DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, second to last line, it is suggested that “that connected” be changed to --a second end of the control rod connected--.
In claim 1, second to last line, it is suggested that “blind” be changed to --closed--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses “means” or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of guiding the weight” in claim 5.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the guiding means comprise at least one guiding ring…” in claim 6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected (wherein claims 2-8 inherit their rejections due to their dependencies) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "tending in use" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). As understood, the recitation refers to the at least one first spring 12 biasing the valve body 9 against the seat 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 (as understood: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kowan (US 2,094,951).
Regarding claim 1, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 a gas distribution system of an aircraft comprising a check valve (wherein “a gas distribution system of an aircraft” isn’t seen as positively reciting the aircraft, because the recitation is seen as a name of device and/or because “of an aircraft” is seen as reciting an intended use that isn’t seen as defining over the structure of the prior art, per MPEP 2111.02), the valve comprising a valve body 20 provided with a control rod 38, 40, 44 of the valve body 20, the valve being intended to slide along a first axis between a closed position in which the valve engages in use with a seat 24 of the distribution system and an open position in which the valve body 20 is moved away from the seat 24, the valve comprising at least one first spring 56 arranged outside the control rod 38, 40, 44 and tending in use to hold the valve body 20 against the seat 24, the valve comprising an assembly comprising at least one weight 50, 52 (wherein the guide 50, 52 is considered a weight because it inherently has weight) and at least one second spring 54 which are arranged at least partially inside the control rod 38, 40, 44, the second spring 54 being connected at a first of its two ends to the control rod 38, 40, 44 and at a second of its two ends to the weight 50, 52, a housing (the interior space of the control rod 38, 40, 44) being provided in the control rod 38, 40, 44 so as to open at a first axial end at a first end of the control rod 38, 40, 44, opposite to that (i.e. a second end of the control rod 38, 40, 44) connected to the valve body 20, and so as to be blind (i.e. closed) at a second axial end opposite to the first axial end.
Regarding claim 2, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 that the control rod 38, 40, 44 is only partially hollowed out (because the control rod 38, 40, 44 has a closed end formed by the valve head 38).
Regarding claim 3, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 that the control rod 38, 40, 44 extends longitudinally along the first axis, the housing extends coaxially to the first axis.
Regarding claim 4, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 that the second spring is fixed at its first end to one side of the control rod, the side whose normal is the axis along which the control rod extends longitudinally.
Regarding claim 5, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 comprising means of guiding the weight relative to the control rod.
Regarding claim 7, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 that the weight 50, 52 and the control rod 38, 40, 44 are shaped to allow laminar air flow between the weight 50, 52 and the control rod 38, 40, 44 when the weight 50, 52 moves relative to the control rod 38, 40, 44 (because the fluid above the piston 44 of the control rod 38, 40, 44 inherently flows between the control rod 38, 40, 44 and weight 50, 52 when the valve body 20 moves, because the only supply/exhaust for fluid above the valve body 20 is the hole 64 through the weight 50, 52, and the exterior of the valve body 20 is sealed by seal 46 on the piston 44).
Regarding claim 8, Kowan discloses in Fig. 1 the distribution system as discussed above. Regarding the recitation that the distribution system is a system for distributing inerting gas, such a recitation is a recitation of intended use that isn’t seen as defining over the prior art (MPEP 2111.02), and the handled fluid isn’t seen as defining over the structure of the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 (alternatively: 5; as understood: both) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowan in view of Carlson et al. (US 2,701,581).
Regarding claim 5, alternative to the teaching of Kowan as a means of guiding the weight relative to the control rod discussed above, Carlson teaches in Figs. 1-4 means 18 of guiding the weight 19 relative to the control rod 32, 33 (wherein said means are in the form of interior shoulders 18 extending from the control rod 32, 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Kowan to include means of guiding the weight in the form of interior shoulders on the control rod, as Carlson teaches, to minimize possible contact between the control rod and the weight during reciprocation of the valve body, which minimizes friction/drag and provides for a more predictable response of the valve (i.e. a more precisely calibrated valve) because the predefined, consistent biasing forces of the springs are the only forces that the upstream fluid pressure overcomes to open the valve.
Regarding claim 6, Carlson teaches in Figs. 1-4 that the guiding means 18 comprise at least one guiding ring 18 arranged within the control rod 32, 33 and through which the weight 19 moves relative to the control rod 32, 33.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753