DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5–8, 13–15, and 20–32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., CN113473634A, published October 1, 2021, entitled Apparatus and method for configuring multi-cell scheduling for NR operation (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the following :“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“wherein the indication information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) message.” — Li discloses RRC signaling separately configuring the CIF-to-pair mapping for two-cell scheduling. The RRC-carried configuration supplies the indication information by which the UE identifies the scheduled cells from the DCI (paragraph [0096]; Table 3; paragraphs [0072]–[0074]).
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the additional cell for two-cell scheduling and the CIF-to-serving-cell-index mapping. The UE derives that additional scheduled cell from the received CIF by using the configured Table 2 list, with the scheduling cell also scheduled (paragraphs [0078]–[0079], [0093]–[0095]; Table 2; Fig. 5).
“wherein determining the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI comprises at least one of: determining that at least one cell in a preset cell set list is the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI,” — Li discloses the configured CIF-to-serving-cell-index list of Table 2, with entries identifying cells 0 through 7. For two-cell DCI, the UE derives the additional scheduled cell from the CIF using that configured list; the scheduling cell is also scheduled. This identifies at least one listed cell as scheduled by the multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0078], [0093]–[0095]; Table 2; Fig. 5).
The first alternative is satisfied by the configured cell-index list and the determination of a listed cell. The alternative “or determining that a cell of a cell combination with a preset sequence number among a preset cell combination list is the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI” is not relied upon. No finding equates a dynamically received CIF value with a fixed default sequence number.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “preset” requires the cell set list to be established before the determination using that list. The first alternative permits determining at least one listed cell and does not require every listed cell to be scheduled or a fixed entry to be selected. This reading is consistent with the specification’s disclosure that the network can indicate the preset cells or list. The MAC-CE failure condition disclosed in the fallback embodiment is not recited in claim 7 and is not imported into it. Li’s list is configured beforehand; the later CIF selects a cell from that list. See MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, subsection II.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“further comprising at least one of: determining at least one of a preset cell set list comprising at least one cell or a preset cell combination list comprising at least one cell according to a protocol; or determining at least one of a preset cell set list comprising at least one preset cell or a preset cell combination list according to an indication from the network device.” — Li discloses the network-indication alternative: higher-layer signaling configures one or more pairs of cells before DCI identifies the pair to be scheduled. The configured collection of cell pairs is a preset cell combination list, and each pair contains cells. RRC signaling and Table 3 expressly show configuration of the mapping for multiple cell pairs (paragraphs [0070], [0080], [0096]–[0098]; Table 3).
The additional step is met through the preset cell combination list determined from the network indication. The protocol-defined alternative is not necessary to this rejection.
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing the terminal with higher-layer configuration of the scheduled cells and their CIF values, including an RRC configuration for two-cell scheduling. The UE identifies the scheduled cells using that configuration and the CIF in the subsequently received multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing the terminal with higher-layer configuration of the scheduled cells and their CIF values, including an RRC configuration for two-cell scheduling. The UE identifies the scheduled cells using that configuration and the CIF in the subsequently received multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“wherein the indication information is carried in a radio resource control RRC message.” — Li discloses the network transmitting RRC signaling that separately configures the two-cell CIF mapping used by the terminal to identify the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraph [0096]; Table 3; paragraphs [0072]–[0074]).
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing higher-layer configuration of the additional scheduled cell and the CIF-to-serving-cell-index mapping. The terminal applies the configured Table 2 list to the received CIF to identify the additional cell scheduled together with the scheduling cell (paragraphs [0078]–[0079], [0093]–[0095]; Table 2; Fig. 5).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“further comprising: indicating at least one of a preset cell set list comprising at least one cell, or a preset cell combination list comprising at least one cell to the terminal,” — Li discloses higher-layer configuration of the serving cells and the CIF-to-cell-index list subsequently used for two-cell scheduling. Table 2 lists serving-cell indices 0 through 7 associated with CIF values; the additional cell to be scheduled is configured by higher-layer signaling (paragraphs [0078], [0093]–[0095]; Table 2).
“wherein the terminal determines that at least one cell in the preset cell set list is the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI,” — Li discloses the terminal deriving the additional scheduled cell from the received CIF using the configured Table 2 mapping, while the scheduling cell is also scheduled. The derived additional cell is a cell in that preset list and is scheduled by the two-cell DCI (paragraphs [0078]–[0079], [0093]–[0095]; Table 2; Fig. 5).
