Application 18/875,024 — 35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections
Claims 1–20 | Examiner format | September 29, 2026
The following rejections apply claims 1–20 in the supplied December 13, 2024 claim document, checked against the corresponding published claim text of US 2025/0379635 A1. Each named reference is identified by its publication number below. The stated modifications and reasons are the examiner’s obviousness findings, not assertions that one document expressly discloses the combined sequence.
References used
Lo and Lee (US A1) — 2022-02-10. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20220046438A1/en
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) — 2018-03-01. https://patents.google.com/patent/WO2018038859A1/en
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) — 2020-10-08. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20200322940A1/en
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) — 2022-02-24. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20220060301A1/en
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) — 2020-04-02. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20200107327A1/en
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) — 2022-03-31. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20220104233A1/en
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) — 2021-07-08. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20210211176A1/en
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) — 2018-04-19. https://patents.google.com/patent/WO2018068260A1/en
Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1) — 2016-07-21. https://patents.google.com/patent/US20160212716A1/en
Verification
The nine references above were published before the asserted earliest August 8, 2022 priority date. The supplied December 13, 2024 claims 1–20 and dependencies remain the claim set used. The four-reference core is common to the independent claims; dependent-claim additions are identified in their respective rejection headings. No double-patenting rejection is included on the present verified record.
Claims 1, 9, 10, 16 — Lo and Lee, Luo et al., Pezeshki et al., Lin et al.
Claims 1, 9, 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) and further in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1).
Regarding claim 1,Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “An operation method of a first communication node, comprising:” (Fig. 8A; UE 110 and TRPs 120/130; apparatus description). The UE/first-TRP signaling operations are implemented by the communication apparatus. Pezeshki et al., Fig. 4, additionally identifies the UE and BS processors implementing beam-combination operations.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “receiving, from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TRP, information of one or more candidate beams of each of the first and second TRPs” (Fig. 8A; candidate-beam RS lists #0 and #1, RS #A0/#A2 and #A1/#A3).
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) does not disclose the first communication node forwarding one TRP’s candidate-beam information to the other TRP.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, information of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Fig. 12; [0120]–[0122], beam information for one link sent on the other link). Fig. 12 supplies transport of information for one TRP link over the other UE link. Substituting Lo and Lee’s candidate identifiers as the payload and implementing the reciprocal direction are the proposed modifications.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the second TRP, information of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP” (Fig. 12; [0120]–[0122]). Fig. 12 supplies transport of information for one TRP link over the other UE link. Substituting Lo and Lee’s candidate identifiers as the payload and implementing the reciprocal direction are the proposed modifications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use Luo et al.’s cross-link signaling to convey Lo and Lee’s candidate-beam identifiers in both directions, so each TRP has the other TRP’s candidate information for coordinated beam management.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) does not disclose cross-TRP pair selection and notification based on UE beam-combination feedback.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information of a first beam combination selected based on the information related to the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “wherein each of the one or more beam combinations is configured as a combination of one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP and one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to form pairs from the two exchanged candidate sets and select a pair using the UE feedback at the first TRP’s serving gNB, which already receives the joint report in Pezeshki et al., Fig. 13. This gives the coordinating point the information needed to avoid cross-beam interference and notify the UE of the selected pair.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) does not disclose a report of measurement values for each combination in a network-signaled reporting set.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information of one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, information related to first measurement values for each beam combination corresponding to each of the one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to configure Lin et al.’s reporting set with the cross-TRP candidate pairs of Pezeshki et al. and report a corresponding measurement for each configured pair. Lin et al. explains that reports for combinations enable the base station to choose a suitable transmission configuration. Measuring the configured pairs gives the first TRP comparable results before selection. The claim’s “each” applies to the signaled set; it does not require every mathematically possible pair.
Regarding claim 10, Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “An operation method of a first transmission and reception point (TRP), comprising:” (Fig. 8A; UE 110 and TRPs 120/130; apparatus description). The UE/first-TRP signaling operations are implemented by the communication apparatus. Pezeshki et al., Fig. 4, additionally identifies the UE and BS processors implementing beam-combination operations.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “configuring one or more candidate beams of the first TRP” (Fig. 8A, list #0 associated with TRP 120).
