988/Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 12/14/2024. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuyama et al. (US-20220021854-A1; hereinafter Katsuyama).
Regarding claim 1, Katsuyama discloses An illumination device comprising: a plurality of light emitting sections arranged in an array and emitting light beams substantially parallel to each other; (see at least Figure 1A and 8A "Examiner's note: for comparisons regarding the light emitting beams as parallel to each other" and [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5.") a condensing section that condenses a light beam emitted from each light emitting section; and (see at least [0046]; "The light beams 2.sub.1 to 2.sub.3 are then condensed by the condensing member 5 and travel as a collimated light beam such that the light tracks 4.sub.1 to 43 of the center axes of the lights emitted from the light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 respectively cross each other.") a conversion section that makes light beams diverging after light is condensed substantially parallel to each other and changes emission directions of the light beams. (see at least [0045]; "Light beams 2.sub.1 to 2.sub.3 emitted from emission spots 3.sub.1 to 3.sub.3 of the light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 travel toward the condensing member 5 such that light tracks 4.sub.1 to 4.sub.3 on the center axes of the lights become parallel with each other,").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyama and Kim, Dae-Sik (US-20060044799-A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 1, wherein a (see at least [0053] This result is generally valid under practical conditions (the emission angle of the light source 1 is within 30° and the collimate beam diameter is within 5 mm), regardless the type of the condensing lens,... and the emission angle of the light source 1,”).
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a divergence angle of light being 2% or less. Instead, Katsuyama teaches emission angle of light beam at 30 degrees.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilize its light sources at specific angle and Kim is directed at having a small divergence angle. Kim teaches:
Divergence angle of 2 degrees or less (see at least [0035]; "As shown in FIG. 3C, the divergence angle of light due to a light distribution is .+-.1 to .+-.2 degrees.").
Both Katsuyama and Kim can have their emitted light at specific angles. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include a specific divergence angle as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a divergence angle as taught by Kim in the output light beams taught by Katsuyama to enable a further spread of linear light beams from the condensing lens. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a divergence angle to the teachings of Katsuyama.
Claims 3 through 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyama and Yonezawa et al. (US-20240258767-A1; hereinafter Yonezawa).
Regarding claim 3, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 1, (see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5.”) wherein the light emitting section includes "a semiconductor layer." (see at least [0073]; "The light beams 21.sub.1 to 21.sub.3 travel from each semiconductor layer, while spreading the beams toward the condensing lens 24.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach an excitation layer, laser medium, or a saturable absorber. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a semiconductor layer.
Katsuyama discloses a light emitting device and semiconductor layer and Yonezawa is directed at utilizing an excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber. Yonezawa teaches:
Excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber (see at least [0100]; "The first resonator includes the excitation light source and the solid-state laser medium. The second resonator includes the solid-state laser medium and a saturable absorber, and performs Q-switched laser oscillation using excitation light from the first resonator.").
Both Katsuyama and Yonezawa can utilize a light source and emit light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include the specific hardware as taught by Yonezawa. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include two resonators that have an excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber as taught by Yonezawa to the semiconductor section inside the light emitting device as taught by Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including specific hardware included in Yonezawa in the light emitting device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 4, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 3, (see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5.") wherein the light emitting section has a "semiconductor layer." (see at least [0073]; "The light beams 21.sub.1 to 21.sub.3 travel from each semiconductor layer, while spreading the beams toward the condensing lens 24.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach an excitation layer, laser medium, or a saturable absorber being laminated. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a semiconductor layer.
Katsuyama discloses a light emitting section and Yonezawa is directed at utilizing an excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber being bonded and laminated. Yonezawa teaches:
Lamination structure (see at least [0040]; "The laminated semiconductor layer, the laser medium, and the saturable absorber may be integrally bonded.")
Both Katsuyama and Yonezawa can utilize a light source and emit light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include the specific hardware as taught by Yonezawa. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include two resonators that have an excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber, and have all three be bonded and laminated as taught by Yonezawa to the semiconductor section inside the light emitting device as taught by Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including specific hardware included in Yonezawa in the light emitting device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 5, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] (see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach an excitation layer, laser medium, saturable absorber, or resonators. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a light beam emission device.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilize multiple light sources and Yonezawa is directed at utilizing an excitation layer, laser medium, saturable absorber, and resonators. Yonezawa teaches:
First reflection layer (see at least [0014]; "a laminated semiconductor layer including a first reflection layer with respect to a first wavelength and an active layer that performs surface emission at the first wavelength;").
Laser medium (see at least [0015]; "a laser medium disposed on a rear side of an optical axis of the laminated semiconductor layer and including a second reflection layer with respect to a second wavelength on a first surface facing the laminated semiconductor layer and a third reflection layer with respect to the first wavelength on a second surface on a side opposite to the first surface;").
