etc.), and classify aligners based on results of the analysis.” ¶0104, “The comparison may include computing a projection of the approximated outer surface (e.g., digital model) of the aligner into the same plane as the shape of the aligner and a region between contours of the approximated outer surface and the shape of the aligner in the image is identified.”).
Cramer and Parpara are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to dental appliance. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cramer with the features of “a fixture model” as taught by Parpara. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine whether there is a manufacturing defect in the customized orthodontic aligner by comparing the intended property with the actual property (Parpara, abstract.).
Cramer discloses machine learning model including U-Net, ResNeXt, Xception, RefineNet, Kd-Net, SO Net, Point Net, or Point CNN (Cramer, ¶0065.), Cramer does not explicitly disclose generating, by an encoder of the one or more machine learning models, a latent representation of the first digital 3D oral care representation; providing, by the one or more computer processors, the latent representation to a validation machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models.
However, these features are well-known in U-net type deep neural network.
Saphier discloses generating, by an encoder of the one or more machine learning models, a latent representation of the first digital 3D oral care representation (Saphier, ¶0373, “The GAN includes a first artificial neural network that generates candidates and a second artificial neural network that evaluates the generated candidates. The GAN learns to map from a latent space to a particular data distribution of interest (a data distribution of changes to input images that are indistinguishable from photographs to the human eye), while the discriminative network discriminates between instances from a training dataset and candidates produced by the generator. The generative network's training objective is to increase the error rate of the discriminative network (e.g., to fool the discriminator network by producing novel synthesized instances that appear to have come from the training dataset).” ¶0369, “A U-net is a type of deep neural network that combines an encoder and decoder together, with appropriate concatenations between them, to capture both local and global features. The encoder is a series of convolutional layers that increase the number of channels while reducing the height and width when processing from inputs to outputs, while the decoder increases the height and width and reduces the number of channels.”);
providing, by the one or more computer processors, the latent representation to a validation machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models (Saphier, ¶0384, “Once the model parameters have been optimized, model validation may be performed to determine whether the model has improved and to determine a current accuracy of the deep learning model. After one or more rounds of training, processing logic may determine whether a stopping criterion has been met. A stopping criterion may be a target level of accuracy, a target number of processed images from the training dataset, a target amount of change to parameters over one or more previous data points”).
Cramer and Saphier are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to dental appliance. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cramer with the features of “generating, by an encoder of the one or more machine learning models, a latent representation of the first digital 3D oral care representation; providing, by the one or more computer processors, the latent representation to a validation machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models.” as taught by Saphier. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses at least one of the one or more machine learning models is trained to detect one or more flaws in the first digital representation including excess material in the gums, one or more cracks, one or more chips, an undercut base, one or more kinks in the associated trimline, excess block out, excess interproximal webbing, one or more missing teeth, one or more erroneously present hardware representations (Cramer, ¶0048, “The apparatuses and/or methods described herein may be used to segment a patient's teeth from a three-dimensional model, such as a 3D mesh model or a 3D point cloud, and this segmentation information may be used to simulate, modify and/or choose between various orthodontic treatment plans.” ¶0050, “identify and/or number individual teeth and/or dental features of virtual representations of teeth, such as teeth represented in a three-dimensional dental mesh model resulting from a digital scan.” Parpara, ¶0099, “If an additional image is a side view of the plastic shell, bubbles that are present on a surface of the plastic shell may be detected and/or an inaccurate cutline may be detected.“ ¶0168, “a) digital files of a first set of plastic aligners with labels indicating whether or not each of the first set of plastic aligners experienced one or more defects or b) digital files of a second set of plastic aligners with labels indicating whether or not each of the second set of plastic aligners include one or more probable defects. Actual defects for aligners may be reported by manufacturing technicians, by an automated manufacturing system and/or by patients. Such historical data on actual defects on physical aligners may then be added as labels or metadata to the associated digital files of the aligners and/or images of the aligners. ¶0209, “A defect region for the aligner may be determined to be between the first line 1300 and the second line 1302. One or more measurements may be obtained from the defect region, as described above. For example, a thickness of the defect region, an area of the defect region, etc.” ¶0211, “deforming a digital model contour to more closely match the contour of the image of the aligner to detect other manufacturing defects (e.g., cutline variations, debris, webbing, trimmed attachments, and missing attachments, etc.),”).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses generating, by the one or more computer processors, one or more suggestions of how to correct the first digital representation (Parpara, ¶0008, “identify one or more high risk areas for the one or more defects at one or more locations of the plastic shell.” ¶0055, “the proposed digital modifications to the digital model of the intermediate component include at least one of added virtual filler material, revisions to a cutline, and modifications to one or more attachments of the intermediate component.” ¶0219, “generating a modified projection by deforming an approximated outer surface contour to more closely match the contour of the image of the aligner to detect cutline variations”); and
outputting the generated suggestions, wherein the suggestions are only generated and outputted when at least one predicted label of the one or more predicted labels indicates that at least one aspect of the one or more aspects is incorrectly formed (Parpara, ¶0054, “the output includes a determination that a defect is present, and the output includes proposed digital modifications to the digital model of the intermediate component used during manufacture of the dental appliance to limit future defects.” ¶0055, “the proposed digital modifications to the digital model of the intermediate component include at least one of added virtual filler material, revisions to a cutline, and modifications to one or more attachments of the intermediate component.”).
