DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to foreign application DKPA 2022 00575 filed on June 15th, 2022, has been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 14, 2026, has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities: “an arrangement” should be “the arrangement” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki (JP H06107167) Translations of the foreign documents are included have been given paragraph numbers that are used for citations.
With regards to claim 1, Ozaki discloses an arrangement for a mobile robot (P02), said arrangement forming an interface (body 2) for a pallet to be loaded and unloaded from the mobile robot, wherein said arrangement comprises a sliding mechanism (slide forks 11) that forms a sliding interface for an associated pallet and a fixed surface (loading platform 4) that forms a stationary interface for the associated pallet, wherein the sliding mechanism and the fixed surface define respective first and second vertical levels (Fig. 3), and wherein at least one vertical level is adjustable (via lifting device 10) to an extent allowing an associated pallet to be loaded and/or unloaded from an associated pallet rack.
With regards to claim 2, Ozaki discloses an arrangement for a mobile robot (P02), said arrangement forming an interface (body 2) for a pallet to be loaded and unloaded from the mobile robot, wherein said arrangement comprises a sliding mechanism (slide forks 11) that forms a sliding interface for an associated pallet and a fixed surface (loading platform 4) that forms a stationary interface for the associated pallet, wherein the arrangement (20) is selectively configured in a first mode (P07, L5-6), allowing a pallet to slide on and off the arrangement by means of the sliding mechanism, a second mode (P07, L8-9), allowing a pallet to be stationary on the arrangement by resting on the fixed surface, a third mode (P07, L11-12), allowing a pallet to be loaded on and off a pallet rack.
With regards to claim 3, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses wherein the pallet is arranged at three different vertical levels (Fig. 1, Fig. 3; intermediate position between Figs. 1 and 3) in the first, second, and third mode respectively by adjusting the vertical level of the sliding mechanism and/or the fixed surface
With regards to claim 12, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses a mobile robot comprising the arrangement according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki.
With regards to claim 4, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses causing at least one of the sliding mechanism and the fixed surface to be arranged in an active position (P007, L3-8) in which it is intended to be engaged with a loaded pallet. Ozaki does not directly disclose a control unit. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that control units are known in the art and are therefore it is rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a control unit to change the position of the sliding mechanism in order to increase efficiency.
With regards to claim 5, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 4 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses causing one of the sliding mechanism and the fixed surface to be arranged in the active position by vertically moving the sliding mechanism or the fixed surface (P007). Ozaki does not directly disclose a control unit. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that control units are known in the art and are therefore it is rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a control unit to change the position of the sliding mechanism in order to increase efficiency.
With regards to claim 6, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 5 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses a lifting mechanism (lifting device 10) being configured to vertically move the sliding mechanism or the fixed surface.
With regards to claim 7, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 6 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses a base level surface (recess 3), and at least one elongated bar vertically displaced from the base level surface (generally indicated by lifting device 10), wherein the base level surface and the at least one elongated bar comprises a respective one of the sliding mechanism or the fixed surface (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 9, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Ozaki further discloses wherein the base level surface comprises the fixed surface (Fig. 1), and the at least one elongated bar comprises the sliding mechanism (Best seen in Fig. 3), and wherein the at least one elongated bar is vertically moveable between a lowered inactive position (P07, L8-9), in which an associated pallet is engaged with the fixed surface at the first vertical level and a raised active position (P07, L3-6), in which an associated pallet is engaged with the sliding mechanism at the second vertical level.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Pan et al (CN 113072010), hereafter Pan.
With regards to claim 8, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Ozaki does not disclose wherein the base level surface comprises the sliding mechanism and the at least one elongated bar comprises the fixed surface wherein the at least one elongated bar is vertically moveable between a lowered inactive position, in which an associated pallet is engaged with the sliding mechanism at the first vertical level, and a raised active position in which an associated pallet is engaged with the fixed surface at the second vertical level.
However, Pan discloses wherein a base level surface (not labeled separately in Fig. 1, but underneath numeral 5) comprises a sliding mechanism (rolling docking unit 5) and the at least one elongated bar (scissor 412) comprises the fixed surface (fork structure 4), wherein the at least one elongated bar is vertically moveable between a lowered inactive position (Fig. 1), in which an associated pallet is engaged with the sliding mechanism at the first vertical level, and a raised active position (Fig. 2), in which an associated pallet is engaged with the fixed surface at the second vertical level. Therefore, this is a simple rearrangement of parts and is rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention based on space constraints on the mobile robot.
With regards to claim 10, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Ozaki does not disclose wherein the sliding mechanism comprises a drive unit for actively driving an associated pallet along the arrangement.
However, Pan discloses wherein the sliding mechanism (rolling docking unit 5) comprises a drive unit (motor 51) for actively driving an associated pallet along the arrangement. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a motor as disclosed by Pan to the arrangement disclosed by Ozaki, in order to increase loading and unloading efficiency.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loomer (US 3973685).
With regards to claim 11, Ozaki discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Ozaki does not disclose at least one sensor configured to monitor the position of an associated pallet being loaded onto the arrangement.
However, Loomer discloses at least one sensor configured to monitor the position of an associated pallet being loaded onto the arrangement (Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a sensor as disclosed by Loomer to the arrangement disclosed by Ozaki in order to avoid damage to the mobile robot.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653