DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the sliding portion formed in the rolling portion” (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: for claim 3, a starting point upon which a second height of a second central axis and a third height of a third central axis is measured from. For claim 5, a starting point upon which a fourth height of a fourth central axis and a fifth height of a fifth central axis is measured from.
Regarding claim 13, The term “loosely” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “loosely” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. US 9,126,248 B2. US 9,126,248 B2 is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Jeong patent.
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses an asymmetric rolling apparatus comprising a first work roll (Jeong – 101; FIG. 2b) contacting a first surface of a material to be rolled (Jeong – 104a; FIG. 2b); a second work roll (Jeong – 102; FIG. 2b) contacting a second surface of the material to be rolled (Jeong – 104b; FIG. 2b) and having a second radius greater than a first radius of the first work roll so as to asymmetrically roll the material to be rolled (See Jeong FIG. 2b); a drive roll (Jeong – 103; FIG. 2b ) contacting the first work roll (Jeong – 101) and formed above or below the first work roll (Jeong – 101) so as to drive the first work roll (Jeong – 101); a driving device (Jeong – 107, 106, 108; FIG 2a) driving the second work roll (Jeong – 102); and a cassette device (Jeong – 110, 111) contacting the first work roll (Jeong – 101) so as not to interfere with a linear movement path of the material to be rolled and supporting the first work roll (Jeong – 101) in a longitudinal direction of the material (See Jeong FIG. 2a).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus, wherein the driving device drives each of the drive roll (Jeong – 106; FIG. 2a) and the second work roll (Jeong – 107) so that a first rotational linear velocity of the first work roll (Jeong – 101) is the same as a second rotational linear velocity of the second work roll (Jeong – 102)(Jeong Col. 5, Lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus, wherein the driving device (Jeong – 107; FIG. 2a) drives the drive roll (Jeong – 103) and the second work roll (Jeong – 102) at the same rotational angular velocity (Jeong Col. 5, Lines 3-9), and a fourth radius of the drive roll (Jeong – 103) and the second radius of the second work roll (Jeong – 102) are the same as each other so that the first rotational linear velocity of the first work roll (Jeong – 101) is the same as the second rotational linear velocity of the second work roll (Jeong – 102)(Jeong Col. 5, Lines 22-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jeong et al in view of Okochi et al. JP H09108714 A. JP H09108714 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Okochi patent.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the cassette device (Jeong – 110,111) includes a cassette body (Jeong – 111) supporting the first work roll (Jeong – 101) so as to rotate freely. Jeong fails to disclose a first idle roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first work roll and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll so as to support the first work roll in a longitudinal direction of the material.
Okochi teaches a first idle roll (Okochi – 15a; FIG. 6) formed on the cassette body (Okochi – 16, FIG. 7) so as to rotate freely, contacting the first work roll (Okochi – 13; FIG. 7) and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll (Okochi – 13) so as to support the first work roll in a longitudinal direction of the material (Okochi FIG. 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong, to include an idle roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first work roll and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll, as taught by Okochi, so as to restrain the movement of the work roll in the rolling direction (Okochi Para [0051], Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 2 rejection above), however, Jeong fails to disclose wherein the first idle roll includes a 1-1 idle roll formed at the front of the first work roll, and of which, a second height of a second central axis is formed to be the same as a first height of a first central axis of the first work roll; and a 1-2 idle roll formed at the back of the first work roll, and of which a third height of a third central axis is formed to be the same as the first height of the first central axis of the first work roll.
Okochi teaches a 1-1 idle roll formed at the front of the first work roll (Okochi – 15a; FIG. 7), and of which a second height of a second central axis is formed to be the same as a first height of a first central axis of the first work roll (See Okochi FIG. 12 below); and a 1-2 idle roll formed at the back of the first work roll (Okochi – 15a; FIG. 7), and of which a third height of a third central axis is formed to be the same as the first height of the first central axis of the first work roll (See Okochi FIG. 12 below).
Okochi FIG. 12
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 2 rejection above), however, Jeong fails to disclose wherein the cassette device further includes a first guide roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll, and formed at a front or at a back of the first idle roll so as to support the first idle roll in the longitudinal direction of the material or in a circumferential direction of the drive roll.