The recited “or determines that a cell of a cell combination with a preset sequence number among the preset cell combination list is the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI” is an alternative to the mapped determination from the preset cell set list and is not relied upon.
For claim 15, the preset cell set list alternative requires a previously established list indicated to the terminal and a determination that at least one listed cell is scheduled. It does not require a fixed default sequence number; that language belongs to the separate cell combination list alternative. The specification permits network indication of the preset cells or list. Accordingly, the configured list in Li’s Table 2 and the later selection of a listed cell satisfy the first alternative. The fallback embodiment does not add an unrecited MAC-CE failure condition to claim 15. See MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, subsection II.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the following.
“A communication apparatus, comprising:” — Li discloses a UE implementing the disclosed terminal-side reception and cell determination (paragraphs [0047], [0198]–[0200], [0208]; Figs. 14–15).
“a processor and a memory storing a computer program;” — Li discloses hardware resources 1500 comprising processor 1510 and memory/storage 1520. Instructions 1550 include programs or other executable code and may reside in memory/storage 1520 (paragraphs [0208]–[0210], [0212]; Fig. 15).
“wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, causes a cell determination method to be implemented, wherein the method comprises:” — Li discloses instructions 1550 causing processor 1510 to perform the disclosed UE procedures, including the cell-determination procedure associated with decoding multi-cell DCI. The receive and determination steps are addressed individually below (paragraphs [0156]–[0160], [0208]–[0212]; Figs. 12, 15).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the following.
“A communication apparatus, comprising:” — Li discloses an access node implementing the disclosed network-side signaling and scheduling (paragraphs [0207]–[0208]; Figs. 14–15).
“a processor and a memory storing a computer program;” — Li discloses hardware resources 1500 comprising processor 1510 and memory/storage 1520. Instructions 1550 include programs or other executable code and may reside in memory/storage 1520 (paragraphs [0208]–[0210], [0212]; Fig. 15).
“wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, causes the downlink control information sending method according to claim 13 to be implemented.” — Li discloses the same disclosed processor-and-memory architecture as an access node, with program instructions implementing the network-side generation and transmission of multi-cell DCI. The limitations incorporated from claim 13 are addressed individually below (paragraphs [0158]–[0160], [0207]–[0212]; Figs. 14–15).
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing the terminal with higher-layer configuration of the scheduled cells and their CIF values, including an RRC configuration for two-cell scheduling. The UE identifies the scheduled cells using that configuration and the CIF in the subsequently received multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses the following.
“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program,” — Li discloses non-transitory machine-readable storage and memory/storage 1520 containing program instructions 1550. The hardware resources may belong to a UE (paragraphs [0208], [0210], [0212]; Fig. 15).
“wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor, causes the steps of the cell determination method according to claim 5 to be implemented.” — Li discloses instructions 1550 executed by processor 1510 to carry out the disclosed methods, including the UE’s reception of multi-cell DCI and identification of the scheduled cells. The incorporated method limitations are mapped individually below (paragraphs [0156]–[0160], [0208]–[0212]; Figs. 12, 15).
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
Regarding claim 23, Li discloses the following.
“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program,” — Li discloses non-transitory machine-readable storage and memory/storage 1520 containing program instructions 1550. The hardware resources may belong to an access node (paragraphs [0208], [0210], [0212]; Fig. 15).
“wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor, causes the steps of the downlink control information sending method according to claim 13 to be implemented.” — Li discloses instructions 1550 executed by processor 1510 to carry out the disclosed methods, including the access node’s generation and transmission of multi-cell DCI and associated configuration. The incorporated method limitations are mapped individually below (paragraphs [0158]–[0160], [0208]–[0212]; Figs. 12, 15).
