DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for application number 18/875,189, HIGH-STRENGTH STEEL COLD-FORMED PROFILE FOR PHOTOVOLTAIC MODULE FRAME AND PHOTOVOLTAIC MODULE FRAME, filed on December 16, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the large lower vertical wall" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the depth of the welding area" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1, 2, 7-9, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Publication No. 217010786 to Dong. Dong discloses a high-strength steel cold-formed profile (Fig. 1) for a photovoltaic module frame, comprising an outer side portion and an inner side portion; the outer side portion comprising a large U-shaped portion arranged horizontally with an open side of the large U-shaped portion facing inward; the inner side portion comprising a small U-shaped portion for accommodating an edge of a laminate of a photovoltaic module; a small upper vertical wall (131) and a small horizontal wall (124) of the small U-shaped portion being abutted against a large upper vertical wall (113) and an upper part of a large horizontal wall (112) of the large U-shaped portion, respectively; an L-shaped portion being located below the small U- shaped portion, and an upper edge of a vertical wall (122) of the L-shaped portion being integrated with an outer edge of a small lower vertical wall (123) of the small U-shaped portion; wherein a cavity (140) being formed by the small lower vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion and a large lower vertical wall (111) of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side, as well as the vertical wall of the L-shaped portion and the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side; wherein inherently, welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the small horizontal wall of the small U-shaped portion and a corresponding large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion; and the large lower vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion has an extended edge (portion below reference number 121 in Fig. 1) on an outer edge thereof the large lower vertical wall, and welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the extended edge and a horizontal wall (121) of the L-shaped portion; and wherein the cavity has a rectangular cross section, and a height of the cavity is greater than a width of the cavity; and a photovoltaic module frame.
Dong discloses the claimed invention except for the specific limitation of the welding points being evenly distributed longitudinally on the small horizontal wall and a corresponding large horizontal wall; the extended edge and a horizontal wall of the L-shaped portion and wherein the cavity is square; a predetermined interlayer welding structure connecting walls together for fastening; and wherein the welding method comprises arc welding or laser welding.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the profile in Dong to have included evenly distributed welding points along connected walls or by a predetermined interlayer welding structure, since such a modification would have merely involved employing known technical applications, such as arc welding or laser welding, of means for welding two surfaces together during the process of welding and such a modification would not have yielded any unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the cavity in Dong to have been square, since such a modification would have merely involved a change in shape and would not have yielded any unpredictable results. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Publication No. 216672942 to Xu et al., hereinafter, Xu, and in view of Dong. Xu discloses a high-strength steel cold-formed profile (100) for a photovoltaic module frame, comprising an outer side portion and an inner side portion; the outer side portion comprising a large U-shaped portion arranged horizontally with an open side of the large U-shaped portion facing inward; the inner side portion comprising a small U-shaped portion for accommodating an edge of a laminate (200) of a photovoltaic module; a small upper vertical wall (1112) and a small horizontal wall (113) of the small U-shaped portion being abutted against a large upper vertical wall (1111) and an upper part of a large horizontal wall (141) of the large U-shaped portion, respectively; an L-shaped portion being located below the small U- shaped portion, and an upper edge of a vertical wall (142) of the L-shaped portion being integrated with an outer edge of a small lower vertical wall (112) of the small U-shaped portion; wherein a cavity (120) being formed by the small lower vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion and a large lower vertical wall (130) of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side, as well as the vertical wall of the L-shaped portion and the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side; the large U-shaped portion has an extended edge on an outer edge of the large lower vertical wall and a horizontal wall (131); wherein the extended edge and the horizontal wall of the L-shaped portion are integrated with each other in an overlapping manner, wherein the horizontal wall of the L-shaped portion is parallel to the extended edge of the outer edge of the large lower vertical wall; wherein the cavity has a rectangular cross section, and a height of the cavity is greater than a width of the cavity; wherein the small U-shaped portion accommodates the edge of the laminate of the photovoltaic module, and an L-shaped portion is located below the small U-shaped portion; and the L-shaped portion is connected to the lower side of the small U-shaped portion, and the large U-shaped portion, the small U-shaped portion, and the L-shaped portion form a cavity wherein the cavity is formed by the small lower vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion and the large lower vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite thereof, as well as the vertical wall of the L-shaped portion and the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite thereof; and a photovoltaic module frame.
Xu discloses the claimed invention except for the limitations of wherein welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the small horizontal wall of the small U-shaped portion and the corresponding large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion; and the large lower vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion has the extended edge on the outer edge thereof the large lower vertical wall, and welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the extended edge and the horizontal wall (31) of the L-shaped portion; wherein a cross-section of the cavity is square; a predetermined interlayer welding structure fastening and connecting the overlapping part of the small horizontal wall and the large horizontal wall and the overlapping part of the extended edge and the horizontal wall; and the welding method comprises arc welding or laser welding.
