Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7- 8, 10-12, 15-16, 19, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang WO 2019056390 A1 in view of Takeda et al. WO 2021151237 A1 (hereinafter Takeda1)
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches
A method for determining location information of a control resource, performed by a terminal, comprising: determining, according to a predetermined offset value (first offset), location information (PDCCH candidate location) of a control resource corresponding to control information to be detected
(“carrier or a cell or a bandwidth portion (BWP), a control resource set (CORESET) or a search space (Search) of the terminal in the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth portion. Space, SS) a first offset from the first reference resource location.”[page 14] “the terminal may be for each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part. Determining the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal with respect to the reference resource position, respectively, so that the network device and the terminal can implement the transmission and reception of the PDCCH according to the determined offset, thereby implementing the configuration and use of the resource in the PDCCH.” [page 20] “the search space may include at least one PDCCH candidate location”[page 15] “the first offset is determined by using the terminal information of the terminal and the carrier or cell or bandwidth part information of the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part.”[page 15])
Tang fails to teach the control information being used configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell or multi-carrier. However Takeda1 teaches the control information (DCI) being used configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell (first serving cell and second serving cell ) or multi-carrier (joint carrier scheduling scheme)
( “the number (s) of the PDCCH candidates per aggregation level for nonfallback DCI formats with the CIF value corresponding to scheduling PDSCHs on multiple serving cells (CIF = 2) is configured by the RRC signaling.” [page 14] “The N includes the number of downlink cells and the number of set (s) of downlink cells where data can be scheduled by one DCI.” [page 16] “configuring a joint carrier scheduling scheme using a downlink control information (DCI) , wherein in the joint carrier scheduling scheme causes a first data to be communicated on a first shared channel associated with a first serving cell and second data to be communicated on a second shared channel associated with a second serving cell”[page 21])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda1’s use of a single DCI to schedule data for multiple cells/carriers with Tang’s PDCCH control resource/search space location according to a predetermined offset, to reduce control signaling overhead and improve scheduling efficiency, with the predictable result of determining an offset based control resource location for control information that schedules multiple cells/carriers. Improving communication performance.
Regarding claim 2 limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tang teaches
receiving first indication information (the first information) sent by a network device, the first indication information indicating the predetermined offset value (first offset) .
(“first offset corresponding to the first carrier or a cell or a bandwidth part”[page 24] “the first information is carried by a common control signaling, a radio resource control RRC signaling, or a downlink control Information in the DCI” [page 7] “the terminal receives the first information sent by the network device, where the first information is used to indicate, by the network device, the control resource of the terminal in the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part, for the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part. A first offset of the set CORESET or search space relative to the first reference resource location.”[page 17])
Regarding claim 3 limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above.
wherein determining, according to the predetermined offset value, the location information of the control resource corresponding to the control information to be detected comprises: determining the location information of the control resource corresponding to the control information to be detected, according to one predetermined offset value indicated by the first indication information;
determining the location information of the control resource corresponding to the control information to be detected for scheduling data transmission of each cell, according to a correspondence relationship between each cell and a predetermined offset value and multiple predetermined offset values indicated by the first indication information;
or determining the location information of the control resource corresponding to the control information to be detected for scheduling data transmission of each carrier, according to a correspondence relationship between each carrier and a predetermined offset value and multiple predetermined offset values indicated by the first indication information.
Because claim 3 recites “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Tang teaches wherein determining, according to the predetermined offset value, the location information of the control resource corresponding to the control information to be detected comprises: determining the location information of the control resource (CORESET or search space/ PDCCH candidate location ) corresponding to the control information to be detected, according to one predetermined offset value indicated by the first indication information (first information);
(“the terminal receives the first information sent by the network device, where the first information is used to indicate, by the network device, the control resource of the terminal in the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part, for the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part. A first offset of the set CORESET or search space relative to the first reference resource location… the terminal may determine a CORESET or a search space on the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part according to the first offset, and perform blind detection of the PDCCH on the PDCCH candidate location included in the CORESET or the search space.”[page 17])
Regarding claim 4 limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above.
receiving second indication information sent by the network device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate indicates at least one of: the correspondence relationship between each cell and a predetermined offset value, a correspondence relationship between each cell group and a predetermined offset value, the correspondence relationship between each carrier and a predetermined offset value, or a correspondence relationship between each carrier group and a predetermined offset value.