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “transmitting, to a first communication node, information of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP” (Fig. 8A, TRP 120 candidate list to UE 110).
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) does not disclose the first communication node forwarding one TRP’s candidate-beam information to the other TRP.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first communication node, information of one or more candidate beams of a second TRP” (Fig. 12; [0120]–[0122]). Fig. 12 supplies transport of information for one TRP link over the other UE link. Substituting Lo and Lee’s candidate identifiers as the payload and implementing the reciprocal direction are the proposed modifications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use Luo et al.’s cross-link signaling to convey Lo and Lee’s candidate-beam identifiers in both directions, so each TRP has the other TRP’s candidate information for coordinated beam management.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) does not disclose cross-TRP pair selection and notification based on UE beam-combination feedback.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “selecting a first beam combination from among the one or more beam combinations based on the information related to the one or more first measurement values” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first communication node, information of the selected first beam combination” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “wherein each of the one or more beam combinations is configured as a combination of one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP and one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to form pairs from the two exchanged candidate sets and select a pair using the UE feedback at the first TRP’s serving gNB, which already receives the joint report in Pezeshki et al., Fig. 13. This gives the coordinating point the information needed to avoid cross-beam interference and notify the UE of the selected pair.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) does not disclose a report of measurement values for each combination in a network-signaled reporting set.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “configuring one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first communication node, information of the one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first communication node, information related to one or more first measurement values for one or more first signals respectively corresponding to the one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to configure Lin et al.’s reporting set with the cross-TRP candidate pairs of Pezeshki et al. and report a corresponding measurement for each configured pair. Lin et al. explains that reports for combinations enable the base station to choose a suitable transmission configuration. Measuring the configured pairs gives the first TRP comparable results before selection. The claim’s “each” applies to the signaled set; it does not require every mathematically possible pair.
Regarding claim 16, Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “A first communication node comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor causes the first communication node to perform:” (Fig. 8A; UE 110 and TRPs 120/130; apparatus description). The UE/first-TRP signaling operations are implemented by the communication apparatus. Pezeshki et al., Fig. 4, additionally identifies the UE and BS processors implementing beam-combination operations.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) discloses “receiving, from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TRP, information of one or more candidate beams of each of the first and second TRPs” (Fig. 8A, lists #0 and #1 configured to UE 110).
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) does not disclose the first communication node forwarding one TRP’s candidate-beam information to the other TRP.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, information of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Fig. 12; [0120]–[0122]). Fig. 12 supplies transport of information for one TRP link over the other UE link. Substituting Lo and Lee’s candidate identifiers as the payload and implementing the reciprocal direction are the proposed modifications.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the second TRP, information of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP” (Fig. 12; [0120]–[0122]). Fig. 12 supplies transport of information for one TRP link over the other UE link. Substituting Lo and Lee’s candidate identifiers as the payload and implementing the reciprocal direction are the proposed modifications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use Luo et al.’s cross-link signaling to convey Lo and Lee’s candidate-beam identifiers in both directions, so each TRP has the other TRP’s candidate information for coordinated beam management.
Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) does not disclose cross-TRP pair selection and notification based on UE beam-combination feedback.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information of a first beam combination selected based on the information related to the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “wherein each of the one or more beam combinations is configured as a combination of one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP and one beam of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Figs. 8A, 9A–9B (902B–906B), 10A–10B and 13; Fig. 1 terminology discussion). The pair contains one transmission beam from each TRP. Fig. 13 sends joint reports to the gNB of TRP1; Fig. 9B has the BS select and signal the pair. The Fig. 1 discussion permits gNB/BS/TRP terminology to be interchangeable. Using the first TRP’s serving gNB to perform the selection and send the notification is the stated implementation of these teachings.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to form pairs from the two exchanged candidate sets and select a pair using the UE feedback at the first TRP’s serving gNB, which already receives the joint report in Pezeshki et al., Fig. 13. This gives the coordinating point the information needed to avoid cross-beam interference and notify the UE of the selected pair.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) does not disclose a report of measurement values for each combination in a network-signaled reporting set.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information of one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, information related to first measurement values for each beam combination corresponding to each of the one or more beam combinations” (discussion preceding Fig. 25, including Alternatives 1 and 2; Fig. 28). Lin et al. signals combinations by RRC, MAC CE or physical-layer signaling and reports quality for configured combinations. Apply those combinations to Pezeshki et al.’s pairs containing one candidate from each TRP, at the first-TRP reporting point of Fig. 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to configure Lin et al.’s reporting set with the cross-TRP candidate pairs of Pezeshki et al. and report a corresponding measurement for each configured pair. Lin et al. explains that reports for combinations enable the base station to choose a suitable transmission configuration. Measuring the configured pairs gives the first TRP comparable results before selection. The claim’s “each” applies to the signaled set; it does not require every mathematically possible pair.
The processor performs the recited sequence in the combined procedure; the hardware disclosure is not substituted for any of the recited signaling functions.
Regarding claim 9
The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 9.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) does not disclose forwarding the received selected pair from the UE to the second TRP after notification.
Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1) discloses “after receiving the information of the first beam combination, transmitting information of the received first beam combination to the second TRP” (Fig. 12; ¶¶[0120]–[0122]). The route conveys information concerning one TRP link through the other UE link. The selected pair as payload and the after-receipt order are the proposed modifications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to forward the selected pair after its receipt at the UE, using Luo et al.’s cross-link route, so the second TRP can apply the beam assigned to it by the first TRP’s selection. The message must follow receipt because its payload is the received selection.
Claims 2, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1).
Regarding claim 2, The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 2. The foregoing combination does not disclose timing adjustment that aligns the two TRPs’ signal receptions at the UE.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “receiving first signals transmitted from the first and second TRPs, the first signals corresponding to each of the one or more beam combinations” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “performing a measurement operation on the received first signals” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, the information related to the first measurement values for each beam combination, which is obtained at least based on the measurement operation” (Fig. 28; combinations discussion before Fig. 25). Use the measurements of the aligned reference signals as the corresponding configured-pair report values.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “wherein in the receiving of the first signals, reception timings of the first signals transmitted from the first TRP and the first signals transmitted from the second TRP are identical to each other” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to apply Jeon et al.’s timing adjustment to the two reference signals for each configured candidate pair, aligning their reception at the UE before the measurement and Lin et al. report. Jeon et al. teaches compensation for TRP timing differences and time alignment at the UE, allowing the joint signals to be combined effectively.
Regarding claim 17,The findings for claim 16 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 17. The foregoing combination does not disclose timing adjustment that aligns the two TRPs’ signal receptions at the UE.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “receiving first signals transmitted from the first and second TRPs, the first signals corresponding to each of the one or more beam combinations” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “performing a measurement operation on the received first signals” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, the information related to the first measurement values for each beam combination, which is obtained at least based on the measurement operation” (Fig. 28; combinations discussion before Fig. 25). Use the measurements of the aligned reference signals as the corresponding configured-pair report values.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “wherein in the receiving of the first signals, reception timings of the first signals transmitted from the first TRP and the first signals transmitted from the second TRP are identical to each other” (¶¶[0008]–[0016]; claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 12). Jeon et al. provides joint reference-signal reception, CSI-RS measurement reporting, and timing adjustment so the signals are received in time alignment. Selecting its time-aligned implementation for the configured pair measurements supplies the identical reception occasion; simultaneous transmission alone would not establish this limitation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to apply Jeon et al.’s timing adjustment to the two reference signals for each configured candidate pair, aligning their reception at the UE before the measurement and Lin et al. report. Jeon et al. teaches compensation for TRP timing differences and time alignment at the UE, allowing the joint signals to be combined effectively.
Claims 6, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1).