As to claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses one or more two dimensional (2D) representations are generated based on at least in part the first representation (Cramer, ¶0054, “The results may include 3D virtual representations of the dental arch, 2D images or renditions of the dental arch, etc.” ¶0072, “the 3D model can be rendered into one or more 2D image(s) from a plurality of viewing angles.”).
As to claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses automatically generating, by the one or more computer processors, output that specifies whether the first digital representation can be used to generate an apparatus using thermoforming (Parpara, ¶0004, “The aligners may then be formed over the molds using thermoforming equipment.” ¶0018, “simulating a process of thermoforming a film over a digital model of the mold by enlarging the digital model of the mold into an enlarged digital model” ¶0117, “a sheet of material is pressure formed or thermoformed over the mold. The sheet may be, for example, a sheet of plastic (e.g., an elastic thermoplastic, a sheet of polymeric material, etc.). To thermoform the shell over the mold, the sheet of material may be heated to a temperature at which the sheet becomes pliable.”).
As to claim 11, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the apparatus is an indirect bonding tray or an orthodontic aligner (Cramer, ¶0008, “Automatic tooth segmentation may provide the basis for implementation of automated orthodontic treatment plans, design and/or manufacture of orthodontic aligners (including series of polymeric orthodontic aligners that provide forces to correct malocclusions in patients' teeth).”).
As to claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses comparing the one or more predicted labels with the one or more reference labels comprises computing a loss value that quantifies one or more differences between the one or more predicted labels and the one or more reference labels (Cramer, ¶0025, “Training the machine learning model may include adjusting weights of the machine learning model to minimize an error between the ground truth input and the segmentation output.” ¶0087, “The technician's evaluation can then be input into the machine learning model as the “ground truth”, which is the desired output of the machine learning model for a given input. Therefore, the machine learning model can be trained to achieve the technician's evaluation as an output for a given graph-based representation input.”).
As to claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the first representation is a predicted representation (Parpara, ¶0101, “the model may be a predictive model that performs a numerical simulation on the digital file of the plastic aligner by applying one or more forces on the plastic aligner to simulate a removal process of the plastic aligner from a dental arch of a patient.”).
As to claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the predicted representation is generated by one or more machine learning models (Parpara, ¶0101, “the digital file of the plastic shell may be applied to a model (e.g., predictive model, machine learning model, etc.)” ¶0168, “digital files of aligners with associated probable defects (as provided by an output of a numerical simulation) may be used together to generate a robust machine learning model that can predict probable defects of new aligners from digital files of those aligners.”).
As to claim 15, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the second representation is a ground truth representation (Cramer, ¶0023, “a ground truth input comprising a manual segmentation of the 3D mesh; and training a machine learning model of the computing device produce a segmentation output that attempts to achieve the ground truth input.”).
As to claim 16, the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses a system comprising: one or more computer processors; non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon one or more machine learning models and instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to: receive a first digital three-dimensional (3D) oral care representation of a fixture model; receive a second digital 3D oral care representation of a fixture model; generate, by an encoder of the one or more machine learning models, a latent representation of the first digital 3D oral care representation; provide the latent representation to a validation machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models; assign, by the validation machine learning model and based at least in part on the latent representation, one or more predicted labels to one or more aspects of the first digital 3D oral care representation, wherein the one or more predicted labels indicate whether the one or more aspects are correctly formed or incorrectly formed; compare the one or more predicted labels with one or more reference labels associated with corresponding aspects of the second digital 3D oral care representation to determine an accuracy of the one or more predicted labels; and automatically train at least the validation machine learning model based on the accuracy of the one or more predicted labels. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 18, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses at least one of the one or more machine learning models is trained to detect one or more flaws in the first digital representation including excess material in the gums, one or more cracks, one or more chips, an undercut base, one or more kinks in the associated trimline, excess block out, excess interproximal webbing, one or more missing teeth, one or more erroneously present hardware representations (Parpara, ¶0099, “a shape of the aligner, a size of the aligner, one or more features of the aligners, areas of higher risk for defects, one or more defects (e.g., deformation of the aligners, crack, etc.)”.