Because claim 4 recites “at least one of ” the listed correspondence relationships and uses “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Tang teaches receiving second indication information (second information) sent by the network device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate indicates at least one of: the correspondence relationship between each cell and a predetermined offset value, the correspondence relationship between each carrier and a predetermined offset value (second offset).
(“the network device sends second information to the terminal, where the second information is used to indicate the second offset corresponding to the second carrier or the cell or the bandwidth portion.”[page 17] “the network device may determine the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal relative to the reference resource location for each carrier or cell or bandwidth portion that can be used for the terminal, and indicate the offset”[page 18] “the network device may determine, respectively, the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal relative to the reference resource location for each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part”[page 20] “The second information is carried in common control signaling, RRC signaling, or DCI.”[page 20])
Regarding claim 5 limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above.
determining the predetermined offset value according to an agreement or a predetermined rule.
Because claim 5 recites “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Tang teaches determining the predetermined offset value(first offset / second offset ) according to a predetermined rule (a preset calculation rule) .
(“a preset calculation rule using carrier or cell or bandwidth part information and/or terminal information as input, and carrier or cell or bandwidth part information of the first carrier or cell or bandwidth part and/or terminal of the terminal Information to determine the first offset…the second offset is determined by using the preset calculation rule…the terminal determines the first offset according to the carrier or cell or bandwidth part information of the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part and/or the terminal information of the terminal.”[page 19])
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches
A method for determining location information of a control resource, performed by a network device, comprising: determining, according to a predetermined offset value (first offset and second offset ) , location information of a control resource (CORESET or the search space/ PDCCH candidate location) corresponding to control information to be detected by a terminal
(“the network device may determine, according to the first offset, a CORESET or a search space of the terminal on the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part, and send the PDCCH in the PDCCH candidate location of the CORESET or the search space.”[page 17] “the network device may determine a CORESET or a search space of the terminal on the second carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part according to the second offset, and send the PDCCH on the PDCCH candidate location in the CORESET or the search space…the network device may determine the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal relative to the reference resource location for each carrier or cell or bandwidth portion that can be used for the terminal, and indicate the offset. To the terminal, so that the network device and the terminal can perform PDCCH transmission on each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part according to the offset corresponding to each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part, thereby improving resource utilization in configuring and using resources of the PDCCH. Flexibility, which improves communication performance.”[page 18])
Tang fails to teach the control information being configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell or multi-carrier for the terminal. However Takeda1 teaches the control information (DCI) being used configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell (first serving cell and second serving cell ) or multi-carrier (joint carrier scheduling scheme)
( “the number (s) of the PDCCH candidates per aggregation level for nonfallback DCI formats with the CIF value corresponding to scheduling PDSCHs on multiple serving cells (CIF = 2) is configured by the RRC signaling.” [page 14] “The N includes the number of downlink cells and the number of set (s) of downlink cells where data can be scheduled by one DCI.” [page 16] “means for configuring a joint carrier scheduling scheme using a downlink control information (DCI) , wherein in the joint carrier scheduling scheme causes a first data to be communicated on a first shared channel associated with a first serving cell and second data to be communicated on a second shared channel associated with a second serving cell”[page 21])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda1’s use of a single DCI to schedule data for multiple cells/carriers with Tang’s PDCCH control resource/search space location according to a predetermined offset, to reduce control signaling overhead and improve scheduling efficiency, with the predictable result of determining an offset based control resource location for control information that schedules multiple cells/carriers. Improving communication performance.
Regarding claim 8 limitations of parent claim 7 have been discussed above.
determining the predetermined offset value according to an agreement or a predetermined rule.
Because claim 8 recites “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Tang teaches determining the predetermined offset value(first offset / second offset ) according to a predetermined rule (a preset calculation rule) .
(“the network device may determine the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal relative to the reference resource location for each carrier or cell or bandwidth portion that can be used for the terminal, and indicate the offset.”[page 18] “the preset calculation rule for determining the first offset may be the same as the preset calculation rule for determining the second offset.”[page 17] “Determining the second offset according to the carrier or cell or bandwidth part information of the second carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part and/or the terminal information of the terminal, including: Pre-set calculation using carrier or cell or bandwidth partial information and/or terminal information as input The second offset is determined by a rule, and carrier or cell or bandwidth portion information of the second carrier or cell or bandwidth portion and/or terminal information of the terminal… the terminal information is a terminal identifier ID… the carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part information is a carrier or a cell or a bandwidth part identifier ID. ”[page 9])
Regarding claim 10 limitations of parent claim 7 have been discussed above. Tang teaches
sending first indication information (first information) to the terminal, the first indication information indicate indicating the predetermined offset value (first offset).
