DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-12 and 16 in the reply filed on 08/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, lines 2-3, “the DC conductivity method” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (2022/0013249).
Hong et al. discloses a cable comprising: a conductor (210) which is surrounded by at least an inner semiconductive layer (212), an insulation layer (214), and an outer semiconductive layer (216) in that order; wherein said inner and/or outer semiconductive layer comprises: an LDPE homopolymer or LDPE copolymer, an antioxidant, carbon black, and a peroxide selected from the group consisting of a saturated aliphatic monofunctional peroxide and a saturated aliphatic bifunctional peroxide; and wherein said insulation layer comprises: an LDPE homopolymer or LDPE copolymer, and a peroxide selected from the group consisting of an aliphatic monofunctional peroxide, an aliphatic bifunctional peroxide and a monofunctional peroxide containing an aromatic group ([0062], [0063], and [0068]-[0071]) (re-claim 1). Hong et al. also discloses that the peroxide used in the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer is 2,5-di(tert-butylperoxy)-2,5-dinethyl-hexane ([0064]) (re-claim 3); the inner semiconducive layer has the same chemical composition as the outer semiconductive layer (re-claim 4); the inner and/or the outer semiconductive layer comprises EMA, EEA, or EBA (re-claims 5 and 6); the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer comprises 0.1 to 2.0 wt% peroxide ([0066]) (re-claim 7); the insulation layer comprises an LDPE homopolymer ([0069]) (re-claim 8); a crosslinked cable obtainable by the crosslinking of the cable of claim 1 (re-claim 10); the DC conductivity of the insulation layer is below 64 fS/m when measured according to the DC conductivity method at 70°C since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 11); and the crosslinked cable as claimed in claim 10 is a DC power cable (re-claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. in view of Bergqvist et al. (2019/0136022).
Claims 2 and 16 additionally recite the peroxide used in the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer being a liquid at a temperature of 25 to 40°C. Bergqvist et al. discloses a crosslinked polymer composition for cable, comprising a peroxide [2,5-di(tert-butylperoxy)-2,5-dinethyl-hexane] which is a liquid at a temperature of 25°C (room temperature, [0056]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the peroxide, 2,5-di(tert-butylperoxy)-2,5-dinethyl-hexane, in liquid form at a temperature of 25°C in the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer of Hong et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since such peroxide is well known in the art as taught by Bergqvist et al. ([0056]).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. in view of Hagstrand et al. (WO 2017/220609).
Re-claim 9, Hong et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer comprising: at least 50 wt% of the LDPE or LDPE copolymer ([0065]-[0066]); 30 wt% of carbon black; and 0.1 to 1.5 wt% of peroxide, the insulation layer comprising: at least 80 wt% of the LDPE homopolymer or LDPE copolymer ([0069]); and 0.1 to 2.5 wt% of the peroxide ([0072]). Hong et al. does not disclose the content of the antioxidant being 0.005 to 2.5 wt%. Hagstrand et al. discloses a composition comprising an antioxidant in an amount of 0.1 to 1.0 wt% (page 26, lines 20-23). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide between 0.1 to 1.0 wt% of the antioxidant in the inner and/or outer semiconductive layer of Hong et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since such amount is well known to one skilled in the art to be included in a composition as taught by Hagstrand et al. (page 26 lines 20-23).
Re-claim 11, as stated in the 102 rejection, in the cable of Hong et al., the DC conductivity of the insulation layer is below 64 fS/m when measured according to the DC conductivity method at 70°C since it comprises structure and material as claimed. However, if the applicant were traversed such assertion, a modification would be followed in view of Hagstrand et al.
Hagstrand et al. dicloses an insulation layer having the DC conductivity below 64 fS/m when measured according to the DC conductivity method at 70°C (page 22). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the insulation layer of Hong et al. to have the DC conductivity below 64 fS/m when measured according to the DC conductivity method at 70°C, as taught by Hagstrand et al., to meet the specific use of the resulting cable.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841