Regarding claim 6, The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 6. The four-reference combination does not disclose reference-signal timing coordination delivered to the UE before candidate-list receipt or transmission.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information related to a transmission timing of the first signals of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). Request 412 reaches the UE, and the UE can pass request 414 with the same coordination information to the other TRP over an active link. The request can specify reference-signal timing.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the second TRP, information related to the transmission timing of the first signals of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). Request 412 reaches the UE, and the UE can pass request 414 with the same coordination information to the other TRP over an active link. The request can specify reference-signal timing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to send Wang et al.’s reference-signal timing coordination before the candidate list is supplied, and, for claims 6 and 20, pass it through the UE to the second TRP. Establishing the measurement schedule first lets the TRPs coordinate their reference-signal occasions before candidate measurements begin. Wang et al. supplies the timing payload and UE forwarding; its placement before candidate-list receipt or transmission is the proposed ordering modification.
Regarding claim 20, The findings for claim 16 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 20.The four-reference combination does not disclose reference-signal timing coordination delivered to the UE before candidate-list receipt or transmission.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving, from the first TRP, information related to a transmission timing of the first signals of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). Request 412 reaches the UE, and the UE can pass request 414 with the same coordination information to the other TRP over an active link. The request can specify reference-signal timing.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the second TRP, information related to the transmission timing of the first signals of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). Request 412 reaches the UE, and the UE can pass request 414 with the same coordination information to the other TRP over an active link. The request can specify reference-signal timing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to send Wang et al.’s reference-signal timing coordination before the candidate list is supplied, and, for claims 6 and 20, pass it through the UE to the second TRP. Establishing the measurement schedule first lets the TRPs coordinate their reference-signal occasions before candidate measurements begin. Wang et al. supplies the timing payload and UE forwarding; its placement before candidate-list receipt or transmission is the proposed ordering modification.
Regarding claim 11, The findings for claim 10 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 11.
The four-reference combination does not disclose reference-signal timing coordination delivered to the UE before candidate-list receipt or transmission.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first communication node, information related to a transmission timing of the one or more first signals of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). The first TRP/gNB sends the UE a coordination request that can contain synchronization, a specified time or a periodic time for reference signals.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to send Wang et al.’s reference-signal timing coordination before the candidate list is supplied, and, for claims 6 and 20, pass it through the UE to the second TRP. Establishing the measurement schedule first lets the TRPs coordinate their reference-signal occasions before candidate measurements begin. Wang et al. supplies the timing payload and UE forwarding; its placement before candidate-list receipt or transmission is the proposed ordering modification.
Regarding claim 7,The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 7. The four-reference combination does not disclose candidate receive-beam information of the UE reported before combination signaling and included in the selected combination.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “information of one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–7; beam-state report discussion). The UE reports suitable Rx/Tx beams and beam-pair-link indexes; a BPL index identifies a TRP Tx beam together with a UE Rx beam. The gNB selects and indicates Tx and/or Rx beams from the report.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “a third beam among the one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–10; BPL indexes, receive-beam groups and panel-specific links). Combine the UE receive-beam choice with Pezeshki et al.’s first- and second-TRP transmit beams. A common receive-beam choice supplies the three-beam combination of claims 7/14; separate receive beams on the two TRP links supply the four-beam combination of claims 8/15. These selected tuple structures are the stated combination of the teachings.
For “before receiving the information of the one or more beam combinations”, the UE candidate-beam report precedes configuration signaling in the proposed procedure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to provide Wang et al.’s suitable UE receive-beam information to the first TRP before it signals the configured combinations, and include the receive beam or beams in the selected combination. The early report lets the selector exclude transmit pairs that the UE cannot receive on its available beam groups or panels, reducing unusable measurements. Wang et al. teaches both receive-beam-group reporting and separate panel reporting; the stated three- or four-beam tuple and exact placement in the candidate-pair sequence are the proposed modifications.
Regarding claim 8,The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 8.