Fourth reflection layer (see at least [0016]; "a fourth reflection layer with respect to the second wavelength, the forth reflection layer being disposed on the second surface or disposed on a rear side of the optical axis with respect to the second surface;").
First resonator (see at least [0017]; "a first resonator that causes light of the first wavelength to resonate between the first reflection layer and the third reflection layer;").
Second resonator (see at least [0018]; "a second resonator that causes light of the second wavelength to resonate between the second reflection layer and the fourth reflection layer;").
Saturable absorber (see at least [0038]; "The laser element may further include a saturable absorber including a fourth reflection layer on a third surface on a side opposite to the laser medium,").
Optical axis for excitation layer, laser medium, and absorber (see at least [0191]; "In the case of FIG. 15, the optical axis of the excitation light source 2, the optical axis of the solid-state laser medium 3, the optical axis of the saturable absorber 4, and the optical axis of the optical element 9 need to be arranged coaxially.").
Both Katsuyama and Yonezawa can utilize light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include the specific hardware as taught by Yonezawa. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include two resonators with the excitation layer, laser medium, and saturation absorber along with their specifications and additional layers as taught by Yonezawa in the light beam emission device taught by Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the specific hardware and specifications of Yonezawa in the light emission device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 6, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 3, (see at least [0042]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 11 to 13 and a single condensing member 5. The condensing member 5 used in this case is a condensing lens.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach excitation layer, laser medium, or saturable absorber being laminated. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a condenser lens section.
Katsuyama discloses a method to condense light and Yonezawa is directed at condensing light from an excitation source and a laminated combination laser medium with a saturable absorber. Yonezawa teaches:
Laminated laser medium and saturable absorber (see at least [0175]; "Next, as described in step S3, the laminated semiconductor layer 2 for the excitation light source 2, ... the solid-state laser medium 3, and the saturable absorber 4 processed in step S2 are arranged and aligned in the vertical direction.”).
Condensing a light beam from the excitation layer (see at least [0182]; "Conventionally, the excitation light source 2 and the second resonator 12 perform five-axis optical adjustment... and focus using a plurality of lenses including ... a condenser lens.").
Both Katsuyama and Yonezawa can utilize a light source and emit light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include the specific hardware as taught by Yonezawa. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include two resonators that have an excitation layer, laser medium, and saturable absorber, and have all three be bonded and laminated as taught by Yonezawa and have their light emission focused through a condensing lens taught by Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including specific hardware included in Yonezawa in the light emitting device of Katsuyama.
Claims 7 through 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyama and Asada et al. (US-20060250933-A1; hereinafter Asada).
Regarding claim 7, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 1, further comprising an optical element that converts the light beam emitted from the (see at least [0009]; "According to another aspect of the invention, a light beam emission device comprising is provided with: a plurality of light sources; and a condensing member,").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach the light beam emitted as linear. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a light beam emitted from the condensing/conversion section.
Katsuyama discloses a method to condense a plurality of light sources and Asada is directed at utilizing diffraction to produce linear light beams. Asada teaches:
Conversion section (see at least Figure 2, object 8).
Linear light beam (see at least Figure 11, Object 107 and [0058]; "An optical diffraction element according to the present invention is ... to be disposed in an optical path through which a plurality of light beams of different wavelengths travel, comprising: a periodic structure which,... allows the first light beam to be substantially completely transmitted therethrough,").
Diffraction element (see at least [0021]; "Therefore, the hologram functions as a diffraction grating with respect to polarized light whose polarization direction is perpendicular to the grating grooves, whereas the hologram does not function as a diffraction grating with respect to polarized light whose polarization direction is parallel to the grating grooves.").
Both Katsuyama and Asada can utilize a plurality of light beams. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include specific hardware as taught by Asada. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a non-linear converting element and diffraction element taught by Asada in the light beam emission device of Katsuyama to allow the light beam produced to then pass through the diffraction element and then through a non-linear lens as taught by Asada. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a specific hardware taught by Asada in the light emission device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 8, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 7, further comprising (see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5. The condensing member 5 used in this case is a condensing lens.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a diffraction grating. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a plurality of light beams.
Katsuyama discloses a method to condense a plurality of light beams and Asada is directed at utilizing diffraction to produce linear light beams. Asada teaches:
Diffraction element (see at least [0021]; "Therefore, the hologram functions as a diffraction grating with respect to polarized light whose polarization direction is perpendicular to the grating grooves, whereas the hologram does not function as a diffraction grating with respect to polarized light whose polarization direction is parallel to the grating grooves.").
