DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, Applicant recites “the through hole”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the limitation for this claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11, 13-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Biecker (US 2026/0158994).
Regarding claim 1, Biecker discloses a glazed assembly comprising: a glazing (generally 6,20; see Fig. 2) for a motor vehicle comprising a sheet of organic or inorganic glass having a first main face (lower face of 20, see Fig. 2) and a second opposite face (upper surface of 20 having light extraction means 32), light injection means (at least 18) in the glass sheet, the injection means comprising a light source 18, at least part of the light generated by the light source being injected into the glass sheet to propagate by reflection between the first and second main faces until reaching light extraction means 32, and an opaque material 22 in continuous and direct contact with the first main face and positioned between the light injection means 18 and the light extraction means 32 (see at least Figure 2 and paras [0053]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazed assembly comprises means (at least 10) for retaining the opaque material against the first main face by compression (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the retentions means 10 comprises a retaining element having a first arm (horizontal arm with layer 24, see Fig. 2) and second arm (collective arm with layer 22 and light source 18 with piece 14 connected thereto) connected by an arm (vertical arm joining first and second arm), the first retention arm being attached in abutment against the first main face of the glass sheet on the side opposite the opaque material (see Fig. 2) with respect to the light source, the light source 18 and the opaque material 22 being attached to the second retaining arm.
Regarding claim 7, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source 18 is arranged at least partially in a through hole of the glass sheet (6,20; see Fig. 2; space of 6,20 that receives light source 18 can be designated through hole), and the light source being at a distance from the walls of the hole (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazing (6,20) is a monolithic glazing, the first main face being face F1 (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazing (6,20) is a laminated glazing comprising two sheets of glass, and outer sheet (see top sheet of 6,20; Fig. 2) and an inner sheet 20, separated by an interlayer film (see middle layer, Fig. 2) the first main face being face F4 (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 10, and further discloses wherein the through hole is made in the inner sheet 20 (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the glazing 6,20 comprises a functional layer (see Fig. 2, all layers of 6,20 serve a function).
Regarding claim 13, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source 18 comprises one or more illuminating modules, each illuminating module comprising one or more light emitting diodes (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein light injection is achieved by direct optical coupling between the light source 18 and the glazing 6,20 (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Biecker discloses a method of manufacturing a glazed assembly, comprising providing a glazing (generally 6,20) for a motor vehicle comprising an organic or mineral glass sheet having a first main face (lower surface of 20, see Fig. 2) and a second opposite main face (upper surface of 20 having light extraction means 32), arranging light injection means (at least 18) in the glass sheet, the injection means comprising a light source 18, at least part of the light generated by the light source being injected into the glass sheet to propagate by reflection between the first and second main faces until reaching light extraction means 32, and positioning, between the light injection means 18 and the light extraction means 32, an opaque material 22 in continuous and direct contact with the first main face (see at least Figure 2 and paras [0053]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 17, Biecker discloses the limitations of claim 16, and further comprises arranging retention means (at least 10) by compressing the opaque material 22 against the first main face (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Biecker discloses a method comprising providing a glazed assembly according to claim 1 in a motor vehicle (see at least paras [0001] and [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Biecker discloses a motor vehicle comprising a glazed assembly according to claim 1 (see at least paras [0001] and [0056]).
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matzushima et al (US 2024/0393525).
Regarding claim 1, Matzushima discloses a glazed assembly comprising: a glazing (generally 3; see Fig. 7) for a motor vehicle comprising a sheet of organic or inorganic glass having a first main face 24 and a second opposite face 23, light injection means (at least 16) in the glass sheet, the injection means comprising a light source 16, at least part of the light generated by the light source being injected into the glass sheet to propagate by reflection between the first and second main faces until reaching light extraction means 42, and an opaque material 36 in continuous and direct contact with the first main face and positioned between the light injection means 16 and the light extraction means 42 (see at least Figure 7 and paras [0082]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 2, Matzushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazed assembly comprises means (at least 33) for retaining the opaque material 36 against the first main face by compression (see at least Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Matzushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source 16 is arranged opposite the first main face, in contact with or at a distance from the first main face 24, at least part of the light generated by the light source 16 being incident on the first main face so as to pass through the glass sheet to leave it at the second main face, the light injection means further comprising a light redirection element 41 arranged at the second main face and configured so that light leaving the second main face and coming into contact with said redirection element 41 is reflected in the glass sheet (see at least Fig. 7 and para [0088]).
