DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1, 3-11 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, see starting page 7 of REMARKS, have been considered but are moot because of new amendments thus the arguments do not apply to current rejection.
In addition, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant is arguing:
The interference monitoring part 24 in Hideo only detects whether the robot position intersects with the prohibition area; it does not detect any operating state of the robot and does not correlate any operating state of the robot with stop control.
As such, Hideo does not disclose "detect an operating state of the robot when the interference is detected; set stop control based on the detected operating state of the robot; and stop the robot according to the stop control set based on the detected operating state," as recited in claim 1
However, robot position/where is the robot/the state of its position is its operating state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HIDEO et al. (JP-2004243427-A a reference in IDS 12/16/2024, provided translation being cited).
Regarding claim 1, HIDEO et al. teaches:
A robot controller for controlling a robot, the robot controller comprising:
a processor configured to:
set a motion zone where the robot is allowed to move or a limiting zone where the robot is not allowed to enter;
calculate a position of the robot;
detect interference between the robot and an outer surface of the motion zone or the limiting zone, based on the calculated position of the robot;
detect an operating state of the robot when the interference is detected;
set stop control based on the detected operating state of the robot; and
stop the robot according to stop control based on the detected operating state;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area)
Regarding claim 3, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
detect a moving direction of the robot when the interference is detected, and
stop the robot according to the stop control based on the moving direction of the robot when the interference is detected;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”);
Regarding claim 4, HIDEO et al. teaches:
Wherein the processor is further configured to set different stop control for each moving direction of the robot;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”)
Regarding claim 10, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to accept setting of the stop control set based on the detected operating state of the robot through a user interface screen;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”; fig. 13 [0017])
Regarding claim 11, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to accept setting related to the motion zone or the limiting zone through a user interface screen;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”; fig. 13 [0017])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIDEO et al. (JP-2004243427-A a reference in IDS 12/16/2024, provided translation being cited) as applied to claim above, and further in view of NIHEI et al. (US 20100191372).
Regarding claim 8, HIDEO et al. teaches:
Wherein the processor is configured to:
stop the robot according to the stop control set based on the detected operating state of the robot when the interference is detected in a case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area);
HIDEO et al. does not explicitly teach:
specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone,
detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and
the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled;
However, NIHEI et al. teaches:
specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone,
detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and
the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled;
(figs. 4A-4C [0057]-[0069]) for safety ([0057]-[0069]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of HIDEO et al. with specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone, detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled; as taught by NIHEI et al. for safety.
Regarding claim 9 , HIDEO et al. does not explicitly teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to
specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone;
However, NIHEI et al. teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to
specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone;
(figs. 4A-4C [0057]-[0069]) for safety ([0057]-[0069]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of HIDEO et al. with wherein the processor is further configured to specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone as taught by NIHEI et al. for safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656