The four-reference combination does not disclose candidate receive-beam information of the UE reported before combination signaling and included in the selected combination.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “information of one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–7; beam-state report discussion). The UE reports suitable Rx/Tx beams and beam-pair-link indexes; a BPL index identifies a TRP Tx beam together with a UE Rx beam. The gNB selects and indicates Tx and/or Rx beams from the report.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “a third beam corresponding to the first TRP and a fourth beam corresponding to the second TRP among the one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–10; BPL indexes, receive-beam groups and panel-specific links). Combine the UE receive-beam choice with Pezeshki et al.’s first- and second-TRP transmit beams. A common receive-beam choice supplies the three-beam combination of claims 7/14; separate receive beams on the two TRP links supply the four-beam combination of claims 8/15. These selected tuple structures are the stated combination of the teachings.
For “before receiving the information of the one or more beam combinations”, the UE candidate-beam report precedes configuration signaling in the proposed procedure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to provide Wang et al.’s suitable UE receive-beam information to the first TRP before it signals the configured combinations, and include the receive beam or beams in the selected combination. The early report lets the selector exclude transmit pairs that the UE cannot receive on its available beam groups or panels, reducing unusable measurements. Wang et al. teaches both receive-beam-group reporting and separate panel reporting; the stated three- or four-beam tuple and exact placement in the candidate-pair sequence are the proposed modifications.
Regarding claim 14,The findings for claim 10 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 14. The four-reference combination does not disclose candidate receive-beam information of the UE reported before combination signaling and included in the selected combination.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “information of one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–7; beam-state report discussion). The UE reports suitable Rx/Tx beams and beam-pair-link indexes; a BPL index identifies a TRP Tx beam together with a UE Rx beam. The gNB selects and indicates Tx and/or Rx beams from the report.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “a third beam among the one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–10; BPL indexes, receive-beam groups and panel-specific links). Combine the UE receive-beam choice with Pezeshki et al.’s first- and second-TRP transmit beams. A common receive-beam choice supplies the three-beam combination of claims 7/14; separate receive beams on the two TRP links supply the four-beam combination of claims 8/15. These selected tuple structures are the stated combination of the teachings.
For “before transmitting the information of the one or more beam combinations”, the UE candidate-beam report precedes configuration signaling in the proposed procedure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to provide Wang et al.’s suitable UE receive-beam information to the first TRP before it signals the configured combinations, and include the receive beam or beams in the selected combination. The early report lets the selector exclude transmit pairs that the UE cannot receive on its available beam groups or panels, reducing unusable measurements. Wang et al. teaches both receive-beam-group reporting and separate panel reporting; the stated three- or four-beam tuple and exact placement in the candidate-pair sequence are the proposed modifications.
Regarding claim 15,The findings for claim 10 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 15. The four-reference combination does not disclose candidate receive-beam information of the UE reported before combination signaling and included in the selected combination.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “information of one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–7; beam-state report discussion). The UE reports suitable Rx/Tx beams and beam-pair-link indexes; a BPL index identifies a TRP Tx beam together with a UE Rx beam. The gNB selects and indicates Tx and/or Rx beams from the report.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “a third beam corresponding to the first TRP and a fourth beam corresponding to the second TRP among the one or more candidate beams of the first communication node” (Figs. 5–10; BPL indexes, receive-beam groups and panel-specific links). Combine the UE receive-beam choice with Pezeshki et al.’s first- and second-TRP transmit beams. A common receive-beam choice supplies the three-beam combination of claims 7/14; separate receive beams on the two TRP links supply the four-beam combination of claims 8/15. These selected tuple structures are the stated combination of the teachings.
For “before transmitting the information of the one or more beam combinations”, the UE candidate-beam report precedes configuration signaling in the proposed procedure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to provide Wang et al.’s suitable UE receive-beam information to the first TRP before it signals the configured combinations, and include the receive beam or beams in the selected combination. The early report lets the selector exclude transmit pairs that the UE cannot receive on its available beam groups or panels, reducing unusable measurements. Wang et al. teaches both receive-beam-group reporting and separate panel reporting; the stated three- or four-beam tuple and exact placement in the candidate-pair sequence are the proposed modifications.
Claims 3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1), Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1).