Regarding claim 7, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source 18 is arranged at least partially in a through hole of the glass sheet (6,20; see Fig. 2; space of 6,20 that receives light source 18 can be designated through hole), and the light source being at a distance from the walls of the hole (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazing 3 is a monolithic glazing, the first main face being face F1 (see at least Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the glazing 3 is a laminated glazing comprising two sheets of glass, and outer sheet 11 and an inner sheet 12, separated by an interlayer film 13 the first main face being face F4 (see at least Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the glazing 3 comprises a functional layer (see at least Fig.7, all layers 11,12,13 serve a function).
Regarding claim 12, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the outer sheet 11 is tinted or the interlayer film 13 is tinted at least in sections (tinted in sections via element 41, see at least Fig. 7 and para [0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source 16 comprises one or more illuminating modules, each illuminating module comprising one or more light emitting diodes (see at least Fig. 7 and para [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein light injection is achieved by means of an optical system (at least 15) configured to perform optical function from the light generated by the light source 18 (see at least Fig. 7 and para [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the opaque material 36 is an elastic material (see at least paras [0081]-[0082]; at least silicone and urethane can be elastic).
Regarding claim 16, Mazushima discloses a method of manufacturing a glazed assembly, comprising providing a glazing 3 for a motor vehicle comprising an organic or mineral glass sheet having a first main face 24 and a second opposite main face 23, arranging light injection means (at least 16) in the glass sheet, the injection means comprising a light source 16, at least part of the light generated by the light source being injected into the glass sheet to propagate by reflection between the first and second main faces until reaching light extraction means 42, and positioning, between the light injection means 16 and the light extraction means 42, an opaque material 36 in continuous and direct contact with the first main face (see at least Figure 7 and paras [0082]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 17, Mazushima discloses the limitations of claim 16, and further comprises arranging retention means (at least 33) by compressing the opaque material 36 against the first main face (see at least Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Mazushima discloses a method comprising providing a glazed assembly according to claim 1 in a motor vehicle (see at least paras [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, Mazushima discloses a motor vehicle comprising a glazed assembly according to claim 1 (see at least paras [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzushima et al (US 2024/0393525).
Regarding claim 6, Matzushima does not specifically teach that the light redirection element 41 be provided with a plurality of reflective surfaces in the form of inclined surfaces. However, light redirection elements having a plurality of reflective surfaces in the form of inclined surfaces is well-known in the art (Official Notice). Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the light redirection element in Matzushima as a plurality of reflective surfaces in the form of inclined surfaces in order to reduce manufacturing parts and costs by etching or engraving reflection surfaces at surface 22 without requiring a separate redirection element 41 while achieving the same objective of light redirection and efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Biecker discloses a support element 10 comprising a first face to which the light source 18 is attached and a second opposite face, the opaque material 22 being attached to the first face of the support element (see at least Fig. 2), and a retaining element 8 comprising a first and a second arm (see Fig. 2, first long arm extending parallel to roof 38 and short second arm 12) connected together by an arm (middle section arm of 8), the second retaining arm 12 being attached in abutment against the second face of the support element 10. However, Biecker does not teach or suggest that the first retaining arm be attached in abutment against the first main face of the glass sheet (6,20) on the side opposite the opaque material with respect to the light source. Accordingly, the claim is deemed allowable. Claim 20 is allowable in that it is dependent on, and further limits claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Verrat-Debailleul et al US 2011/0267833 (LED module for vehicle roof)
/SEAN P GRAMLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875