As to claim 19, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the one or more processors to: generate one or more suggestions of how to correct the first digital representation; and output the generated suggestions, wherein the suggestions are only generated and outputted at least one predicted label of the one or more predicted labels indicates that at least one aspect of the one or more aspects is incorrectly formed (Parpara, ¶0101, “The machine learning model may be applied to a first image of the aligner and/or a digital file of the aligner and may generate an output indicating one or more high risk areas for defects at locations on the aligner.” ¶0143, “classify the plastic shell as defective and specify one or more remedies (e.g., add filler material, smooth cutline, modifications to one or more attachments on the mold or attachment cavities of the dental appliance, remanufacture, etc.) to attempt to remove the one or more defects.”).
As to claim 20, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the one or more processors to generate output that specifies whether the first digital representation can be used to generate an apparatus using thermoforming (¶0143, “If it is determined at block 110 that there are one or more defects included in the plastic shell, then at block 112 processing logic may perform quality control for the plastic shell. For example, processing logic may classify the plastic shell as defective and specify one or more remedies (e.g., add filler material, smooth cutline, modifications to one or more attachments on the mold or attachment cavities of the dental appliance, remanufacture, etc.) to attempt to remove the one or more defects.” ¶0146, “a defect may be determined to be included in the plastic shell.”).
As to claim 23, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the one or more reference labels identify whether the aspects of the second digital 3D oral care representation associated with the one or more reference labels are correctly formed or incorrectly formed; and determining the accuracy comprises determining a quantity or percentage of matches between the one or more predicted labels and the one or more reference labels (Cramer, ¶0101, ““graph-based segmentation elements” can refer to classes of features or structures within the 3D models that can be used to identify, label, and segment the 3D models into individual dental components, including individual teeth, interproximal spaces between teeth, and/or gingiva. Multiple training cases comprising a “ground truth” can be input into the machine learning model to further train the model. In some examples, the weights of the machine learning model can be adjusted while training to minimize the error between the ground truth and the output of the model.” ¶0064, “all features linked to a segmentation element label of “teeth” can be identified as teeth, all features linked to a segmentation element label of “interproximal spaces”, can be identified as interproximal spaces, and all features linked to a segmentation element label of “gingiva” can be identified as gingiva.” ¶0070, “the machine learning engine(s) 164 can be used to automatically segment the 3D model while the machine learning model is being trained.” ¶0091, “The distinct individual objects can be, for example, individually numbered or labeled in the output. The output from the segmentation engine may be used to automatically and accurately label the individual teeth of the 3D model” ¶0121, “comparing the results of a second segmentation technique for the same 3D data with a graph-based representation of the 3D mesh segmentation technique. For example, the same dataset may be segmented by both graph-based representation of the 3D mesh as described herein and a second segmentation technique (e.g., sparse voxel representation) and the resulting segmentations may be compared over sub-regions of the 3D data. The results of the comparison may be thresholded (e.g., within +/−1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 25%, etc.), indicating regions of high and low confidence for the segmentation. Regions of low correlation may be re-segmented or segmented using a third technique, and/or may be flagged for intervention by a technician.”).
As to claim 24, claim 12 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses the second digital 3D oral care representation is a ground truth representation, and wherein automatically training at least the validation machine learning model comprises updating one or more weights of the validation machine learning model based on the loss value (Cramer, ¶0087, “The technician's evaluation can then be input into the machine learning model as the “ground truth”, which is the desired output of the machine learning model for a given input. Therefore, the machine learning model can be trained to achieve the technician's evaluation as an output for a given graph-based representation input. The weights of the machine learning model can be adjusted to minimize the error between the ground truth and the output of the model. This technique can be used to train the machine learning model to identify individual teeth, including identifying the type of teeth, and also to identify the gingiva and/or interproximal spaces between teeth.”).
