Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority. The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/CN2022/108450, filed on 28 July 2022 AD.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 13 December 2024 AD, 8 January 2025 AD, and 27 April 2026 AD were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39, 40, 51, 57, 58, and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe.
Claim 39
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
at least one processor;
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0061, The apparatus 10 may also include a processor 20...)
and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor,
See Jayasinghe FIG. 6
with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the memory stores software for the processor to utilize for controlling functions
receive, from a network entity, a channel state information resource setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 1, the UE 104 may receive from the network (e.g., gNB 104) a report configuration with two channel measurement groups, in accordance with some example embodiments. For example, the UE may receive, via RRC signal, a CSI report configuration from the network. Among other things, the CSI report configuration message may indicate or define two reference signal groups (e.g., two groups of channel measurement resources).)
Shows the UE receiving, from a gNB, two groups of channel measurement resources for a channel state information or CSI report configuration
to be used in performing a channel state measurement procedure
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 2, the UE may also receive (via RRC) an association of the RS groups (1) to the actual channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR1 measurement resources, such as x1, x2, and x3)...)
Shows the first resource group with actual channel measurement labeled as CMR1 and x1, x2, and 3
and a set of nominal resources to be used in predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure,
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, ...and (2) to the predicted channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR2 ML/AI predicted channel measurement resources, such as y1, y2, and y3).)
Shows the second resource group or nominal resources for predicting channel measurement resources labeled as CMR2 and y1, y2, and y3
wherein the set of channel measurement resources is transmitted with a first periodicity
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0052, the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1 in a periodic manner.)
Shows the UE receiving the channel measurement resources or CMR1 in a periodic manner
and the set of nominal resources is either transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity or not transmitted;
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0043, ...the second CSI resource configuration M2 (e.g., associated with predicted resources y1-y3) may be signaled dynamically via the Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or DCI (downlink control information) between the network and UE.)
Shows the predicted channel resources dynamically signaled by the network
Shows dynamically signaling different from periodic manner
perform the channel state measurement procedure based at least in part on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources; and
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0054, ...the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the CMR1 and utilizing the measurements for input for the AI/ML model
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0055, ...the UE 104 uses the AI/ML model 110 (which received as inputs at least beam measurements corresponding to CMR1 such as measurements on x1, x2, and x3) to determine an output corresponding to the predicted channel measurements corresponding to CMRs such as measurements on y1-y3).)
Shows the UE utilizing the AI/ML model to generate an output with the measurements corresponding to CMR1 and the predicted channel measurements on y1-y3 as input
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the output of the AI/ML model ranks the beams
Shows the measuring of channel state measurements on CMR1 or channel measurement resources and utilizing the measurements from CMR1 and the prediction resources of CMR2 or nominal resources as input for the AI/ML model for the ranking of beams as the channel state measurement procedure
transmit a measurement report associated with the set of channel measurement resources, or the set of nominal resources, or any combination thereof.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the UE transmitting a measurement report associated with the output AI/ML model with ranking of beams
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0047, ...the UE's reporting to the network may be as follows. In a first case (e.g., case 1), the UE (e.g., the ML model 110 and/or other processing functionality) may provide a ranking (e.g., the best K beams) to the network as part of measurement reporting to the network. This ranking may be based on (1) the set of prediction resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of prediction resources, such as y1-y3) and the set of measurement resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of actual measurement resources, such as x1-x3).)
Shows the ranking of the beams based on the prediction resources or nominal resources and the measurement resources or channel measurement resources
Claim 40
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions to receive the channel state information resource setting are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
receive the channel state information resource setting indicating that the set of nominal resources comprises a set of channel prediction resources.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0039, ...the UE may receive a reporting configuration for two sets of measurement resources, such as channel measurement resource set 1 and channel measurement resource set 2.)
Shows the UE receiving reporting configuration for channel measurement resource set 1 and 2
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0039, ...the UE may also be configured with respect to how to associate the sets of measurement resources, such that the UE knows the set of resources for actual measurements (e.g., beams x1, x2, and x3 of FIG. 1) and the set of resources for prediction (e.g., beams y1, y2, and y3 of FIG. 1).)
Shows the configuration indicates a set of resources for channel prediction
Claim 51
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein:
the set of channel measurement resources is associated with a first set of beams and the set of nominal resources is associated with a second set of beams the set of nominal resources is based at least in part on an enhanced channel state information reference signal resource set configuration, or
the set of nominal resources is based at least in part on an a synchronization signal block resource set configuration, or any combination thereof.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 048, ...the UE may be configured for reporting CRI-RSRP (CSI RS resource indicator with RSRP) or SSBRI-RSRP (SSB resource indicator with RSRP) for set of measurement resources (e.g., x1-x3) and only CRI ranking or SSBRI ranking (without RSRP values) for set of prediction resources (e.g., y1-3).)
Shows the UE configured to report SSBRI for the prediction resources or nominal resources
Claim 57
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the measurement report comprises at least one of a periodic channel state information report, a semi-persistent channel state information report, an aperiodic channel state information report, or any combination thereof.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0057, ...periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent CSI reporting can be applied for reporting of the predicted ranking of best beams.)