Dong teaches a high-strength steel cold-formed profile (Fig. 1) for a photovoltaic module frame, comprising an outer side portion and an inner side portion; the outer side portion comprising a large U-shaped portion arranged horizontally with an open side of the large U-shaped portion facing inward; the inner side portion comprising a small U-shaped portion for accommodating an edge of a laminate of a photovoltaic module; a small upper vertical wall (131) and a small horizontal wall (124) of the small U-shaped portion being abutted against a large upper vertical wall (113) and an upper part of a large horizontal wall (112) of the large U-shaped portion, respectively; an L-shaped portion being located below the small U- shaped portion, and an upper edge of a vertical wall (122) of the L-shaped portion being integrated with an outer edge of a small lower vertical wall (123) of the small U-shaped portion; wherein a cavity (140) being formed by the small lower vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion and a large lower vertical wall (111) of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side, as well as the vertical wall of the L-shaped portion and the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side; wherein inherently, welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the small horizontal wall of the small U-shaped portion and a corresponding large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion; and the large lower vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion has an extended edge (portion below reference number 121 in Fig. 1) on an outer edge thereof the large lower vertical wall, and welding points are evenly distributed longitudinally on the extended edge and a horizontal wall (121) of the L-shaped portion; and wherein the cavity has a rectangular cross section, and a height of the cavity is greater than a width of the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the profile in Xu to have employed the means of welding as taught by Dong for the purpose of further improving the stability of the profile and improve the service of life of the profile during usage.
Dong however does not teach the specific limitation of the welding points being evenly distributed longitudinally on the small horizontal wall and a corresponding large horizontal wall; the extended edge and a horizontal wall of the L-shaped portion and wherein the cavity is square; a predetermined interlayer welding structure connecting walls together for fastening; and wherein the welding method comprises arc welding or laser welding.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the profile in Xu in view of Dong to have included evenly distributed welding points along connected walls or by a predetermined interlayer welding structure, since such a modification would have merely involved employing known technical applications, such as arc welding or laser welding, of means for welding two surfaces together during the process of welding and such a modification would not have yielded any unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the cavity in Xu to have been square, since such a modification would have merely involved a change in shape and would not have yielded any unpredictable results. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 3-6 and13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Dong and in further view of Chinese Publication No. 217469865 to Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang. Xu further discloses wherein the large upper vertical wall (1111) of the large U-shaped portion has on an outer edge of the large upper vertical wall, an outer convex edge protruding from an outer edge of the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion, the convex edge protruding from an outer edge of the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion, and the convex outer edge is bent downward and inward by 180 degrees to form a rim (1113) under the outer edge of the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion; wherein the convex edge is bent to wrap around the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion; wherein the large U-shaped portion, the small U-shaped portion, and the L-shaped portion are integrally formed using a piece of plate, wherein the horizontal are an overlapping structure formed by folding the plage in half; and ends of the folded plate on both sides converge and is connected with each other at the rim; and wherein the plate is a steel plate or a magnesium-aluminum-zinc plated steel plate;
Xu in view of Dong disclose the claimed invention except for the limitations of a sealant overflow gap formed between the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion within the rib and an upper surface of the edge of the laminate during mounting; wherein the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion corresponding to an outer edge of the rim and the large upper vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion corresponding to the outer edge of the rim both have a downward inclination angle in a longitudinal direction, the inclination angle less than or equal to 10 degrees.
Zhang teaches a high-strength profile for a photovoltaic module frame, comprising an outer side portion and an inner side portion; the outer side portion comprising a large U-shaped portion arranged horizontally with an open side of the large U-shaped portion for accommodating an edge of a laminate; a small upper vertical wall (112) and a small horizontal wall (111) of the small U-shaped portion being abutted against a large upper vertical wall (124) and an upper part of the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion, respectively; an L-shaped portion being located below the small U-shaped portion, and an upper edge of a vertical wall of the L-shaped portion being integrated with an outer edge of a small lower vertical wall (101) of the small U-shaped portion; wherein a cavity (103) being formed by the small lower vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion and the large lower vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side, as well as the vertical wall of the L-shaped portion and the large horizontal wall of the large U-shaped portion on an opposite side; wherein the large upper vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion has, on an outer edge of the large upper vertical wall, an outer convex edge protruding from an outer edge of the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion, and the outer convex edge is bent downward and inward by 180 degrees to form a rim (Fig. 1) under the edge of the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion, wherein a sealant overflow gap is formed between the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion within the rim and an upper surface of the edge of the laminate of the photovoltaic module during mounting; wherein the small upper vertical wall of the small U-shaped portion corresponding to the other edge of the rim and the large upper vertical wall of the large U-shaped portion corresponding to the outer edge of the rim both have a downward inclination angle in a longitudinal direction; and wherein the downward inclination angle is less than or equal to 10 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the profile in Xu combined with Dong to have included a gap and inclination angle of the rim as taught by Zhang for the purpose of improving the sealing performance of the module with the profile during use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the predetermined interlayer welding structure is an interlayer connection structure formed by welding a first surface material and a second surface material and wherein a welding depth of a welding area in the second surface material is controlled to be less than a predetermined depth, cited in dependent claim 10 in combination with the base claim, claim 9, which is not found in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 10,011,312 to Lindgren et al. is directed to a process for forming a reinforced rocker panel assembly using welding. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0214017 to Murphy et al. is directed to a method of providing a weld overlay structure between two surfaces. U.S. Patent No. 4,161,231 to Wilkinson is directed to welding two sandwich structures together. U.S. Patent No. 6,857,808 to Sugimoto et al. is directed to arc welding used to fasten two metal members together. U.S. Patent No. 4,192,479 to Friebe, deceased et al. is directed to laser welding used to fasten steel formed members together.
/ANITA M KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 March 28, 2026