Regarding claim 3,The findings for claim 2 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 3. The combination for claim 2 does not disclose respective reception periods associated with the first- and second-TRP candidate signals.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “the first signals transmitted from the first TRP are received based on a first period configured based on information of the one or more candidate beams of the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414 (specified or periodic reference-signal timing); Figs. 8–11). Associate the candidate RS identifiers of Lo and Lee with the coordinated periodic measurement occasions of Wang et al. This candidate-information-to-period association is the proposed configuration, not Wang et al.’s verbatim claim language.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “the second signals transmitted from the second TRP are received based on a second period configured based on information of the one or more candidate beams of the second TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414 (specified or periodic reference-signal timing); Figs. 8–11). Associate the candidate RS identifiers of Lo and Lee with the coordinated periodic measurement occasions of Wang et al. This candidate-information-to-period association is the proposed configuration, not Wang et al.’s verbatim claim language.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to configure the periodic occasions for the respective candidate RS sets using Wang et al.’s periodic reference-signal timing coordination, so the UE receives each TRP’s candidate signals at the corresponding configured occasions. Maintain Jeon et al.’s alignment on the occasions used for a pair measurement.
The supplied claim uses “second signals” for the second TRP; that wording is retained.
Regarding claim 12, The findings for claim 10 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 12. The four-reference combination does not disclose first-TRP timing supplied to the UE before combination configuration and used to adjust second-TRP timing.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first communication node, information on a transmission timing of the one or more first signals transmitted from the first TRP” (Fig. 4, requests 412/414; Fig. 11). Reference-signal timing coordination is sent to the UE; the same coordination can be passed to the other TRP.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) does not disclose a timing adjustment compensating for different TRP paths to achieve aligned reception.
Jeon et al. (US 2022/0104233 A1) discloses “the information on the transmission timing being used to adjust a transmission timing of the one or more first signals transmitted from the second TRP” (¶¶[0009], [0012], [0015]–[0016]; Figs. 15–16; claims 1, 4, 7 and 8). The first TRP signals scheduled timing/offset information, and the second TRP determines its required timing adjustment for alignment. The UE receives timing adjustment information as well.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to establish Wang et al.’s timing coordination and Jeon et al.’s alignment before forming the configured candidate-pair list, so the pair measurements use aligned reference-signal occasions. The before-configuration order is the proposed scheduling modification; Jeon et al. supplies the first-to-second timing adjustment, and Wang et al. supplies timing coordination to the UE.
Claims 5, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1), Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1).
Regarding claim 5, The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 5.The four-reference combination does not disclose the claimed first measurement values expressly reported as SINR values and measured through respective UE panels.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “the first measurement values are Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) values for the first signals” (Embodiment 2, item 4; Embodiments 4 and 6). Gao et al. provides SINR measurements for CMRs in measured combinations and reporting of their corresponding values. Apply the metric to the configured cross-TRP pairs.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) does not disclose the specific first- and second-panel reception arrangement for the two TRP links.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving the first signals transmitted from the first TRP, through a first panel corresponding to the first TRP in the first communication node” (Figs. 8–10, first/second UE panels and TRP1/TRP2 links). Wang et al.’s measured example uses RSRP; use Gao et al.’s SINR measurement/reporting metric on these corresponding panel links.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving the first signals transmitted from the second TRP, through a second panel corresponding to the second TRP in the first communication node” (Figs. 8–10, first/second UE panels and TRP1/TRP2 links). Wang et al.’s measured example uses RSRP; use Gao et al.’s SINR measurement/reporting metric on these corresponding panel links.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “obtaining the first measurement values for each of the received first signals” (Embodiment 2, item 4). Obtain the SINR values for the measured reference signals in each combination.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “mapping the obtained first measurement values to each of the one or more beam combinations to obtain information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (combination-index/resource signaling discussion preceding Fig. 25; Fig. 28). Map Gao et al.’s measured values to the configured combination identifiers; Wang et al.’s panel/BPL reporting identifies the corresponding reception links. This is the combined reporting implementation.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, at least the information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (discussion preceding Fig. 25; Fig. 28). Use the first-TRP reporting point of Pezeshki et al., Fig. 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to measure each configured pair on Wang et al.’s corresponding UE panels using Gao et al.’s SINR metric, retain the pair/resource identifiers, and report the mapped values according to Lin et al. SINR accounts for cross-beam interference, which Pezeshki et al., Fig. 11, identifies as a reason to reject otherwise strong beam combinations.