Both Katsuyama and Asada can utilize a plurality of light beams. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include specific hardware as taught by Asada. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a diffraction element taught by Asada in the illumination device of Katsuyama to allow the light beam produced to then pass through the diffraction element as taught by Asada. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a specific hardware taught by Asada in the illumination device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 9, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 7, wherein at least one of (Examiner’s note: because OR is stated here in the claim, examiner will choose to examine the portion that is not crossed out as either will fulfill the condition of the claim rejection being met.) (see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5. The condensing member 5 used in this case is a condensing lens.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a driving section. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a plurality of light beams.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilize a light beam emission device and Asada is directed at utilizing an “optical pickup.” Asada teaches:
Driving section (see at least [0003]; "An "optical pickup" is a small device in which elements such as a light source(s),... an actuator(s) for driving the objective lens(es) are integrated…").
Linear light beam (see at least Figure 11, Object 107 and [0058]; "An optical diffraction element according to the present invention is ... to be disposed in an optical path through which a plurality of light beams of different wavelengths travel, comprising: a periodic structure which,... allows the first light beam to be substantially completely transmitted therethrough,").
Both Katsuyama and Asada can make use of hardware pertaining to light sources. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include specific hardware as taught by Asada. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to equip the condensing member of Katsuyama which controls the output light beam to an actuator as taught by Asada along with a diffraction element to drive and scan the emitted linear light beams. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a specific hardware taught by Asada in the light beam emission device of Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 10 it contains analogous limitations to claim 9 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 7, further comprising: a first light emitting element including a plurality of light emitting sections arranged in a direction substantially orthogonal to a line direction of the linear light beam; (see at least Figure 1A and 8A "Examiner's note: for comparisons regarding the light emitting beams as parallel/orthogonally to each other" and [0045] The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a second light emitting element or interpolating the second light beam into the first light beam. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a first light emitting element.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilize a light beam emission device and Asada is directed at more sources of light and interpolating them into the first light beam emitted. Asada teaches:
Linear light beam (see at least Figure 11, Object 107 and [0058]; "An optical diffraction element according to the present invention is ... to be disposed in an optical path through which a plurality of light beams of different wavelengths travel, comprising: a periodic structure which,... allows the first light beam to be substantially completely transmitted therethrough,").
Second light emitting element (see at least Figure 11, object 101 and [0012]; "The aforementioned diffracted light goes through the collimating lens 104, and is reflected by the prism 103. The diffracted light which has been reflected from the prism 103 enters a group of photodetectors 112 which are disposed in the proximity of the laser light source 101.").
First light emitting element interpolated by Second light emitting element (see at least Figure 11, Object 110 and [0017]; "The light... is converged by the objective lens 110 onto the recording surface 114 of an optical disk... The light which has been reflect by the recording surface 114 goes through the objective lens 110, and again enters the polarization element 109.").
Both Katsuyama and Asada can utilize light sources. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include specific hardware as taught by Asada. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a second light source located perpendicular to the first light source as taught by Asada. Further as described in Asada’s Figure 11, both emitted light beams would be interpolated in object 110 but this objected can be replaced with the condensing lens from Figure 23B in Katsuyama to achieve a fully interpolated light beam. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a specific hardware taught by Asada in the light beam emission device of Katsuyama with an additional lens Katsuyama already provides.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyama, Asada, and Miao et al. (US-20150153572-A1; hereinafter Miao).
Regarding claim 11, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] The illumination device according to claim 10, (Katsuyama teaches see at least [0045]; "The light beam emission device is constituted of a plurality of light sources 1.sub.1 to 1.sub.3 and a single condensing member 5. The condensing member 5 used in this case is a condensing lens.") wherein the driving section includes (Asada teaches see at least [0082]; "An electronic appliance according to the present invention comprises:.. a driving section for rotating recording media produced according to a plurality of different standards.").
However, Katsuyama and Asada together do not explicitly teach the driving section that needs to be comprised. Instead, Katsuyama and Asada teach a light beam emission device and a driving section.
Together Katsuyama and Asada disclose a method to utilize a light beam emission device and a drive section and Miao is directed at the components of a drive section. Miao teaches:
VCM (see at least Claim 6. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the optical path length modulator comprises a voice coil actuator.).
Piezoelectric element (see at least Claim 8. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the optical path length modulator comprises a piezoelectric motor.).
Shape memory alloy element (see at least Claim 10. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the optical path length modulator comprises a shape memory alloy.).
Liquid crystal element (see at least Claim 15. The wearable device of claim 14, wherein the display panel comprises a liquid-crystal-on-silicon (LCOS) display panel.).
Collectively, Katsuyama, Asada, and Miao can utilize optical elements and components. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Katsuyama and Asada to specify the components the drive section uses as taught by Miao. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to specify and if not available, include the components specified in the wearable device taught by Miao in the drive section taught by Asada and augment the drive section into the light beam emission device of Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining the components of Miao into the drive section of Asada and further include them into the light beam emission device of Katsuyama.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyama and Kubota et al. (US-20220091261-A1; hereinafter Kubota).
