DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites “an imaging unit that includes, in an imaging range, an operator of a money handling transaction apparatus and surroundings of the operator”. It is suggested to replace “includes” with “images” to avoid ambiguity.
Claim 1 and dependent claims recite “an operator” and/or “a person”. It’s not clear if these two terms are interchangeable. Clarification is required. Claim 10 has similar issue.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim no.
112(f) elements
Corresponding structure (PGPub)
Associated algorithm (PGPub)
1
an imaging unit that includes …
FIG. 2; [0040] “The imaging unit 23 is a camera …”
1
a posture detection unit that detects …
FIG. 2; para [0048] “CPU”.
Para. 0049, 0066, 0083
1/2/4/5/18
2/4/5
5
19
a determination unit that determines …
… uses
… compares, identifies
… measures and records
FIG. 2; para [0048] “CPU”.
FIG. 5-6; Para. 0050-0055, 0067-0068, 0084-0088, 0090, 0092, 0096, 0115-0116
1/3/6/7/9/11/17
2
16
18
an instruction unit … generates …
… uses
… registers
… switches
FIG. 2; para [0048] “CPU”.
FIG. 4; para. 0056-0063, 0069-0081, 0089, 0091, 0093-0095, 0110-0111, 0115, 0119, 0122, 0124, 0134-0135, 0156
11/12/13/14
12/13
15
an estimation
unit that estimates
… determines
… stores
FIG. 10 #21d”; para [0048] “CPU”. Para. [0099] “The behavior estimation unit 21d, the facial expression detection unit 21e, and the object detection unit 21f are included in the monitoring and control unit 21’.
Para. 0100-0102, 0105-0109, 0125
13
a facial expression detection unit that detects
FIG. 10 #21e”; para [0048] “CPU”. Para. [0099] “The behavior estimation unit 21d, the facial expression detection unit 21e, and the object detection unit 21f are included in the monitoring and control unit 21’.
Para. 0103, 0151
17
an object detection unit that detects
FIG. 10 #21f”; para [0048] “CPU”. Para. [0099] “The behavior estimation unit 21d, the facial expression detection unit 21e, and the object detection unit 21f are included in the monitoring and control unit 21’.
Para. 0112-0113
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis for claim 10 is provided in the following. Claim 10 is reproduced in the following (annotation added):
10. A monitoring method causing a monitoring apparatus to perform:
(a) an imaging step of imaging an operator of a money handling transaction apparatus, and surroundings of the operator;
(b) a posture detection step of detecting a joint position related to a skeleton in an image of a person included in an imaging result of the imaging step;
(c) a determination step of determining a motion of the person, based on a detection result of the posture detection step; and
(d) an instruction step of generating an instruction that indicates a response to the person, based on a determination result of the determination step,
(e) wherein the determination step determines the motion of the person by comparing the detection result of the posture detection step with operator motion pattern data that is defined in advance about a motion of the operator, and the instruction step refers to instruction pattern data that associates the motion with the instruction, and generates the instruction.
Step 1: Evaluating whether the claim belongs to one of the statutory categories.
Claim 10 recites a method. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One: Evaluating whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If no exception is recited, the claim is eligible. This concludes the eligibility analysis. If the claim recites an exception, go to Step 2A Prong Two.
Claim 10 steps (b), (c) and (d) in combination with information in (e) can be practically performed in the human mind. These concepts fall into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas, which is observation, evaluation and/or judgment. The limitations, interpreted under their broadest reasonable interpretation and in consistent with the specification, cover performance of the limitations in the mind or by generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.04 and the 2019 PEG. (Step 2A Prong One YES)
Step 2A Prong Two: Evaluating whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. If the answer to (a) is YES and (b) is NO, go to Step 2B; if the answer to (a) and (b) is YES, go to PATHWAY B, i.e., the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and the claim is eligible.
In claim 10, step (a) is considered additional elements, which is data gathering, an insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 10 further recites “a monitoring apparatus” for performing the method. Note the monitoring apparatus is merely recited as a tool to perform the mental processes, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (Step 2A Prong Two NO).
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim.
In claim 10, step (a) is considered additional elements, which is data gathering, an insignificant extra-solution activity. Data gathering is well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known to the industry. Claim 10 further recites “a monitoring apparatus” at a high level of generality. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d) (Step 2B: NO). Claim 10 is not eligible.