Okochi teaches a cassette device (Okochi – 16; FIG. 7) further includes a first guide roll (Okochi – 15b) formed on the cassette body (Okochi – 16) so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll (Okochi – 15a), and formed at a front or at a back of the first idle roll (Okochi – 15a)(Okochi FIG. 7) so as to support the first idle roll (Okochi – 15a) in the longitudinal direction of the material (Okochi FIG. 7) or in a circumferential direction of the drive roll (Okochi – 14; FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong, to include a guide roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll and formed at a front or a back of the first idle roll, as taught by Okochi, so as to reinforce the idle roll (See Okochi Para [0104], Lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 4 rejection above), however Jeong fails to disclose wherein the first guide roll includes a 1-1 guide roll formed at the front of the first work roll, and of which a fourth height of a fourth central axis is formed to be greater than a first height of a first central axis of the first work roll; and a 1-2 guide roll formed at the back of the first work roll, and of which a fifth height of a fifth central axis is formed to be greater than the first height of the first central axis of the first work roll.
Okochi teaches wherein the first guide roll (Okochi – 15b) include a 1-1 guide roll formed at the front of the first work roll (Okochi – 13)(Okochi FIG. 7), and of which a fourth height of a fourth central axis is formed to be greater than a first height of a first central axis of the first work roll (Okochi – 13)(See Okochi FIG. 6 below); and a 1-2 guide roll formed at the back of the first work roll (Okochi – 13)(Okochi FIG. 7), and of which a fifth height of a fifth central axis is formed to be greater than the first height of the first central axis of the first work roll (Okochi – 13)(See Okochi FIG. 6 below).
Okochi FIG. 6
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. in view of Okochi et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Watari JP H0719602 Y2. JP H0719602 Y2 is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Watari patent.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong in view of Okochi discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 4 rejection above), comprised of a cassette device. However, Jeong fails to disclose wherein the cassette device further includes a plurality of push roll units formed at a push bar installed at a front or a back of the cassette body and disposed at a certain interval so as to support at least one of the first work roll, the first idle roll, and the first guide roll in the longitudinal direction of the material or in the circumferential direction of the drive roll.
Watari teaches the cassette device further includes a plurality of push roll units (Watari – 4; FIG. 1) formed at a push bar (Watari – 7; FIG. 1) installed at a back of the cassette body (Watari – 2; FIG. 1) and disposed at a certain interval so as to support at least the first guide roll (Watari – 5) in the longitudinal direction of the material (Watari – FIG. 1) or in the circumferential direction of the drive roll (Watari – 11)(Watari FIG. 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cassette device of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong in view of Okochi, to include a plurality of push roll units formed at a push bar installed at a front or back of the cassette body, as taught by Watari, so as to press and support the work roll from a horizontal direction (Watari Description Page 1, 1st Paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong in view of Okochi discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 6 rejection above), however, Jeong in view of Okochi fails to disclose wherein the push roll unit includes at least one push roll rolling and rotating in contact with any one of the first work roll, the first idle roll, and the first guide roll; a movable base supporting the push roll so as to rotate freely; and a movable base forward-backward device installed at the push bar and moving the movable base forward and backward.
Watari teaches a push roll unit includes at least one push roll (Watari – 4) rolling and rotating in contact with the first guide roll (Watari – 5); a movable base (Watari – 13; FIG. 1) supporting the push roll (Watari – 4) so as to rotate freely (Watari Description Page 4, Line 2); and a movable base forward-backward device (Watari – 12; FIG. 1) installed at the push bar (Watari – 7; FIG. 1) and moving the movable base forward and backward (Watari Description Page 3, Last Paragraph).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. in view of Okochi et al. and Watari as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Honjo et al. JP 62118933 A. JP 62118933 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Honjo patent.
Regarding claim 8, Jeong in view of Okochi and Watari discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 7 rejection above), wherein the movable base forward-backward device (Watari – 12) includes a driving device comprising of a hydraulic cylinder (Watari – 12b) and a plurality of push rolls (Watari – 4). Jeong in view of Okochi and Watari fails to disclose the asymmetric rolling apparatus wherein the movable base forward-backward device includes a control unit applying a control signal to the driving device so that pressing force of the plurality of push rolls is uniform.