Shows periodic, aperiodic, and semi-persistent CSI reporting
Claim 58
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
at least one processor;
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0059, The network node 500 may include a network interface 502, a processor 520,...)
Shows the network entity with a processor
and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor,
See Jayasinghe FIG. 5
with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0059, The memory 504 may comprise volatile and/or non-volatile memory including program code, which when executed by at least one processor 520 provides, among other things, the processes disclosed herein with respect to the gNB,...)
Shows the memory storing program code executed by the processor to conduct processes with the gNB
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information resource setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 1, the UE 104 may receive from the network (e.g., gNB 104) a report configuration with two channel measurement groups, in accordance with some example embodiments. For example, the UE may receive, via RRC signal, a CSI report configuration from the network. Among other things, the CSI report configuration message may indicate or define two reference signal groups (e.g., two groups of channel measurement resources).)
Shows the UE receiving, from a gNB, two groups of channel measurement resources for a channel state information or CSI report configuration
Shows the UE receiving from a gNB implies the gNB transmits to the UE
to be used in performing a channel state measurement procedure
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 2, the UE may also receive (via RRC) an association of the RS groups (1) to the actual channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR1 measurement resources, such as x1, x2, and x3)...)
Shows the first resource group with actual channel measurement labeled as CMR1 and x1, x2, and 3
and a set of nominal resources to be used in predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure,
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, ...and (2) to the predicted channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR2 ML/AI predicted channel measurement resources, such as y1, y2, and y3).)
Shows the second resource group or nominal resources for predicting channel measurement resources labeled as CMR2 and y1, y2, and y3
wherein the set of channel measurement resources is transmitted with a first periodicity
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0052, the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1 in a periodic manner.)
Shows the UE receiving the channel measurement resources or CMR1 in a periodic manner
See Jayasinghe FIG. 4
and the set of nominal resources is either transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity or not transmitted; and
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0043, ...the second CSI resource configuration M2 (e.g., associated with predicted resources y1-y3) may be signaled dynamically via the Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or DCI (downlink control information) between the network and UE.)
Shows the predicted channel resources dynamically signaled by the network
Shows dynamically signaling different from periodic manner
receive a measurement report associated with the set of channel measurement resources, or the set of nominal resources, or any combination thereof,
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the UE transmitting a measurement report associated with the output AI/ML model with ranking of beams
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0047, ...the UE's reporting to the network may be as follows. In a first case (e.g., case 1), the UE (e.g., the ML model 110 and/or other processing functionality) may provide a ranking (e.g., the best K beams) to the network as part of measurement reporting to the network. This ranking may be based on (1) the set of prediction resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of prediction resources, such as y1-y3) and the set of measurement resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of actual measurement resources, such as x1-x3).)
Shows the ranking of the beams based on the prediction resources or nominal resources and the measurement resources or channel measurement resources
wherein the measurement report is based at least in part on performing the channel state measurement procedure using the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0054, ...the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the CMR1 and utilizing the measurements for input for the AI/ML model
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0055, ...the UE 104 uses the AI/ML model 110 (which received as inputs at least beam measurements corresponding to CMR1 such as measurements on x1, x2, and x3) to determine an output corresponding to the predicted channel measurements corresponding to CMRs such as measurements on y1-y3).)
Shows the UE utilizing the AI/ML model to generate an output with the measurements corresponding to CMR1 and the predicted channel measurements on y1-y3 as input
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the output of the AI/ML model ranks the beams for the report
Shows the measuring of channel state measurements on CMR1 or channel measurement resources and utilizing the measurements from CMR1 and the prediction resources of CMR2 or nominal resources as input for the AI/ML model for the ranking of beams as the channel state measurement procedure
Shows the ranking of beams as the measurement report with the channel measurements on CMR1
Claim 79
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows apparatus 10 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0067, The apparatus 10 may comprise memory, such as a subscriber identity module (SIM) 38, a removable user identity module (R-UIM), an eUICC, an UICC, U-SIM, and/or the like, which may store information elements related to a mobile subscriber. In addition to the SIM, the apparatus 10 may include other removable and/or fixed memory. The apparatus 10 may include volatile memory 40 and/or non-volatile memory 42. For example, volatile memory 40 may include Random Access Memory (RAM) including dynamic and/or static RAM,...)
Shows the apparatus 10 includes random access memory or RAM or a non-transitory computer-readable medium
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0068, ...the processor 20 may be configured using computer code stored at memory 40 and/or 42 to the provide operations disclosed herein with respect to the UE...)
Shows the memory stores computer code utilized by the processor to conduct operations for the UE
receive, from a network entity, a channel state information resource setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 1, the UE 104 may receive from the network (e.g., gNB 104) a report configuration with two channel measurement groups, in accordance with some example embodiments. For example, the UE may receive, via RRC signal, a CSI report configuration from the network. Among other things, the CSI report configuration message may indicate or define two reference signal groups (e.g., two groups of channel measurement resources).)
Shows the UE receiving, from a gNB, two groups of channel measurement resources for a channel state information or CSI report configuration
to be used in performing a channel state measurement procedure
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, At 2, the UE may also receive (via RRC) an association of the RS groups (1) to the actual channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR1 measurement resources, such as x1, x2, and x3)...)