Claim 1, an independent apparatus claim, recites similar steps as recited in claim 10. However, in claim 1 “an imaging unit”, “a posture detection unit”, “a determination unit”, “an instruction unit” and associated function are interpreted as invoking 35 USC 112 (f) claim interpretation. The corresponding structure of “a posture detection unit”, “a determination unit” and “an instruction unit” disclosed in the spec is para. [0048] “CPU”, i.e., a general purpose computer. To claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function and then to disclose only a general purpose computer as the structure designed to perform that function amounts to pure functional claiming. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d 1328 at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. In this instance, the structure corresponding to a 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation for a computer-implemented function must include the algorithm needed to transform the general purpose computer or microprocessor disclosed in the specification (See MPEP 2181 II (B)). As described in the specification and designated above, the algorithms disclosed in the following paras. are related to the above units: para. 0049-0063, 0066-0081, 0083-0096, 0110-0111, 0115-0116, 0119, 0122, 0124, 0134-0135 and 0156. These paragraphs describe a specific manner of detecting a skeleton of a person, determining a motion of the person, and generating instructions based on the determination result, therefore provide improvements to the functioning of a computer, and apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Claim 1 is eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOSHIDA et al. (US 20240420506 A1, hereafter YOSHIDA).
As per claim 10, YOSHIDA teaches a monitoring method (Abstract; FIG. 2) causing a monitoring apparatus (Abstract) to perform:
an imaging step (FIG. 3 #300; FIG. 11 S400) of imaging an operator of a money handling transaction apparatus, and surroundings of the operator (FIG. 3; para. [0048] “The user U operates the display panel of the fuel filler 50 to select a payment method (for example, cash or credit card) …”; para. [0058]);
a posture detection step of detecting a joint position related to a skeleton in an image of a person included in an imaging result of the imaging step (FIG. 5; FIG. 11 S404; para. [0077] “… the extraction unit 107 extracts skeleton information of at least a part of the body of the person based on features such as joints of the person recognized in the body image using a skeleton estimation technique using machine learning. The skeleton information is information including a “key point” that is a characteristic point such as a joint and a “bone (bone link)” indicating a link between the key points”; FIG. 5; para. [0097]);
a determination step of determining a motion of the person, based on a detection result of the posture detection step (FIG. 11 S405, S406; para. [0098] “The server 100 compares such skeleton information with registration skeleton information corresponding to the entire body, and determines whether the skeleton information and the registration skeleton information are similar to each other, thereby specifying each motion”); and
an instruction step of generating an instruction that indicates a response to the person, based on a determination result of the determination step (FIG. 11 S408, S409; para. [0092]), wherein
the determination step determines the motion of the person by comparing the detection result of the posture detection step with operator motion pattern data that is defined in advance about a motion of the operator (FIG. 7 showing motion registration process; FIG. 8-9 showing registered motions and motion sequences; FIG. 11 S407; para. [0098] “The server 100 compares such skeleton information with registration skeleton information corresponding to the entire body, and determines whether the skeleton information and the registration skeleton information are similar to each other, thereby specifying each motion”), and
the instruction step refers to instruction pattern data that associates the motion with the instruction, and generates the instruction (para. [0092] “As an example, a display mode (font, color, thickness, blinking, or the like of characters) in a case where the warning information is displayed may be changed according to the type of the attention motion sequence, or a volume or a sound itself in a case where the warning information is output by sound may be changed”; FIG. 10; para. [0109]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are allowed.
The following is Examiner’s reasons for identification of allowable subject matter.
In claim 1 “an imaging unit”, “a posture detection unit”, “a determination unit”, “an instruction unit” and associated function are interpreted as invoking 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation. The corresponding structure of “a posture detection unit”, “a determination unit” and “an instruction unit” is para [0048] “CPU”, i.e., a general purpose computer. To claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function and then to disclose only a general purpose computer as the structure designed to perform that function amounts to pure functional claiming. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d 1328 at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. In this instance, the structure corresponding to a 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation for a computer-implemented function must include the algorithm needed to transform the general purpose computer or microprocessor disclosed in the specification (See MPEP 2181 II (B)). As described in the specification and designated above, the algorithms disclosed in the following paragraphs are related to the above units: para. 0049-0063, 0066-0081, 0083-0096, 0110-0111, 0115-0116, 0119, 0122, 0124, 0134-0135 and 0156. Therefore, the corresponding algorithms in the above paragraphs are being read into the 112(f) elements. Prior art, either applied alone, or in combination with, does not teach each and every limitation as recited in claim 1 in view of 112f claim interpretation.
As per claim 1, the closest prior art includes YOSHIDA et al. (US 20240420506 A1, hereafter YOSHIDA). YOSHIDA teaches similar steps as presented above in claim 10 under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Additional art KAWAI et al. (US 20250029458 A1) discloses a method for detecting if a user who has visited an ATM is talking on a phone based on a captured image of a target area of the ATM (Abstract; FIG. 3). Specifically the method comprises: capturing image data of a user who is using an ATM, extracting skeleton data of the user from the captured image data, comparing the extracted skeleton with pre-registered skeleton data in a database, and if a match is found, determining that the user is making a phone call. See FIG. 3, 5 and 8, para. [0134]-[0137].
Prior art searched but not cited is recorded in PTO-892.
Contact
/XUEMEI G CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661