DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20170336628) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a head-up display apparatus, in at least (Fig. 1); comprising: an image forming unit (11) configured to emit video light ([0030]); an optical element (12) provided in the image forming unit (11) and configured to generate video light ([0030]) divided into a first video light (S) and a second video light (P) as the video light ([0030]); a first returning mirror (4) configured to reflect the first video light (S); a second returning mirror (5) configured to reflect the second video light (P); and a video projector (3) configured to reflect the first video light (S) from the first returning mirror (4) and the second video light (P) from the second returning mirror (5), wherein a first display region (M) which is a first display area (M) capable of displaying a first virtual image (M) is formed based on the first video light (S) from the video projector (3), and wherein a second display region (K) which is a second display area (K) capable of displaying a second virtual image (K) is formed based on the second video light (P) from the video projector (3).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the image forming unit (11) includes a light source device (16); and a display panel (15); configured to generate the video light ([0030]) based on source light from the light source device (16); wherein a display surface of the display panel (15); is divided into a first region (12); and a second region (14); and the optical element is disposed so as to correspond to the second region (14); on a back surface side or a front surface side of the display panel (15), and wherein the first video light (S) is emitted from the first region (12); and the second video light (P) is emitted from the second region (14);.
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the first display region (M) and the second display region (K) are formed on a front side relative to a transparent member (6) when viewed from a viewpoint of a driver (J) of a vehicle so as to be separated from each other (M and K shown separate; [0103]) or overlap each other in an up-down direction.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the first display region (M) and the second display region (K) are formed on a front side relative to a transparent member (6) when viewed from a viewpoint of a driver (J) of a vehicle such that the first display region (M) is disposed relatively farther ([0059]; relatively far) than the second display region (K) in a front-rear direction ([0059]; is close).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the video projector (3) is composed of a mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3), and a region where the first video light (S) is irradiated and a region where the second video light (P) is irradiated are separated from each other or overlap each other on a reflection surface (3).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the video projector (3) is composed of a mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3) and has a drive mechanism configured to rotate ([0023]; polarizing reflection mirror of a head up display for a vehicle according to a seventh embodiment of the present invention is rotated) the mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3) around a rotating shaft ([0132]; rotating shaft) extending in a lateral direction, and wherein the mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3) is rotated ([0023]; polarizing reflection mirror of a head up display for a vehicle according to a seventh embodiment of the present invention is rotated) in a protection mode with respect to a normal display mode, and when external light enters the mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3) in an opposite direction to a direction of the video light ([0030]), directions of the external light from the mirror ([0060]; the first reflection mirror 3) to the first returning mirror (4) and the second returning mirror (5) are changed such that the external light reflected by the mirror does not enter a display surface of the image forming unit (11).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the first returning mirror (4) is composed of a concave mirror ([0044]), wherein the second returning mirror (5) is composed of a plane mirror (5), and wherein the first video light (S) enters the video projector (3) after being reflected by the concave mirror (4) and collected at a predetermined light collecting position (3).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head up display, in at least (Fig. 1); wherein the image forming unit (11) includes a light source device (16); and a display panel (15); configured to generate the video light ([0030]) based on source light from the light source device (16), and wherein a reflective polarizing element (14) or an absorptive polarizing element (14) is disposed on a front surface side of the display panel (15); of the image forming unit (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20170336628) herein after referred to as D1, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Miyake (US 20210129671, of record) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, however, D1 does not expressly disclose a HUD, comprising an insolation sensor or a temperature sensor, wherein, when entrance of the external light is detected based on detection information of the insolation sensor or the temperature sensor, the normal display mode is switched to the protection mode.
in a related endeavor, D2 teaches a HUD device, in at least (Fig. 1 and [0004]); further comprising an insolation sensor or a temperature sensor ([0004] temperature sensor), wherein, when entrance of the external light ([0004]; external light) is detected based on detection information ([0004]; threshold) of the insolation sensor or the temperature sensor ([0004]; temp sensor), the normal display mode is switched to the protection mode ([0004]; dims or turns off lighting of the display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with an insolation sensor or a temperature sensor, wherein, when entrance of the external light is detected based on detection information of the insolation sensor or the temperature sensor, the normal display mode is switched to the protection mode, for the purpose of protecting the display and making it more visible due during adverse lighting conditions.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872