Shows the first resource group with actual channel measurement labeled as CMR1 and x1, x2, and 3
and a set of nominal resources to be used in predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure,
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0051, ...and (2) to the predicted channel measurement resource group (which in this example is CMR2 ML/AI predicted channel measurement resources, such as y1, y2, and y3).)
Shows the second resource group or nominal resources for predicting channel measurement resources labeled as CMR2 and y1, y2, and y3
wherein the set of channel measurement resources is transmitted with a first periodicity
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0052, the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1 in a periodic manner.)
Shows the UE receiving the channel measurement resources or CMR1 in a periodic manner
and the set of nominal resources is either transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity or not transmitted;
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0043, ...the second CSI resource configuration M2 (e.g., associated with predicted resources y1-y3) may be signaled dynamically via the Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) or DCI (downlink control information) between the network and UE.)
Shows the predicted channel resources dynamically signaled by the network
Shows dynamically signaling different from periodic manner
perform the channel state measurement procedure based at least in part on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources; and
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0054, ...the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the CMR1 and utilizing the measurements for input for the AI/ML model
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0055, ...the UE 104 uses the AI/ML model 110 (which received as inputs at least beam measurements corresponding to CMR1 such as measurements on x1, x2, and x3) to determine an output corresponding to the predicted channel measurements corresponding to CMRs such as measurements on y1-y3).)
Shows the UE utilizing the AI/ML model to generate an output with the measurements corresponding to CMR1 and the predicted channel measurements on y1-y3 as input
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the output of the AI/ML model ranks the beams
Shows the measuring of channel state measurements on CMR1 or channel measurement resources and utilizing the measurements from CMR1 and the prediction resources of CMR2 or nominal resources as input for the AI/ML model for the ranking of beams as the channel state measurement procedure
transmit a measurement report associated with the set of channel measurement resources, or the set of nominal resources, or any combination thereof.
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0056, ...the output 112 of the AI/ML model 110 is ranked to indicate the best beams to be used by the UE 104 to construct the reporting CSI feedback information (as uplink control information, UCI) according to the reporting quantities configured in the CSI-ReportConfig. This reporting by the UE 104 to the network 402 (e.g., gNB) may be performed based on cases 1 and 2 for example...)
Shows the UE transmitting a measurement report associated with the output AI/ML model with ranking of beams
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0047, ...the UE's reporting to the network may be as follows. In a first case (e.g., case 1), the UE (e.g., the ML model 110 and/or other processing functionality) may provide a ranking (e.g., the best K beams) to the network as part of measurement reporting to the network. This ranking may be based on (1) the set of prediction resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of prediction resources, such as y1-y3) and the set of measurement resources (CSI-RS/SSB resources within the set of actual measurement resources, such as x1-x3).)
Shows the ranking of the beams based on the prediction resources or nominal resources and the measurement resources or channel measurement resources
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of Chavva et al. (US 20210351885 A1) or Chavva.
Claim 41
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit a channel measurement parameter associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a channel prediction parameter associated with the set of channel prediction resources.
Nevertheless, Chavva, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmit a channel measurement parameter associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a channel prediction parameter associated with the set of channel prediction resources.
(See Chavva paragraph 0100, The CSI report is sent to a gNB, which includes feedback parameters, computed and predicted using ML. The feedback parameters are computed using measurements performed using CSI-RS. Values of the feedback parameters likely at future, based on channel variation and the measurements, are predicted using ML. The computed and predicted feedback parameters are included in the CSI report.)
Shows computed and predicted feedback parameters of CSI-RS transmitted to a gNB
(See Chavva paragraph 0153, At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB.)
Shows the UE computing feedback parameters based on the CSI-RS and SSB resources or channel measurement resources
(See Chavva paragraph 0155, At step 804, the method includes predicting, by the UE 601, probable values of the feedback parameters at future time instances, at a current time instant. The prediction is performed based on at least one of channel metrics, basement metrics, RX beam pattern information and to sensor measurements. The prediction is also based on feedback delay, block error rate, and code rate.)
Shows the UE predicting feedback parameters based on channel metrics
(See Chavva paragraph 0159, At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters.)
Shows the CSI report includes the computed and predicted feedback parameters
(See Chavva paragraph 0159, ...wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance.)
Shows the predicted feedback parameters based on a future time instance or predicted resources
(See Chavva paragraph 0160, At step 806, the method includes sending, by the UE 601, the at least one CSI report to the gNB 607, if the current slot is a reporting time slot.)
Shows the UE transmitting the CSI report to the gNB
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with transmitting a channel measurement parameter associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a channel prediction parameter associated with the set of channel prediction resources as disclosed by Chavva to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of transmissions between the UE and base station to determine channel measurements and predictions).
Claim 56
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…receive a selection of one of the set of channel measurement resources or the set of nominal resources for the measurement report,
wherein transmitting the measurement report is based at least in part on the received selection.
Nevertheless, Chavva, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive a selection of one of the set of channel measurement resources or the set of nominal resources for the measurement report,
(See Chavva paragraph 0151, ...the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB.)
Shows the UE receiving a set of channel measurement resources
(See Chavva paragraph 0153, At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB.)
Shows the UE computing feedback parameters based on the received CSI-RS
wherein transmitting the measurement report is based at least in part on the received selection.
(See Chavva paragraph 0159, At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters.)