Honjo teaches a control unit (Honjo – 26; FIG. 1) applying a control signal to the driving device (Honjo – 19,20; FIG. 1) so that pressing force of the push rolls (Honjo – 12) is uniform (Honjo Description Para [0001], Paragraph 2, Lines 6-8: a calculation control device 26 is provided that controls the pressure regulating valve 25 installed in the hydraulic piping 24 of the hydraulic cylinders 19 and 20 based on the detected stroke amount signal 22; Para [0001], Paragraph 3, Lines 1-2: the pressing force of the presser roll 12 is controlled by the pressure control of the hydraulic cylinders 19 and 20.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable base forward-backward device of the asymmetric rolling apparatus as disclosed by Jeong in view of Okochi and Watari, to include a control unit to apply a control signal to the driving device to have the plurality of push rolls apply a uniform pressing force, as taught by Honjo, so as to have a means to control the pressing force of the pushing rolls against the work roll (See Honjo Para [0001] Lines 20-21: control device is provided that controls the pressing force of the pressing roll on the slab material).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watari in view of Okochi et al.. Regarding claim 18, Watari discloses a cassette device including a cassette body (Watari – 2); and a plurality of push roll units (Watari – 4) formed at a push bar (Watari – 7) installed at a front of a cassette body (Watari – 7) and disposed at a certain interval so as to support the first guide roll (Watari – 5) in the longitudinal direction of the material (Watari – FIG. 1) or in the circumferential direction of the drive roll (Watari -FIG. 2). Watari fails to disclose a first idle roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting a first work roll and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll so as to support the first work roll in a longitudinal direction of the material; a first guide roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll, and formed at a front or at a back of the first idle roll so as to support the first idle roll in the longitudinal direction of the material or in a circumferential direction of a drive roll.
Okochi teaches a first idle roll (Okochi – 15a) formed on the cassette body (Okochi – 6) so as to rotate freely, contacting a first work roll (Okochi – 13) and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll (Okochi – 13) in a longitudinal direction of the material (Okochi FIG. 7) (Okochi Description Para [0104], 3rd Paragraph, Lines 12-13); a first guide roll (Okochi – 15b) formed on the cassette body (Okochi – 6) so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll (Okochi – 15a), and formed at a front or at a back of the first idle roll (Okachi – 15a) so as to support the first idle roll (Okochi – 15a) in the longitudinal direction of the material (Okochi Description Para [0104], 3rd Paragraph, Lines 13-14) or in a circumferential direction of a drive roll (Okochi – 14)(Okochi FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong, to include an idle roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first work roll and formed at a front or a back of the first work roll, and a as taught by Okochi, so as to restrain the movement of the work roll in the rolling direction (Okochi Para [0051], Lines 6-8), and include a guide roll formed on the cassette body so as to rotate freely, contacting the first idle roll and formed at a front or a back of the first idle roll, as taught by Okochi, so as to reinforce the idle roll (See Okochi Para [0104], Lines 14-15).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tao CN 110883094 A. CN 110883094 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Tao patent.
Regarding claim 11, Jeong discloses the first work roll (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the first work roll (Jeong – 101) includes a rolling portion contacting the material to be rolled so as to roll the material to be rolled (Jeong Col. 4, Lines 48-50). However, Jeong fails to disclose the first work roll wherein the first work roll includes: a joint portion formed in the rolling portion so that the rolling portion is joint-moved articulated in the longitudinal direction of the material; and a sliding portion formed in the rolling portion so that the rolling portion slides in an axial direction while rotating.
Tao teaches a joint portion (See Tao FIG. 3 below) formed in the rolling portion (Tao – 7, FIG. 1) so that the rolling portion (Tao – 7, FIG. 1) is joint-moved articulated in the longitudinal direction of the material; and a sliding portion (Tao – 5, FIG. 1) formed in the rolling portion (Tao – 7, FIG. 1) so that the rolling portion (Tao – 7, FIG. 1) slides in an axial direction while rotating (See Tao FIG. 1).