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing the terminal with higher-layer configuration of the scheduled cells and their CIF values, including an RRC configuration for two-cell scheduling. The UE identifies the scheduled cells using that configuration and the CIF in the subsequently received multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
Regarding claim 24, which depends from claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses higher-layer signaling configuring the scheduled cells and the CIF-to-cell mapping, followed by UE 101 using that configuration and the received CIF to identify the serving cells scheduled by the DCI. RRC signaling is expressly disclosed for configuring the two-cell mapping (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“wherein the MC-DCI comprises at least one of DCI format 0_3 and DCI format 1_3.” — Li discloses DCI format 0_3 for scheduling PUSCH on more than one cell and DCI format 1_3 for scheduling PDSCH on more than one cell. The UE-specific search space may be configured with both formats or with either format (paragraphs [0035]–[0039]; paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 25, which depends from claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses the gNB configuring, through higher-layer signaling, a second scheduled cell associated with the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set. With that configuration, DCI received on the configured resource schedules the scheduling cell and the configured second cell without requiring a CIF. The terminal thereby identifies a scheduled cell from the signaled association (paragraphs [0057]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the UE identifying the scheduling cell and configured search resource on which it receives the multi-cell DCI. In the resource-based embodiment, the relevant information is the resource used to receive that DCI (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses a higher-layer association between a scheduling-cell resource and a second cell. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. The second scheduled cell can likewise be configured per BWP, CORESET, or search-space set, so the receiving resource identifies the associated scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, which depends from claim 25 and incorporates claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses the gNB configuring, through higher-layer signaling, a second scheduled cell associated with the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set. With that configuration, DCI received on the configured resource schedules the scheduling cell and the configured second cell without requiring a CIF. The terminal thereby identifies a scheduled cell from the signaled association (paragraphs [0057]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the UE identifying the scheduling cell and configured search resource on which it receives the multi-cell DCI. In the resource-based embodiment, the relevant information is the resource used to receive that DCI (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses a higher-layer association between a scheduling-cell resource and a second cell. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. The second scheduled cell can likewise be configured per BWP, CORESET, or search-space set, so the receiving resource identifies the associated scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the recited resource alternative, namely the scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set on which the UE receives the multi-cell DCI and to which a scheduled second cell is associated by higher-layer configuration (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
The rejection relies on “a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” The RNTI alternative is not required by the disjunctive claim language and is not relied upon as an RNTI-to-cell association.
Regarding claim 27, which depends from claim 26 and incorporates claims 25 and 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses the gNB configuring, through higher-layer signaling, a second scheduled cell associated with the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set. With that configuration, DCI received on the configured resource schedules the scheduling cell and the configured second cell without requiring a CIF. The terminal thereby identifies a scheduled cell from the signaled association (paragraphs [0057]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the UE identifying the scheduling cell and configured search resource on which it receives the multi-cell DCI. In the resource-based embodiment, the relevant information is the resource used to receive that DCI (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses a higher-layer association between a scheduling-cell resource and a second cell. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. The second scheduled cell can likewise be configured per BWP, CORESET, or search-space set, so the receiving resource identifies the associated scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the recited resource alternative, namely the scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set on which the UE receives the multi-cell DCI and to which a scheduled second cell is associated by higher-layer configuration (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
The rejection relies on “a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” The RNTI alternative is not required by the disjunctive claim language and is not relied upon as an RNTI-to-cell association.
For “wherein the resource comprises at least one of,” each recited resource alternative is addressed below.
“a cell;” — Li discloses a scheduling cell carrying the DCI, with another scheduled cell configured for that scheduling cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0060]; Fig. 2).
“a bandwidth part (BWP);” — Li discloses a DL/UL BWP of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the DCI search-space set are configured (paragraph [0061]; paragraph [0029]).
“a control resource set (CORESET); or” — Li discloses a CORESET of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the DCI search-space set are configured (paragraph [0062]; paragraph [0029]).
“a search space (SS).” — Li discloses a search-space set of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the two-cell DCI are configured (paragraphs [0054], [0063]).
Regarding claim 28, which depends from claim 25 and incorporates claim 5, Li discloses the following.
“A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:” — Li discloses UE 101, expressly identified as a user terminal, performing the disclosed procedure to identify and communicate on the cells scheduled by multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0047], [0054]; Fig. 1; Fig. 12, steps 1210–1220).
“receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and” — Li discloses UE 101 receiving and decoding a single DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH for more than one cell. The disclosed two-cell DCI is downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0054], [0156]; Fig. 12, step 1210).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses the gNB configuring, through higher-layer signaling, a second scheduled cell associated with the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set. With that configuration, DCI received on the configured resource schedules the scheduling cell and the configured second cell without requiring a CIF. The terminal thereby identifies a scheduled cell from the signaled association (paragraphs [0057]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the UE identifying the scheduling cell and configured search resource on which it receives the multi-cell DCI. In the resource-based embodiment, the relevant information is the resource used to receive that DCI (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses a higher-layer association between a scheduling-cell resource and a second cell. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. The second scheduled cell can likewise be configured per BWP, CORESET, or search-space set, so the receiving resource identifies the associated scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“further comprising at least one of: determining the association relationship according to a protocol; or determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by a network device.” — Li discloses the network-indication alternative: higher-layer signaling configures the second scheduled cell for the scheduling cell and, more specifically, for its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set. The terminal obtains the association from that network configuration and applies it when receiving the multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
The network-indication alternative satisfies the additional limitation. The alternative of deriving the association from a protocol is not relied upon.
Regarding claim 29, which depends from claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the network providing the terminal with higher-layer configuration of the scheduled cells and their CIF values, including an RRC configuration for two-cell scheduling. The UE identifies the scheduled cells using that configuration and the CIF in the subsequently received multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0072]–[0074], [0096], [0103]–[0104]; Table 3).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“wherein the MC-DCI comprises at least one of DCI format 0_3 and DCI format 1_3.” — Li discloses DCI format 0_3 for multi-cell PUSCH scheduling and DCI format 1_3 for multi-cell PDSCH scheduling, together with access-node generation and transmission of the multi-cell DCI (paragraphs [0035]–[0039], [0158]; Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 30, which depends from claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the gNB supplying higher-layer configuration identifying the second cell scheduled together with the scheduling cell and associating that second cell with a particular scheduling-cell resource. The signaled configuration lets the UE identify the cells scheduled by DCI received on that resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the gNB establishing the two scheduled cells through higher-layer configuration and generating the DCI that schedules those cells. The disclosed example associates transmission on cell 1 with scheduling cells 1 and 2, and transmission on cell 2 with scheduling cells 2 and 3 (paragraphs [0058]–[0060], [0158]; Fig. 2).
“setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the network placing the multi-cell DCI on the scheduling resource configured for the intended scheduled cell. The selected transmission resource is also the UE’s reception resource: transmitting on configured cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, and transmitting on configured cell 2 schedules cells 2 and 3. The association may be configured per scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, which depends from claim 30 and incorporates claim 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the gNB supplying higher-layer configuration identifying the second cell scheduled together with the scheduling cell and associating that second cell with a particular scheduling-cell resource. The signaled configuration lets the UE identify the cells scheduled by DCI received on that resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the gNB establishing the two scheduled cells through higher-layer configuration and generating the DCI that schedules those cells. The disclosed example associates transmission on cell 1 with scheduling cells 1 and 2, and transmission on cell 2 with scheduling cells 2 and 3 (paragraphs [0058]–[0060], [0158]; Fig. 2).
“setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the network placing the multi-cell DCI on the scheduling resource configured for the intended scheduled cell. The selected transmission resource is also the UE’s reception resource: transmitting on configured cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, and transmitting on configured cell 2 schedules cells 2 and 3. The association may be configured per scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2).
“wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the recited resource alternative, namely the scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set on which the UE receives the multi-cell DCI and to which a scheduled second cell is associated by higher-layer configuration (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
The rejection relies on “a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” The RNTI alternative is not required by the disjunctive claim language and is not relied upon as an RNTI-to-cell association.
Regarding claim 32, which depends from claim 31 and incorporates claims 30 and 13, Li discloses the following.
“A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:” — Li discloses gNB 102, an access node communicating with UE 101, generating multi-cell DCI and transmitting that DCI on a PDCCH (paragraphs [0050]–[0054], [0158]; Fig. 1).
“sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and” — Li discloses the gNB supplying higher-layer configuration identifying the second cell scheduled together with the scheduling cell and associating that second cell with a particular scheduling-cell resource. The signaled configuration lets the UE identify the cells scheduled by DCI received on that resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
“sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.” — Li discloses the access node generating DCI to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH on more than one cell and transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH to the UE (paragraphs [0054], [0059], [0158]; Figs. 1–2).
“determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and” — Li discloses the gNB establishing the two scheduled cells through higher-layer configuration and generating the DCI that schedules those cells. The disclosed example associates transmission on cell 1 with scheduling cells 1 and 2, and transmission on cell 2 with scheduling cells 2 and 3 (paragraphs [0058]–[0060], [0158]; Fig. 2).
“setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the network placing the multi-cell DCI on the scheduling resource configured for the intended scheduled cell. The selected transmission resource is also the UE’s reception resource: transmitting on configured cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, and transmitting on configured cell 2 schedules cells 2 and 3. The association may be configured per scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2).
“wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” — Li discloses the recited resource alternative, namely the scheduling cell, BWP, CORESET, or search-space set on which the UE receives the multi-cell DCI and to which a scheduled second cell is associated by higher-layer configuration (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2).
The rejection relies on “a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.” The RNTI alternative is not required by the disjunctive claim language and is not relied upon as an RNTI-to-cell association.
For “wherein the resource comprises at least one of,” each recited resource alternative is addressed below.
“a cell;” — Li discloses a scheduling cell carrying the DCI, with another scheduled cell configured for that scheduling cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0060]; Fig. 2).
“a bandwidth part (BWP);” — Li discloses a DL/UL BWP of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the DCI search-space set are configured (paragraph [0061]; paragraph [0029]).
“a control resource set (CORESET); or” — Li discloses a CORESET of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the DCI search-space set are configured (paragraph [0062]; paragraph [0029]).
“a search space (SS).” — Li discloses a search-space set of the scheduling cell for which the second scheduled cell and the two-cell DCI are configured (paragraphs [0054], [0063]).
Accordingly, claims 5–8, 13–15, and 20–32 are anticipated by Li under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Each anticipation rejection is based on the disclosed arrangement identified for that claim, including the limitations incorporated from another claim. The anticipation rejections rely on Li alone.
Double Patenting
The reference is copending Application 18/874,427, published as US 2025/0374276 A1, naming Qun Zhao and assigned to Beijing Xiaomi Mobile Software Co., Ltd. The comparison below uses its claims as amended December 16, 2024. The applications have a common inventor and identified assignee and the same June 17, 2022 international filing date, but arise from different international applications: PCT/CN2022/099619 for the present application and PCT/CN2022/099620 for the reference application. A one-way comparison is applied. These rejections concern obviousness-type double patenting; identical claim scope is not asserted.
Li et al., CN 113473634 A, published October 1, 2021, is the secondary reference. Its publication precedes the June 17, 2022 filing date and qualifies under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). The reference application is relied upon for the subject matter of its claims, not as general prior art. Li supplies the additional teachings identified below. The provisional rejections are separate from the preceding anticipation rejections.
Authority: MPEP 804. Secondary reference: CN 113473634 A.
Claims 25–28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 (incorporating claim 1) of copending Application No. 18/874,427, in view of Li et al. (CN 113473634 A). Claims 30–32 are provisionally rejected on the same ground over claim 13 (incorporating claim 11) of that application, in view of Li et al.
The following tables align the current claim limitations, including incorporated limitations, with the relevant language of the reference claims as amended December 16, 2024. Bold text in the left column identifies limitations requiring the additional teachings discussed after each table. Bracketed statements in the right column are explanatory annotations, not reference-claim language.
Claim 25
Claim 25 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 4 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 1
A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A scheduling determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising: [Claim 1, incorporated by claim 4.]
receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a network device; [Claim 1.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.
determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by the network device. [Claim 4; network-indication alternative. The claimed association concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and
determining relevant information associated with the DCI; and [Claim 1.]
determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
determining a scheduling state of the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and the scheduling state, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1. The association identifies scheduling state; it does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell.]
Claim 25 of the current application recites receiving DCI for scheduling multiple cells and determining a particular scheduled cell according to network indication information, including determining relevant information of the MC-DCI and using an association between that information and at least one cell. Claim 4 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, recites terminal reception, determination of relevant DCI information, and a network-indicated association for determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, but does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell or a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a terminal receiving a single DCI scheduling two cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0047], [0054], [0156]; Figs. 1, 12). Li further teaches higher-layer signaling that configures a second scheduled cell for a scheduling resource. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2; DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Thus, the terminal determines the relevant reception resource and applies the signaled resource-to-cell association to identify a scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the multiple-cell DCI implementation and the particular cell determination required by the current claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 4, including claim 1, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 25, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 25 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 4 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, in view of Li.