Shows the UE transmits a CSI report with computed feedback parameters
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Chavva in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 41.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of Echigo et al. (WO 2023012999 A1) or Echigo.
Claim 42
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…determine a quantity of channel parameters to be measured for the set of channel measurement resources and the set of channel prediction resources; and
transmit a set of channel parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and the set of channel prediction resources based at least in part on the quantity of channel parameters.
Nevertheless, Chavva, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determine a quantity of channel parameters to be measured for the set of channel measurement resources and the set of channel prediction resources; and
(See Echigo page 18 paragraph 3, The UE may determine the (maximum) number of CSI-related quantities to be included in the beam report based on whether the beam report is transmitted using UCI or MAC CE (beam report MAC CE).)
Shows the UE determining the number of CSI-related quantities
(See Echigo page 5 paragraph 3 under “<First embodiment>”, Existing CSI-related quantities are, for example, Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI) ), SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SS/PBCH Block Indicator (SSBRI)), layer indicator (Layer Indicator (LI)), rank indicator (Rank Indicator (RI)), Layer 1 (L1) - Reference Signal At least one of Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power in Layer 1), L1-Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), etc. may be included.)
Shows CSI-related quantities include a variety of channel parameters
(See Echigo page 5 first paragraph, ...the BS is transmitting two RSs (RS#1, #2), and the UE with AI will receive the 1 predict the beam quality. Note that the RS may be, for example, CSI-RS, SSB, or the like.)
Shows the RS or reference signal as a resource to predict beams
(See Echigo page 5 second paragraph, The UE reports predicted beam measurements. Note that the UE may report current (actual, at t=0) beam measurements along with predicted (at t=1) beam measurements.)
Shows the UE utilizes the RS resources for beam measurements and predicted beam measurements
transmit a set of channel parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and the set of channel prediction resources based at least in part on the quantity of channel parameters.
(See Echigo page 18 paragraph 3, ...when using the beam report MAC CE, the UE may control to report more CSI-related quantities than when transmitting the beam report using UCI. This takes into consideration that PUSCH is more suitable for transmission of large amounts of data than PUCCH.)
Shows the UE utilizing a PUSCH for a beam report with larger quantity of CSI-related quantities
(See Echigo page 18 paragraph 4, ...when the UE transmits the beam report using the UCI, the CSI-related amount included in the beam report is based on whether the UCI is transmitted using the PUSCH or the PUCCH.)
Shows the UE transmitting the beam report
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with determining a quantity of channel parameters to be measured for the set of channel measurement resources and the set of prediction resources and transmitting a set of channel parameters associated with the set of channel measurements resources and the set of channel prediction resources based on the quantity of channel parameters as disclosed by Echigo to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of predicting the channel state between the UE and base station).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu in further view of Liu et al. (WO 2024016222 A1) or Liu.
Claim 43
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit a bitmap…
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmit a bitmap…
(See Zhu paragraph 0402, ...the UE could send to the network, e.g., in part of the beam/CSI report(s) or PUSCH MAC CE, a bitmap with each entry/bit position in the bitmap corresponding to an entry/position in the CSI reporting instance/CSI-Report;)
Shows the UE sending a bitmap to the network
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with transmitting a bitmap as disclosed by Zhu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the UE to transmit data to a base station).
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…indicating a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources.
Nevertheless, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…indicating a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources.
(See Liu page 3 paragraph 2, ...the CSI report setting is associated with one CSI resource setting for beam prediction and one CSI resource setting for beam measurement.)
Shows one resource setting for beam prediction and one resource setting for beam measurement
(See Liu pages 2-3 last and first paragraph, ...a measurement beam set indicated in the one CSI resource setting for beam measurement is a subset of a prediction beam set indicated in the one CSI resource setting for beam prediction, the measurement beam set is configured by a bitmap of the prediction beam set, each bit b .sub.i of the bitmap indicates whether the (i+1) .sup.th beam in the prediction beam set is indicated as a measurement beam, i is from 0 to the number of beams in the prediction beam set minus 1, and the number of bits of the bitmap indicating that the (i+1) .sup.th beam in the prediction beam set is indicated as the measurement beam is equal to the number of beams in the measurement beam set.)
Shows a bitmap indicating beam measurements in a beam measurement resource and beam predictions in prediction resources
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with a bitmap indicating a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources as disclosed by Liu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the base station to map between channel measurement parameters, channel prediction parameters, channel measurement resources, and channel prediction resources).
Claims 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu in further view of Chavva et al. (US 20210351885 A1) or Chavva.
Claim 44
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit a set of bits comprising an indication of a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and…
…wherein a quantity of the set of channel measurement parameters is equal to a quantity of the set of…
…transmit the set of channel measurement parameters and…
…wherein the measurement report comprises a single-part channel state information report.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmit a set of bits comprising an indication of a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and…
(See Zhu paragraph 0237, ...the UE could report to the network a one-bit flag/indicator along with/in part of the beam/CSI report(s). If the one-bit flag/indicator is set to “1”/“ON”/“enabled,” the reported BM-RI pairs/beam qualities in the same reporting instance/CSI report are from/for both the serving cell and the non-serving cell(s). Otherwise, that is, if the one-bit flag/indicator is set to “0”/“OFF”/“disabled,” the reported BM-RI pairs/beam qualities in the same reporting instance/CSI report are from/for non-serving cell(s) only.)
