DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Douglas teaches a single mixing extruder 210” and does not meet the amended claim 1 (previous claim 6) requiring a secondary supply unit on the second extruder. This is not found persuasive because the combination of Goto and Doulgas meets amended claim 1. Goto teaches extruder 1 and molding extruder 2, Fig. 1. This arrangement achieves the claimed upstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied into the cylinder of the second extruder. Douglas teaches one or more secondary feed throats 225 may be provided downstream of the feed throat 222, [0060], Fig. 3. Examiner notes the combination of the secondary feed throat 225 of Douglas with the molding extruder 2, Fig. 1 of Goto meets the claim. Furthermore, both Douglas and Goto teaches temperature-controlled extruders and combining two extruders in series. Therefore, a single additional feed throat is the only modification required in either Douglas or Goto to meet the claim. Douglas provides motivation for additional feed throats in teaching that a secondary feed throat is useful for introducing one or more of the filler, extender, and/or other constituents at the one or more downstream position to improve control of the final product, see [0044].
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (US 2010/0260881 A1) in view of Douglas (US 2015/0076743 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus comprising: a first extruder to which a first resin material is supplied; (as shown in FIG. 1, an extruder 1 is composed of: an extruder body 50 to knead a crosslinked polyethylene (=polymer compound) 21 [0059]) and a second extruder (molding extruder 2, Fig. 1, [0065]) to which the first extruder is connected and a residual resin discharged from the first extruder is supplied, (see Fig. 1) wherein a temperature of a cylinder of the first extruder on a downstream side relative to a first kneading section is set to be higher than a thermal decomposition temperature of the first resin material, (the temperature and the pressure of the barrel 51 are adjusted by controlling the heating temperature of the barrel heater and chemical agent heater 14, and the injecting pressure of the chemical agent injecting pump 15 and the rotations of the screw 52. When the temperature and pressure in the reaction system is appropriately adjusted, the crosslinked polyethylene 21 reacts with the ethanol 22 to produce the reaction mixture [0070]) and wherein a temperature of a cylinder of the second extruder on a downstream side relative to a position where the residual resin is supplied is set to be lower than a thermal decomposition temperature of the residual resin. (extruded strand 5 is cooled to a temperature near to the ambient temperature and solidified by the cooler 4, [0074]).
Examiner notes the claim recites an apparatus and the intended operating temperatures of the apparatus. The courts have held that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP § 2114(II). The claims and instant specification do not disclose precise temperatures except for “100 to 300° C” in [0057] of the P.G. Pub. of the instant application, without disclosing if these are above the thermal decomposition temperature of any material. Thus, based on the teaching of Goto to achieve temperature that react polyethylene [0070], the apparatus of Goto includes temperature control capable of achieving temperatures higher than a thermal decomposition temperature of the first resin material in the first extruder and lower than a thermal decomposition temperature of the residual resin in the second extruder and meets the claim.
Goto does not explicitly teach wherein the second extruder includes a second supply unit configured to supply a second resin material into the cylinder of the second extruder, and wherein the second supply unit is located on an upstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied into the cylinder of the second extruder.
Douglas teaches wherein the second extruder includes a second supply unit configured to supply a second resin material into the cylinder of the second extruder, and wherein the second supply unit is located on an upstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied into the cylinder of the second extruder. (Douglas teaches mixing extruder 110 may include heating and/or cooling mechanisms [0054] and one or more secondary feed throats 225 may be provided downstream of the feed throat 222, [0060], Fig. 3. Examiner notes the combination of the secondary feed throat 225 of Douglas with the molding extruder 2, Fig. 1 of Goto meets the claim. Furthermore, both Douglas and Goto teaches temperature controlled extruders and combining two extruders in series).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the secondary supply unit of Douglas with the molding extruder of Goto because it allows for introducing one or more of the filler, extender, and/or other constituents at the one or more downstream position to improve control of the final product, see [0044].
Regarding claim 2, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the first resin material is plasticized in the first kneading section of the cylinder of the first extruder. (reaction mixture plasticized in the extruder body 50, [0072[).
Regarding claim 3, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the first extruder includes: a first supply unit configured to supply the first resin material into the cylinder of the first extruder; (hopper 13, Fig. 1) and wherein the first kneading section is located on a downstream side relative to the first supply unit in the cylinder of the first extruder and on an upstream side relative to the first gas discharge unit. (Examiner notes screw 52 is downstream hopper 13 and upstream pressure reduction valve 11, see Fig. 1).
Goto does not explicitly teach a first gas discharge unit provided on the cylinder of the first extruder and configured to discharge gas generated in the cylinder of the first extruder.
Douglas teaches a first gas discharge unit provided on the cylinder of the first extruder and configured to discharge gas generated in the cylinder of the first extruder. (vacuum 118 may apply a reduced pressure to a portion of the internal mixing chamber to draw gasses, such as air, from within the mixing extruder 110.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the vacuum and gas exhaust port Douglas with the extruder of Goto because it withdraw gasses that might otherwise become entrapped within the composition to form voids, see [0040].
