DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were submitted on December 13, 2024. In Preliminary Amendment, submitted December 13, 2024, claims 1-20 are cancelled, and claims 21-40 were added. No new matter was added in the Preliminary Amendment. Therefore, claims 21-40 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 13, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 30, 31, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickens (US 2018/0136797) (hereafter Dickens) in view of Saenz Digital (“How To ADD MULTIPLE Videos And Images In The Same Post On Facebook 2021”; January 10, 2021) (hereafter Saenz)
In regards to claim 21, Dickens discloses a method of interface interaction, comprising: in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed, displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content, the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted; and (Para. 44) (“interface 404 is displaying a posted content item 406 (i.e. the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted) … the interface 404 (i.e. a first post interface is displayed) includes an option 408 that allows the user to update the post 406 to include additional content items. Once the option 408 is selected (i.e. in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed), the interface 404 can be updated to present a media tray 410 in which one or more thumbnails of content items are shown (i.e. displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content), as illustrated in FIG. 4B.”)
Dickens discloses in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface, displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content, the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content. (Para. 44) (“The user can select one or more content items from the media tray 410 (i.e. in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface) to be added to the post 406. In some embodiments, once a content item is selected, the user has the option to edit the content item. For example, FIG. 4C illustrates an interface 412 through which the user can select one or more options 414 to edit the content item (i.e. displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content)” That is, interface 412 is utilized to provide editing for every content item selected to be added to the post, which would include the original content and all additional content (i.e. the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content).)
Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the at least one first media content of Dickens being in an unselected state in the second content interface of Dickens (Fig. 1) (depicting an interface for adding additional media to a post, with the interface depicting unselected media to be selected for adding to the post, including media that has already been selected for the post in an unselected form.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
In regards to claim 30, Dickens in view of Saenz discloses the limitations of claim 21. Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein at least part of media contents in the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content are the same media content. (Figs. 1 and 6) (Figs. 1 and 6 show the first and second media content interfaces with overlapping content on both interface (i.e. wherein at least part of media contents in the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content are the same media content).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
In regards to claim 31, Dickens disclose an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform at least: (Para. 77-78) (“The foregoing processes and features can be implemented by a wide variety of machine and computer system architectures and in a wide variety of network and computing environments. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a computer system 700 that may be used to implement one or more of the embodiments described herein in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. … The computer system 700 includes a processor 702, a cache 704, and one or more executable modules and drivers, stored on a computer-readable medium, directed to the processes and features described herein.”)
Dickens discloses in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed, displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content, the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted, (Para. 44) (“interface 404 is displaying a posted content item 406 (i.e. the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted) … the interface 404 (i.e. a first post interface is displayed) includes an option 408 that allows the user to update the post 406 to include additional content items. Once the option 408 is selected (i.e. in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed), the interface 404 can be updated to present a media tray 410 in which one or more thumbnails of content items are shown (i.e. displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content), as illustrated in FIG. 4B.”)
Dickens discloses in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface, displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content, the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content. (Para. 44) (“The user can select one or more content items from the media tray 410 (i.e. in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface) to be added to the post 406. In some embodiments, once a content item is selected, the user has the option to edit the content item. For example, FIG. 4C illustrates an interface 412 through which the user can select one or more options 414 to edit the content item (i.e. displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content)” That is, interface 412 is utilized to provide editing for every content item selected to be added to the post, which would include the original content and all additional content (i.e. the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content).)
Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the at least one first media content of Dickens being in an unselected state in the second content interface of Dickens (Fig. 1) (depicting an interface for adding additional media to a post, with the interface depicting unselected media to be selected for adding to the post, including media that has already been selected for the post in an unselected form.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
In regards to claim 40, Dickens discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program being executable by a processor to implement at least: (Claim 16) (“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a method comprising:”)
Dickens discloses in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed, displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content, the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted, (Para. 44) (“interface 404 is displaying a posted content item 406 (i.e. the first post interface presenting at least one first media content that has been selected to be posted) … the interface 404 (i.e. a first post interface is displayed) includes an option 408 that allows the user to update the post 406 to include additional content items. Once the option 408 is selected (i.e. in response to detecting an indication of adding media content while a first post interface is displayed), the interface 404 can be updated to present a media tray 410 in which one or more thumbnails of content items are shown (i.e. displaying a second content interface for selecting a media content), as illustrated in FIG. 4B.”)
Dickens discloses in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface, displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content, the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content. (Para. 44) (“The user can select one or more content items from the media tray 410 (i.e. in response to receiving a selection of at least one second media content in the second content interface) to be added to the post 406. In some embodiments, once a content item is selected, the user has the option to edit the content item. For example, FIG. 4C illustrates an interface 412 through which the user can select one or more options 414 to edit the content item (i.e. displaying a second edit interface for editing a selected media content)” That is, interface 412 is utilized to provide editing for every content item selected to be added to the post, which would include the original content and all additional content (i.e. the second edit interface providing an editing function for the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content).)
Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the at least one first media content of Dickens being in an unselected state in the second content interface of Dickens (Fig. 1) (depicting an interface for adding additional media to a post, with the interface depicting unselected media to be selected for adding to the post, including media that has already been selected for the post in an unselected form.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
Claims 22, 23, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickens in view of Saenz and even further in view of Lemay (US 20090307105) (hereafter Lemay)
In regards to claim 22, Dickens in view of Saenz discloses the limitations of claim 21. Dickens discloses a first interface indication while the second edit interface is displayed (Para. 44) (“an interface (i.e the second edit interface) 412 through which the user can select one or more options (i.e. a first interface indication while the second edit interface is displayed)”)
Dickens discloses detecting a second interface indication while the second content interface is displayed; and (Para. 44) (“Once the option 408 is selected, the interface 404 can be updated to present a media tray 410 in which one or more thumbnails of content items are shown (i.e. the second content interface), as illustrated in FIG. 4B. The user can select (i.e. detecting a second interface indication while the second content interface is displayed) one or more content items from the media tray 410 to be added to the post 406.”)
Dickens discloses to detecting a third interface back indication while the first post interface is displayed. (Para. 44) (“the interface 404 (i.e. first post interface is displayed) is displaying a posted content item 406 that was authored by the user operating the computing device 402. In some embodiments, the interface 404 includes an option 408 that allows the user to update the post 406 (i.e. to detecting a third interface back indication while the first post interface is displayed)”)
Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying a first edit interface providing an editing function for a media content that has been selected to be post prior to the second content interface being displayed for the first time. (Fig. 4) (displaying the a first edit interface providing an editing function for a media content that has been selected to be post. This edit interface is different from and displayed prior to the interface which shows the added content and allows the user to add more content. (i.e. displaying a first edit interface providing an editing function for a media content that has been selected to be post prior to the second content interface being displayed for the first time.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a first interface indication of Dickens is a first interface back indication (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. a first interface indication of Dickens is a first interface back indication), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface” That is, while this instance considers an “application information interface” the application makes it clear that this back button operates on any interface.)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a second interface indication of Dickens is a second interface back indication (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. a second interface indication of Dickens is a second interface back indication), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface” That is, while this instance considers an “application information interface” the application makes it clear that this back button operates on any interface.)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a third interface indication of Dickens is a third interface back indication (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. a third interface indication of Dickens is a third interface back indication), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface” That is, while this instance considers an “application information interface” the application makes it clear that this back button operates on any interface.)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses in response to detecting a third interface back indication while the first post interface is displayed of Dickens, displaying a first edit interface providing an editing function for a media content that has been selected to be post prior to the second content interface being displayed for the first time. (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. in response to detecting a third interface back indication while the first post interface is displayed), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface (i.e. displaying a first edit interface providing an editing function for a media content that has been selected to be post prior to the second content interface being displayed for the first time.)” That is, as disclosed in Saenz the first edit interface of Dickens is “the previous user interface” of Lemay to the first post interface of Dickens, therefore applying the back button of Lemay on the first post interface of Dickens will take you to the first edit interface of Saenz.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens in view of Saenz with the interface indications of Lemay in order to improve user navigation of interfaces. (Lemay – Para. 8)
In regards to claim 23, Dickens in view of Saenz discloses the limitations of claim 21. Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a second post interface is displayed, the second post interface presenting the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content to be posted; and (Fig. 5) (Fig. 5 displays a publish interface (i.e. post interface) displaying the two selected media to be posted (i.e. the second post interface presenting the at least one first media content and the at least one second media content to be posted).)
Dickens does not explicitly disclose, however Saenz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying a first content interface that is a content interface displayed for the first time based on a launch operation generated by a media content. (Fig. 6) (Fig. 6 shows a content selection interface (i.e. a first content interface) generated based on create post operation (i.e. a first content interface that is a content interface displayed for the first time based on a launch operation generated by a media content) to select a first media to add to the post.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens with the multiple image post interfaces of Saenz in order to maximize post content and engagement. (Saenz – Figs. 2-3)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses in response to detecting a fourth interface back indication while a second post interface of Saenz is displayed, displaying the second edit interface of Dickens, (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. in response to detecting a fourth interface back indication while a second post interface is displayed), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface (i.e. displaying the second edit interface.)” That is, as disclosed in Saenz the second edit interface of Dickens is “the previous user interface” of Lemay to the second post interface of Dickens, therefore applying the back button of Lemay on the second post interface of Dickens will take you to the second edit interface of Saenz.)