Claim 26
Claim 26 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 4 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 1
A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A scheduling determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising: [Claim 1, incorporated by claim 4.]
receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a network device; [Claim 1.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.
determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by the network device. [Claim 4; network-indication alternative. The claimed association concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and
determining relevant information associated with the DCI; and [Claim 1.]
determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
determining a scheduling state of the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and the scheduling state, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1. The association identifies scheduling state; it does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell.]
wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
Claim 26 of the current application recites receiving DCI for scheduling multiple cells and determining a particular scheduled cell according to network indication information, including determining relevant information of the MC-DCI and using an association between that information and at least one cell. Claim 4 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, recites terminal reception, determination of relevant DCI information, and a network-indicated association for determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, but does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell or a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a terminal receiving a single DCI scheduling two cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0047], [0054], [0156]; Figs. 1, 12). Li further teaches higher-layer signaling that configures a second scheduled cell for a scheduling resource. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2; DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Thus, the terminal determines the relevant reception resource and applies the signaled resource-to-cell association to identify a scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the multiple-cell DCI implementation and the particular cell determination required by the current claim.
Claim 26 additionally requires, directly or through dependency, at least one of an RNTI used for scrambling the MC-DCI or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI. Reference claim 4, including claim 1, does not specify those alternatives. Li supplies the reception-resource alternative by configuring the scheduled second cell for the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). Because the current claim recites alternatives, this finding satisfies the limitation without an RNTI-to-cell association.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 4, including claim 1, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 26, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 26 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 4 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, in view of Li.
Claim 27
Claim 27 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 4 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 1
A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A scheduling determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising: [Claim 1, incorporated by claim 4.]
receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a network device; [Claim 1.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.
determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by the network device. [Claim 4; network-indication alternative. The claimed association concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and
determining relevant information associated with the DCI; and [Claim 1.]
determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
determining a scheduling state of the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and the scheduling state, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1. The association identifies scheduling state; it does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell.]
wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
wherein the resource comprises at least one of: a cell;
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a bandwidth part (BWP);
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a control resource set (CORESET); or
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a search space (SS).
[No corresponding limitation in claim 4, including incorporated claim 1. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
Claim 27 of the current application recites receiving DCI for scheduling multiple cells and determining a particular scheduled cell according to network indication information, including determining relevant information of the MC-DCI and using an association between that information and at least one cell. Claim 4 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, recites terminal reception, determination of relevant DCI information, and a network-indicated association for determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, but does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell or a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a terminal receiving a single DCI scheduling two cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0047], [0054], [0156]; Figs. 1, 12). Li further teaches higher-layer signaling that configures a second scheduled cell for a scheduling resource. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2; DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Thus, the terminal determines the relevant reception resource and applies the signaled resource-to-cell association to identify a scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the multiple-cell DCI implementation and the particular cell determination required by the current claim.
Claim 27 additionally requires, directly or through dependency, at least one of an RNTI used for scrambling the MC-DCI or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI. Reference claim 4, including claim 1, does not specify those alternatives. Li supplies the reception-resource alternative by configuring the scheduled second cell for the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). Because the current claim recites alternatives, this finding satisfies the limitation without an RNTI-to-cell association.
Claim 27 further specifies at least one of a cell, BWP, CORESET, or SS. Reference claim 4, including claim 1, does not specify those resources. Li teaches each alternative together with its scheduled-cell association: a scheduling cell in paragraphs [0058]–[0060] and Fig. 2; a DL/UL BWP in paragraph [0061]; a CORESET in paragraph [0062]; and a search-space set in paragraph [0063]. Each is a disclosed configuration granularity at which the relevant resource identifies the second scheduled cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 4, including claim 1, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 27, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 27 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 4 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, in view of Li.
Claim 28
Claim 28 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 4 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 1
A cell determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A scheduling determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising: [Claim 1, incorporated by claim 4.]
receiving downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a network device; [Claim 1.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI according to indication information sent by a network device.
determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by the network device. [Claim 4; network-indication alternative. The claimed association concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
determining relevant information of the MC-DCI; and
determining relevant information associated with the DCI; and [Claim 1.]
determining, based on an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell, that the at least one cell corresponding to the relevant information of the MC-DCI is a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
determining a scheduling state of the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and the scheduling state, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI identifies that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells. [Claim 1. The association identifies scheduling state; it does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell.]
further comprising at least one of: determining the association relationship according to a protocol; or determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by a network device.