Shows the UE transmitting a one-bit indication for reported beam qualities in a CSI report indicating the presence of beam qualities for serving and non-serving cells
(See Zhu paragraph 0241, the corresponding higher layer parameter CSI-ResourceConfig, could include/indicate a multi-bit indicator with each state of the multi-bit indicator corresponding to a PCI (e.g., either a serving cell PCI or a non-serving cell PCI).)
Shows a multi-bit indicator
…wherein a quantity of the set of channel measurement parameters is equal to a quantity of the set of…
(See Zhu paragraph 0153, ...the UE also reports in the same CSI reporting instance the L1-RSRPs, {L1-RSRP_0, L1-RSRP_1}, corresponding to/associated with the SSBRIs for the serving and non-serving cells, respectively. This is equivalent to reporting in a single reporting instance two BM-RI pairs (or two beam qualities) {L1-RSRP_0, SSBRI_0} for the serving cell and {L1-RSRP_1, SSBRI_1} for the non-serving cell.)
Shows the two beam qualities for the serving cell equals the two beam qualities for the non-serving cell
transmit the set of channel measurement parameters and…
(See Zhu paragraph 0155, ...the UE would report in a single reporting instance two BM-RI pairs (or two beam qualities) {L1-RSRP_0, SSBRI_0} for the serving cell and {L1-RSRP_1, CRI_1} for the non-serving cell.)
Shows the UE reporting or transmitting the two beam qualities for the serving cell and non-serving cell
wherein the measurement report comprises a single-part channel state information report.
(See Zhu paragraph 0558, ...the group based beam reporting is via one-part UCI or a two-part UCI depending on a condition.)
Shows a one-part group based beam reporting
(See Zhu paragraph 0560, ...the group based beam reporting could be multiplexed with other types of CSI or beam reports,...)
Shows the group based beam reporting as CSI report
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
However, Jayasinghe fails to further explicitly teach,
…a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources,…
…channel prediction parameters; and…
…the set of channel prediction parameters,…
Nevertheless, Chavva, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources,…
…channel prediction parameters; and…
…the set of channel prediction parameters,…
(See Chavva paragraph 0159, ...wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance.)
Shows the predicted feedback parameters based on a future time instance or predicted resources
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Chavva in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 41.
Claim 45
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
…transmit a first set of bits comprising an indication of a set of channel measurement parameters associated with the set of channel measurement resources and a second set of bits comprising an indication of…
(See Zhu paragraph 0408, ...the UE could send to the network one or more (e.g., M_nsc+1) bitmaps each indicating the ordering/position(s) in the same CSI reporting instance/CSI report/beam report of the reported BM-RI pairs/beam qualities for a PCI, corresponding to either the serving cell PCI or a non-serving cell PCI.)
Shows the UE transmitting more than one bitmap or a set of bits for the serving cell or non-serving cell
(See Zhu paragraph 0408, ...the UE could send to the network a bitmap for the serving cell PCI with each entry in the bitmap corresponding to an entry/position in the CSI reporting instance/CSI report/beam report; if an entry/bit position in the bitmap for the serving cell PCI is set to “1,” the network could expect that the BM-RI pair/beam quality reported in the corresponding entry/position in the reporting instance/CSI report/beam report is for the serving cell PCI.)
Shows the bitmap indicates beam quality report for a serving cell
(See Zhu paragraph 0409, The UE could send to the network another bitmap for the non-serving cell k (corresponding to the k-th non-serving cell PCI among the M_nsc non-serving cell PCIs or the k-th lowest (or highest) non-serving cell PCI among the M_nsc non-serving cell PCIs, where k=1, 2, . . . , M_nsc) with each entry in the bitmap corresponding to an entry/position in the CSI reporting instance/CSI report/beam report; if an entry/bit position in the bitmap for the non-serving cell k is set to “1,” the network could expect that the BM-RI pair/beam quality reported in the corresponding entry/position in the CSI reporting instance/CSI report/beam report is for the non-serving cell k,...)
Shows the bitmap indicates beam quality report for a non-serving cell
wherein a quantity of the set of channel measurement parameters is different from a quantity of…
(See Zhu paragraph 0645, ...the UE could (dynamically) determine a different M_nsc and/or L_nsc and/or L_q for each CSI resource/reporting setting/configuration.)
Shows the Mnsc, Lnsc, and L_q may be different
(See Zhu paragraph 0477, ...the UE could receive from the network the indication/instruction on which M_nsc non-serving cells out of the total N_nsc non-serving cells the BM-RI pairs/beam qualities ought to be associated with. The UE could also autonomously determine the M_nsc′ non-serving cells from the total N_nsc non-serving cells the BM-RI pairs/beam qualities are associated with.)
Shows the values Mnsc and M_nsc’ consists of quantities of non-serving cells with beam qualities
(See Zhu paragraph 0478, The UE could then autonomously determine the M_nsc′ non-serving cells out of the total N_nsc non-serving cells according to the ranking of their Ll-RSRPs/L1-SINRs (note that here M_nsc and M_nsc′ could be different values).)
