DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiu et. al. US 20230422309 A1 hereafter Qiu.
Regarding Claim 10:
Qiu discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; and a memory, having instructions stored therein, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to cause the UE to: ([¶0098] FIG. 11 is a block diagram illustrating elements of a UE 904 (also referred to as a mobile terminal, a mobile communication terminal, a communication device UE, a wireless device, a wireless communication device, a wireless terminal, mobile device, a wireless communication terminal, user equipment, UE, a user equipment node/terminal/device, etc.) configured to provide wireless communication according to embodiments of inventive concepts. (UE 904 may be provided, for example, as discussed below with respect to wireless device 2010 of FIG. 20, UE 4200 of FIG. 21, virtualization hardware 2230 and virtual machine 2240 of FIG. 22, UEs 2391, 2392 of FIG. 23, and UE 2430 of FIG. 24, all of which should be considered interchangeable in the examples and embodiments described herein and be within the intended scope of this disclosure, unless otherwise noted.) As shown, UE 904 may include an antenna 1107 (e.g., corresponding to antenna 2011 of FIG. 20 and/or antenna 22225 of FIG. 22), and transceiver circuitry 1101 (also referred to as a transceiver, e.g., corresponding to interface 2014 of FIG. 20, interfaces 2105, 2109, 2111, transmitter 2133 and receiver 2135 of FIG. 21, transmitter 22210 and receiver 22220 of FIG. 22, and radio interface 2437 of FIG. 24) including a transmitter and a receiver configured to provide uplink and downlink radio communications with a base station(s) (e.g., corresponding to network node 2060 of FIG. 20, also referred to as a RAN node) of a radio access network. UE 904 may also include processing circuitry 1103 (also referred to as a processor, e.g., corresponding to processing circuitry 2020 of FIG. 20, processor 2101 of FIG. 21, processing circuitry 2260 of FIG. 22, and processing circuitry 2438 of FIG. 24) coupled to the transceiver circuitry, and memory circuitry 1105 (also referred to as memory, e.g., corresponding to device readable medium 2030 of FIG. 20 and/or memory 2290 of FIG. 22) coupled to the processing circuitry. The memory circuitry 1105 may include computer readable program code that when executed by the processing circuitry 1103 causes the processing circuitry to perform operations according to embodiments disclosed herein. According to other embodiments, processing circuitry 1103 may be defined to include memory so that separate memory circuitry is not required. UE 904 may also include an interface (such as a user interface) coupled with processing circuitry 1103, and/or UE 904 may be incorporated in a vehicle.) receive an RRCReconfiguration message including reconfiguration with sync for Secondary Cell Group (SCG); ([¶0113] In another one of these embodiments, the response from the SN 902 includes a container to be transmitted to the UE 904, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE 904 that the SCG to be added is to be in activated mode of operation. That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of an activated SCG), C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC (SSB Measurement Timing Configuration), a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS (channel state information reference signal) configuration and/or SSB (Synchronization Signal Block) configuration for random access resource selection).) when the UE is connected to a source primary SCG cell (PSCell), configure a configuration used for the UE to report successful PSCell change or addition information to a network side;([¶0119] In one variant, the response from the SN includes a container to be transmitted to the UE, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE that the SCG to be added is to be in activated or deactivated mode of operation; That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of a deactivated SCG (or an activated SCG), C-RNTI for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC, a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS configuration and/or SSB configuration for random access resource selection).) determine whether an indication of SCG deactivation is included in the RRCReconfiguration message; and perform an operation for a successful PSCell change or addition report determination based on the determination that the indication is not included in the RRCReconfiguration message, wherein the operation is performed upon successfully completing a random access procedure triggered for the reconfiguration with sync for the SCG. ([¶0117] In some further embodiments, the response indicates that the SCG is accepted and the SCG is added deactivated. In one of these embodiments, the SN 902 accepts the SCG addition and accepts the requested mode of operation as requested by the MN 900 to be deactivated. The acceptance may be indicated by the MN 900 receiving an acknowledge message, e.g. an S-NG-RAN NODE ADDITION ACKNOWLEDGE message with the absence of an indication, or the inclusion of an indication of the target mode of SCG operation e.g. mode=deactivated. [¶0118] In an alternative of these further embodiments, the SN 902 accepts the SCG addition but does not accept the requested mode of operation to be activated i.e. it only accepts it to be deactivated. The rejection of requested mode of operation (which could be called an SCG state or SCG activation state) may be indicated by the MN 900 receiving an acknowledge message with the absence of an indication, or the inclusion of an indication of the target mode of operation e.g. mode=deactivated. In this case, the SN 902 partially accepts the SN addition request as it does accept but with a different mode of operation. This is equivalent to the SN 902 accepting an SN addition (for SCG configuration at the UE 904) but it does not accept the requested mode of operation, i.e., it suggests a different one. [¶0119] In one variant, the response from the SN includes a container to be transmitted to the UE, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE that the SCG to be added is to be in activated or deactivated mode of operation; That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of a deactivated SCG (or an activated SCG), C-RNTI for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC, a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS configuration and/or SSB configuration for random access resource selection).)