Regarding claim 19, The findings for claim 16 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 19. The four-reference combination does not disclose the claimed first measurement values expressly reported as SINR values and measured through respective UE panels.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “the first measurement values are Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) values for the first signals” (Embodiment 2, item 4; Embodiments 4 and 6). Gao et al. provides SINR measurements for CMRs in measured combinations and reporting of their corresponding values. Apply the metric to the configured cross-TRP pairs.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) does not disclose the specific first- and second-panel reception arrangement for the two TRP links.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving the first signals transmitted from the first TRP, through a first panel corresponding to the first TRP in the first communication node” (Figs. 8–10, first/second UE panels and TRP1/TRP2 links). Wang et al.’s measured example uses RSRP; use Gao et al.’s SINR measurement/reporting metric on these corresponding panel links.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0107327 A1) discloses “receiving the first signals transmitted from the second TRP, through a second panel corresponding to the second TRP in the first communication node” (Figs. 8–10, first/second UE panels and TRP1/TRP2 links). Wang et al.’s measured example uses RSRP; use Gao et al.’s SINR measurement/reporting metric on these corresponding panel links.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “obtaining the first measurement values for each of the received first signals” (Embodiment 2, item 4). Obtain the SINR values for the measured reference signals in each combination.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “mapping the obtained first measurement values to each of the one or more beam combinations to obtain information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (combination-index/resource signaling discussion preceding Fig. 25; Fig. 28). Map Gao et al.’s measured values to the configured combination identifiers; Wang et al.’s panel/BPL reporting identifies the corresponding reception links. This is the combined reporting implementation.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, at least the information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (discussion preceding Fig. 25; Fig. 28). Use the first-TRP reporting point of Pezeshki et al., Fig. 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to measure each configured pair on Wang et al.’s corresponding UE panels using Gao et al.’s SINR metric, retain the pair/resource identifiers, and report the mapped values according to Lin et al. SINR accounts for cross-beam interference, which Pezeshki et al., Fig. 11, identifies as a reason to reject otherwise strong beam combinations.
Claims 4, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1), Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1).
Regarding claim 4, The findings for claim 1 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 4.The four-reference combination does not disclose the second TRP supplying its measurement threshold to the UE.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) discloses “receiving, from the second TRP, information of a first threshold value corresponding to the first measurement values” (Fig. 6, step 601). A secondary TRP can configure a beam-measurement threshold at the UE. Use that threshold for the corresponding configured pair measurements.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use the second TRP’s own configured threshold as its criterion for the pair measurements, so the first-TRP selector can take the second link’s criterion into account.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) does not disclose forwarding that threshold with the pair measurements to the first TRP.
Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, the information of the first threshold value received from the second TRP and information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Fig. 10, steps 1001–1002; in combination with Luo et al., Fig. 12, ¶¶[0120]–[0122], and Lin et al., configured-combination reports). Tang et al. expressly sends received-power information and its threshold directly between base stations. The claimed UE report containing the second-TRP threshold and pair values is the proposed implementation using Luo et al.’s existing cross-link transport and Lin et al.’s measurement report.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to carry the threshold received from the second TRP over Luo et al.’s UE-to-first-TRP information route and include it with Lin et al.’s corresponding pair measurements. Tang et al. shows why a receiving network point needs both a measured value and the originating point’s threshold. Using the existing UE route avoids requiring a separate direct inter-TRP exchange for that information. The threshold payload, reciprocal direction and combined report are the stated modifications.
Regarding claim 18,The findings for claim 16 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 18. The four-reference combination does not disclose the second TRP supplying its measurement threshold to the UE.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) discloses “receiving, from the second TRP, information of a first threshold value corresponding to the first measurement values” (Fig. 6, step 601). A secondary TRP can configure a beam-measurement threshold at the UE. Use that threshold for the corresponding configured pair measurements.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use the second TRP’s own configured threshold as its criterion for the pair measurements, so the first-TRP selector can take the second link’s criterion into account.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) does not disclose forwarding that threshold with the pair measurements to the first TRP.
Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1) discloses “transmitting, to the first TRP, the information of the first threshold value received from the second TRP and information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Fig. 10, steps 1001–1002; in combination with Luo et al., Fig. 12, ¶¶[0120]–[0122], and Lin et al., configured-combination reports). Tang et al. expressly sends received-power information and its threshold directly between base stations. The claimed UE report containing the second-TRP threshold and pair values is the proposed implementation using Luo et al.’s existing cross-link transport and Lin et al.’s measurement report.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to carry the threshold received from the second TRP over Luo et al.’s UE-to-first-TRP information route and include it with Lin et al.’s corresponding pair measurements. Tang et al. shows why a receiving network point needs both a measured value and the originating point’s threshold. Using the existing UE route avoids requiring a separate direct inter-TRP exchange for that information. The threshold payload, reciprocal direction and combined report are the stated modifications.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lo and Lee (US 2022/0046438 A1) in view of Luo et al. (WO 2018/038859 A1), Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1), Lin et al. (US 2022/0060301 A1), Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1), Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1), Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1).
Regarding claim 13, The findings for claim 10 above are incorporated for the inherited limitations of claim 13. The four-reference combination does not disclose SINR values and separate first- and second-TRP thresholds used in pair selection.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “wherein the first measurement values are Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) values for the first signals” (Embodiment 2, item 4; Embodiments 4 and 6). Use the combination SINR values as Lin et al.’s reported measurements for Pezeshki et al.’s cross-TRP pairs.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) discloses “information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Embodiment 2, item 4; Embodiments 4 and 6). Use the combination SINR values as Lin et al.’s reported measurements for Pezeshki et al.’s cross-TRP pairs.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to use Gao et al.’s SINR values to compare the configured pairs, because the SINR metric accounts for the interference that Pezeshki et al. identifies between simultaneous TRP beams.
Gao et al. (US 2021/0211176 A1) does not disclose a second-TRP threshold accompanying the UE report and a predetermined first-TRP threshold at the selector.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) discloses “information of a first threshold value corresponding to the one or more first measurement values” (Fig. 6, step 601). The secondary TRP provides a measurement threshold to the UE; relay it with Lin et al.’s pair report using Luo et al.’s existing cross-link route.
Zhang et al. (WO 2018/068260 A1) does not disclose sharing a network point’s own threshold with another network point for selection.
Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1) discloses “identifying information of a second threshold value corresponding to the one or more first measurement values, which is predetermined by the first TRP” (Fig. 10, steps 1001–1002). Tang et al. supplies a network point’s own receive-power threshold. Retaining the selecting first TRP’s own predetermined criterion as the second threshold and applying it to the SINR metric are the stated modifications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to provide the first TRP with the second TRP’s threshold through the UE report while retaining its own predetermined threshold, so the selector can apply each link’s criterion to the corresponding reported SINR values. Tang et al. supplies the threshold-sharing teaching; Luo et al. supplies the already-used UE transport route.
Tang et al. (US 2016/0212716 A1) does not disclose the complete two-threshold SINR beam-pair selection rule.
Pezeshki et al. (US 2020/0322940 A1) discloses “selecting the first beam combination from among the one or more beam combinations based on the information of the first threshold value, the information of the second threshold value, and the information of the first measurement values for each beam combination” (Figs. 9A–9B and 11, in combination with Gao et al., Embodiment 2 item 4, Zhang et al., Fig. 6 step 601, and Tang et al., Fig. 10). Pezeshki et al. provides network pair selection and threshold-based interference screening. Gao et al. provides per-combination SINR comparison. Checking both TRP criteria and then selecting using the reported values is the proposed combined rule, not an express two-threshold algorithm in one reference.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the tiime of invention to exclude a candidate pair if either link fails its respective threshold, and then select among qualifying pairs using their reported SINR values. This prevents a good measurement for one link from concealing an unacceptable other link and follows Pezeshki et al.’s teaching to avoid pairs causing excessive cross-beam interference.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412