Shows the values Mnsc and M_nsc’ may be different values
transmit the set of channel measurement parameters and…
(See Zhu paragraph 0410, the UE could report in the same CSI reporting instance/CSI report/beam report a total of L_tot BM-RI pairs/beam qualities (including the resource indicators and the corresponding beam metrics) or a total of L_tot resource indicators such as SSBRIs/CRIs (and therefore, the corresponding L_tot beam metrics such as L1-RSRPs/L1-SINRs) for both the serving cell PCI and the non-serving cell PCI(s),...)
Shows the UE reporting or transmitting beam qualities for both the serving and non-serving cell
wherein the measurement report comprises a two-part channel state information report.
(See Zhu paragraph 0558, ...the group based beam reporting is via one-part UCI or a two-part UCI depending on a condition.)
Shows a two-part group based beam reporting
(See Zhu paragraph 0560, ...the group based beam reporting could be multiplexed with other types of CSI or beam reports,...)
Shows the group based beam reporting as CSI report
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
However, Jayasinghe further fails to explicitly teach,
…a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources,…
…the set of channel prediction parameters; and…
…the set of channel prediction parameters,…
Nevertheless, Chavva, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a set of channel prediction parameters associated with the set of channel prediction resources,…
…the set of channel prediction parameters; and…
…the set of channel prediction parameters,…
(See Chavva paragraph 0159, ...wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance.)
Shows the predicted feedback parameters based on a future time instance or predicted resources
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Chavva in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 41.
Claims 46, 48, 49, 50 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu.
Claim 46
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions to perform the channel state measurement procedure are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…perform the channel state measurement procedure using a subset of the set of channel measurement resources and a subset of the set of nominal resources based at least in part on receiving the channel state information resource setting.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…perform the channel state measurement procedure using a subset of the set of channel measurement resources and a subset of the set of nominal resources based at least in part on receiving the channel state information resource setting.
(See Zhu paragraph 0182, a single resource setting is configured, comprising of one or more CSI-RS resource sets for the serving cell and one or more CSI-RS resource set(s) for the non-serving cell(s).)
Shows the single resource setting comprises CSI-RS resource sets for the serving cell and non-serving cell
(See Zhu paragraph 0184, a cell (i.e., cell-k here) could be associated with more than one (i.e., S_k with S_k≥1) CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different RS type. In this example, CSI-RS resource set #0 comprises of NZP CSI-RS resources, while CSI-RS resource set #2 comprises of CSI-RS resources for tracking. The associations shown in FIG. 17A are regardless of whether the given cell is the serving cell or a non-serving cell.)
Shows the CSI-RS resource set for the serving and non-serving cells comprises subsets of resources with set #0 or set #2
(See Zhu paragraph 0190, ...the UE is configured/indicated by the network the CSI resource setting(s)/configuration(s) and CSI reporting setting(s)/configuration(s) for both the serving and non-serving cells, and their association rule(s)/mapping relationship(s).)
Shows the UE receiving the CSI resource settings from the network
(See Zhu paragraph 0191, ...based on the configured CSI resource setting(s)/configuration(s), the UE would measure the corresponding RSs from both the serving and non-serving cells. Here, the serving cell and non-serving cell RSs could correspond to SSBs, CSI-RSs, TRSs, PL-RSs, and etc. The UE would also compute the beam metric(s) such as L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs based on the measurements of the RSs.)
Shows the UE computing beam metrics based on the CSI resource settings for the serving and non-serving cells
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 48
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions to receive the channel state information resource setting are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…receive the channel state information resource setting associated with the measurement report indicating that the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive the channel state information resource setting associated with the measurement report indicating that the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources.
(See Zhu paragraph 0174, ...in each CSI resource setting, one or more of the followings are included: (1) a configuration of S≥1 CSI-RS resource set(s); (2) a configuration of K.sub.s≥1 CSI-RS resources for each resource set s, including at least: mapping to REs,...)
Shows in a CSI resource setting includes a configuration for CSI-RS resources for each resource set s
(See Zhu paragraph 0177, ... the CSI resource setting for serving cell and the CSI resource setting(s) for non-serving cell(s) could be mapped to a single CSI reporting setting.)
Shows two separate resource settings for serving and non-serving cells in a single CSI report setting or measurement report
(See Zhu paragraph 0184, ...a cell (i.e., cell-k here) could be associated with more than one (i.e., S_k with S_k≥1) CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different RS type. In this example, CSI-RS resource set #0 comprises of NZP CSI-RS resources, while CSI-RS resource set #2 comprises of CSI-RS resources for tracking. The associations shown in FIG. 17A are regardless of whether the given cell is the serving cell or a non-serving cell.)
Shows each of the resource settings for the serving and non-serving cell possess various resources sets or subsets such as set #2 or set #0
(See Zhu paragraph 0190, ...the UE is configured/indicated by the network the CSI resource setting(s)/configuration(s) and CSI reporting setting(s)/configuration(s) for both the serving and non-serving cells, and their association rule(s)/mapping relationship(s).)
