DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 16, 2024 and March 25, 2025 are considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claim 16-30 are examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4-5 – delete extra “wherein” for typo
Claim 29, line 1 – “the plurality of cavities” should read “the plurality of cavities of the mould inserts” to clarify recitation to “a plurality of mould inserts, each having a cavity formed therein” in claim 16, line 2-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is/are: “a means of attachment” in claim 1.
For examination purposes, “means for attachment” will be interpreted in line with the instant specification in pg. 6, line 11-14 as “for example, a bore with an internal thread, into which a suitable tool can be screwed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the respective peripheral recess” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “a plurality of peripheral recesses” in line 6-7, but does not recite “respective peripheral recess” before the recitation of “the peripheral recess”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “a respective peripheral recess of the plurality of peripheral recesses”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the mould insert” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “a plurality of mould inserts” in line 2, but it is unclear which “mould insert” is recited. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “a respective mould insert of the plurality of mould inserts”.
As claims 17-30 depend on claim 16, claims 17-30 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the installed state" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim does not recite “installed state” before the recitation of “the installed state”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “an installed state”.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the respective nozzle tip" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 30 depends on claim 16, but claim 16 does not recite “nozzle tip” before the recitation of “the respective nozzle tip”. Claims 24 and 29 recite “nozzle tip”, therefore for examination purposes, claim 30 will be interpreted as depending from claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20, 22-27, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spuller (US 9649800 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Spuller discloses an injection moulding tool (c. 4, L 20 – injection molding apparatus), comprising a mould insert frame (c. 4, L 22 – removable nozzle head segment 35) for accommodation of a multiple nozzle head (c. 4, L 30 – side gating nozzle 30 comprising a nozzle flange segment 31), and a plurality of mould inserts (c. 4, L 29 – molding cavity inserts 50), each having a cavity formed therein (c. 4, L 29 – molding cavities 51), each of which mould inserts can be supplied with plastic melt via the multiple nozzle head (c. 4, L 25-29 – molten material flows through 30 and into 51 of 50);
wherein the mould insert frame has a central recess extending in an axial direction (FIG. 5-6 depicts the 35 has a recess that extends in the axial direction), in which the multiple nozzle head is accommodated (FIG. 2 and 4 depict the 31 is placed in the central recess of 35, and a plurality of peripheral recesses arranged around the central recess and extending in the axial direction (c. 5, L 22-24 – openings 71), in each of which peripheral recesses one of the plurality of mould inserts is accommodated (c. 5, L 20-24 – 50 is received in 71);
wherein the mould insert frame comprises a central frame part (35) with the central recess, and at least one peripheral fixing part (c. 5, L 20-21 – mold cavity retainers 70) that can be removed from the central frame part (c. 5, L 20-27 – removable 70 and 35; FIG. 6 depicts 35 is removable from 70); wherein the plurality of peripheral recesses (71) is formed by the central frame part (35) and the at least one peripheral fixing part (70);
a line of separation between the central frame part and the at least one peripheral fixing part extends through the respective peripheral recess (annotated FIG. 3 depicts line of separation), such that, when the peripheral fixing part has been removed (FIG. 6 depicts 70 is removed), the mould insert can be removed from the central frame part in a direction at right angles to the axial direction of the multiple nozzle head (FIG. 6 depicts 50 is removed in a direction at right angles to the axial direction).
Annotated Spuller FIG. 2
Annotated Spuller FIG. 5
Annotated Spuller FIG. 6
Annotated Spuller FIG. 3
Regarding claim 17, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the central frame part forms an inner, proximal peripheral surface of the plurality of peripheral recesses (FIG. 5 and 7 depict 35 forms an inner, proximal peripheral surface of 71), and the at least one peripheral fixing part forms an outer, distal peripheral surface of the plurality of peripheral recesses (FIG. 5 and 7 depict 70 forms an outer distal peripheral surface of 71).
Annotated Spuller FIG. 5
Annotated Spuller FIG. 7
Regarding claim 18, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the at least one peripheral fixing part is formed by a tool plate (c. 5, L 31-32 – mold plate 65) of the injection moulding tool (10), into which the central frame part can be inserted, together with the multiple nozzle head and the plurality of mould inserts (FIG. 1 depicts 35, 31, and 50 inserted into 65).
Regarding claim 19, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the at least one peripheral fixing part comprises a single peripheral fixing part (c. 5, L 20-21 – mold cavity retainer 70; FIG. 7 depicts one peripheral fixing part 70), which surrounds the central frame part (FIG. 7 depicts 70 surrounds 35) and which, together with the central frame part, the multiple nozzle head, and the plurality of mould inserts, can be inserted into a tool plate of the injection moulding tool (c. 5, L 31-32 – mold plate 65; FIG. 1 depicts 35, 31, and 50 inserted into 65).