(“first offset corresponding to the first carrier or a cell or a bandwidth part”[page 24] “the first information is carried by a common control signaling, a radio resource control RRC signaling, or a downlink control Information in the DCI” [page 7] “the network device sends first information to the terminal, where the first information is used to indicate the first offset corresponding to the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth portion.”[page 19]
Regarding claim 11 limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed above.
wherein the first indication information (first information) indicates one or more predetermined offset values (first offset).
(“the network device sends first information to the terminal, where the first information is used to indicate the first offset corresponding to the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth portion.”[page 17] “The communication unit 620 is configured to: send the first information and the second information to the terminal, where the first information is used to indicate the first offset corresponding to the first carrier or a cell or a bandwidth part,”[page 24])
Regarding claim 12 limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above.
sending second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information indicates at least one of: a correspondence relationship between each cell and a predetermined offset value, a correspondence relationship between each cell group and a predetermined offset value, a correspondence relationship between each carrier and a predetermined offset value, or a correspondence relationship between each carrier group and a predetermined offset value.
Because claim 12 recites “at least one of ” the listed correspondence relationships and uses “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Tang teaches sending second indication information (the second information) to the terminal, wherein the second indication information (the second information) indicates at least one of: a correspondence relationship between each cell and a predetermined offset value (second offset), a correspondence relationship between each carrier and a predetermined offset value (second offset).
(“the network device sends second information to the terminal, where the second information is used to indicate the second offset corresponding to the second carrier or the cell or the bandwidth portion.”[page 17] “the network device may determine the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal relative to the reference resource location for each carrier or cell or bandwidth portion that can be used for the terminal, and indicate the offset. To the terminal, so that the network device and the terminal can perform PDCCH transmission on each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part according to the offset corresponding to each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part, thereby improving resource utilization in configuring and using resources of the PDCCH. Flexibility, which improves communication performance.”[page 18])
Regarding claim 15,
Tang teaches A terminal, comprising: a processors and a memory having stored a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: determine, according to a predetermined offset value (first offset) , location information (CORESET or a search space/ PDCCH candidate location) of a control resource corresponding to control information to be detected (blind detection of the PDCCH)
(“a terminal is provided, including a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor, the memory, and the transceiver communicate with each other through an internal connection path, transmitting control and/or data signals, such that the terminal performs any of the possible implementations…a computer readable medium is provided for storing a computer program, the computer program comprising instructions for performing any one of the methods described above or any possible implementation.”[page 13] “the terminal may be for each carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part. Determining the offset of the CORESET or the search space of the terminal with respect to the reference resource position, respectively, so that the network device and the terminal can implement the transmission and reception of the PDCCH according to the determined offset” [page 20] “Specifically, the terminal may determine a CORESET or a search space on the first carrier or the cell or the bandwidth part according to the first offset, and perform blind detection of the PDCCH on the PDCCH candidate location included in the CORESET or the search space.”[page 17])
Tang fails to teach the control information being configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell or multi- carrier. However Takeda1 teaches the control information (DCI) being used configured to schedule data transmission of multi-cell (first serving cell and second serving cell ) or multi-carrier (joint carrier scheduling scheme)
( “the number (s) of the PDCCH candidates per aggregation level for nonfallback DCI formats with the CIF value corresponding to scheduling PDSCHs on multiple serving cells (CIF = 2) is configured by the RRC signaling.” [page 14] “The N includes the number of downlink cells and the number of set (s) of downlink cells where data can be scheduled by one DCI.” [page 16] “configuring a joint carrier scheduling scheme using a downlink control information (DCI) , wherein in the joint carrier scheduling scheme causes a first data to be communicated on a first shared channel associated with a first serving cell and second data to be communicated on a second shared channel associated with a second serving cell”[page 21])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda1’s use of a single DCI to schedule data for multiple cells/carriers with Tang’s PDCCH control resource/search space location according to a predetermined offset, to reduce control signaling overhead and improve scheduling efficiency, with the predictable result of determining an offset based control resource location for control information that schedules multiple cells/carriers. Improving communication performance.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 reflects a network device for implementing method in claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale. Tang teaches (“a network device is provided, including a processor, a memory, and a transceiver” [page 13])
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. (“a terminal is provided, including a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor, the memory, and the transceiver communicate with each other through an internal connection path, transmitting control and/or data signals, such that the terminal performs any of the possible implementations…a computer readable medium is provided for storing a computer program, the computer program comprising instructions for performing any one of the methods described above or any possible implementation.”[page 13]
Regarding claim 21, Limitations of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 21 reflects device for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 22, Limitations of parent claim 21 have been discussed above. Claim 22 reflects device for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 23, Limitations of parent claim 22 have been discussed above. Claim 23 reflects device for implementing method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 24, Limitations of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 24 reflects device for implementing method in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 9, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang and Takeda1 , and further in view of Takeda et al. WO 2016163504 A1 (hereinafter Takeda2).