Regarding Claim 11:
Qiu discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving an RRCReconfiguration message including reconfiguration with sync for Secondary Cell Group (SCG); ([¶0113] In another one of these embodiments, the response from the SN 902 includes a container to be transmitted to the UE 904, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE 904 that the SCG to be added is to be in activated mode of operation. That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of an activated SCG), C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC (SSB Measurement Timing Configuration), a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS (channel state information reference signal) configuration and/or SSB (Synchronization Signal Block) configuration for random access resource selection).) when the UE is connected to a source primary SCG cell (PSCell), configuring a configuration used for the UE to report successful PSCell change or addition information to a network side; ([¶0119] In one variant, the response from the SN includes a container to be transmitted to the UE, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE that the SCG to be added is to be in activated or deactivated mode of operation; That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of a deactivated SCG (or an activated SCG), C-RNTI for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC, a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS configuration and/or SSB configuration for random access resource selection).) determining whether an indication of SCG deactivation is included in the RRCReconfiguration message; and performing an operation for a successful PSCell change or addition report determination based on the determination that the indication is not included in the RRCReconfiguration message, wherein the operation is performed upon successfully completing a random access procedure triggered for the reconfiguration with sync for the SCG. ([¶0117] In some further embodiments, the response indicates that the SCG is accepted and the SCG is added deactivated. In one of these embodiments, the SN 902 accepts the SCG addition and accepts the requested mode of operation as requested by the MN 900 to be deactivated. The acceptance may be indicated by the MN 900 receiving an acknowledge message, e.g. an S-NG-RAN NODE ADDITION ACKNOWLEDGE message with the absence of an indication, or the inclusion of an indication of the target mode of SCG operation e.g. mode=deactivated. [¶0118] In an alternative of these further embodiments, the SN 902 accepts the SCG addition but does not accept the requested mode of operation to be activated i.e. it only accepts it to be deactivated. The rejection of requested mode of operation (which could be called an SCG state or SCG activation state) may be indicated by the MN 900 receiving an acknowledge message with the absence of an indication, or the inclusion of an indication of the target mode of operation e.g. mode=deactivated. In this case, the SN 902 partially accepts the SN addition request as it does accept but with a different mode of operation. This is equivalent to the SN 902 accepting an SN addition (for SCG configuration at the UE 904) but it does not accept the requested mode of operation, i.e., it suggests a different one. [¶0119] In one variant, the response from the SN includes a container to be transmitted to the UE, such as an RRC container with an SCG RRCReconfiguration including an indication to the UE that the SCG to be added is to be in activated or deactivated mode of operation; That message also includes a Reconfiguration with Sync comprising i) ServingCellConfigCommon, including among other parameters a random access configuration (e.g. for contention based random access upon addition of a deactivated SCG (or an activated SCG), C-RNTI for the MAC SCG, timer T304 value, SMTC, a contention free random access configuration (e.g. including CSI-RS configuration and/or SSB configuration for random access resource selection).)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240147543 A1 discloses the elements claimed in independent claims 10 and 11
US 20240414772 A1 discloses the elements claimed in independent claims 10 and 11
US 20230118008 A1 discloses the elements claimed in independent claims 10 and 11
US 20230217525 A1 discloses the elements claimed in independent claims 10 and 11
CN 119485800 A discloses the elements claimed in independent claims 10 and 11
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463