The method according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of: determining the association relationship according to a protocol; or determining the association relationship according to indication information sent by the network device. [Claim 4. The association concerns scheduling state.]
Claim 28 of the current application recites receiving DCI for scheduling multiple cells and determining a particular scheduled cell according to network indication information, including determining relevant information of the MC-DCI and using an association between that information and at least one cell. Claim 4 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, recites terminal reception, determination of relevant DCI information, and a network-indicated association for determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, but does not require identification of a particular scheduled cell or a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a terminal receiving a single DCI scheduling two cells (paragraphs [0032]–[0035], [0047], [0054], [0156]; Figs. 1, 12). Li further teaches higher-layer signaling that configures a second scheduled cell for a scheduling resource. DCI received on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2; DCI received on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Thus, the terminal determines the relevant reception resource and applies the signaled resource-to-cell association to identify a scheduled cell (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the multiple-cell DCI implementation and the particular cell determination required by the current claim.
Claim 28 further requires at least one of determining the association according to a protocol or according to network indication information. Reference claim 4 expressly recites these alternatives for the scheduling-state association. Li supplies higher-layer network indication of the resource-to-cell association (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). The network-indication alternative therefore satisfies the additional limitation for the cell association; the protocol alternative is not relied upon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 4, including claim 1, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 28, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 28 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 4 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 1, in view of Li.
Claim 30
Claim 30 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 13 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 11
A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:
A method for sending downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device, comprising: [Claim 11, incorporated by claim 13.]
sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and
sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information indicates the association relationship. [Claim 13; network-indication alternative. The association inherited from claim 11 concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.
sending the DCI to a terminal. [Claim 11.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and
determining a scheduling state of the DCI, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11. A particular scheduled cell is not required.]
setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
setting relevant information associated with the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information associated with the DCI and the scheduling state; and [Claim 11. Setting information according to a particular scheduled-cell association is not required.]
Claim 30 of the current application recites sending cell-identifying indication information and MC-DCI, determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI, and setting relevant information according to an association between that information and at least one cell and the scheduled cell. Claim 13 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, recites sending association indication information and DCI, determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, and setting relevant information according to the state association, but does not require identifying a particular scheduled cell or setting information according to a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a network device configuring the second scheduled cell through higher-layer signaling and generating and transmitting multi-cell DCI to a terminal (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Figs. 1–2). DCI transmitted on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI transmitted on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Generating DCI for the intended cells and transmitting on their configured scheduling resource sets the relevant resource information according to the scheduled-cell association. The selected transmission resource is the terminal’s reception resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the inherited sending limitations and the added cell determination and setting limitations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 13, including claim 11, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 30, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 30 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 13 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, in view of Li.
Claim 31
Claim 31 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 13 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 11
A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:
A method for sending downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device, comprising: [Claim 11, incorporated by claim 13.]
sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and
sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information indicates the association relationship. [Claim 13; network-indication alternative. The association inherited from claim 11 concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.
sending the DCI to a terminal. [Claim 11.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and
determining a scheduling state of the DCI, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11. A particular scheduled cell is not required.]
setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
setting relevant information associated with the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information associated with the DCI and the scheduling state; and [Claim 11. Setting information according to a particular scheduled-cell association is not required.]
wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
Claim 31 of the current application recites sending cell-identifying indication information and MC-DCI, determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI, and setting relevant information according to an association between that information and at least one cell and the scheduled cell. Claim 13 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, recites sending association indication information and DCI, determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, and setting relevant information according to the state association, but does not require identifying a particular scheduled cell or setting information according to a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a network device configuring the second scheduled cell through higher-layer signaling and generating and transmitting multi-cell DCI to a terminal (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Figs. 1–2). DCI transmitted on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI transmitted on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Generating DCI for the intended cells and transmitting on their configured scheduling resource sets the relevant resource information according to the scheduled-cell association. The selected transmission resource is the terminal’s reception resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the inherited sending limitations and the added cell determination and setting limitations.
Claim 31 additionally requires, directly or through dependency, at least one of an RNTI used for scrambling the MC-DCI or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI. Reference claim 13, including claim 11, does not specify those alternatives. Li supplies the reception-resource alternative by configuring the scheduled second cell for the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). Because the current claim recites alternatives, this finding satisfies the limitation without an RNTI-to-cell association.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 13, including claim 11, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 31, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 31 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 13 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, in view of Li.