As to claim 25, the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations comprising: receiving a first digital three-dimensional (3D) oral care representation of a fixture model; receiving a second digital 3D oral care representation of a fixture model; generating, by an encoder of one or more machine learning models, a latent representation of the first digital 3D oral care representation; providing the latent representation to a validation machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models; assigning, by the validation machine learning model and based at least in part on the latent representation, one or more predicted labels to one or more aspects of the first digital 3D oral care representation, wherein the one or more predicted labels indicate whether the one or more aspects are correctly formed or incorrectly formed; comparing the one or more predicted labels with one or more reference labels associated with corresponding aspects of the second digital 3D oral care representation to determine an accuracy of the one or more predicted labels; and automatically training at least the validation machine learning model based on the accuracy of the one or more predicted labels (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cramer et al. (US Pub 2022/0262007 A1) in view of Parpara et al. (Us Pub 2019/0102880 A1), Saphier et al. (US Pub 2021/0321872 A1) and Farkash et al. (US Pub 2023/0309800 A1).
As to claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer and Parpara discloses the one or more machine learning models are trained to (Parpara, ¶0229, “The digital model of the shell may result from the simulated trimming and the digital model may represent an outer surface of the aligner. The digital model of the aligner may be three-dimensional and various two-dimensional views (e.g., top view, side view) or three-dimensional views may be obtained using the digital model of the aligner.” ¶0231, “).
The combination of Cramer and Parpara does not disclose to classify the one or more 2D representations.
Farkash teaches the one or more machine learning models are trained to classify the one or more 2D representations (Farkash, ¶0263, “Tissue classifier 1152 may include one or more machine learning models that operate on 3D data or may include one or more machine learning models that operate on 2D data. If tissue classifier 1152 includes a machine learning model that operates on 2D data, then for each 3D model with labeled dental classes, a set of images (e.g., height maps) may be generated.” “If a machine learning model is being trained to perform image-level classification/prediction as opposed to pixel-level classification/segmentation, then a single value or label may be associated with a generated image as opposed to a map having pixel-level values.”).
Cramer, Parpara and Farkash are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to dental appliance. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cramer with the features of “the one or more machine learning models are trained to classify the one or more 2D representations” as taught by Parpara. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
Claim 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cramer et al. (US Pub 2022/0262007 A1) in view of Parpara et al. (Us Pub 2019/0102880 A1), Saphier et al. (US Pub 2021/0321872 A1) and Nimmagadda et al. (US Pub 20220284624 A1).
As to claim 21, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier does not disclose the latent representation comprises a latent vector or a latent capsule.
However, these features are well-known in deep neural network.
Nimmagadda teaches the latent representation comprises a latent vector or a latent capsule (Nimmagadda, ¶0026, “The latent code of the MLM(s) (e.g., of the autoencoder) may be provided to a discriminator network, such as a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), which predicts whether the latent code of the MLM(s) (e.g., the latent vector from which 3D poses are regressed from) was generated from real-world data or simulated data.” ¶0064, “The discriminator may predict whether the selected data(s) is real-world data 414A or simulated data 414B (e.g., a yes/no prediction) from the latent vector used to regress 3D poses.” ¶0066, “The discriminator 408 may comprise one or more fully connected layers (e.g., three layers) that take a latent vector encoding from the 3D pose estimator 106 as input. In each iteration of the process 100, the data selector 402 may select (e.g., randomly) one or more sets of simulated data 414B (e.g., a simulated image and corresponding labels) and one or more sets of real-world data 414A (e.g., a real-world image). A simulated image and ground truth data from the simulated data 414B may be provided through the decoder (e.g., CNN) that performs the 3D pose prediction. The simulation latent vector may be provided to the discriminator 408 to predict sim/real and the prediction may be used by the evaluator 410 to compute segmentation mask and 3D pose losses and the discriminator binary loss for the simulated image. A real image may be sent through the encoder to get a real latent vector. The real latent vector may be sent into the discriminator 408 and may be used by the evaluator 410 to compute the discriminator binary loss for the real-world image.”).
Cramer and Nimmagadda are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to neural network. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cramer with the features of “the latent representation comprises a latent vector or a latent capsule.” as taught by Nimmagadda. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 22, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cramer, Parpara and Saphier does not disclose the encoder is a 3D encoder of an autoencoder.
However, these features are well-known in deep neural network.
Nimmagadda teaches the encoder is a 3D encoder of an autoencoder (Nimmagadda, abstract, “An autoencoder may be trained to predict 3D pose labels using simulation data extracted from a simulated environment, which may be configured to represent an environment in which the 3D pose estimator is to be deployed.” ¶0026, “The latent code of the MLM(s) (e.g., of the autoencoder) may be provided to a discriminator network, such as a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), which predicts whether the latent code of the MLM(s) (e.g., the latent vector from which 3D poses are regressed from) was generated from real-world data or simulated data.” ).
Cramer and Nimmagadda are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to neural network. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cramer with the features of “the encoder is a 3D encoder of an autoencoder.” as taught by Nimmagadda. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613