DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II: claims 7-15 in the reply filed on 08/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the stiffening ring and bulkhead of claim 7 and the dry dock of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites, “attaching the tower to the semi-submersible while the semi-submersible is temporarily secured; and mounting a turbine on top of the semi-submersible to form the off-shore wind turbine”. It is unclear how the turbine is mounted on top of the semi-submersible, the turbine appears to be mounted on top of the tower, the tower mounted on top of the semi-submersible.
Claims 8-15 are rejected based on their dependency on 7.
Claim 9 recites, “the first assembly site includes a barge or a platform and a lift structure”. It is unclear if this means the site is a barge OR a platform with a lift structure (the former two together) or if it means it’s a barge or platform, either must include the lift structure. The same rejection for claim 10.
Claim 15 recites, “coupling the plurality of sections”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 15 should depend from 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loekin (US 12157545) in view of Fang (US 2021/0210233) and Macinnes (WO 2023/167816).
For claim 7, Loekin teaches a method of installing an off-shore wind turbine (description and figs.), the method comprising:
constructing a plurality of sections (initial construction of columns 101, 102, 103), each of the plurality of sections including a cylindrical plate (see figs. 1-2, 68-69 for instance) and a strengthening members within the cylinders (Col. 7, lines 44-45, and element 501) and two bulkheads (see 101-103 in figs. 68-69 for instance);
constructing a semi-submersible by welding (Col. 7, line 303-35) together the plurality of sections at a first assembly site (first assembly site consider the location of vessel 4503 in figs. 68-72 for instance), the semi-submersible including a primary buoyant vertical column (101 figs. 1), a first plurality of long horizontal tubes (107), each having a first end attached to the primary buoyant vertical column at a first level (fig. 1), and a plurality of secondary buoyant vertical columns (102, 103), each being connected to a corresponding second end of one of the first plurality of long horizontal tubes (see figs. 1), wherein spacings between the primary buoyant vertical columns and each of the plurality of secondary buoyant vertical columns are sufficiently large to accommodate an overturning moment applied by the turbine in operating conditions (accommodating wind turbine 200 as per figs. 1);
lowering the semi-submersible so that the semi-submersible floats on the sea surface (fig. 72, Col. 64, lines 33-39);
towing the semi-submersible to a second assembly site next to a lift structure (Col. 64, lines 33-39, towing, Fig. 73, Col. 64, lines 48-53);
using the lift structure to place a base of a tower at least partially directly above the primary buoyant vertical column (200 onto floater 100 using lift as pictured in Fig. 73);
attaching the tower and a turbine to the semi-submersible (Fig. 73, Col. 64, lines 33-53);
transporting the off-shore wind turbine to an off-shore usage location (Col. 64, lines 54-57); and
coupling to the seafloor or mooring the off-shore wind turbine at the off-shore usage location (Col. 64, lines 54-57).
Loekin is silent about a stiffing ring inside the cylindrical plate and temporarily securing the semi-submersible next to the lift structure; attaching the tower to the semi-submersible while the semi-submersible is temporarily secured; and mounting a turbine on top of the semi-submersible to form the off-shore wind turbine.
Fang teaches a wind turbine cylinder including a stiffing ring inside the cylindrical plate (60, para 0038, figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a stiffing ring, as taught by Fang, into the cylinders of Loekin, to strengthen the structure of the cylinders.
Macinnes teaches a method of installing an off shore wind turbine including a semi-submersible floating on a sea surface (see figs. 6A or 6B, 250); towing the semi-submersible to a second assembly site next to a lift structure (via boats 144, fig. 6A or 6B); temporarily securing the semi-submersible next to the lift structure (para 0042-0043); using the lift structure to place a base of a tower at least partially directly above the primary buoyant vertical column (para 0042-0043); attaching the tower to the semi-submersible while the semi-submersible is temporarily secured; and mounting a turbine on top of the semi-submersible to form the off-shore wind turbine (para 0042-0043, Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to move and temporally attached the semi-submersible at the next site, as taught by the method of Macinnes, to secure the semi-submersible in place for assembly of the wind turbine thereupon.
For claim 8, modified Loekin further teaches wherein the plurality of sections is constructed on a barge (Fig. 69, 4503).
For claim 9, modified Loekin further teaches wherein the first assembly site includes a barge or a platform and a lift structure, and is configured to allow the lowering of the semi-submersible (see figs. 68-69, 4503, fig. 72, Col. 6, lines 33-39).
For claim 10 modified Loekin further teaches wherein the second assembly site includes the barge or the platform and a plurality of lift structures (see Fig. 68-73 of Loekin and see Fig. 6B of Macinnes).
For claim 11, modified Loekin further teaches wherein the barge or the platform includes an elevator for raising or lowering a dry dock at the first assembly site (see Macinnes fig. 6A, 232 and dock 154) and a pier at the second assembly site (152, fig. 6A of Macinnes), and wherein at least one of the plurality of lift structures is located on the pier (fig. 6A of Macinnes).
For claim 12, modified Loekin further teaches, wherein the pier is triangular (152 of Macinnes).
For claim 13, modified Loekin further teaches wherein the first plurality of long horizontal tubes includes three long horizontal tubes distributed around the primary buoyant vertical column (figs. 1 of Loekin).
For claim 14, modified Loekin further teaches wherein constructing at least one of the plurality of secondary buoyant vertical columns includes coupling a plurality of sections that are offset laterally, each of the plurality of sections including a cylindrical plate and a stiffening ring welded inside the cylindrical plate, and two bulkheads (see Fang, figs. and description, each section 20, coupled together to form a tower and including the cylindrical stiffing ring).
For claim 15, modified Loekin further teaches wherein coupling the plurality of sections includes connecting short horizontal tubes coped to match outer surfaces of a pair of the plurality of sections to the pair of the plurality of sections (see Fang, figs. and description, each section 20, coupled together to form a tower and including the cylindrical stiffing ring).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art of record is noted as it pertains to manufacture methods for wind turbines.
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642