DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Zone setting unit, position calculation unit, interference detection unit, operating state detection unit, stop unit in claim 1;
Stop method setting unit in claim 2;
Interfering face detection unit in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HIDEO et al. (JP-2004243427-A a reference in IDS 12/16/2024, provided translation being cited).
Regarding claim 1, HIDEO et al. teaches:
A robot controller for controlling a robot, the robot controller comprising:
a zone setting unit configured to set a motion zone where the robot is allowed to move or a limiting zone where the robot is not allowed to enter;
a position calculation unit configured to calculate a position of the robot;
an interference detection unit configured to detect interference between the robot and an outer surface of the motion zone or the limiting zone, based on the calculated position of the robot;
an operating state detection unit configured to detect an operating state of the robot when the interference is detected; and
a stop unit configured to stop the robot according to stop control based on the detected operating state;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area)
Regarding claim 2, HIDEO et al. teaches:
a stop method setting unit configured to set the stop control based on the operating state of the robot, wherein
the stop unit stops the robot according to the stop control being based on the operating state and being set by the stop method setting unit;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area)
Regarding claim 3, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the operating state detection unit includes a moving direction detection unit configured to detect a moving direction of the robot when the interference is detected, and
the stop unit stops the robot according to the stop control based on the moving direction of the robot when the interference is detected;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”);
Regarding claim 4, HIDEO et al. teaches:
Wherein the stop method setting unit is configured to be able to set different stop control for each moving direction of the robot;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”)
Regarding claim 10, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the stop method setting unit is configured to accept setting of the stop control based on the operating state of the robot through a user interface screen;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”; fig. 13 [0017])
Regarding claim 11, HIDEO et al. teaches:
wherein the zone setting unit is configured to accept setting related to the motion zone or the limiting zone through a user interface screen;
(at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area; at least [0014] discussed “In addition, when the interference monitoring unit 24 determines that "there is interference", the robot 10 may be instructed to perform an avoidance action. The pattern of evasive action has a pattern in which the robot 10 operates along the pattern which returns conversely, and the boundary of the aforementioned robot motion keepout area to an old moving direction, and a pattern which returns to the position decided preliminarily”; fig. 13 [0017])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIDEO et al. (JP-2004243427-A a reference in IDS 12/16/2024, provided translation being cited) as applied to claim above, and further in view of NIHEI et al. (US 20100191372).
Regarding claim 8, HIDEO et al. teaches:
the stop unit stops the robot according to the stop control based on the operating state of the robot when the interference is detected in a case in a case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled; (at least fig. 1 [0007]-0014] discussed control device 20, robot position calculation unit 22, operation prohibition area setting part 23 setting robot operation prohibition area around teacher 30, interference monitoring part 24 for stopping a robot 10 when the robot position enters the robot operation prohibition area);
HIDEO et al. does not explicitly teach:
wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone,
the interference detection unit is configured to detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and
the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled;
However, NIHEI et al. teaches:
wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone,
the interference detection unit is configured to detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and
the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled;
(figs. 4A-4C [0057]-[0069]) for safety ([0057]-[0069]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of HIDEO et al. with wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone, the interference detection unit is configured to detect the interference when, based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled, and the case where the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled includes based on the signal, the motion zone or the limiting zone is enabled; as taught by NIHEI et al. for safety.
Regarding claim 9 , HIDEO et al. does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone;
However, NIHEI et al. teaches:
Wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone;
(figs. 4A-4C [0057]-[0069]) for safety ([0057]-[0069]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of HIDEO et al. with wherein the zone setting unit is configured to be able to specify a detection signal from a sensor for detecting entry of a person into the motion zone or the limiting zone as the signal for switching between enabling and disabling the motion zone or the limiting zone as taught by NIHEI et al. for safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656