Regarding claim 4, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the cylinder of the first extruder and the cylinder of the second extruder are connected via a connection unit, (chemical agent separator 8 feeds from extruder 1 to molding extruder 2, Fig. 1) and wherein the residual resin discharged from a tip of the cylinder of the first extruder is supplied into the cylinder of the second extruder through the connection unit. (molding means (including a molding extruder 2 etc.) through the discharge lines 55a, [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 4 according to wherein a second gas discharge unit (discharge line 55b connected to the top of the chemical agent separator 8 [0064]) configured to discharge gas generated in the cylinder of the first extruder is provided on the connection unit. (see [0064], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Goto as modified meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the temperature of the cylinder of the second extruder on a downstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied is set to be lower than a thermal decomposition temperature of the second resin material. (extruded strand 5 is cooled to a temperature near to the ambient temperature and solidified by the cooler 4, [0074]).
Examiner notes the claim recites an apparatus and the intended operating temperatures of the apparatus. The courts have held that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP § 2114(II). The claims and instant specification do not disclose precise temperatures except for “100 to 300° C” in [0057] of the P.G. Pub. of the instant application, without disclosing if these are above the thermal decomposition temperature of any material. The apparatus of Goto includes temperature control capable of achieving temperatures lower than a thermal decomposition temperature of the second resin material in the second extruder and meets the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Goto as modified meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according claim 7 wherein the temperature of the cylinder of the second extruder on the downstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied is set to be higher than a liquefaction temperature of monomer gas generated in the cylinder of the first extruder. Examiner notes the claim recites an apparatus and the intended operating temperatures of the apparatus. The courts have held that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP § 2114(II). Goto teaches molding extruder 2 may have a vent opening disposed in the midway of the molding extruder 2 to completely remove the ethanol 22 from the polymer treated product, [0065]. Thus, it is capable of temperatures where ethanol is in a gas state. Thus, the apparatus of Goto includes temperature control capable of achieving temperatures higher than a liquefaction temperature of monomer gas generated in the cylinder of the first extruder.
Regarding claim 9, Goto as modified meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the second extruder includes a third gas discharge unit configured to discharge gas flowing into the cylinder of the second extruder from the cylinder of the first extruder, and wherein the third gas discharge unit is located on the downstream side relative to the position where the residual resin is supplied into the cylinder of the second extruder. (molding extruder 2 may have a vent opening disposed in the midway of the molding extruder 2 to completely remove the ethanol 22 from the polymer treated product, [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Goto meets the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein a long axis direction of the cylinder of the first extruder and a long axis direction of the cylinder of the second extruder are the same. (Goto depicts the first extruder 1 and molding extruder 2 to be parallel, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Goto does not explicitly teach the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein a length of the cylinder of the first extruder is longer than a length of the cylinder of the second extruder.
Goto depicts the length of extruder 1 to be longer than molding extruder 2 in Fig. 1, but does not specify the drawings are to scale.
Goto teaches the length of the extruder body 50 and reactor tube 30 to be a result-effective variable, see [0062] and [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the length of the extruder 50 to be longer than the molding extruder 2 of Goto in order to optimize treatment capacity per unit time, see [0080].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (US 2010/0260881 A1) in view of Munz (US 2006/0240133 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Goto does not meet the claimed resin processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein a long axis direction of the cylinder of the first extruder and a long axis direction of the cylinder of the second extruder are perpendicular to each other.
Munz teaches wherein a long axis direction of the cylinder of the first extruder and a long axis direction of the cylinder of the second extruder are perpendicular to each other. (Munz teaches first embodiment seen in FIGS. 1 to 8 comprises a first extruder 1 and a second extruder 2. The first extruder 1 is disposed above the second extruder 2, see [0018]. Examiner notes the first and second extruder are arranged perpendicular to each other, see Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to arrange the first and second extruder of Goto in a perpendicular fashion as disclosed by Munz because it ensures material flows from the first to second extruder, see [0023].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neubauer et al. (US 9,278,473 B2) teaches the extruder system 250 further includes a first inlet 280 and a second inlet 282, where each inlet 280 and 282 passes through the interior wall 258 into the volume 256 of the extruder barrel 260. For the various embodiments, the second inlet 282 can be divided into an auxiliary inlet 284. The first inlet 280 and the second inlet 282 can each be coupled to their respective feed conduit 286. The respective feed conduit 286 can be used to deliver fluids under a desired pressure and temperature to the respective zones where the inlets are located. One or more flow meters 287 can be included on a respective feed conduit 286. For the various embodiments, a heat exchanger 288 can be used to add, or remove, heat from the fluid flowing in the respective feed conduit 286, and pump 290 can be used to add pressure to the fluid, see Col. 11, lines 15-30.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744