Dickens in view of Saenz does not explicitly disclose, however Lemay, in the same field of endeavor, discloses in response to detecting a fifth interface back indication while the second edit interface is displayed, displaying a first content interface of Saenz (Para. 72) (“The display portion 410 includes a title bar 401. The title bar 401 identifies the user interface … the title bar 401 can include a back button 402 … The back button 402 allows the user to (i.e. in response to detecting a fifth interface back indication while the second edit interface is displayed), for example, cancel application information interface 403 and return to the previous user interface (i.e. displaying the second edit interface.)” That is, as disclosed in Saenz the second edit interface of Dickens is “the previous user interface” of Lemay to the second post interface of Dickens, therefore applying the back button of Lemay on the second post interface of Dickens will take you to the second edit interface of Saenz.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shared content system of Dickens in view of Saenz with the interface indications of Lemay in order to improve user navigation of interfaces. (Lemay – Para. 8)
In regards to claim 32, Dickens in view of Saenz discloses the limitations of claim 31. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 22.
In regards to claim 33, Dickens in view of Saenz discloses the limitations of claim 31. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 23.
Novel and Non-Obvious Over the Prior Art
Claims 24-29 and 34-39 are novel and non-obvious over the prior art; however, these claims are rejected by virtue of dependency of the claims above.
Claims 24-25 and 34-35:
The closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0136797 to Dickens et al (hereafter Dickens). Dickens discloses interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post.
The next closest prior art is non-patents literature “How To ADD MULTIPLE Videos And Images In The Same Post On Facebook 2021” by Saenz Digital (hereafter Saenz). Saenz discloses processes flows of interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post, and content interfaces for adding new content to the post include content that has already been added in an unselected state.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0208211 to Luo et al (hereafter Luo). Luo discloses retrieving cached instances of interfaces associated with posting data, and generating interfaces from cached data.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2013/0239063 to Ubillos et al (hereafter Ubillos). Ubillos discloses storing and interacting with cached data from edit interfaces.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0047335 to Kumura et al (hereafter Kumura). Kumura discloses removing data from cached instances and generating data in cached instances in response to user activity.
While the closest prior art above teaches the various aspects of the claimed invention individually, the combination of these references are not obvious in such a way that they would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. Specifically, Dickens in view of Saenz and further in view of Luo and even further in view of Kumura does not explicitly disclose retrieving a cached instance of the first edit interface and adding the second information in order to create and display the cached second edit interface. Therefore, the claims are rendered novel and non-obvious over the prior art.
Claims 26-27 and 36-37:
The closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0136797 to Dickens et al (hereafter Dickens). Dickens discloses interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post.
The next closest prior art is non-patents literature “How To ADD MULTIPLE Videos And Images In The Same Post On Facebook 2021” by Saenz Digital (hereafter Saenz). Saenz discloses processes flows of interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post, and content interfaces for adding new content to the post include content that has already been added in an unselected state.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2009/0307105 to Lemay et al (hereafter Lemay). Lemay discloses navigating through the post and edit interfaces through use of back indications on the interfaces.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0208211 to Luo et al (hereafter Luo). Luo discloses retrieving cached instances of interfaces associated with posting data, and generating interfaces from cached data.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2013/0239063 to Ubillos et al (hereafter Ubillos). Ubillos discloses storing and interacting with cached data from edit interfaces.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0047335 to Kumura et al (hereafter Kumura). Kumura discloses removing cached instances and generating cached instances in response to user activity.
While the closest prior art above teaches the various aspects of the claimed invention individually, the combination of these references are not obvious in such a way that they would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. Specifically, Dickens in view of Saenz and further in view of Lemay and even further in view of Luo and even further in view of Kumura does not explicitly disclose retrieving a cached instance of the second edit interface and removing the second information in order to display the cached first edit interface. Therefore, the claims are rendered novel and non-obvious over the prior art.
Claims 28-29 and 38-39:
The closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0136797 to Dickens et al (hereafter Dickens). Dickens discloses interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post.
The next closest prior art is non-patents literature “How To ADD MULTIPLE Videos And Images In The Same Post On Facebook 2021” by Saenz Digital (hereafter Saenz). Saenz discloses processes flows of interactions with content interfaces and edit interfaces associated with adding media content to content post, and content interfaces for adding new content to the post include content that has already been added in an unselected state.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. . 2014/0208211 to Luo et al (hereafter Luo). Luo discloses cached instances of post interfaces from a target stack of cached data.
The next closest prior art is U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0047335 to Kumura et al (hereafter Kumura). Kumura discloses removing cached instances from a target stack based on a certain task
While the closest prior art above teaches the various aspects of the claimed invention individually, the combination of these references are not obvious in such a way that they would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. Specifically, Dickens in view of Saenz and further in view of Pahlavan and even further in view of Kumura does not explicitly disclose the removing of cached instance data being in response to the second post interface being display. Therefore, the claims are rendered novel and non-obvious over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Perrodin – US 2013/0239049 – discussing caching structures in relation to multi-image post interfaces.
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628