Claim 32
Claim 32 of Current Application 18/874,845
Claim 13 of Copending Application 18/874,427 including Claim 11
A downlink control information sending method, performed by a network device, comprising:
A method for sending downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device, comprising: [Claim 11, incorporated by claim 13.]
sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is used for a terminal to determine a cell scheduled by downlink control information for scheduling multiple cells (MC-DCI) that is sent to the terminal; and
sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information indicates the association relationship. [Claim 13; network-indication alternative. The association inherited from claim 11 concerns scheduling state, not a particular cell identity.]
sending the MC-DCI to the terminal.
sending the DCI to a terminal. [Claim 11.]wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11; excerpt from the scheduling-state limitation.]
determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI; and
determining a scheduling state of the DCI, wherein the scheduling state of the DCI indicates that the DCI is used to schedule a single cell or the DCI is used to schedule multiple cells; [Claim 11. A particular scheduled cell is not required.]
setting relevant information of the MC-DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information and at least one cell and the cell scheduled by the MC-DCI.
setting relevant information associated with the DCI according to an association relationship between the relevant information associated with the DCI and the scheduling state; and [Claim 11. Setting information according to a particular scheduled-cell association is not required.]
wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for scrambling the MC-DCI; or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI.
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
wherein the resource comprises at least one of: a cell;
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a bandwidth part (BWP);
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a control resource set (CORESET); or
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
a search space (SS).
[No corresponding limitation in claim 13, including incorporated claim 11. The resource alternatives and their cell associations are addressed below using Li.]
Claim 32 of the current application recites sending cell-identifying indication information and MC-DCI, determining a cell scheduled by the MC-DCI, and setting relevant information according to an association between that information and at least one cell and the scheduled cell. Claim 13 of Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, recites sending association indication information and DCI, determining single-cell or multiple-cell scheduling state, and setting relevant information according to the state association, but does not require identifying a particular scheduled cell or setting information according to a resource-to-cell association.
However, in the analogous art of multi-cell wireless scheduling, Li teaches a network device configuring the second scheduled cell through higher-layer signaling and generating and transmitting multi-cell DCI to a terminal (paragraphs [0054], [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Figs. 1–2). DCI transmitted on cell 1 schedules cells 1 and 2, while DCI transmitted on cell 2 may schedule cells 2 and 3. Generating DCI for the intended cells and transmitting on their configured scheduling resource sets the relevant resource information according to the scheduled-cell association. The selected transmission resource is the terminal’s reception resource (paragraphs [0058]–[0063], [0158]; Fig. 2). These teachings supply the inherited sending limitations and the added cell determination and setting limitations.
Claim 32 additionally requires, directly or through dependency, at least one of an RNTI used for scrambling the MC-DCI or a resource for receiving the MC-DCI. Reference claim 13, including claim 11, does not specify those alternatives. Li supplies the reception-resource alternative by configuring the scheduled second cell for the scheduling cell or its BWP, CORESET, or search-space set (paragraphs [0058]–[0063]; Fig. 2). Because the current claim recites alternatives, this finding satisfies the limitation without an RNTI-to-cell association.
Claim 32 further specifies at least one of a cell, BWP, CORESET, or SS. Reference claim 13, including claim 11, does not specify those resources. Li teaches each alternative together with its scheduled-cell association: a scheduling cell in paragraphs [0058]–[0060] and Fig. 2; a DL/UL BWP in paragraph [0061]; a CORESET in paragraph [0062]; and a search-space set in paragraph [0063]. Each is a disclosed configuration granularity at which the relevant resource identifies the second scheduled cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of reference claim 13, including claim 11, by adding Li’s network-configured resource-to-cell association for the multiple-cell scheduling state. This supplies the identities of the cells on which the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is to be applied and permits omission of a CIF where the reception resource identifies the configured cell pair (Li, paragraphs [0057]–[0063]). The scheduling-state determination and association of the reference claim remain operative; the resource additionally identifies the scheduled cells. Applying these configuration associations to the same DCI would predictably provide both the scheduling state and cell identities, with the network and terminal using a consistent mapping. The modification thus yields the complete combination recited in current claim 32, including its inherited limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 32 of the current application is NOT patentably distinct from claim 13 of copending Application 18/874,427, including claim 11, in view of Li.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412