Regarding claim 20, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the at least one peripheral fixing part comprises a plurality of peripheral fixing parts (c. 5, L 21-22 – two mold cavity retainers 70), which, together with the central frame part, the multiple nozzle head, and the plurality of mould inserts, can be inserted into a tool plate of the injection moulding tool (c. 5, L 31-32 – mold plate 65; FIG. 1 depicts 35, 31, and 50 inserted into 65).
Regarding claim 27, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 20, wherein the central frame part has a plurality of elongate, radially outwardly open recesses with substantially parallel side walls (FIG. 6 depicts elongate, radially outwardly open recesses with substantially parallel side walls at each molding cavity insert 50), into each of which one of the plurality of peripheral fixing parts can be inserted (FIG. 5 depicts a part of 70 inserted into cavity of 35), thereby forming one of the plurality of peripheral recesses (c. 5, L 22-24 – openings 71 FIG. 5 depicts 71 is formed by 35 and 70).
Annotated Spuller FIG. 5
Annotated Spuller FIG. 6
Regarding claim 22, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the plurality of peripheral recesses are of circular design (FIG. 7 depicts openings 71 are circular), with one or a plurality of circular cylindrical sections (FIG. 5-7 depicts 71 is circular cylindrical).
Regarding claim 23, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of peripheral recesses has a circumferential shoulder (FIG. 7 depicts 71 has a circumferential shoulder), against which a respective one of the plurality of mould inserts lies in the installed state (c. 5, L 21-24 – 71 within which 50 is received), and on which the mould insert is guided in the course of assembly or disassembly (c. 6, L 50-51 – 71 to locate 50 in a tight, yet removable way).
Regarding claim 24, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the central frame part has a tip recess (c. 4, L 46-48 – lateral openings of 35) in each case between the central recess and the plurality of peripheral recesses (FIG. 7 depicts the lateral openings between the central recess and 71), in each of which a nozzle tip of the multiple nozzle head is arranged.
Annotated Spuller FIG. 5
Regarding claim 25, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the plurality of peripheral recesses are arranged in an even distribution around the central recess (c. 5, L 56-59 – 71 evenly distributed around 35).
Regarding claim 26, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the line of separation is of circular design, and divides the plurality of peripheral recesses into two approximately equal parts (Annotated FIG. 3 above depicts the line of separation is circular and divides 71 into two equal parts).
Regarding claim 28, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the plurality of mould inserts are held in position in the peripheral recesses of the central frame part (c. 4, L 63-66, c. 5, L 25-28 – 35 and nozzle tip 14 are removeable as an assembly together with corresponding 50), even when the at least one peripheral fixing part has been removed (FIG. 6 depicts 50 and 35 together are removed from 71 of 70).
Regarding claim 29, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 16, wherein the multiple nozzle head has a plurality of nozzle tips (c. 4, L 46-48 – at least two nozzle tips 14) for lateral injection into the plurality of cavities (c. 4, L 46-48 – 14 arranged in lateral openings of 35; c. 4, L 25-29 – molten material flows through 30 and into 51 of 50).
Regarding claim 30, as presented in the 112 (b) rejection, the claim will be interpreted as depending on claim 29. Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 29, wherein the plurality of mould inserts each have a means of attachment (FIG. 6 depicts a lip of 50) for a suitable tool on the side opposite the respective nozzle tip (interpreted as intended use, would be capable of attachment with a suitable tool and is on a side opposite of nozzle tip 14), such that the plurality of mould inserts can, with tool assistance, be pulled out of the central frame part (c. 6, L 33-36 – components of 30 are removable and replaceable in an easy way) in the direction at right angles to the axial direction (FIG. 6 depicts 50 is removed in a direction at right angles to the axial direction).
Annotated Spuller FIG. 6
The limitation “for a suitable tool” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Spuller discloses a lip and components of 30 are removable and replaceable in an easy way (c. 6, L 33-36; FIG. 6), the lip is capable of performing the intended use of “for a suitable tool.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the lip in Spuller is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spuller (US 9649800 B2), as applied to claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, Spuller discloses the injection moulding tool of claim 20.
Spuller does not disclose wherein the plurality of peripheral fixing parts are removable individually from the central frame part in a direction at right angles to the axial direction.
However, it has been held that when desirable to obtain access to an area, it would be obvious to make a component separable from another for such a purpose. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the mold cavity retainer 70 separated into multiple parts to provide easy disassembly of the nozzle head segment and therefore also for easy access to the nozzle tips in cause of malfunction and required servicing (c. 2, L 16-20) and be removable and replaceable in an easy way (c. 6, L 33-36). As 70 can be separated into multiple parts, the parts would be “removable individually from the central frame part in a direction at right angles to the axial direction” in a similar fashion as 50 from 35 as depicted in FIG. 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5536165 discloses multi-cavity side gated injection molding system comprising a mold, gates, and gate inserts that are radially placed on the gates
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754