DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, with claims 1-3 and 15-20 readable thereon, in the reply filed on 09 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I and II are not patentably distinct or independent species. This is not found persuasive because, as evidenced by the Figures, each Species includes structural features and configurations not required for the other, i.e. they are mutually exclusive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0125055 to Lee.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 19, Lee discloses a laundry treating apparatus (1) comprising:
a first treating apparatus including a first cabinet (10) and a first drum (30) disposed inside the first cabinet to accommodate laundry therein,
wherein the first cabinet includes a top panel (150) defining a top surface of the first treating apparatus (see Fig. 1),
wherein the top panel includes a raised portion extending upward to define therein a raised space in communication with an interior of the first cabinet (see Fig. 1),
wherein the first treating apparatus includes an internal component (100) disposed inside the first cabinet and at least partially positioned in the raised space (see Fig. 1),
wherein the raised portion includes a raised surface positioned at a top of the raised space, wherein the raised surface corresponds to an uppermost end of the top panel (see Fig. 1 and top of top panel 150),
wherein the first treating apparatus further includes a tub (20) disposed inside the first cabinet, having the first drum disposed therein (see Fig. 1), and accommodating water therein, wherein the internal component includes a detergent supply (100) configured to store detergent therein and supply the detergent into the tub,
wherein the raised portion includes a raised surface positioned at a top of the raised space (see Fig. 1), wherein the first cabinet includes side panels (see Fig. 2) defining both side surfaces of the first treating apparatus, wherein the raised surface is positioned higher than an upper end of the side panel (see Fig. 2),
15. (Original) The laundry treating apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a second treating apparatus including a second cabinet disposed on top of the first cabinet, and a second drum disposed inside the second cabinet to accommodate the laundry therein.
16. (Original) The laundry treating apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second treating apparatus includes a leg protruding toward the top panel and supported by the top panel, wherein the top panel includes a leg seating portion where the leg is seated, wherein the first cabinet includes a front panel defining a front surface of the first treating apparatus, wherein the raised portion is spaced rearwardly apart from the front panel, wherein the leg seating portion is positioned between the raised portion and the front panel.
17. (Original) The laundry treating apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second treating apparatus includes a leg protruding toward the top panel and supported by the top panel, wherein the top panel includes a leg seating portion where the leg is seated, wherein the first cabinet includes a rear panel defining a rear surface of the first treating apparatus and a first side panel defining a first side surface of the first treating apparatus, wherein the rear panel is positioned at the rear of the leg seating portion, the first side panel is positioned on a first side of the leg seating portion, and the raised portion is positioned in front of and on a second side of the leg seating portion.
18. (Original) The laundry treating apparatus of claim 15, wherein at least a portion of a remaining portion of the top panel excluding the raised portion includes a guide surface having a lower vertical level than a raised surface of the raised portion, wherein a first guide rib protruding toward the second cabinet and extending along a first direction to suppress movement of the second cabinet is disposed on the guide surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0262147 to Kwon et al. (“Kwon”).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 15-20, Kwon (in Figs. 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and associated text) discloses a laundry treating apparatus (10) comprising:
a first treating apparatus (200) including a first cabinet and a first drum (240) disposed inside the first cabinet to accommodate laundry therein,
wherein the first cabinet includes a top panel (120) defining a top surface of the first treating apparatus,
wherein the top panel includes a raised portion extending upward to define therein a raised space in communication with an interior of the first cabinet (see mount face 121 in Fig. 3),
wherein the raised portion includes a raised surface positioned at a top of the raised space, wherein the raised surface corresponds to an uppermost end of the top panel (see raised portions in Fig. 3),
wherein the first treating apparatus further includes a tub (220) disposed inside the first cabinet, having the first drum disposed therein, and accommodating water therein, wherein the internal component includes a detergent supply (252) configured to store detergent therein and supply the detergent into the tub,
further comprising a second treating apparatus (210) including a second cabinet (110) disposed on top of the first cabinet, and a second drum (150) disposed inside the second cabinet to accommodate the laundry therein,
wherein the second treating apparatus includes a leg (300) protruding toward the top panel and supported by the top panel (note also circular seating portions at corners of top panel 120 in Fig. 3, indicative of receiving legs from the appliance above),
wherein the top panel includes a leg seating portion (see above and leg seating portion 123) where the leg is seated,
wherein the first cabinet includes a front panel (211) defining a front surface of the first treating apparatus (see Fig. 1),
wherein the raised portion is spaced rearwardly apart from the front panel, wherein the leg seating portion is positioned between the raised portion and the front panel (see Figs. 1 and 3),
wherein the second treating apparatus includes a leg protruding toward the top panel and supported by the top panel (see above),
wherein the top panel includes a leg seating portion where the leg is seated (see above),
wherein the first cabinet includes a rear panel (219) defining a rear surface of the first treating apparatus and a first side panel (214) defining a first side surface of the first treating apparatus (see Fig. 3),
wherein the rear panel is positioned at the rear of the leg seating portion, the first side panel is positioned on a first side of the leg seating portion, and the raised portion is positioned in front of and on a second side of the leg seating portion (see Fig. 3),
wherein at least a portion of a remaining portion of the top panel excluding the raised portion includes a guide surface having a lower vertical level than a raised surface of the raised portion (see top panel 120 in Fig. 3, note various raised portions effectively forming reinforcement structure readable on ribs),
wherein a first guide rib protruding toward the second cabinet and extending along a first direction to suppress movement of the second cabinet is disposed on the guide surface (see top panel 120 in Fig. 3, note various raised portions effectively forming reinforcement structure readable on ribs; note ¶ [0087]-[0088] describing mount face 121 configured to be fitted with components of the second cabinet),
wherein the raised portion includes a raised surface positioned at a top of the raised space, wherein the first cabinet includes side panels defining both side surfaces of the first treating apparatus, wherein the raised surface is positioned higher than an upper end of the side panel (see Fig. 3),
wherein the first cabinet includes a front panel (211) defining a front surface of the first treating apparatus, wherein an upper end of the front panel is positioned higher than the raised surface and the upper end of the side panel (214) (see Fig. 1).
Kwon discloses the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first treating apparatus includes an internal component disposed inside the first cabinet and at least partially positioned in the raised space. However, Kwon discloses the first treating apparatus having top panel raised spaces and lowered spaces, and the top panel having a configuration to position internal components of the second treating apparatus (see ¶ [0087]-[0088]), which is basically the opposite configuration claimed.
The position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the top panel in the first treating apparatus of Kwon to include raised spaces to include internal components therein in order to achieve the same and predictable results of space conservation and compact design.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Lee, supra, discloses the claimed invention including the top portion with raised surface and front panel of a cabinet (see Lee at Figs. 1-2). Lee does not expressly disclose wherein an upper end of the front panel is positioned higher than the raised surface and the upper end of the side panel as recited in claim 20. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to change the size/shape of the panels as desired to achieve the desired height, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size, form or shape of a component. A change in size, form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Size/Proportion or Shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0241501 to Heo, which discloses first and second treating apparatus with conventional leg supports thereinbetween.
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711