Tao FIG. 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first working roll of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong, to include a joint portion and a sliding portion formed in the rolling portion, as taught by Tao, so as to make convenient and rapid adjustment of the overall shape of the rolling device to meet the needs of rolling a variety of shaped material during the rolling process (See Tao Para [0015]: The design of this invention enables convenient and rapid adjustment of the overall shape of the continuous rolling device, meeting the needs of producing various slab shapes during slab rolling.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. in view of Tao CN 110883094 A as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Harris ES 2211999 T3. ES 2211999 T3 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Harris patent.
Regarding claim 12, Jeong in view of Tao fails to disclose wherein the joint portion is formed by selecting at least one of a joint ball, an angular contact bearing, and combinations thereof, which is installed in a shaft hole portion concavely formed at an end portion of the rolling portion. Harris, teaches wherein the joint portion (Harris – 20, FIG. 3) is formed by selecting at least one of a joint ball (Harris – 20, FIG. 3), which is installed in a shaft hole portion concavely (Harris – 22, FIG. 3) formed at an end portion of the rolling portion (Harris – 10, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first working roll of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong in view of Tao, to include a joint ball installed in a shaft hole portion concavely formed at an end portion of the rolling portion, as taught by Harris, so as to allow a certain degree of lateral rotation (See Harris Page 4, Paragraph 3: The coupling of the concave and convex parts of the bearing allows a certain degree of lateral rotation).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joeng et al. in view of Okochi et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Maust et al. US 3,398,022, Pan et al. CN 204018375 U, and Park KR 200464444 Y1. US 3,398,022 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Maust patent; CN 204018375 U is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Pan patent; and KR 200464444 Y1 is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Park patent.
Regarding claim 16, Jeong in view of Okochi discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus comprising the first guide roll contacting the first idle roll (Okochi – 15b, 15a)(see claim 4 rejection above), however, Jeong in view of Okochi fails to disclose wherein the first guide roll includes: a contact portion in which at least one rolling oil injecting groove portion is formed and contacting the first idle roll; a shaft portion in which one end portion is fixed to a cassette body and the other end portion is inserted into a concave portion concavely formed at an end portion of the contact portion; and at least one self-aligning bearing formed between the contact portion and the shaft portion so that a rotation center of the contact portion is aligned and rotated.
Maust teaches a guide roll including a contact portion in which at least one rolling groove portion (Maust – 29,33,34,48) is formed and contacting another roll (See FIGS. 1,3 &5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first guide roll of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong in view of Okochi, to include a rolling groove portion, as taught by Maust, wherein the groove portion allows oil to collect within the groove (See Maust Col 3, Lines 2-3;7-8)
Pan teaches a shaft portion (Pan – 61; FIG. 1) in which one end portion is fixed to a cassette body (Pan – 3; FIG. 1) and the other end portion is inserted into a concave portion (Pan – 62; FIG. 1) concavely formed at an end portion of the contact portion (Pan – 6; FIG. 1)(See Pan FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first guide roll of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong in view of Okochi, to include a shaft portion having an end portion inserted into a concave portion concavely formed at an end portion of the contact portion, as taught by Pan, so as to provide an adjustable rolling apparatus, wherein the roll and its length are adjustable (See Pan Para [0009]: The adjustable connection shaft between the roll body and the adjustable roll allows for the adjustment of the roll and its length, making the roll and the adjustable roll suitable for different machine models.).
Park teaches a bearing formed between a concave portion (Park – 11; FIG. 4) contact portion and a shaft portion (See Park FIG. 4 below). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first guide roll of the asymmetric rolling apparatus disclosed by Jeong in view of Okochi, to include a bearing formed between the contact portion and the shaft portion, as taught by Park, so as to provide a means for rotating the work roll (Park Claims Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong in view of Okochi, Maust, Pan, and Park discloses the asymmetric rolling apparatus (See claim 16 rejection above), wherein the rolling groove portion includes a circumferential linear groove portion (Maust – 29,33,34,48) formed in a ring-type linear groove shape along a circumference of the contact portion (See Maust FIGS. 1,3 & 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
D.N.I.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725