Regarding claim 6 limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above.
wherein the predetermined rule comprises any one of: determining a value of a carrier indication field (CIF) of a cell with a smallest identification value among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a largest identification value among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a smallest identification value among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a largest identification value among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a lowest frequency domain location among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a lowest frequency domain location among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a highest frequency domain location among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
or determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a highest frequency domain location among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value.
Because claim 6 recites “at least one of ” the listed correspondence relationships and uses “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Takeda2 teaches A method and device compromising
determining a value of a carrier indication field (CIF) of a cell with a smallest identification value (secondary cell index (SCellIndex)) among the multi-cell (component carriers) as the predetermined offset value (n CI value);
(“the user terminal may set the search space of the component carrier having the smallest secondary cell index (SCellIndex) among the component carriers having the same DCI format type and payload… a search space of CC # 0 having the smallest cell index between component carriers having the same transmission mode and bandwidth”[page 10] “n CI value may be determined to be equivalent to the value of the CIF or serving cell index” [page 11] “The user terminal performs blind decoding of the user terminal specific search space based on these n CI values.”[page 11])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda2’s teaching of selecting the cell having the smallest cell index and using an nCI value corresponding to the CIF/serving cell index for search space determination with Tang and Takeda1’s modified PDCCH control resource/search space location according to a predetermined offset, to provide a constant rule for selecting the offset value among multiple cells, with the predictable result of using the CIF associated with the smallest index cell as the predetermined offset value for determining the control resource location. Improving communication performance.
Regarding claim 9 limitations of parent claim 8 have been discussed above.
wherein the predetermined rule comprises any one of: determining a value of a carrier indication field (CIF) of a cell with a smallest identification value among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a largest identification value among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value; determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a smallest identification value among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a largest identification value among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value; determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a lowest frequency domain location among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value; determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a lowest frequency domain location among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value;
determining a value of a CIF of a cell with a highest frequency domain location among the multi-cell as the predetermined offset value;
or determining a value of a CIF of a carrier with a highest frequency domain location among the multi-carrier as the predetermined offset value.
Because claim 9 recites “at least one of ” the listed correspondence relationships and uses “or”, the examiner interprets the recited limitations as alternative embodiments.
Takeda2 teaches A method and device compromising
determining a value of a carrier indication field (CIF) of a cell with a smallest identification value (secondary cell index (SCellIndex)) among the multi-cell (component carriers) as the predetermined offset value (n CI value);
(“the user terminal may set the search space of the component carrier having the smallest secondary cell index (SCellIndex) among the component carriers having the same DCI format type and payload… a search space of CC # 0 having the smallest cell index between component carriers having the same transmission mode and bandwidth”[page 10] “n CI value may be determined to be equivalent to the value of the CIF or serving cell index” [page 11] “The user terminal performs blind decoding of the user terminal specific search space based on these n CI values.”[page 11])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda2’s teaching of selecting the cell having the smallest cell index and using an nCI value corresponding to the CIF/serving cell index for search space determination with Tang and Takeda1’s modified PDCCH control resource/search space location according to a predetermined offset, to provide a constant rule for selecting the offset value among multiple cells, with the predictable result of using the CIF associated with the smallest index cell as the predetermined offset value for determining the control resource location. Improving communication performance.
Regarding claim 25, Limitations of parent claim 24 have been discussed above. Claim 25 reflects device for implementing method in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feng et al (US 20170195999 A1 paragraphs [0036] [0038] ) is pertinent to CIF/nCI based serving cell and PDCCH search space determination.
OH et al (US 20220110148 A1 paragraph [0198]) is pertinent to cross carrier scheduling using a serving cell index and CIF value.
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646