Shows the UE receiving the CSI resource settings from the network
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 49
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions to receive the channel state information resource setting are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…receive a control signal indicating a partitioning between channel resources, wherein the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources in accordance with the partitioning.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive a control signal indicating a partitioning between channel resources, wherein the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and
(See Zhu paragraph 0156, ...the UE could be indicated/configured by the network the correspondence between the resource indicators in the beam group/pair (and therefore, the corresponding/associated beam metrics in the group/pair of beam metrics) and the serving/non-serving cell(s); this indication could be via higher layer (RRC) or/and MAC CE or/and DCI based signaling;)
Shows the DCI indicates the groups of resources associated with the serving and non-serving cell
See Zhu TABLE 1
the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources in accordance with the partitioning.
(See Zhu paragraph 0453, ...the CSI request field in DCI 0_1 is used as an indication to instruct the UE which M_nsc non-serving cells out of the total N_nsc non-serving cells are for beam measurement and reporting (i.e., the BM-RI pairs/beam qualities may be associated with).)
Shows the DCI instructing the UE to measure and report for certain non-serving cells or a subset of non-serving cells out of the total non-serving cells
(See Zhu paragraph 0454, The CSI request field in DCI 0_1 could be used to indicate a specific state in the list. For instance, if the CSI request field is 5, the UE would know that the fifth state in the non-serving cells list, i.e., {NSC#0, NSC#2} is indicated. The UE could then report to the network, e.g., in a single reporting instance, a group of resource indicators such as SSBRIs/CRIs for the serving cell and the non-serving cells #0 and #2 along with their corresponding/associated beam metrics such as L1-RSRPs/L1-SINRs.)
Shows the DCI indicates to the UE to report measurements on the non-serving cells #0 and #2 group of resources
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 50
Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 50. Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the control signal comprises at least one of…
…a downlink control information, or…
(See Zhu paragraph 0156, ...the UE could be indicated/configured by the network the correspondence between the resource indicators in the beam group/pair (and therefore, the corresponding/associated beam metrics in the group/pair of beam metrics) and the serving/non-serving cell(s); this indication could be via higher layer (RRC) or/and MAC CE or/and DCI based signaling;)
Shows the UE receiving a DCI or downlink control information to partition resource between serving and non-serving cells
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 53
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions to receive the channel state information resource setting are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…receive the channel state information resource setting indicating that the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources,
wherein the second subset of the channel resources is not indicated by the network entity.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive the channel state information resource setting indicating that the set of channel measurement resources comprises a first subset of channel resources and the set of nominal resources comprises a second subset of the channel resources,
(See Zhu paragraph 0174, ...in each CSI resource setting, one or more of the followings are included: (1) a configuration of S≥1 CSI-RS resource set(s); (2) a configuration of K.sub.s≥1 CSI-RS resources for each resource set s, including at least: mapping to REs,...)
Shows in a CSI resource setting includes a configuration for CSI-RS resources for each resource set s
(See Zhu paragraph 0177, ... the CSI resource setting for serving cell and the CSI resource setting(s) for non-serving cell(s) could be mapped to a single CSI reporting setting.)
Shows two separate resource settings for serving and non-serving cells in a single CSI report setting
(See Zhu paragraph 0184, ...a cell (i.e., cell-k here) could be associated with more than one (i.e., S_k with S_k≥1) CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different RS type. In this example, CSI-RS resource set #0 comprises of NZP CSI-RS resources, while CSI-RS resource set #2 comprises of CSI-RS resources for tracking. The associations shown in FIG. 17A are regardless of whether the given cell is the serving cell or a non-serving cell.)
Shows each of the resource settings for the serving and non-serving cell possess various resources sets or subsets such as set #2 or set #0
(See Zhu paragraph 0190, ...the UE is configured/indicated by the network the CSI resource setting(s)/configuration(s) and CSI reporting setting(s)/configuration(s) for both the serving and non-serving cells, and their association rule(s)/mapping relationship(s).)
Shows the UE receiving the CSI resource settings from the network
wherein the second subset of the channel resources is not indicated by the network entity.
(See Zhu paragraph 00358, ...the UE could autonomously/dynamically determine the M_nsc non-serving cells or non-serving cell PCIs out of the total N_nsc non-serving cells or non-serving cell PCIs and report to the network, e.g., in a single CSI reporting instance/CSI-Report, the resource indicators such as SSBRIs/CRIs and their corresponding/associated beam metrics such as L1-RSRPs/L1-SINRs for (i) both the serving cell and the selected M_nsc non-serving cells or (ii) only the selected M_nsc non-serving cells.)
Shows the UE autonomously determining the resources for M_nsc non-serving cells out of the total non-serving cells implying the second subset of resources fails to be indicated by the network
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu in further view of Baligh et al. (US 20180323850 A1) or Baligh.
Claim 47
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit, to the network entity, a request…
Nevertheless, Baligh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmit, to the network entity, a request…
(See Baligh paragraph 0046, At step 820, the UE sends a CSI-RS configuration request to a serving base station.)
Shows the UE transmitting a CSI-RS configuration request to a base station
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with transmitting a request to a base station as disclosed by Baligh to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of determining channel measurement resources and nominal resources).
However, Jayasinghe further fails to explicitly teach,
…to use a subset of the set of channel measurement resources and a subset of the set of nominal resources in performing the channel state measurement procedure.
Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…to use a subset of the set of channel measurement resources and a subset of the set of nominal resources in performing the channel state measurement procedure.