Regarding claim 13, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] ”Katsuyama does not teach this but does teach: " (see at least [0071]; "In the embodiment of the present invention, a multiplexer is not used, hence the configuration of the light beam emission device is simplified, and the light beam projection device can be downsized.") ”Katsuyama does not teach this but does teach: " (see at least [0013]; "According to another aspect, a light beam projection device includes: the above mentioned light beam emission device; and a reflection mirror that is disposed at a convergent point of the light beam from the light beam emission device,") (see at least [0046]; "The distance between the convergent point 6 and the condensing lens (condensing member 5) need not be mathematically the same as the focal distance of the condensing lens.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a distance measurement to detected objects. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a simplified emission device, distance measurement between the convergent point and condensing lens.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilizing a light beam emission device and Kubota is directed at utilizing light to detect objects and their distance to the light emitter. Kubota teaches:
Distance measuring section composition (see at least [0050]; "In general, according to one embodiment, a distance measuring device includes a light emitter, a first light receiver, a second light receiver, a measurement section, and a controller. The light emitter includes a light source and a mirror.").
Light receiving section (see at least [0050]; "The first light receiver includes a first sensor and a first optical system. The first sensor includes a plurality of first pixels arranged two-dimensionally on a first substrate. The first optical system is configured to guide a reflected light of the optical signal emitted from the light emitter to the first sensor.").
Object detected (see at least [0277]; "In the process of S91, for example, the velocity distribution of an object detected by pixels PX that pass through the center in the active area AA and are aligned in the X direction is confirmed.").
How distance is measured (see at least [0050]; "A measurement section is configured to calculate a first distance value and a second distance value. The first distance value is calculated using a first time and a second time... The first time is a time at which the light source emits the optical signal. The second time is a time at which the first sensor detects the reflected light.").
Image data for distance measurement (see at least [0327]; "In contrast, in the fifth configuration example of the light detection unit PU, the optical system 32A includes the cylindrical lenses SL1 and SL2 so as to form an image in a vertically narrow size.").
Both Katsuyama and Kubota can utilize light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include specified hardware as taught by Kubota. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the LiDAR requirements for distance measuring and light receiving section as taught by Kubota into the light beam emission device of Katsuyama. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by introducing LiDAR components taught by Kubota into the teachings of Katsuyama allowing it to measure distances to detected objects.
Regarding claim 14, Katsuyama discloses [Note: what Katsuyama fails to disclose is strike-through] (see at least [0071]; "In the embodiment of the present invention, a multiplexer is not used, hence the configuration of the light beam emission device is simplified, and the light beam projection device can be downsized.").
However, Katsuyama does not explicitly teach a distance measuring device equipped to a vehicle. Instead, Katsuyama teaches a simplified emission device.
Katsuyama discloses a method to utilize a light beam emission device and Kubota is directed at equipping a distance measuring device to a vehicle. Kubota teaches:
Distance measuring section composition (see at least [0050]; "In general, according to one embodiment, a distance measuring device includes a light emitter, a first light receiver, a second light receiver, a measurement section, and a controller. The light emitter includes a light source and a mirror.").
Light receiving section (see at least [0050]; "The first light receiver includes a first sensor and a first optical system. The first sensor includes a plurality of first pixels arranged two-dimensionally on a first substrate. The first optical system is configured to guide a reflected light of the optical signal emitted from the light emitter to the first sensor.").
Object detected (see at least [0277]; "In the process of S91, for example, the velocity distribution of an object detected by pixels PX that pass through the center in the active area AA and are aligned in the X direction is confirmed.").
How distance is measured (see at least [0050]; "A measurement section is configured to calculate a first distance value and a second distance value. The first distance value is calculated using a first time and a second time... The first time is a time at which the light source emits the optical signal. The second time is a time at which the first sensor detects the reflected light.").
Image data for distance measurement (see at least [0327]; "In contrast, in the fifth configuration example of the light detection unit PU, the optical system 32A includes the cylindrical lenses SL1 and SL2 so as to form an image in a vertically narrow size.").
In-vehicle device for measuring distance (see at least [0291]; "Further, when the distance measuring device is mounted on a vehicle, the scanning area SA includes a telephoto side area that requires long-distance ranging and a wide-angle side area that can be sufficiently ranged by short-distance ranging.").
Both Katsuyama and Kubota can utilize light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Katsuyama to include a mobile functionality as taught by Kubota. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the LiDAR requirements for distance measuring and light receiving section as taught by Kubota into the light beam emission device of Katsuyama. Further take the light beam emission device with distance measuring capability and mount it to a vehicle as taught by Kubota.
Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by introducing LiDAR components taught by Kubota into the teachings of Katsuyama allowing it to measure distances to detected objects while mounted to a vehicle.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648