(See Zhu paragraph 0184, ...a cell (i.e., cell-k here) could be associated with more than one (i.e., S_k with S_k≥1) CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different RS type. In this example, CSI-RS resource set #0 comprises of NZP CSI-RS resources, while CSI-RS resource set #2 comprises of CSI-RS resources for tracking. The associations shown in FIG. 17A are regardless of whether the given cell is the serving cell or a non-serving cell.)
Shows a CSI-RS resource configuration for both a serving cell and non-serving cell
Shows a resource set for a serving cell or non-serving cell possess subset resource sets such as set #0 and set #2
Shows the resource set for a serving cell as channel measurement resources and the resource set for the non-serving cell as the nominal resources
(See Zhu paragraph 0191, In 1802, based on the configured CSI resource setting(s)/configuration(s), the UE would measure the corresponding RSs from both the serving and non-serving cells. Here, the serving cell and non-serving cell RSs could correspond to SSBs, CSI-RSs, TRSs, PL-RSs, and etc. The UE would also compute the beam metric(s) such as L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs based on the measurements of the RSs.)
Shows the UE measuring reference signals or RSs from the serving and non-serving cells
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu in further view of Das et al. (US 20160345229 A1) or Das.
Claim 54
Jayasinghe teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0060, FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an apparatus 10, in accordance with some example embodiments. The apparatus 10 may comprise or be comprised in a user equipment, such as user equipment 204.)
Shows the apparatus of FIG. 6 consists of a user equipment or UE
(See Jayasinghe paragraph 0065, The processor 20 and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor 20 may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more elements of the user interface through computer program instructions, for example, software and/or firmware, stored on a memory accessible to the processor 20, for example, volatile memory 40, non-volatile memory 42,...)
Shows the processor controlling functions of apparatus 10 with computer program instructions
receive a request to perform the channel state measurement procedure based at least in part on the set of channel measurement resources in accordance with… …and based at least in part on the set of nominal resources in accordance with… …different from…
(See Zhu paragraph 0191, ...the UE would measure the corresponding RSs from both the serving and non-serving cells. Here, the serving cell and non-serving cell RSs could correspond to SSBs, CSI-RSs, TRSs, PL-RSs, and etc. The UE would also compute the beam metric(s) such as L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs based on the measurements of the RSs. )
Shows the UE measuring resources from both the serving and non-serving cells and computing RSRP and SINR
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…a first frequency…
…a second frequency…
…the first frequency.
Nevertheless, Das, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a first frequency…
…a second frequency…
…the first frequency.
(See Das paragraph 0065, UE 115-e is communicating with a serving base station 105-d of the first wireless network using a WWAN module 260-b of it WWAN transceiver via a serving radio link 405.)
Shows a serving base station communicating with a UE on a first wireless network
(See Das paragraph 0067, ...UE 115-e begins scanning the non-serving base stations on different frequencies belonging to the second wireless network using the Rx chain of WLAN module 265-b, receiving one or more reference signals 415 from the first non-serving base station 105-e,...)
Shows the non-serving base stations operate on different frequencies
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with channel with a first frequency from a serving base station and a second frequency from non-serving base stations as disclosed by Das to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of collisions transmitting and receiving channel measurement parameters and channel prediction parameters).
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al. (US 20230353326 A1) or Jayasinghe in view of view of Zhu et al. (US 20220216904 A1) or Zhu in further view of Han et al. (US 20230023237 A1) or Han.
Claim 55
Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 55. Nevertheless, Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein… …for the set of channel measurement resources is …for the set of nominal resources.
(See Zhu paragraph 0191, ...the UE would measure the corresponding RSs from both the serving and non-serving cells. Here, the serving cell and non-serving cell RSs could correspond to SSBs, CSI-RSs, TRSs, PL-RSs, and etc. The UE would also compute the beam metric(s) such as L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs based on the measurements of the RSs. )
Shows the UE measuring resources from both the serving and non-serving cells and computing RSRP and SINR
The motivation to combine Jayasinghe and Zhu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 43.
However, Jayasinghe fails to explicitly teach,
…a periodicity…
…longer than a periodicity…
Nevertheless, Han, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a periodicity…
…longer than a periodicity…
(See Han paragraph 0100, ...if there is another CSI-RS resource in the MO 3 that completely coincides with the gap, and a periodicity of the CSI-RS resource is longer than T5, the CSI-RS periodicity of the MO 3 may also be correspondingly adjusted.)
Shows a CSI-RS resource with a longer periodicity than the T5 CSI-RS resource
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information or CSI setting indicating a set of channel measurement resources, used to perform a channel state measurement procedure, and a set of nominal resources used for predicting a channel state in the channel state measurement procedure with the set of channel measurement resource transmitted with a first periodicity and the set of nominal resources transmitted with a second periodicity different from the first periodicity. The user equipment or UE performs the channel state measurement procedure based on the set of channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources and transmits a measurement report associated with the channel measurement resources and the set of nominal resources as disclosed by Jayasinghe with channel with first set of resources with a longer periodicity than a second set of resources as disclosed by Han to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of incorrectly extrapolating the channel state measurement between the UE and base station through channel state prediction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai et al. (US 20200259545 A1) or Bai teaches a user equipment predicting channel state information or CSI with a prediction algorithm.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414